The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Global AdventuresLies and deception

V Review updated:

I have never would have thought that I would be the victim of a scam. These guys told me I could rent my bonus weeks out this is simply not the case. I have another timeshare that owned and traded it in, what a mistake. When we stayed there all we got was a room facing a wall. Nice view a wall
These guys are scammers, liars and cheats. Stay away from cabo villas global adventures. Just a big joke

Responses

  • Br
    Brian tran Jul 26, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Don't trust this company! (Global adventures) My family and I visited Cabo Villa Beach Resort and Spa in the summer of 2019. We were offered a membership. We decided to do a one-time purchase of $3000 and a $199 membership per year to their resort (Cabo Villa Beach Resort and Spa). This is a scam and the website we were given to sign in and book hotels/resorts made us pay, even though they TOLD US it was free of charge. My wife and I called the receptionist, Patricia and left messages to which she never answered or replied to. Luckily we were able to dispute the purchase to my credit card except for the paperwork fees (about a couple hundred dollars were lost due to fees and the membership cost). Let this be a lesson to all that sometimes...things are too good to be true. Thank you Cabo Villa Beach Resort for wasting our time! Remember to read reviews before deciding to open a membership with them.

    1 Votes
  • Da
    Dallas B Sep 27, 2019

    @Brian tran Everybody could get together and file a class action against them. This is obviously a breach of contract among others.

    1 Votes
  • He
    helen de la rosa Jan 07, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also got lie and scammed. I have points at Pueblo Bonito Resorts.No Maintenance fee unless i use it. I will not be using them this year so wanted to rent them. i was approached by one of their body snatchers wanting me to go to a Cabo Villa presentation, I told him i had too many T.S. and needed to rent some out so not looking for another T.S. His supervisor came over and said we can help you with that. We can rent out your weeks because we need the inventory while our construction is under way. I signed up and met with Matt, I also told him i wanted and needed to RENT my timeshares NOT trade them. He assured me they could do that. Now Patricia says we are NOT a rental company. You can go to Red Week or FSBO to rent your week. I guess what Global adventures is like RCI where you trade your week and another member can buy it the for maintenance fee. I keep telling everyone I talk to I DO NOT have a maintenance fee unless i use it, so how is that helping me? When I enter the information at the web site it ask how much it would be for a non-member???? 1 or 2 times the maintenance fee. If they are not a rental company, what do they care? I ask Patricia this question and she said well just in case you get lucky and somebody wants to rent it. And I paid $2, 124.00 for this. But there can't be to many non-members if they have to pay what i did then are told to go somewhere else to rent. Patricia keeps referring to a MAP WEEK, I have no idea what that means.
    In my contract it says (THERE ARE NO PROVISIONS FOR RECESSION IN MY AGREEMENT) is this correct? They also say (THE AMOUNTS CHARGED IS IN MEXICAN PESOS) I have not seen anything about how many Pesos it is. I think Cabo Villa and Global has there hands in each others pockets. What a scam. Not sure if PROFECT can help or not but i will sure be trying it.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Davis.B Jul 24, 2017

    Wanted to let everyone know that got scammed...
    This happen to me as well bought in June 2016 stopped paying about 5 months later because of all the same reasons you guys have listed already.
    They have yet to report us to the credit bureau. And thank God. RCI is the way to go when buying time shares!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sarah Sal Nov 07, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Davis.B you still haven't got reported

    0 Votes
  • Ds
    Dsalinas Nov 08, 2018

    @Davis.B Any updates?

    0 Votes
  • St
    SteveZ21 Jun 29, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Add another to the growing list of people that GLOBAL ADVENTURES has scammed. I have been complaining for a couple of months now that the membership website that supposedly allows one to book airfare and hotels has been "under maintenance" every time I try to use it. Various people at GA keep telling me that they will be glad to assist me if I just provide them with details of my needs. But That is NOT what I signed up for. I see from other complaints that this "under maintenance" problem has been going on MORE THAN 2 MONTHS. This company is obviously a scam and I believe that all of us need to get the word out to as many people as possible. Start by telling anyone who says that they are going to Cabo San Lucas to steer clear of anyone hawking vacation discounts and GLOBAL ADVENTURES in particular.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jen F. Mar 08, 2017

    Yep, us too! All the same players too. Total scam. We were promised back in 2005 that we could use it every year if we wanted, then when we called to book, they said we could only book every three years. That aside, they transferred us to an "Associate Membership" which basically is 50% off rack rates (which you can get cheaper from other places). The location is great, but it is sooooooooo not worth the hassle and headache. It is a fight every time we go. So annoying.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angie - La Nov 30, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They got me too... I booked a week at Bel Air Collection in October for $432 for the week. Now that same hotel is over $800 THROUGH MY "Private Residency". I could book it through Expedia for less. I'm sure if I stop paying they'll attack my credit rating! This is NOT fair! What can we do??

    0 Votes
  • Ci
    Ciara Donahue Dec 19, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Angie - La When you find out please let me know! Wanting to cancel but worried about it hurting my credit.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Daniel Labelle May 09, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I got sucked in this scam as well on February, 29 2016. Today, May 09, 2016 I'm trying to have my "LOG IN NUMBER" and I can't get in touch with any body. The same story goes, no e-mail, no answer no body to talk too, just leave messages. I left 5 messages and no body called me back yet. WHAT A SCAM. BE AWARE
    DLABELLE

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rob Bialk Oct 20, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I got the same phone call today (Oct 20th). Have never been billed or contacted by Global Advaentures. Never used the timeshare andnow they are looking for cash to cancel or keep.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stephen Onsorge Aug 25, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We purchased the Global Adventures 'promotion' more than 10 years ago when we bought a timeshare with Cabo Villas. . We haven't ever renewed or even been able to use the 'benefits' of this Global Adventures add-on.. We are now getting harassing phone calls and emails saying that we need to renew or cancel for $230 or something like that. I had a major telephone argument from a woman who apparently holds her own and didn't let down her guard for a second. I can't even find our original documentation to see if there might be a clause in there about paying to 'close out' the membership. What a crock!!! If I was sure they didn't have a legal leg to stand on I'd just let it be and let them keep barking up others' trees but this harassment isn't fair to anyone! Any advice???

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Racquel DiFalco Aug 18, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Im starting to see the same thing, We signed up for the same program, 4 weeks worldwide, web site is down, always... the initial sign up was 60k talked down to 2 k... this was May 2015. have you had any progress with this complaint? p.s, they all ask you to post a tripadvisor review... BEWARE.

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    Adrian M. Mar 22, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My wife and I visited Cabo Villas Resort on 1/5/14 and had the worst experience in our LIFE!!! We were invited to become owners with Cabo Villas Resort. We were greeted by Saul, whom gave us a tour of the resort and invited us to eat, though shortly after is when the Bait and Switch show began. Saul took us up stairs to a balcony and brought us several alcoholic drinks. Then began the sells pitch, they began with a $30, 000 program then came down to a $5000 members program, and we declined all. Lastly, we told Saul that we would think about it and he stated that he would call his manager to see if he could offer us something better? Soooo in came the manger and told us that we would get 4 weeks a year as members to book with Cabo Villas Resort or we could use those weeks to travel anywhere in the world!!! for the low price of $1, 999. My wife and I thought that was a great deal, so we signed up. Lone and behold, we are not owners with Cabo Villas Resort, but have acquired a membership with Globaladventure.info a website with limited rentals in limited areas. We went the next day to cancel and were assured by Patricia (Customer Care) and Saul (Sales Rep.) that we purchased a timeshare of great value, and were told that we could not cancel! We then decided to open a despite with our credit card company American Express, and with in days we received a call from Patricia, and she asked why we would like to cancel? We told her that we did not receive what was promised to us and that we just wanted a refund, she apologized and asked us to send her an email with a explanation as to why we wanted to cancel and assured us we would receive a refund. Time past and American Express told us that we would have to contact the merchant directly in order to receive a refund. We then fallowed and contacted Adam Clapp ((Loan Officer) whom we had met with the day of the SCAM purchase, and he stated that he would fight us until the end and that we would not receive a refund. I told him that there was no need for confrontation, and stated that we simply felt misled and would like a refund of $19999. He then calmed down and tried to reassure me that the program was of high value, which would allow us to save $$$$ over the years of use. he continued by stating "give the program a try and book something". I decided to look up the program and compare prices with other vendors like Expedia.com, Bookit.com, and even went as far as contacting some hotels directly. All the price comparisons were lower than Globaladventures.info (The time share Scam we bought!). I relayed all this information to Adam Clapp, and he called me and stated that I would have to speak with Luis (director of Globaladventures.info) to discuss the matter further. In conclusion, I decided to book a family trip through Globaladventures.info given that my many attempts to contact Cabo Villas Staff to cancel the membership was to no avail. On 3/11/14 I looked on Globaladventures.info website to book a trip and the website was down, I followed by contacting the customer service line [protected] and [protected], and too much disappointment there was no one to help. Further, I made a second attempt to use the website (Globaladventures.info) on 3/12/14 and the website was still down. So I decided to call the customer service line again (around 9:00am) and I was able to speak with Paul, and I asked him what was up with the website, and he told me that it had crashed and they were working on getting it fixed, he then stated that he could still help he. So I gave him the location and dates, he stated that he would get back to me in a dew hours...I attempted to contact him the whole day and received no information...I attempted too use the website and it was not working...I called the costumer service line two more times and received no help even when I spoke with Fernando as he stated that the office was closed. So I ended up booking our family trip through Bookit.com and we had a great time. Lastly, I fallowed up with Luis (director of Globaladventure.info) and he apologized for not being able to provide the service, though stated that I would have to speak with Adam Clapp to cancel and receive a refund. I the contacted Adam Clapp and he stated that service was offered and that he could not refund us, and that he will battle us all the way until the end!!! THANKS Cabo Villas Resort for a horrible experience!!!

    1 Votes
  • An
    Angie - La Nov 30, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Adrian M. Can you update us with your experience?? I was duped too!

    0 Votes
  • He
    helen de la rosa Jan 07, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Adrian M. I also have had the (PLEASURE????) of dealing with Patricia. Did you ever get a refund?

    0 Votes
  • Ds
    Dsalinas Nov 08, 2018

    @Adrian M. What's your status? Any luck on refund? I'm in the same situation

    0 Votes
  • Ds
    Dsalinas Nov 08, 2018

    @Adrian M. Hello, what is your status? Did you get a refund? I'm having the same issues...

    0 Votes
  • Ds
    Dsalinas Nov 08, 2018

    @helen de la rosa Any luck with your? Were you able to cancel? I'm having the same issues :(

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joe orange Oct 16, 2011

    Agreed, same experience.

    2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.