The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Ginny's — no support or credit

G Review updated:

They sent me catalog, I liked it, so I decided to order a vacuum cleaner and deep fryer, the total came up to $267.00. I asked them where is my credit account at so I can make payments?? They said you have to talk to the credit person about that, after they sent me my deep fryer. They did not approve me like every other poor person, they are just here to waste my time, making me have to pay a whole lump sum for something that should be paid for with their "Choose and Charge" credit account. If I do not get my credit card from them, their stuff is being sent back. They are just a bunch of problems that you cannot solve. They let you order from them, but cannot establish credit for your protection on time. They are slick!

Responses

  • Md
    M.Davis 75 Oct 31, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have personally never had an issue with my orders with Ginny's. They have always delivered the orders as promised, and I have not had any billing issues. As it has gotten closer to the holidays, the only issues I have ever had were items being so popular that everything was out of stock. I would recommend this company.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Timothy Paschke Aug 27, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Thank you all for your reviews. It has helped my wife and I to make the decision to not order anything from Ginny's.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    amadmama Dec 06, 2018

    I WAS PRE-APPROVED FOR $400 AND DECIDED IT WAS A HEAVEN SENT DUE TO BEING A SINGLE MOM, 2 GRANDKIDS AND XMAS TIME...WELL I DECIDED TO MAX THE LIMIT BC IT'D BE STUPID NOT TOO, ANYHOW THOUGHT EVERYTHING WAS RUNNING SMOOTH UNTIL I FOUND OUT A VERY OVER PRICED TOTE BAG FOR MY DAUGHTER WOULD'NT BE SHIPPED UNTIL SOME FAR AWAY DATE IN THE NEXT YEAR AD MY SONS TRUCK MATS WOULD'NT BE SHIPPED FOR SEVERAL MONTHS AFTER XMAS YET IT CONSUMED ALL OF MY CREDIT LIMIT HOWEVER I DID OT MAX IT LIKE I FIRST THOUGHT I WOULD. I LOOKED AT MY RECENT ORDER AD THEY HAD THE MATS A DIFFERENT COLOR THAT I SPECIFIED, IT KIND OF MATTERS ESPECIALLY AS ITS A PERSONALIZED GIFT.WHAT NEXT OH YOUR SONS NAME IS CHRISTIE, ITS CRISTIAN?WELL JUST MAKE SURE YOU MAKE A 50% DOWN PAYMENT ON YOUR EXT ORDER, OH AND BTW WE JUST CANCELED THE TRUCK MATS AND TOTE BAG AD YOUR ACCOUNT WILL BE CREDITED ON THE STATEMENT AFTER YOUR NEXT STATEMENT. LIKE REALLY?NOW NO GIFTS ON THE WAY FOR MY KIDS AND IT STILL SUCKED UP MY WHOLE CREDIT LINE, CREDIT SCORE TOOK A DIVE FOR A HARD INQUIRY YET IT DOES'NT EVER EVEN HELP MY SCORE DEALING WITH GINNYS, THEN IN ORDER FOR ME TO GET MY KIDS A GIFT, NOW I MUST MAKE A 2ND ORDER THEN PUT $40 DOWN PAYMENT SINCE UHM, I HAVE A PENDING BALANCE WITH GINNYS WHICH WE KNOW THAT UH NO TECHNICALLY I DON'T, HAVING NEVER RECEIVED A DAMN THING THEN JUST TOOK MY $40 STILL HAVE NOT RECEIVED THE MATS OR TOTE YET GOT 2 BILLS FOR IT WHILE THEY SAY IT WAS DELIVERED BY FED EX, HAH! I'M FED UP.SAID THEY LEFT IT O MY PORCH BUT MY SON SAW THE FED EX GUY HAUL BUTT RIGHT PASSED OUR HOUSE INTO ANOTHER NEIGHBORHOOD WITH MUSIC BLARING AS HE WAS GETTING OUT OF HIS NEW "MAT-LESS" TRUCK AT THE TIME SAID TO BE THE SHIP DROP! SAID HE EVEN RANG THE DOORBELL, THAT MAS EARS MUST BE RINGING, WE HAVE 2 YAPPING CHIUAHUAS AND A BLUE HEALER, TRUST ME NOBODY MAKES IT TO THE DAG PORCH BEFORE THEM DOGS ARE RAISING HELL AND AD TAKING NAMES! UNBELIEVABLE CRAP TAKING ADVANTAGE OF INNOCENT PPL AND DURING THIS HOLIDAY!OVER PRICED CHINESE CRAP WHOLESALE YOU CAN GET FROM WISH.COM...SMH!

    0 Votes
  • To
    tossedit2015 Sep 11, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    what really sucks is, they DONT report positive credit, which I am trying to re-establish. I wouldnt have ever bought anything from them if I knew it wasnt going to help me.

    0 Votes
  • Si
    SickOfBeingFkkdOvr Mar 19, 2017

    I have been a loyal customer of Ginnys since 2014. I started out with a $400 credit limit. I make my monthly pymts on time. Also let me note I have paid off 3 other online catalog creditors, and I have 5 other open online catalog accts/3 of them sister Companies to Ginnys. All of which are in great credit standing. Over a yr ago I applied for a credit increase at Ginnys/ I was denied due to 1 late pymt at a sister company 7 months prior. But the company I had the 1 late pymt had given me 3 credit increases & gave me a 5 star customer review. Apprx 6 months later I again applied for increase at Ginnys & this time I was told I am eligible for increase BUT increases are NOT AUTOMATIC!!And I never had a $400 limit. Increases are given like a LOTTERY, if my name is randomly computor picked then & only then can I be considered for increase. What kind of BS is that?? I called last wk & talked with a supervisor Mark & he gave me more ###..And the balance on my Ginnys account is actually the balance from HOMEATFIVE when they closed & it transferred to Ginnys. My monthly pymt is $25/ my balance was $169, and I'm making monthly pymts over the allotted payment chart.So this is how it goes>>get suckered into Ginnys, order, get used or defect products, get headaches trying to get their merchandise returned & replaced or credited, pay monthly- over what it shows in the payment schedule, and have no chance to get a credit increase!!! MY ADVICE TO ALL OF YOU IS RUN & RUN LIKE HELL -DO NOT GET INVOLVED WITH THIS GINNYS DRAMA RUN BY PPL WHO ARE RUDE, OBNOXIOUS, GO AROUND & AROUND THE QUESTIONS

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Saulius Jarusevicius Jan 27, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    People avoid this SCAM Company! i received a catalog from them which said i was approved for $250 credit, i tried to place an order and the lady on the phone told me everything was fine and i would receive my order on Friday which is Today! but all i did received was a leather that said i had to make a down payment for $125 dollars. I'll be suing this company for false advertisement, my credit score was 680 before i placed an order and today it went down to 650 because there is a Hard Inquiry on my CreditKarma rapport, stay away from this SCAM company!!! they haven't even shipped anything to me and already lowered my credit score...

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Saulius Jarusevicius Jan 27, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    People stay away from this SCAM Company! i received a catalog from them which said i was approved for $250 credit, i tried to place an order and the lady on the phone said everything is fine and i will receive my order on Friday which is Today! but all i did received a leather that said i had to make a down payment for $125 dollars. I'll be suing this company for false advertisement, my credit score was 680 before i placed an order and today it went down to 650 because there is a Hard Inquiry on my CreditKarma rapport, stay away from this SCAM company!!! they haven't even shipped anything to me and already ####ed up my credit score...

    0 Votes
  • Tl
    tlewis1300 Sep 27, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My wife went to their website to make the minimum payment as she has for several months now. She made the same selections as usual, but instead of the usual screen asking for confirmation she got a screen stating something to the effect of congratulations! You've paid off your account. She called Ginny's customer service and spoke to an EXTREMELY rude woman who said there was nothing she could do and the over $700 charge to our debit card could not be corrected to the minimum payment. She claimed that it was our mistake and they would do nothing to help.
    We have had to pay $30 to our bank to stop the charge, as it would leave us overdrawn.
    Shady practices and terrible customer service.
    WE DEEPLY REGRET HAVING DONE BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    samijean22 Aug 25, 2016

    Why send a catalog saying pre approved then deny? Makes no sense.

    1 Votes
  • Ho
    Holly Brooks Aug 07, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dear customer service I have received a catalog but I'm not sure if I should apply with all these horrible reviews, I would love to cause you have bath sheets for a very good price a long with other great stuff so I think I'll just throw my catalog in the trash this is horrible not 1 good review

    0 Votes
  • Er
    Eric Knudsen Aug 02, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I haven't had the problem that most of the folks on this page have had. Their prices are inflated...they have to make a profit I guess. I have been dealing with Ginny's now for 10 years and haven't had a real problem. The only real issue I have is, is that Ginny's doesn't seem to help your credit. I use Fingerhut too, and they help your credit.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    be29 Dec 03, 2014

    Don't ever do business with these people- their credit dept. is a joke and it's impossible to get a supervisor on the phone. I called to post date a payment to pay off my balance in full of roughly $400 (limit was $800), I gave the rep my bank account information to POST DATE the payment which I made very clear several different times. She took my information and then stated to me the payment will post within 24 hrs. I said (for roughly the fourth time) NO. Not within 24 hours I want it post dated for the 28th (at this point it was the 23rd I believe when I placed the call), I asked for a supervisor because I had been speaking with this girl for roughly ten minutes at this point and we were going in circles because she had no idea what she was doing and kept saying sorry to me, she put me on hold for what I obiouvsly thought was a supervisor because that's what I asked for, but no- she transferred me to another department, who then said i had no payment on file- I stated i JUST gave the previous rep from the other department my account information and she put a payment on file for that day on accident, i explained all i wanted to do was use the same information but I need it post dated for the 28th, the rep I was now speakign with seemed annoyed and assured me no payment was on file and I need to give her my account information (I could feel her rolling her eyes through the phone I swear)- again, in order for the payment to be made. After going back and forth several times on this- I gave her my information and had the payment for $400 post dated for the 28th, end of call. The 28th came and my payment came out as scheduled. THEN- Ginny's attempted to take ANOTHER payment out of my account for the same amount three days later. AKA UNAUTHORIZED PAYMENT which would also be proved by the recorded line they have that I specifically said I am making one payment to pay my balance in full. In conclusion- Both reps entered my account info and scheduled a payment for the same amount on two different transactions. My bank charged me for a return fee because I no longer had $400 in my account at that time. I obviously called Ginny's to notify them of this and request a refund from them and for the charge my bank made. The representative I spoke with was just as undertrained as all the others I've spoken with (Who works in a credit agency and doesn't understand what a post dated check is?) placed me on hold for long lengths of time so they could speak with a supervisor and eventhough I asked no supervisor still ever came to the phone, he stated they do in fact see where they made a terrible error on my account but that I need to send in proof that my bank charged me for their unauthorized payment getting charged to my account for an overdraft. Which I do understand to some extent cause god for bid a multi million dollar company lose out on $25.. I got their fax numb the rep didn't know who I should attn it to when I asked, and then stated they are very busy and it can take several days before the fax gets addressed when I asked how long this process will take to get my $25 charge from my bank back. ARE YOU KIDDING ME?? You ILLEGALLY TRIED taking a double payment from me and this isn't a fax you will attend to today when you receive it?? Their response- Our mail room is very busy. Have a nice day.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    rosemary w Oct 10, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would like to know what the issuing bank for ginnys credit is

    1 Votes
  • Ro
    rosemary w Oct 10, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    what bank issues ginnys credit

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    Bull and more bull Sep 08, 2014

    Ginney is full of liars. I was pre approve for amount. BUT I have give them (Ginney) 25 percent down. Switch and bait program!

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Barbara Jul 15, 2014

    I got Ginny's email address from the web since they try to hide it. I returned their cheap garbage for credit and now they're sending me collection letters for what they now say I owe for "shipping and processing"! I paid for shipping to return it, so why do I owe them again for shipping? And to charge me half the amount of the order for their "processing" fee seems illegal. They can send me to collection all they want. I'm not paying. And I am reporting those crooks to as many agencies as I can. If they get their bill collectors after me, I'll be calling my lawyer. Do not ever order from them or any of their other companies!!!

    2 Votes
  • Ro
    RosannaHunt May 27, 2013

    This company is what I like to think of as a second chance credit lender. I started small by purchasing a deep fryer for my husband and a bath mat. I received my products promptly and when I called for my credit card number to make online payments, they asked for my social security number, which I gladly provided. Now, I have terrible credit but they gave me no problems. I have paid off my initial purchase and purchased other things since, all with no problems. I recommend them for anyone with bad credit looking to reestablish.

    3 Votes
  • Bo
    Bottom feeders Feb 01, 2013

    Ginny's did not credit a payment to my account, I made two payments in December 2012. One payment was for my December 2012 payment and the second payment was for my January payment. I have sent them proof of the second payment, however, they have not posted the second payment to my account with them. I was told by customer service that misplaced payments happen but it is up to the customer to prove they made the payment. Instead they added a $15.00 dollar late charge and today they withdrew from checking another payment that was not authorized and not posted to my account with Ginny's. I advised them that I would not make further payments until they correct my account. They leave messages for me to call them even though I have called them numerous times. I have been transferred from one person to the next nothing gets resolved. The account that payments have been paid from is my husbands. He has to cancel his debit card to stop them from withdrawing additional payments. Some companies have excellent customer service, Ginny's does not care. Ginny's apparently believes that because they are a so-called business that they have absolute power against the consumer. Eventually, if they do not correct my account, my husband's bank said for him to come in to the bank and they will fill out paper work. There are new consumer protection laws that include filing a complaint with the consumer protection bureau. I am a new customer to Ginny's. I do not have a high account balance. I am wondering how I can pay them off if they deny they receiving payment. I will not continue to do business with any of the other retailers that are part of their mob mentality.

    2 Votes
  • My
    myfraudulentcompany.com Nov 08, 2012

    I had a long time account with these idiots until they started charging outrageous interest and suddenly $19 dollar late payments, yet I can't look at order history, billing history and no explanation or break down of interest charges, what use to be just a small finance of 3.95 is now almost $20 in interest without notice to customer. This company is a part of Swiss Colony Brands Company don't shop with them. When I complained, I was treated like I was over spending on my account and I was the problem. My account always had an available balance and payment was always up to date you lost a good customer Ginny's good luck!

    2 Votes
  • Ju
    Justice4all74066 Nov 07, 2012

    Ive bought several things on their credit. I missed my payment by 3 days and I even called customer service to tell them. Because you usually have a grace period. THey cut my credit off. Seriously!! UGH!!

    1 Votes
  • I definetely agree there! The COMPANY GINNY"S CATALOG is a scam, fraud, and they will cheat customers and also will lie to the customer about certain products is being sold on their catalog as being slanderous, and defamatory to others. I used their catalog and paid my dues but they still refuse to close my account. I told them that I would seek legal help to handle this issue but they laughed at my face and one rep just hung up! Know your rights against this abuse! You don't have to put up with it from anyone. Ginny's customer service is poor and their business ethics is poor also. Maybe due to the lack of training and due to the lack of many customer service reps that are just plain ignorant on how to handle better customer relations. The FDCPA LAW STATES that companies should be curtious to all customers and handle all claims fairly but that not always is the case not at least with this company. I decided to do more research on my own after I asked them to close down my account and they were giving me the run around. I am glad I did because I found many consumer complaints against this company. They will send you cataloges trying to impress you to buy from them. But then they do not want to handle your consumer complaints and will be rude and un reasonable and will treat you very unfaily! DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM THESE PEOPLE!!! DO YOUR OWN RESEARCH ABOUT ANY COMPANY BEFORE YOU BUY!!! GINNY'S IS A COMPLETE FRAUD SCAM AND ALSO AN ABUSIVE CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!

    3 Votes
  • Mo
    Monroe, LA Mar 27, 2012

    Ginny's sent me a catalog stating that I was pre-approved for $400.00. I ordered 2 items a couple weeks later and waited, and waited. Finally, I emailed them to see what the holdup was and I was told the credit dept. was holding my order waiting for a 50% down payment. I have no problem with a down payment, but 50% of the total charge is a little absurd. Why did you send me a magazine pre-approved for 400.00 anyway? Then the "EXCELLENT" customer service really got started going good at this point. I was transferred from person to person, stayed on hold for long periods of time. I finally gave up and decided to doa little research myself. MAN...am I glad I did.

    0 Votes
  • Vt
    vtlife Nov 29, 2011

    i wish folks would read complaints before dealing with these folks.. they very dishonest and rude. they tried to tell me i had to pay full price now cause of a sister company that said i owe them., this after i completed my obligation to ginnys in full. please people read complaints about this half [censored] company

    0 Votes
  • 19
    1959lyle Aug 27, 2009

    Sell's second's, part's missing, instruction's missing, Pour customer service.They don't care about
    customer's.They won't let you talk to a supervisor or the owner.

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.