Gexa EnergyNo customer service

1

Gexa is a scam company. I have had them for 3 months and canceling service promptly. The airline miles are not worth it. Good luck getting a hold of any customer service reps. The entire company seems like it is run just by 4 or 5 thugs. The customer service rep, Yolanda V., is rude and condescending. Furthermore, there are no supervisors available for relief.

For any pertinent complaints to the Public Utility Commission of Texas, P.O. Box 13326, Austin TX [protected].

Responses

  • Ra
    Rarod Mar 13, 2007

    I have already filed a complain with the public commission against GEXA. They sent me a wrong bill overcharged by 60 dollars. Then they keep on sending me wrong bills without correcting the previous bill. To beat that, the customer rep tells me that they dont know when the issue will be resolved and that i need to keep on calling them after every 2 days to find out whats the status of the correction. It's been 1.5 month now and still I haven't received any credit for the overcharged amount. And here's something better, they threaten me to disconnect my electricity if i don't pay those wrong bills. AVOID GEXA.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Robin May 10, 2007

    Gexa is a horrible company! They suddenly just disconnected our service. No notice, we just didn't get a bill come April. And so we called to see what was up, and they said that we switched providers. Bull****!! We never told them anything, never made a late payment, and never got a notice from them. I'm not sure what's going to happen with us, and who our new provider is. But I have a feeling it won't end well. Dont ever go with Gexa!!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    James Aug 11, 2007

    Gexa sucks. They kept overcharging me ridiculous amounts. I started not running heater in the winter or AC in summer, and my bills still came out insanely high. Then they just say that they don't read the meters, and offer no real resolution to the problem since they're scamming. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THEM! I went with Reliant Energy, my bills were then 60-80 a month compared to 100+ dollars. AVOID GEXA!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mitchel Sep 02, 2007

    Gexa overcharged me multiple times, but that isn't the worst of it!!!!!
    I disconnected their service and they told me that I owed them no money, but had to FIGHT them just to return my deposit! Finally, they returned the deposit, but 3 months after disconnecting, they sent a debt collector after me claiming I owe them almost $100 AFTER they told me that I owed nothing AND after they returned my deposit!!!!!
    Now I have to deal with this debt collector and prove that Gexa sucks.

    Don't ever go with GEXA unless you want hard times!

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    Clyde Monnette Nov 06, 2007

    I've been a Gexa customer since June '07. I could not be more pleased with their service. My previous high bill prior to Gexa was well over $700.00 for one month at my residence. My highest with Gexa was just over $400.00. Thank-you Gexa. I made two calls to Gexa Service, one for the initial setup and just recently to get a better (current) rate. Both times the service rep was very friendly and helpful. I continue to recommend Gexa to my friends and co-workers as a provider over other ridiculous priced providers.

    0 Votes
  • Hc
    h carls Nov 14, 2007

    was a scam....told them to keep the miles....cheaper at the airline...requested a $400.00 deposit because of bad credit.....with a credit score of over 750....was hard to believe so i called to verify the number i called was not a boiler room...866-384-4392....wasted a good hour on the phone.....

    0 Votes
  • Da
    David Hansen Dec 13, 2007

    My experience with Gexa has been good.

    I've been using Gexa for 18 months and my son has been using them for 6 months without any problems. The plans we signed up for have been saving us money over many of the other companies. I appreciate their low cost and I've had no problems with Customer Service.

    They have just recently lowered their rates on the 'Green' power plan which my son uses.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    Gexa Are Criminals Jan 04, 2008

    Gexa are indeed a horrible, dishonest and disreputable company. Check their "Unsatisfactory" rating with the Better Business Bureau of Metropolitan Houston.

    They charged me incorrectly and will not respond to requests for an explanation. Everybody I know who has had the misfortune of having to deal with them has a similar story. The "positive" reviews here route back to the Gexa IP address. Another indicator of the kind of rotten people they are.

    AVOID GEXA AT ALL COSTS

    They are a fraudulent company who will overcharge you and refuse to return your phone calls and letters.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JoeDelt Jan 29, 2008

    I've been an employee of gexa for over 2 years. That makes me a veterin of the company.
    Gexa, a subsidiary of Florida Power and Light, treats it's employees like disposable dipers.
    Once they're done using you as an employee, they throw you away.
    How in the world do you think that they could treat it's customers like more than revenue generating guenrs pigs?
    If your bill has been correct, you've been lucky.
    They're trying to inplemet a new billing system (peace, project sage) that's more accurate and after spencing over 6 million dollars, they found out that they can't meet ERCOT standard.
    EVERY employeee is temporary and EVERY employee is disposable.
    Stop living in a fairly tail. They really don't care except that you pay on time.
    4 billing managers over 2 year period.
    Sarbox violations like there is no tomorrow.
    employees being fired without warning. (disposable dipers.)
    wrongful termination suites left and right.
    Go ahead and do business with them.
    You're paying my high salary until I find a better job.
    Thank You. I probably drive a better car than you.
    ignorance is really bliss.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joe Feb 26, 2008

    lol nice Joedelt. I guess they don't care about the quality of their employees! If they did, they would have hired someone that could at least spell! hahahahaha

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joann508 Mar 19, 2008

    Texas is an at-will employment state. They don't have to give you notice. They don't have to have a reason. AND YOU don't have to give notice to quit, and YOU don't have to have a reason to quit.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maranda Apr 15, 2008

    Do not go with Gexa Energy!!! I live in a 600 Sq Ft apartment with just myself and my bill has been $200-$300 per month. When I first got service with them it was only $70-$80 per month. Now you tell me how it can jump that high in just a matter of 1 month.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Matt Apr 24, 2008

    Gexa is a failing company and it's true the way they treat their employees is wrong. It's always a threat and even if you think you know or been there a good amount of time they will hurt you. Always changes and then they don't train people right. I almost feel sorry for AT&T trying to associate with Gexa. When you mistreat your own workers what more can you expect for them to be with the customers. I just think it's wrong when people call and blame customer service when they should be complaining to the low leadership this company has. A customer service rep only can do what the company allows them to do and I hope that when you complain you do it to the PUC and don't even mention it to the customer service rep they have to send it to someone that is just a little above them who is just going to apologize. Oh yeah the comment on how high salary from Joedelt believe me that money must be going to the company because they underpay their workers and have you heard they don't even pay their Spanish speakers extra for 2 languages? Reliant pays. Still at the end since all energy is going up you try to find the cheapest, but just be careful and always be responsible at the end by keeping up with your own bill. Remember if you want to hurt the company don't just complain to a poor customer service rep that is trained only to listen to you and note the account. Hurt the company Gexa, file a complaint to the PUC. Close this company down. The little people will be hurt and unemployed, but at least you bring the company down although most that are in "leadership roles" will jump ship and work for another energy company that will screw you still.

    0 Votes
  • Ks
    ksk May 29, 2008

    I had Reliant Energy and it was SOOOO expensive. Then I got Gexa and it was much cheaper. I think Gexa was fine but not always on time with sending the bill to my mailbox. I live in a 1300+ sq ft apt and I only pay between $75 to $150 a month. Yeah. It's because I live in a 3-yr-old apt, with energy efficient appliances. The high amount on the bill may depend on the age of appliances you use.

    The thing that's sooo aggravating is that Gexa is charging $4.25 per transaction if you pay online! All the other bills - free to make online payments.

    0 Votes
  • Dj
    dj Jun 02, 2008

    I have had Gexa for 3 years, with no complaints. Great customer service. You can pay on line, you can call and get your
    balance due. Their rates are very low.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kevin Jun 07, 2008

    I have had GEXA for 3 months. They charge me $.0834 per kWh (compared to .134 from Stream) and have dropped my bill considerably. Thanks guys.

    0 Votes
  • Hu
    Hurricane Rita Jul 02, 2008

    It's been a few years ago but I got treated like $hit by GEXA too.
    After Hurricane Rita hit Beaumont (near Houston), they supposedly lost record of my payment. I called the bank and knew it had been cashed out but they made me PROVE it by paying my bank to print out a copy of it and send it to them.

    Why should it be a customer's job to do THEIR job? Why can't they check with their own bank? They deposited my money and I knew it was cashed out (my bank told me) so burden of proof should be on them.

    9/10 of the operators I talked to (I had to call up there several times) were rude as hell. I got hung up on by one or two of them and I never even yelled or cussed at them!

    They also ripped me off on something else, I think it was a deposit or something (it's been a few years ago but I remember I was pissed about something else) and gave me a horsecrap story about it. I thought 'screw them, I guess it's just the cost of getting away from these ###".

    I did an internet search not long after that fiasco and found that they rip other people off. I was SO glad when I got rid of that company. I can't say I"m the happiest person in the world with Reliant's prices but I have ALWAYS been treated with politeness by representatives and never ripped off by bogus charges.

    The guy who wrote in 2007 and said he's been a customer 3 years (I guess that would be since 2004), I find it hard to believe he didn't have any problems with them.

    If you want to go with this company, you better rich enough to hire an attorney or be prepared to get ripped off.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Garrett P. Nemec Aug 24, 2008

    Ripped Off: My rate jumped from 12.9 per Kw to 17.8 per Kw in 3 billings.
    I Stayed at number 18 in their phone queue for an hr. After I asked to speak with a supervisor. I finally had to hang up.
    Monday I am switching. Gexa has been unfair and unscrupulous. I don't understand why the state of Texas allows this
    form of apparently legal fraud on the consumer.

    0 Votes
  • Cu
    Customer Aug 25, 2008

    First my account was slammed. It was transferred without my authorization to another electric company away from them. I suspect the account was sold. When I called and threat to take legal action, the account was magically restored with Gexa. Now since summer has rolled around the account was fairly stable then nearly doubled for the next several months. This may seem normal. But I assure you have not used double the kw. Im very conservative. The ac has been set on 78 with fans and curtains in use. The lights are all off except the room Im in. I feel Im being scammed and Im finding a new company quicker than you can spell fraudulent. Someone please investigate them.

    0 Votes
  • Cu
    Customer Aug 25, 2008

    Whoever said it may be the unit us complainers are using is wrong in my case. It may be easy to dismiss us away, for your own satisfaction. But I'll have you know the air conditioner I use its a top quality and brand new unit installed about a year ago. This is not an imaginary problem, as Ive said before. Somone needs to investigate this company's practices immediately.

    0 Votes
  • Cu
    Customer Aug 25, 2008

    In the last two months, my bill skyrocketed, and my kWh rate went up 50cents, and that made a devastating impact on the total bill. I have to find a new company right away. I believe these people are trying to get rich quick at us customers' expense, based on my experiences such as these. Because this is not how you keep customers in th elong run. I believe they are a SCAM!!! ive so many stories, but I wont waste any more time on them.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    long huynh Nov 19, 2008

    I has been a gexa energy customer for 2 years. I always signed up to renew when the contract ended. This time I was very busy and I signed up later (only 3 days), Gexa cancelled my bonus sign up. Worse, Gexa chages me with a high rate for a next bill. The customer service said that I have to wait 1 or 2 cycle bills in order for a new sign up rate to be affected. I already called the customer service to complaint. But it does nothing or does not care about a loyal customer. I am very disappointed. On credit card's bill, you forget to pay a bill, the credit card company will cancelled penalty charge once a year if you always paid your bill on time. I does not recommend Gexa energy to anyone.

    0 Votes
  • I have been with Gexa for almost 4 years and over the past 2 years my bills have been outrageous. I called to have someone come out to reread my meter, and they charges me like 12bucks and I never got a call or a letter telling me the results. I had to call in and wait for an hr to talk to someone and there was nothing in their system saying they came out to reread my meter. So they charged me, just to get my $. I received a $450 in the middle of winter which was higher than my summer bills last summer. I called to find out why my bill is so high and it is because basically if your contract ends, they can charge you whatever they want. I am being charged 19.87 per kWh. They dont tell you when your contract is up, they just raise your rate from 11.4 to 19.87 or higher without telling you. So I signed a new 1 year contract at 11.4 per kWh, so in December 09 I have to call and sign a new contract or I will be charged the 19.87 again. If I was you, I would research before you sign up with anyone.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rich Apr 03, 2009

    See www.gexa-gouges.com. There have been lots and lots of people gouged by these crooks. Crooks is the nicest word I have for these jerks. Did you know their CFO was one of the top guys at Enron? They learned how to get rich quick from the University of Enron!

    What they do is give a competitive short term (6 or 12 month) contract rate. You miss the end of the contract term so they flip you to their "month-to-month" rate - without any notice of any kind. By the time you finally notice, they've hit you with several months that are double your previous rate. When you call, they reccomend a "meter read" that is done by Center Point. That gives them another month at the gouging rate. Then they take their time updating you about the results, so by the time you change to another vendor or plan, you have paid 3, 4, or 5 months at a gouging ripeoff rate.

    Check out "Gexa Energy Savings". Let's use easy numbers and the same amount of power each month. Your contract rate was $0.11 per KWH and your normal bill is $220.00 a month for 2000 KWH. Your contract is for 6 or 12 months. Since you have auto pay you miss the date when your contract ends. (You may have assumed you would be contracted or the rate would be similar at contracts end. NOT!)

    Since they don't notifiy you in any way, it takes about 3-4 months before you notice the gouge and your power is being billed at $0.21 or more per KWH. So you get 3 bills that are $420, or each about $200 more than the contract rate. So if they gouge for 3 months, that's about $600 extra bucks they gouge you for. If you had a 6 month contract plus 3 months gouge, that is an effective rate of $0.144 for the 9 months.

    You just thought you had a competive rate of $0.11! They just made their fat profit on the other end of the contract and the Texas PUC lets them get away with it! Throw in a few disconnect fees because their billing system and now you really have a cash cow - your cash, their cow!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem