The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
eShaktino customer service

J Review updated:

Eshakti has a beautiful alluring website, so much so that I attempted (on 3 occasions) to order clothing from them. Simple articles, mostly empire waist, kimono sleeve fare. Even though I gave them excellent measurements, the clothing arrived 3 to 4 sizes too big, with an empire waist cutting across by bust line (in one instance). All in all I spent a little over $40 in shipping expenses with nothing but a small hassle to show for it. Ready to give up I thought I'd ask if they had any policy for a situation like mine. they offered me a generous, $100 voucher to stick with them for one more try. I thought great... I'll order something around $40 just to see if they can get the fit right - if not, hopefully I'll break even.

Over 3 weeks went by and I never saw a voucher. I contacted them every few days with no response. Finally, after I cautioned that I felt it would serve the consumer to file a complaint, they contacted me (close to 2 months after promising a voucher)! They offered an apology and said the voucher would arrive in my mailbox in 3-5 days.

Well, it has been months. Don't know if it is some kind of measly scam to make a few bucks on shipping. Have no idea. I do know though, that the fabric and the overall quality of the garment (excluding the fit) is also not something to be raved about.

Responses

  • Ka
    Kathryn Nelson Mar 21, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have ordered at least 6 dresses from eshakti that I customized. My dresses were lined, pocketed, and simply beautiful. The stitching is amazing, fit was perfect, and elegant material. Everytime I wear one of the dresses, I get stopped and complimented. Thank you, Santosh, pattern maker, Visay, cutter, Abwmanya, Tailor, and Dilip, Quality Assurer for your hard work and beautiful dress.

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sarah Hessinger Feb 29, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    just got my two dresses in the mail, and LOVE them! They are a tad bit to short in the torso, but that is honestly an issue with every dress I buy, cause I am so long/tall. Going to be buying more from them, and have my eye on several :D

    -1 Votes
  • Ca
    cahuenga Dec 27, 2014

    Same here, zero customer service. I ordered a gift card which was set (through their website delivery date function) to be delivered on Christmas, and of course it wasn't. - basically making me look a bit like a jerk. I sent 3 requests for an explanation to three separate eShakti customer service email addresses. All three bounced back - Full mailboxes. Worse- My wife has yet to receive her gift card.

    Who runs a business like this?

    1 Votes
  • An
    angrybird7 Apr 24, 2012

    My items finally arrived today after ordering them on march 30th they came april 24th. The guarantee on their website about shipping time is ###.

    So my order finally comes im in canada and I had to pay the UPS guy 160$ in brokerage and custom fees.!!! ridiculous!!

    When my items came I received 2 of the same dresses and one of my dresses was missing.

    I ended up returning 5 dresses and keeping 3 and it costs me 21$ to mail the dresses back to WA.

    I will never order from this company again. I wasted so much money on these items!
    The dresses fit well because I custom ordered it but they weren’t amazing fabrics or dresses.

    I am very disappointed in this company.

    0 Votes
  • Qu
    qubert Jan 28, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Horrible customer service! Their website states that the first time you customize a dress it's free. I was charged $7.50. I sent numerous emails trying to get them to reimburse me the fee. No response. I've filed a complaint with the BBB and will escalate to my credit card company if it's not reimbursed to me. I get that it's only $7.50 but for me it's the principle. If you say you won't charge then you don't. If you charge by mistake correct it. Will not order from them again.

    1 Votes
  • Re
    [email protected] Dec 13, 2011

    Hi... sorry to hear about your experiences at eShakti.. could you please email [email protected] with your order details... we will do our best in helping you resolve any pending issues... regards - Rebecca - CSA, eShakti.com

    -1 Votes
  • Gl
    Gloria Guignard Board Jul 15, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @[email protected] This email address does not work but Eshakti is the only company I buy from. I’ve had to wait longer than I liked for products but I’m also from a developing nation and I know that time is “relevant” so waiting is inevitable. The quality, fitting, and styles have improved so much that it’s the ONLY place I shop! ONLY!

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    Fair321 Nov 22, 2011

    If you're happy with your order your fine but if you're not that's where the problem begins. It's a gamble to buy from them. If you're not made of money I wouldn't risk it.

    3 Votes
  • Ne
    Nelsonmaam Sep 22, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought into the hype of eShakti, and after seeing a friend in one of their dresses, and she looked beautiful, I decided to go for it. I ordered 2 dresses, the first with customized sizing and sleeve/length/neckline alterations, and the second without any customizing. When the first dress arrived at least 2 sizes too big throughout the chest and the empire waist at my waist, I thought "well maybe if I don't customize anything it will be better." The second dress I got fit great and I was happy, until on the same day I received it I tried it on to show my husband and the zipper broke! I was trapped inside the dress and eventually had to be cut out! I was humiliated, and we discovered it was because of faulty zipper installment on the part of eShakti staff. I am so irate, and I still have not heard from their customer service representative after two phone messages and two emails! I plan on reporting them to the BBB and will not be buying from them again. I suggest you avoid this poor excuse for a clothing distributor at all costs. Buy from somewhere that respects you as a consumer, as this place surely just wants your money and not your satisfaction.

    2 Votes
  • Jo
    joannahunter Apr 18, 2011

    Their customer service has improved so drastically! oh and their spring summer collection is adorable! Give them another go girlies!! just got my order and its fits like a glove..so excited!!!

    -4 Votes
  • Ls
    L S Jones Dec 04, 2010

    I have tried to place an order 4 times. Each time the website either went down or the total invoice was incorrect, requiring I go back and reinsert an item or two deleated. I have called customer service, with does not exist. I would advise anyone dealing with this company to double check their credit card history, frequently. I am wondering if they are actually operating from India, with a Seattle phone or clearinghouse?

    1 Votes
  • Il
    iluvdresses Mar 10, 2010

    Eshakti's clothing is made from the cheapest fabrics imaginable. I ordered two standard size 12 dresses no customization and the proportions were so way off. The dresses are ill fitting and the "cotton satin" material should really be listed as tissue paper because that's how thin the fabric is. There isn't even any lining under the dresses. I will never wear them!! What a waste of money!! I would have returned them however it would not have been worth the effort since I live in Canada and had to pay an additional $42.00 for custom fees to the Fedex man at the door to receive my order. I have bought clothing online before and those previous purchases were hitch free. Eshakti was a complete and utter waste of money. Please ladies consider yourself warned. Unless you like cheap looking sub par clothing stay away from eshakti. No matter how tempting their styles might be. What you see is better than what you will actually get.

    2 Votes
  • Tr
    TravelGal2273 Dec 17, 2009

    I purchased 7 garments and paid the additional customization fee for all 7. Long and short...the garments didn't fit, they were too small as the measurements were not followed at all. I could accept the bad fit if I could even get the garment over my head and past my shoulders. I gave them a measurement of 22" for the shoulders, the shirts were 17-18". I'm 5'10 with a 46" bust. There was no way the shirts were wide enough for 46" nor very long. Additionally, some of the shirts had size labels (size 22) attached while some had "custom" labels. That leads me to believe that although I paid for customization for all, some of the shirts were just pulled off the shelf. I asked to have the shirts remade. The company refused and decided to refund.

    Now what they refunded me...They refused to refund the customization fee which was charged separate from the garments and shipping. On order one, the cost of the garments alone was $167.80, the company refunded $112.80. On order two, the cost of the garments alone was $174.85, the company refunded $144.85.

    At this point I'm reporting them to my credit card company and the BBB to get my money back.

    I strongly suggest you do NOT/NOT order any customized garments. They can't follow the measurements given and it appears they don't understand simple math.

    2 Votes
  • Pu
    Pushpa Sep 03, 2009

    I'm so disappointed with my decision to buy from Eshakti aswell and would like to write about it so others benefit.
    I spent over $150 and ordered for a holiday but it never reached on time as promised. I should have canceled my order but hoping to wear them in summer I just canceled one skirt because I needed to buy one for the trip anyway and they gave me a credit after a very long discussion and number of phone calls. Customer service is very bad, each time Carol/Lakshmi told a different story and I had to help them calculate the right amount which they took long time to understand. I even recorded the conversation just in case they don't provide right credit. And now I have ordered another item for the balance of the credit and its been more than 14 days and there is no mail on the status of my order, no tracking number, I have no clue of my order. when I asked I get to know the order is canceled as they cannot process it and I got a mail saying they will get back to me in 1 business day and emailed me after a week to say they will refund the money excluding shipping like it was my fault that they could not process my order. While all this is problem with customer service and delivery delays, the clothes were definitely not made to measurements provided, I specifically told that I did not want the neckline to be more than 7 inches, it came with 11 inches... its a waste, I did not check that on time and return policy is so strict that now I decided to dump it in clothing Drop. I have two tops worth $75 that I will be putting in clothing Drop Box for they don't fit me right.

    2 Votes
  • Cl
    classylass Apr 28, 2009

    I also ordered 2 dresses on eShakti and spent $200. The dresses were not made to the measurements that I provided, and are several sizes too large. Afeter i had sent several e-mails to their customer "Champion", a remake was promised for one dress, and a refund for the other, but this was 3 weeks ago and I have not received anything so far. I have tried to call them on several occasions, but the 1-866 number does not operate in my area ( I live in Canada) and the other goes to an un-specified voicemailbox.

    2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.