The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
E-Renter.comRip off and scam

T Review updated:

I just paid $29.95 on a credit card for this company (erenter.com) to do a tenant screening for me. What I got was screwed. They gave me 3 prior addresses, and told me the person had no record. What they didn't tell me was they weren't going to give me any credit information which is what I really wanted. I went to erenter.com and it opened to Intelius. What a rip-off! Do not use this company, the internet Complaint Board is full of other complaints on the same company

More E-Renter.com Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Gu
    Guy Seeklus Aug 16, 2010

    This complaint must be a competitor because E-Renter has never done business or heard of Tom Mooks. Guess which competitor !!

    We have an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau and our customer service staff always go the extra mile to make every single customer happy.

    I or anyone here at E-Renter would be happy to help if you have any questions

    Sincerely
    Guy Seeklus
    President
    E-Renter USA
    1.877.332.0078

    0 Votes
  • An
    Ancient Ion Aug 17, 2010

    E-Renter.com and Intelius are two completely different companies. They are not affiliated or associated with each other in any way, and should not be mistaken for the same company. E-Renter is very highly-rated and an accredited company with the Better Business Bureau. Intelius is not accredited with the Better Business Bureau. Intelius pays Google a fee for search terms that are frequently used which drives traffic to their website, re-directiong people away from other reputable companies they initially found, such as E-Renter.com.

    3 Votes
  • Is
    islemomma Aug 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I actually love E-Renter - they have stellar customer service. Plus how cool that the President takes time to defend his company's reputation (even if there was slight confusion about the postings)! I have never used Intelius (which certainly is NOT E-Renter.com, the poster is clearly confused), but I've heard some pretty negative things about them, although that is really just heresay coming from me. I haven't used ResidentCheck.com before, so can't weigh in on that one.

    Does anyone else think that it is weird that this posting from a year and a half ago (linked below) has virtually identical text as the original posting in this thread?

    Intelius — tenant screening scam!

    Methinks I smell a rat... It's really too bad when people have nothing better to do but falsely accuse decent companies of being scammy for no other reason than to be cruel and/or push up their own profit margin by poaching customers, depending on who the original poster really is.

    2 Votes
  • Is
    islemomma Aug 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    LOL, and the other thing I find funny is that the poster says this Complaint Board is full of other complaints about this company, which is just dumb. In fact, the only two mentions of E-Renter are this thread and the other one I linked in my previous post.

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    justit Apr 15, 2011

    Don't have much faith in BBB, so the owner blasting the comment with what BBB says means little to me but rather the fact that he/she is willing to accuse another company of making the comment says more to me than anything.

    -2 Votes
  • Ji
    JimmyBo22 Jun 21, 2011

    erenter is Horrible and BS

    -1 Votes
  • In
    Inaccurate Information Oct 31, 2012

    I applied for a rental property in which the potential landlord used erenter.com to verify my information. It was reported back that I had an eviction and a judgement on my credit. Both of which were false. When conducting my own investigation I figured out that all erenter does is compile information, including court dockets and then they make a false conclusion that they send to the potential landlord. They never verified the information. I am a great tenant who is always timely on my payments. Erenters lack of due diligence and false documentation potentially can cost a landlord a great tenant and discredit the honesty of the potential renter.

    -3 Votes
  • He
    hellom Nov 01, 2012

    Just FYI, that's all any of the tenant screening companies do - they compile information available in public records, and they return them to the landlords. In general, they will have disclaimers on the report stating that the landlord is required to verify the information once the screening company has narrowed down the results. This is a pretty standard industry practice. Landlords should ALWAYS investigate any records that appear before denying a tenant. Tenant screening companies simply alert landlords to possible record matches - at least, any of the ones I've interacted with (and that includes E-Renter.com). It is the landlord's responsibility to perform due diligence.

    2 Votes
  • Ma
    marion vogel Jan 15, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been attempting to reach Tad for several ldays/ several calls. Here is my situation. My husband and I have not lived in Castle club apt. 124A W Trenton Ave. Morrisville PA since August 29th due to severe health problems...extensive operation and nursing home stays.
    The apt. has been rented to someone else but you are still deducting $16.00 a month. My husband Anthony & I only have social security and we need that $16.00 a month.

    Please credit our account for this money for September, October, November, December (2012) & January (2013) Please contact me at [protected].
    Thank you for your time and consideration;;
    Marion Vogel

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joan / E-Renter Jan 15, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Marion,

    I'm afraid you may have our service, E-Renter.com, confused with a renter's insurance company - possibly ERenterPlan (https://erenterplan.com/). We are a tenant screening company - landlords use us to screen potential tenants. We do not provide rental insurance of any kind, nor does anyone by the name of Tad work for our company. Also, as a staff member for a background screening company, I wish to encourage you not to provide information like a previous home address, phone number, and full name on a public forum such as this. You open yourself to identity theft or other kinds of nefarious activity when you do this.

    Joan
    E-Renter
    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    ~Butt3r_f!3s Feb 22, 2014

    I was trying to set up a policy and told the rep that I needed it to start two weeks out. I specifically asked when I would be charged and was told that I would not be charged until the start date of the policy. I go to check my bank balance THE DAY AFTER I spoke to them, and they had charged me. They over drew my account and then because I ACH debited from my bank account, they told me that if I wanted to cancel, I would have to wait a month for a refund check. The Representative that I spoke to was so unbelievably rude, I asked to speak to her supervisor. She chuckled and says, "sure..." and hung up on me. The supervisor calls me an hour later and reiterated the same thing the rep said. No only was I now overdrawn, but I couldn't feed my kids, or put gas in my car. And all he offered me was the same sorry explanation that his rep offered. No one ever addressed the fact that the rep I spoke to initially gave me bad info. So now, I am stuck with an insurance provider that has no credibility with me, and my account was overdrawn and charged NSF fees. So lucky me!

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    Honest Ape Oct 20, 2015

    E-renter.com is a complete sham and scam. They are milking poor landlords and potential renters. Don't waste your time or money on this sham service. There are better legitimate services out there for landlords.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Ray1966 Apr 12, 2016

    I used them before but NEVER again! 1st they lie, you can get a detailed cred report and see a lot of information using other sites that cost much less, 2nd I call the number because NONE of the email links under "contact us" worked the person that answered the phone was extremely rude from the very start. I said I think there is an error on your form and right away she was defensive and rude telling me there are no errors on our forms they are common sense. OK could you wait till I give you the information before telling me I'm wrong I get her to stop talking or b**ching at me so I can tell her and the response is "well its not a big deal to just pick up the phone and call the applicant to ask them the question" (they left off form but you have to fill out online) Ok I should not have to and how do you know whats a big deal for people. I remain calm even after her rudeness persisted and I say well just an FYI you have an issue with your website I tried all the email links none worked and she said "UMMM Ok yes they do I know they do" At this point I know I will not continue this unbelievable conversation with such a terrible person and I will go online and find another company witch I did I will not advertise for them and give out the name I will just say WOW what a difference in customer service and price as well as a detailed report. Don't fall for the bbb thing no one uses them as a reference anymore they are terrible as well if a company pays tpo be a member then they only have to tell the bbb they fixed the issue and it is removed no difference if its fixed or not its like paying for a good rating from a company no one uses anymore.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    sceterf Sep 10, 2020

    I used my credit card to do a background check on e-renter and within one day I had a fraudulent charge against my credit card. I believe your system has been compromised. I had not used my credit card in over a week.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.