DVD DonkeyBig scam!

1

DVD DONKEY is a big scam... Unfortunately I did not see this web site before I ordered a very hard to acquire dvd set for my father for Christmas... As it turns out, I am having the same experiences as everyone else... The money has been taken out of my account... But, not dvd's have arrived in the mail (now 10 weeks since I ordered!) And no reply to any emails sent!!! I am really upset, if only because my father would have absolutely loved the dvd's for Christmas!

I hope no one else has this horrible experience!

Responses

  • Ch
    Charles Nov 03, 2007

    I ordered the complete season of Emergency... this company guarantees quality DVD's however the DVD set I received sucks!!! The shows were recorded off of TV Land. There are even some commercials still in the shows. On the website it states there are no commercials and DVD's are of best quality. I tried calling them numerous times but they never seem to be in. I am VERY dissatisfied with the quality of their DVD's. I have half a notion to contact an attorney. I will be attempting to get my money back!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rodney Palmer Nov 06, 2007

    We have had the same problems with these people when we ordered the complete dinosaurs dvd collection.

    It was complete with ads and a totally different show as well. We have tried contacting them over and over and they never reply.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Lee Onslow Nov 07, 2007

    This website looks oh so familiar like the 'tvboxset.com' and very similar tv dvd websites. Same products,same web layout ,same 'contact us', faq's, and delivery promises etc,etc.
    BUYER BEWARE.

    I placed an order with tvboxset and got truly shafted. Twin Peaks came with Spanish menu icons/text and dialog. The disc's were cheap, with very poor labeling and were faulty. The boxset was marked as 5 discs but contained 8 discs.

    The dispatch sender label is a false/no existent address- unless you call a post code located along a motorway going into Toronto, an address.

    Brimstone/Dark Skies and Party of Five have never or likely to arrive.

    PLEASE DON'T MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE...

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jonathan Doak Nov 07, 2007

    I was planning on ordering some dvd seasons from them because it was hard to find them anywhere else. I didnt order from it because the billing page of the site did not have the lock in the tool bar nor did it start out with https (which, if you look under their faq and click on WWW.SSL.COM., and look around a little the SSL site says those two actions must take place in order for the site to secure.) dont buy from them!they may advertise that they are protecting their info but it is a hoax!!!

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Amanda Spain Nov 10, 2007

    I ordered Ed The Complete Television Series On DVD for my finance as a Christmas gift over 6 weeks ago and still have not received my purchase. My checkings account has been charged $117.72 but I still have no product. I have tried e-mailing the company multiple times. It states on their website that they will reply within 34-48 hours and after several attempts I have not gotten a single response.

    I also tried talking to someone through their live chat feature but I can never get connected.

    0 Votes
  • Ry
    Ryan Morris Nov 10, 2007

    Ordered a box set of DVD's. They charged my credit card MORE than the total and have received no product. There is no way to contact them, the phone number they gave my credit card is fake and their website doesn't take complaints or comments. DO NOT ORDER ANYTHING FROM THIS COMPANY!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Keith Guillot Nov 10, 2007

    My sister order the Everwood DVD Collection about 4 weeks ago - the company took out more than the sale amount out of her credit card and no product has been delivered. No address or phone number to contact. THIS IS DEFINITELY A SCAM SITE. STAY AWAY FROM DONKEY.COM.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    kathie way Nov 13, 2007

    I paid for the complete set of Thirty-Something and waited ages for delivery despite my card being charged instantly. I am only on the first of the boxes and have already found that the last episode on disc 3 doesn't play at all and disc 4 is actually not disc 4 but disc 1 all over again. These recordings are worse than the cheapest bootlegs and to add to my woes I'm now paranoid about having given them my card details. A complete rip-off, avoid this mob at all costs.

    0 Votes
  • De
    deborah gazi Nov 13, 2007

    I also placed an order. When I looked at my bank statement and discovered they over charged me I canceled my order. I was assured my account would be credited. It hasn't and I can't reach them. Getting burned doesn't feel good. Never order from them.

    0 Votes
  • De
    deborah gazi Nov 13, 2007

    I also placed an order. I canceled after i discovered they over charged my account. I was assured my account would be credited. It hasn't. I can't contact them. I got burned. Don't order from them!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kevin L Nov 14, 2007

    Hi, I have never placed an order with the company... but I was able to get the live chat to load. This is the phone number I was given, its customer service, so they say. 1-877-788-7469, don't know if it works or not, just trying to help. Good luck.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael Baker Nov 15, 2007

    There is another site - dvdavenue.com - looks very similar. I would be very wary of using this one also. I asked them a question a couple of weeks ago - no answer.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    David Black Nov 15, 2007

    Dvddonkey told me by a worker that they would send (Karen) me an invoice for the entire 4 seasons of Airwolf. They have lied to, cut me off during a conversation, and delivered no invoice to pay for Airwolf. They told me that Karen got confused and there would be no in voice of any kind sent to me. They made a promise to me that was never delivered, and now they won't even talk to me. Something needs to be done to put them out of business. Would SOMEBODY PLEASE DO THAT??

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    Burnis Whitt Nov 16, 2007

    I ordered a set of DVDs a month ago and GOT nothing. I chatted with someone on their page and they said would get back by email in 24. Two days now and nothing. The sight should be shut do. I'm out $110.58. SEEMS LIKE A BIG SCAM.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    David Black Nov 16, 2007

    DvdDonkey has been VERY RUDE to me, told me to go to work (I am a student), refuse payment from me, I tried to call them , every time I got a voicemail, EVERY TIME! They won't even chat with me. This is a bad company, WOULD SOMEONE PLEASE SHUT THEM DOWN???

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jason Waite Nov 16, 2007

    I ordered the Duckman TV Series On DVD over 6 weeks ago and still have not received my purchase. My credit card account has been charged $111 but I still have no product.

    I have tried e-mailing the company multiple times but have not received a single response.

    How do I get my money back from these criminals?

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Martin Kosmicki Nov 19, 2007

    They got FULL payment for my DVD's Ive never received them Ive called left messages and TRIED to contact them through their site and YOU cant even contact them they are blocking email questions TOTAL RIPOFF DO NOT USE THEM!!! DO NOT USE THEM!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris Nov 19, 2007

    Wish I had checked this site before ordering from DVD Donkey. Never received order that I paid for!!

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    lucas ames Nov 19, 2007

    These guys are *ssholes and need a class action suit pressed against them!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Samantha Nov 20, 2007

    I have been charged for the DVD, wanted to cancel a couple of minutes later and have still been charged. Whats more. I accepted to being charged $150.00 AUS and got charged $170.00. not happy.

    0 Votes
  • He
    Helen Delaney Nov 26, 2007

    Ordered DVDs from this company on October 24 and have never received them.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carolyn Shelly Nov 29, 2007

    I placed an order with DVD Donkey a few days ago and became concerned because I did not receive an email confirmation. I called twice but no one has called back. Fortunately for me, these idiots have another customer service email address on their recording which led me to look that company up. I called them only to be told immediately that "they (DVD Donkey) are a fraudulent company". I then contacted my credit card company who told me to check my account daily and once the charge appears, to contact the dispute department and I won't have to pay the charge. It is horrible that there are people out there that cannot earn an honest living and feel it's ok for them to rip decent, honest people off. I hope they are forced to shut down their website and have to pay fines for this deception.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    TheTruthis Nov 29, 2007

    I wrote a comment yesterday, that is what happened to us. No email confirm - no DVDs, no credit! Its BS that they are allowed to do this, now we are out $118. I filed a complaint on the Federal Trade Commission. Its not fair that this is allowed to happen. I also read that once the videos come in, if they ever do, they are copied off the tv and the quality is horrible!!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mac Nov 29, 2007

    These people are nothing but ripping off bards I think they are operating under dvd avenue now so beware of this site!

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kevin Tierney Nov 29, 2007

    I was scammed also out of $150 on a dvd series I couldn't find anywhere, CPO Sharkey. Yeah, I'm pissed, and if you call you just receive a phone tree and the e-mail is ### also. Buyer beware, you'll never receive your dvd's. I almost bought more, thank God I didn't.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carl Roberts Dec 02, 2007

    I had no problems at all. DVD'S arrived safely on Friday 30/11/07, 10 days after ordering. Complete and good quality although I haven't had time to watch them all. I was concerned that I didn't receive a confirmation email but things seem ok.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jacqueline gallagher Dec 03, 2007

    Im really worried by all your comments as i have also bought dvd box set from this company, i have already paid through credit card.
    I also looked up company for fraud as i always do b4 buying anything over the net, but this time nothing was flagged as a warning.
    I have contacted company and they said it would take 2 wks but it has already been 2wks waiting for delivery. am so annoyed that this has happened as i am so carefull about fraud sites. hopefully it wont happen to me but will need to wait and see.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    manuel orendain Dec 03, 2007

    I almost fell for it! But tell tale clues were the following:
    Number 1 clue: Always watch for the "http" on the address bar to change to "https" when the ordering starts. ALL legit sites display this secure socket layer feature. On a separate occassion, a seller of luxury wristwatches advertised with high frequency in widely circulated business magazines. I almost ordered via their online system. When I was trying to order , what caught my eye was their constant and over hyped assurance of their order security - just like the way dvd donkey does it. But their "http:" never changed to "https:" -- That watch seller is now gone, and for some reason, I haven't seen anyone with any of the unique watches they advertised. Now here they are again as DVD Donkey. Lured by the great price and my own personal greed, I started to fill out the order form and started to feel a bit weird about their format. But after clicking on "submit" and waiting for the next window to appear, I was actually watching the little window where the "https://..." should appear. It didn't. Several things appeared and that's when I realized that I was almost had by an internet thief! Clue Number 2: Always look for stolen popular graphics. Staring at me was Donkey's face as if telling me, "I GOTCHA! YOU ARE AN ###!" A cold chill ran down my back. I just realized, "Oh ###!" If this site was legit it won't bother to spend hundreds of thousands of dollars to commercially license a character like "Donkey" from a multimillion dollar movie franchise like "Shrek." It's just not proportionate to the effort. This is a stolen graphic! Ergo, this is a site owned by the lowliest of thieves. Clue Number 3: How can a legitimate site get their numbers soooo screwed up and not mind it? Unit cost $299.00. Amount $148.99. Shipping $ 28.78 Total $148.99, Tax 6.99, Total 148.99. If you're a mobster, and you do your numbers like that? You're not even gonna make it, jerkwad! THAT's IT! I immediately hit my red x and googled "I think dvd donkey is a fake, and I ended up with this site. So that's the way it is. Gaaahh! How STOOOOOOOOPid! While you still have time cancel your orders by calling your credit card company! they'll be sooo happy to do it for you. They love doing that.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Bill Dec 04, 2007

    I think I've been scammed as well. Over a year ago, I bought the TV series, "The Paper Chase" from DVD Avenue, and approximately half of the episodes are not viewable. When I contacted them about a replacement set, they kept putting me off with "new stock coming in..." They were good at reassuring me that I will get that replacement set... look for a tracking number from them. That never materialized. People, don't be scammed. I don't know where this company is located, but I suspect that it is related to other companies such as "DVD Donkey." Both companies have the same wordings. If anyone has any idea on how I can take this to the next level, please let me know. Thanks.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Judith Lucas Dec 07, 2007

    Paid for product-no tracking information - e-mails undelivered and phone number does not work

    0 Votes
  • An
    Annie Varghese Dec 07, 2007

    I am SO freaking pissed off!!! I ordered a Thunder cats DVD as a present, ordered, and these freaks charged me the very next day , took the money out and even charged me more than what I Was supposed to be charged. NEVER got the DVDS!!! Their phone doesnt work , the emails bounced back to me. They pretty much fooled all of us. Now, I have no present!!! DON'T USE THEM, SPREAD THE WORD!!!

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jeff Kresch Dec 10, 2007

    Ordered product on 11/28/2007 was supposed to receive confirmation within 24-48 hrs. Never received confirmation. Tried to contact support, no available means to contact company, no phone number or e-mail address. Tried to contact by customer service link but you get a big screen that covers the address, I sent the message but received not response. You get a return message that you will receive a response within 24-48 hrs, nothing came. There is a live chat option and when you get to find out about your order, without a confirmation number of course, the operator says they are looking into your account and then they stop replying to your message. The product was supposed to be received within 2 - 5 days, today is December 10, 2007 10 days later and I have received nothing. Called my credit card company they are going to investigate the claim. Also the company is listed in California, but the charge to my account originated in Cyprus. Warn everyone not to buy from this site. Also, install Norton all in one security program, it picks up scam sites before you purchase items, so you don't get scammed.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stacia Kermgard Dec 10, 2007

    I need their address and phone number, anyone have it?

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Terri Moore Dec 11, 2007

    I have had a nightmare with this company! With links from Ebay and TV Addicts you would think this website was ok!

    I ordered Spin City complete Boxset wanting it to be here in time for Christmas. I made the order 26th of November and I printed the confirmation page there and then. Good job really as I never got a confirmation email like it said I would within 48hours!

    I then tried to contact the website to quirey my order, this was quite a task with no telephone number. The email address [email protected] is not even a valid address! So I continued trying to contact them in other ways. Eventually I Instant Messaged with the support team (from a link on their home page) I was assured that my order would be here in time for Christmas however it was curently out of stock and that it would be shipped the following week. I have contacted the website several times this week and last wanting some kind of explanation as to where my order is and why they have already taken the payment prior to sending me my goods!

    I wasted my time, over and over have had the same email back from 'Diasy' the mystery customer service woman. I say mystery because I have had the same email from her repeatdly. And they even confirm they have taken your money!

    It shows up on your statement as DVD Shop. I have wasted £57! Please stay well away from this website it is most definatly a scam!

    The cheek of these people baffles me!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Cheri Ritter Dec 11, 2007

    I have had the same experience with DVD Donkey. Hopefully other will read this before they send money to this completely illegitimate company. I am pretty furious about this as i don't have money to throw around... I am going to make it my mission to shut that site down.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa Beiferman Dec 11, 2007

    I ordered DVDs over a month ago, and was assured they would be sent out. I will contact American Express and have my charges reversed. I always shop on-line and am so angry with this.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jason Dec 11, 2007

    Thank God i did not order from them, I did order from yourdvdworld.com and i was very happy with their service! I recieved the discs within a week, and got confirmation emails and even a call from the owner!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rod Carroll Dec 11, 2007

    I am pissed off. I knew something was up when I never received an email confermation. So now i am trying to back track to check on my order and came across this site. What can we do?

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dawn Bronkema Dec 11, 2007

    I ordered the full series of Home Improvement for my boyfriend for christmas and still have not recieved it. My account was charged $230.00. These people are scam artists and should be punished.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jenny Jaye Dec 12, 2007

    I ordered thru DVD Donkey over a month ago and when the DVD's didn't arrive I panicked and just by chance punched in the following address [email protected] hoping for some response. Nothing. But the email did not bounce back. then today I received a parcel with the dvd's I ordered. No invoice or order form inside. Only the following info. A card from DVDAvenue.TV, contact info [email protected] or ph 1-877-7-TV-SHOW. The address on the envelope was 1355 Mountain Ave 45458 Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3X 3B6. No name was supplied. Hope this can help someone else.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem