The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

United Bank Limited / REINSTATEMENT OF UBL RETRENCHED OFFICERS

1 Pakistan Review updated:

Addressing to all concern Government authorities, Independent Judiciaries, Controlling departments, Human Rights Officials and Associations,

ON 11TH OCT 1997, UNITED BANK MANAGEMENT WITHOUT ANY PROVOCATION AND PERMISSION FROM GOVERNMENT UNILATERALLY TERMINATED 5416 OFFICERS AND EXECUTIVES PERFORCE WHO WERE EITHER PROMOTED OR INDUCTED IN BANK SERVICE ON OR AFTER 01.10.1991. NO LAW OR SERVICE RULES PERMITS BANK FOR MASS SCALE TERMINATION STILL LIFO (LAST IN FIRST OUT) UK METHODOLOGY APPLICABLE FROM DATE OF EMPLOYMENT WAS WRONGLY APPLIED ON MAJORITY OF SUCH OFFICERS AND EXECUTIVES WHO WERE PROMOTED FROM 1.1.93 ONWARD.
National Assembly of Pakistan on 6th October 2010 passed "Sacked Employees Reinstatement Bill 2010" for providing relief to the persons who were appointed in a corporation service or autonomous or semi-autonomous bodies or otherwise in GOP service from the period November 1, 1993 to November 30, 1996 and were dismissed, removed or terminated from service from November 1, 1996 to December 31, 1998. Clause 2(b) & clause (7) those employees who were removed, terminated, dismissed or given forced golden hand shake during the period from the 1st day of November, 1996 to the 12th day of October, 1999, (both days inclusive) have been reinstated. Clause 4 of the this bill speaks (The provisions of this ordinance shall have effect notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained in any other law for the time being in force or in any judgment of any tribunal or court including Supreme Court and High Court). It is respectfully submitted that the said Act is neither conditional nor restricted therefore effectively enforce for the reinstatement of officers and executives terminated perforce in the year 1997 when the bank was controlled and owned by Government of Pakistan. It is certainly not out of purview of Government of Pakistan in case some of the government shares were off loaded from UBL on 17.10.2002. Sizeable shares are in public hands as well SBP and GOP.
We had submitted our joining report to UBL, as instructed in said bill and also informed to "Establishment Division, GOP" but we are shocked to know by receiving a letter Ref:ERD/SHN/2010 Dated: November 30, 2010 stated as bellow:
"This act is not applicable to UBL and therefore your letter under reference being misconceived is hereby file"
Honorable Sir, under the above circumstances, submission based on facts and relied upon effective government documents/directives merits your gracious consideration to be admitted and the flimsy arguments, fiction type commentary submitted on false grounds by UBL with ulterior motives may be judged.

Accordingly prayer is made before Honorable Chief Justice of Pakistan Mr. Justice Iftekhar Muhammad Chaudhry in the best interest of justice that the instant submission of the Applicant may be admitted for sou moto action.

Aggrieved applicant;


Retrenched Officers and Execitives
United Bank Limited
Head Office, Karachi.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Aa
      11th of Dec, 2010
    0 Votes

    I, Aamir Shahzad Khokhar ex-officer, Kasur Branch, highly appreciate your efforts.Some month ago, I read an article on the net that the chief justice has taken up the notice of our case.
    IS THIS TRUE?

  • Aa
      11th of Dec, 2010
    0 Votes

    UNITED BANK MANAGEMENT WITHOUT ANY PROVOCATION AND PERMISSION FROM GOVERNMENT UNILATERALLY TERMINATED 5416 OFFICERS AND EXECUTIVES PERFORCE WHO WERE EITHER PROMOTED OR INDUCTED IN BANK SERVICE ON OR AFTER 01.10.1991. NO LAW OR SERVICE RULES PERMITS BANK FOR MASS SCALE TERMINATION STILL LIFO (LAST IN FIRST OUT) UK METHODOLOGY APPLICABLE FROM DATE OF EMPLOYMENT WAS WRONGLY APPLIED ON MAJORITY OF SUCH OFFICERS AND EXECUTIVES WHO WERE PROMOTED FROM 1.1.93 ONWARD. IT IS IRONY THAT MIAN NAWAZ SHARIFF HIMSELF DECLARED AT THE FLOOR OF THE HOUSE THAT UBL EMPLOYEES ARE BEING RESTORED. ALMOST ALL POLITICAL PARTIES AND SOCIAL CIRCLE CONDEMNS THIS ACTION AND SUGGESTED REINSTATEMENT BUT TO NO RESULT.

    In order to get remedy and justice we submit facts UBL before Honorable Chief Justice of Pakistan as under:

    It is incorrect to say that Supreme Court of Pakistan only upheld the letter of termination and the claims cannot be re-agitated or is a closed or past issue. Rather, Honorable Apex Court granted pensionery benefits as per rules (which are: 50% commutation of gross pension in lump sum, 50% commutation in the shape of monthly pension till life as per staff circular No.192 dated 24.12.1977, Benevolent Grant for 15 years as per staff circular No.768 dated 15.05.1993, medical facility for self & family for rest of the life & 100 per cent leave encashment in terms of Government of Pakistan, Finance Division letter No. F(2)R-4/95-1228 dated 12.02.1996 regarding leave encashment to the retrenched staff. Moreover, retrenched staff served the bank for more than 10 months in 1997 hence all of the them were entitled to one grade increment on completion of more than 6 months service in the year under review as per service rule which was denied) and adjustment of loans strictly in accordance to sanction advice. The Honorable Supreme Court in Review Petition No.127 of 1999 in Civil Appeal Nos. 1487 to 1528 of 1998, 2000 SCMR 2332 and so also PLD 2001 SC 193 in case of Akram Zahoor, reported in 2000 SCMR 1232, at para 6, it was held:

    "6. Be that as it may, Ch. Mushtaq Ahmed and Mr. Muhammad Akram Sheikh, learned Senior Advocate Supreme Court for the petitioners, Muhammad Ishaq Khan (CP1713/99) Muhammad Asif (CP 1714/99) and Bashir Ahmed (CP 1519/99) petitioners herein in person and Raja Muhammad Akram, learned Senior ASC for the respondent Bank by consent agreed that the cases be remanded to the respondent-Bank for disposal to the extent indicated below:
    i) Adjustment of loans obtained by the petitioners herein from the respondent-Bank shall be made strictly in accordance with the respective loan agreements executed between each of the petitioners and the respondent-Bank.
    ii) The grant of pensionary benefits shall be made available to those petitioners who are found entitled in accordance with the Service Rules of the respondent-Bank in force at the time of termination of their services."

    Similarly, in PLD 2001 SC 193, it was held in paras 13, 14 and 15, which are reproduced hereunder:

    "13. A bare perusal of the last but two paragraphs of the impugned judgment dated 1.6.2000 shows that the Tribunal observed that the case of the present petitioners is at par with that of the appellants in Akram Zahoor V. Federation of Pakistan 2000 SCMR 1232, and that; If the appellants (petitioners herein) are still aggrieved with the decision of the respondent-Bank they shall be at liberty to approach this Tribunal afresh after satisfying the requirements of law and rules, . Consequently, the appeals of the appellants for setting aside termination orders, dated 10.10.1997 and reinstatement with back benefits are dismissed." (underlining is for emphasis.) This Court reiterated the contents of paragraph 6 (i) and (ii) of the judgment in Akram Zahoor (Supra) while allowing the same relief to 175 appellants in, among others, Civil Petition No.2110-L of 2000 etc. vide an unreported judgment of this Court dated 23.10.2000.

    14. Confronted with this, learned counsel for the petitioners were not in a position to say anything against the above course being followed in relation to the present petitions as well.

    15. Resultantly, these petitions are converted into appeals and following the rule of consistency, we maintain the orders of termination from service of the petitioners, and remand the cases to respondent-Bank to the extent indicated above. The appellants herein shall made separate applications to the respondent-Bank for redress of their grievances in terms of the above position stating therein the details of their respective claims against the Bank within 60 days from today. The applications so moved by the appellants shall be disposed by the Bank within 90 days of the expiry of the aforesaid period of the receipt of the applications by the Bank on merits and in accordance with law. If any one of the appellants feels aggrieved to his extent, he shall be within his right to approach the appropriate Service Tribunal, thereafter."


    Moreover, it is discriminatory and biased to declare by UBL Management that Retrenchment Scheme was a bunch of benefits as compare to normal benefits, whereas factually it was an eye wash to deprive the officers and executives from legitimate earned benefits on the one hand and on the other hand to mislead even the Apex Court that incentive in the scheme were attractive and extended greater benefits to the retrenched/perforce terminated officers and executives. Factually, 3 basic salaries for each completed year of service subject to maximum 90 basic salaries were paid in lieu of notice which aggregated from Rs.150, 000 to Rs.400, 000 to officers and executives in accordance to their respective pay and seniority. In case Retrenchment Scheme was attractive then what prompted bank management to resort mass perforce termination of officers and executives by wrongly applying service rules which only deals with administrative issues and has no provision of mass scale termination. The then bank management was operating with a mind set to get rid of as much officers and executives as they can and in this pursuit they went on force termination of majority of such young officers and executives who were strolling in the age group of 25-40 years and even not spared cricket world cup 1992 winners & 71 war army disabled personnel's serving UBL which is enough for this honorable court to understand that under no circumstances officers in such age groups would have opted for voluntary schemes offering peanuts in front of their remaining service of over 20+ years in normal circumstances. It was an ill motive exercise to accommodate blue eyed on hefty packages which can be verified from the record of the bank that the salary and perks paid to more than 5000 perforce terminated officers and executives were later paid to only 300 plus consultants hired on contracts of one year or so. Further, bank management abused the loaning process by allowing per person Rs.10 million or more as House Building Finance to all such consultants on 3 per cent mark up adjustable in 15-20 years.

    The Appex Court may observe that bank has accepted in the court that vide staff circular No.192 dated 24.12.1977 the pensionary benefits are applicable to employees who have retired or have become deceased and not at all to ones whose services have been terminated and in this case it was the case of perforce mass termination without any cause of action, notice or disciplinary proceedings. Rests of the arguments advanced by the bank are frivolous, misconceived, fabricated and again it is an attempt to mislead this honorable court by submitting false story whereas factually 50% earned benefits were deprived from payouts of each officer & executive.

    The bank has misleaded and it is correct to say that those officers and executives who were on the apex of their respective careers and were entitle to normal retirement benefits had opted but majority of officers and executives who have been made victim of circumstances and were strolling in the age group of 25-40 were not provided with an opportunity to exercise any such option in consonance to the rights available to every citizen of Pakistan in the Constitution. Moreover, it is incorrect to say that officers and executives were conferred handsome benefits over and above; under the Retrenchment Scheme and which dues were received and accepted by them whereas it was a force majeure under the prevailing circumstances and were compelled to receive.

    It is paradoxically incorrect to say that the bank is not bound by the provisions of Sacked Employees (Reinstatement) Ordinance, 2009 having said that, The President of Pakistan on 14th February 2009 has promulgated the Ordinance 2009 for providing relief to the persons who were appointed in a corporation service or autonomous or semi autonomous bodies or in GOP service from the period November 1, 1993 to November 30, 1996 and were dismissed, removed or terminated from service from November 1, 1996 to December 31, 1998. Clause 2(b) & clause (7) those employees who were removed, terminated, dismissed or given forced golden hand shake during the period from the 1st day of November, 1996 to the 31st day of December, 1998 (both days inclusive) have been reinstated. Clause 11 of the Presidential Ordinance speaks (The provisions of this ordinance shall have effect notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained in any other law for the time being in force or in any judgment of any tribunal or court including Supreme Court and High Court). It is respectfully submitted before this honorable court that the said ordinance is neither conditional nor restricted therefore effectively enforce for the reinstatement of officers and executives terminated perforce in the year 1997 when the bank was controlled and owned by Government of Pakistan. It is certainly not out of purview of Government of Pakistan in case some of the government shares were off loaded from UBL on 17.10.2002. Sizeable shares are in public hands as well SBP and GOP.

    Further, Constitution of Islamic Republic of Pakistan protects the rights of citizens from any sort of discrimination under provisions as provided in Article 27, 2-A 18 and 25.

    Some of the facts which are necessary to arrive at a fair conclusion are appended:

    "The UBL employees were terminated perforce on the basis of promotion by wrongly applying LIFO (Last in first out, UK methodology applicable only from the date of employment) ignoring the agreement between Government of Pakistan & Federation of Employees for voluntary golden handshake scheme and also against the Natural Justice as provided in the Constitution of Pakistan without any cause of action, notice or reason on payment of 50% of there own earned retirement benefits and very small amount of compensation ranging from Rs.150, 000 to Rs.400, 000. Large numbers of officers and executives have been deprived from pension as well. The service rules of UBL in vogue were silent on enblock massacre of 5416 employees. UBL was privatized on 17.10.2002 almost 5 years later.

    Summary of Orders of Highest Authorities flayed by UBL Management till now:

    1. No provision of law or Service Rules of the bank permits UBL management to implement scheme of perforce termination of 5416 officers and executives in a single instance. Moreover, before full bench of Honorable Lahore High Court the Dy. Attorney General submitted that the decision of perforce termination of 5416 officers and executives was unilateral on the part of management of the bank and not of MOF. It was further submitted that salary & perks of Zubyr Soomro, President has not yet been decided who was drawing salary & perks of around Rs.2.00 million per month as against M-1 scale of Rs.125, 000 per month was available for such positions.
    2. Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif, the then Prime Minister while addressing Overseas Foundation at Islamabad in morning of 27th November, 1997 announced that the persons given force golden handshake by Financial and other institutions are continue to remain on their employment and would draw all perks and benefits. He was personally grieved to know that after force termination golden handshake was allowed.
    3. During question answer session in NA on 04.12.97, the parliamentary secretary to ministry of finance informed the house that Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has issued the orders for taking back UBL employees in service and ministry of finance has conveyed the same to SBP.
    4. The order by Mr. Justice Ajmal Mian, C.J., Mr. Justice Munawar Ahmed Mirza and Mr. Justice Ch. Muhammad Ali in the civil petitions No.1004 to 1045 of 1998 to dispose of the 42 petitions for leave to appeal against a common judgment dated 28.7.1998 passed by the Federal Service Tribunal in Appeal No.139(K) of 1998 allowing that impugned order of force termination suffers from several irreparable irregularities rather illegalities, therefore, the impugned order cannot be upheld which is hereby set aside and respondent-Bank was directed to reinstate the appellants subject to recovery of any retirement benefits, if any. "Honorable Supreme Court while inclined to grant leave to consider as to whether the impugned judgment is in consonance with the law enunciated by this Court. As regards interlocutory relief, we are inclined to order that the petitioner should either re-induct the respondents into service, or should pay to them future monthly salaries till the disposal of the appeal arising from the above petitions, subject to the condition that the respondents would return the amounts received by them from the petitioner bank within a period of two weeks. The appeals arising from the above petitions may be fixed for hearing within a period six months."

    5. On 11.4.2000, Judgment was pronounced by Mr. Justice Irshad Hasan Khan, C.J., Mr. Justice Muhammad Bashir Jahangiri and Mr. Justice Nazim Hussain Siddiqui and propose to dispose of 135 civil petitions bearing Nos.1524 to 1529, 1576 to 1697, 1713, 1714, 1719 to 1721, 1776 and 1519 of 1999 arising out of a common judgment dated 23.3.1999 passed by the Federal Service Tribunal, Islamabad in Appeal No.792-L of 1998. The learned counsel of both sides by consent agreed that the cases by remanded to the respondent-Bank for disposal to the extent indicated below:

    i) Adjustment of Loans obtained by the petitioners herein from the respondent-Bank shall be made strictly in accordance with the respective loan agreements executed between each of the petitioners and respondent-Bank.

    ii) The grant of pensionary benefits shall be available to those petitioners who are found entitled in accordance with the Service Rules of the respondent-Bank in force at the time of termination of their services.

    Pursuant to this remand order, this being a consented judgment shall not be made a precedent.

    6. Sacked Employees (Reinstatement) Ordinance 2009 has been implemented in letter and spirit by almost all other departments & organizations, whereas as per past practice UBL management again flayed unconditional/unrestricted ordinance clearly spell and enforce w.e.f. from 13.10.1997 on employees of government owned UBL for their reinstatement vide clause 2(b) & clause (7) those employees who were removed, terminated, dismissed or given forced golden handshake during the period from the 1st day of November, 1996 to the 31st day of December, 1998 (Both days inclusive) have been reinstated.

    Therefore, it is respectfully prayed before honorable Chief Justice of Pakistan to review the whole matter in totality to arrive at an impartial and fair judgment not only for the reinstatement of most deserving officers and executives whose life has been ruined by biased elements but shall also compensate them for bearing agonies without any fault or act of disobedience. Further, it is a known fact that President Musharaf and Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz were instrumental in obtaining judgments against officers & executives due to their self interest in UBL fresh hiring of blue eyed on hefty packages and later its controversial privatization to lowest bidder.

    UBL wrong contention that the matter has been finally disposed and closed by Supreme Court of Pakistan against remand order on consent of lawyers of both sides to obtain judgment for adjustment of loans and payment of pensionary benefits is again an attempt to foul play whereas UBL retrenched officers deserves order for implementation of Sacked Employees (Reinstatement) Ordinance 2009 to UBL management in the interest of greater cause of justice or as honorable Chief Justice may better consider and decide .

  • Dr
      20th of May, 2011
    0 Votes

    Dear,
    Mr.Salman Ahmed Malik/Mr.Syed Hassan Malik Custmer Services UBL Karachi,
    I am Dr.Tufail Ahmed Bhatti, one of client of Cashline "Jindagi Assan" my repyment account number is 1574-626-2866-1 at UBL Quaid-e-Azam Road Gul center Baranch Hyderabad. I submitted all the dues through the UBL Agent Mr.Syed Fazil Hussain Jafferi his account number is 101181-805536 by the on-line his account number through the two episodes (Slips of UBL bank with me) which I faxed to the UBL manager Legal and Recovery Branch Karachi on dated 19-4-2011. I aslo talked on the free line of UBL who suggested me to fax all details. Through fax on dated 19-4-2011 from Islamabad I sent all the applications and CNIC copy and slip of submission. Still I do not receive my clearence status and need to be settle my account. Various questions which I want to be dicuss 1- Is Mr Danis is working in UBL bank as he was sitting with the Gul Center Branch UBL and asked me to setlle all my dues? I dont know, I sent my first instalment of Rs.16000/ to his account which is mentioned above on dated 26th Oct 2010 and second istalment was sent on 4th Dec, 2010 through the same account. Where is he? I do not know ? his mobile was continusely off number is 0300-3062621, morover I need my clearnce certificate. Last fax to the Complaint office of Karachi did not respond up to yet what can I do know? Are these are all fraud? Please clear all the quaries. need guidance please contact me emmidiately on the other way matter will go to the court. My contact number is Dr.Tufail Ahmed Bhatti, Mobile number is 0300-3071689 Designation is Research Fellow at R&DD HSA Opp NIH Islamabad. I will be thankful to you if this matter settles immediately. My second step will be to contact all the UBL High ooficials /Autorities. Urgent action required by the UBL people.

  • Kh
      5th of Jul, 2011
    +1 Votes

    Any plan of PML (N) about REINSTATEMENT OF SERVICE UNDER PRESIDENT ORDER 2010 sacked in his own tenure)
    SIR,
    ON 11TH OCT 1997, UNITED BANK MANAGEMENT WITHOUT ANY PROVOCATION AND PERMISSION FROM GOVERNMENT UNILATERALLY TERMINATED 5416 OFFICERS PERFORCE WHO WERE EITHER PROMOTED OR INDUCTED IN BANK SERVICE ON OR AFTER 01.10.1991. NO LAW OR SERVICE RULES PERMITS BANK FOR MASS SCALE TERMINATION STILL LIFO (LAST IN FIRST OUT) UK METHODOLOGY APPLICABLE FROM DATE OF EMPLOYMENT WAS WRONGLY APPLIED ON MAJORITY OF SUCH OFFICERS AND EXECUTIVES WHO WERE PROMOTED FROM 1.1.93 ONWARD.
    IT IS IRONY THAT MIAN NAWAZ SHARIF HIMSELF DECLARED AT THE FLOOR OF THE HOUSE THAT UBL EMPLOYEES ARE BEING RESTORED. ALMOST ALL POLITICAL PARTIES AND SOCIAL CIRCLE CONDEMNS THIS ACTION AND SUGGESTED REINSTATEMENT BUT TO NO RESULT.
    During question answer session in NA on 04.12.97, the parliamentary secretary to ministry of finance informed the house that Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has issued the orders for taking back UBL employees in service and ministry of finance has conveyed the same to SBP.
    A committee named BANKING AND FINANCIAL SERVICES RE-EMPLOYMENT COMMISSION was formed PM NAWAZ in Islamabad .I was called for interview, appeared before the 7-members commission and I was informed that I am selected. This action was conformed by establishment division, Islamabad.
    National Assembly of Pakistan on 6th October 2010 passed "Sacked Employees Reinstatement Bill 2010" for providing relief to the persons who were appointed in a corporation service or autonomous or semi-autonomous bodies or otherwise in GOP service from the period November 1, 1993 to November 30, 1996 and were dismissed, removed or terminated from service from November 1, 1996 to December 31, 1998. Clause 2(b) & clause (7) those employees who were removed, terminated, dismissed or given forced golden hand shake during the period from the 1st day of November, 1996 to the 12th day of October, 1999, (both days inclusive) have been reinstated. Clause 4 of the this bill speaks (The provisions of this ordinance shall have effect notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained in any other law for the time being in force or in any judgment of any tribunal or court including Supreme Court and High Court).
    It is respectfully submitted that the said Act is neither conditional nor restricted therefore effectively enforce for the reinstatement of officers terminated perforce in the year 1997 when the bank was controlled and owned by Government of Pakistan. It is certainly not out of purview of Government of Pakistan in case some of the government shares were off loaded from UBL on 17.10.2002. Sizable shares are in public hands as well SBP and GOP.
    I have submitted my joining report to UBL, as instructed in said bill and also informed to "Establishment Division, GOP" but I was shocked to know by receiving a letter stated as bellow:
    "This act is not applicable to UBL and therefore your letter under reference being misconceived is hereby file"
    Honorable Sir, under the above circumstances, submission based on facts and relied upon effective government documents/directives merits your gracious consideration to be the flimsy arguments, fiction type commentary submitted on false grounds by UBL with ulterior motives may be judged.

    Aggrieved applicant;
    Aamir Shahzad Khokhar
    United Bank Limited, R R, KASUR

  • Sy
      29th of Aug, 2011
    0 Votes

    SHAME ON AAZ ! THE CHAMP OF BB SHAHEED COMMITMENTS. TRY TO MAKE HIM CONVINCE THAT AAZ IS THE ONLY PERSON TAKING CARE OF PROMISES OF HIS LATE WIFE.

  • Ba
      9th of Mar, 2012
    0 Votes

    Respected Sir,
    My name is Mirza Qasim Baig .I try my self to make my business very wel with ubl bank.I choose a bussiness with ubl bank with name of ubl Omni dukaan last yr in 2011.My shop name Baig Super Store which situated at gujrat .I have a very big problem with this business.I have last big amount with this business.I complaint my self to zonal manager but he said can, t do salve this problem.we could not pay this amount.he know about the problem.he state way said we could not pay this amount and its ur fault.you do not pay its time.I ask about this problem other banks .they convince me and said u can get ur lass from the bank.plz salve my problem and i get back my bussiness in ubl omni.I am very thank ful to urs.if u contact me my email add mirzabaig922@hotmail.com.i am waiting ur reply.

  • Ra
      24th of Jun, 2012
    0 Votes

    i am raja abdul rashid resident of bhimber azad kashmir retrenched also in 1997 when i was working as a manager of ubl poona azad kashmir mirpur zone br, i was disabled by gun shot during on cash duty in jan1994.the bank did not pay any compensation towards my disability.the honourable wafaqi mohtasib islamabad also favoured me and directed to bank management to pay the compensation of disability but the bank management not only refused to pay me dues but submitted writ at rawalpindi high court.meanwhile i was retrenched and could not persue the case properly, i have four children one of my daughter is also disaled by birth which needs heavy money for her treatments.i am unable to get the other kids to get higher education.i am over 56 year old a

  • Ub
      8th of Jul, 2013
    0 Votes

    Respectable and Honourable Sir,

    UBL RETRENCHMENT SCHEME – 1997
    (ECONOMICALLY MURDER)

    Reference to the above.

    In this regard we would like to inform you that during the 2nd tenor of Mian Mohammad Nawaz Sharif, Prime Minister of Islamic republic of Pakistan, the management of UNITED BANK LIMITED retrenched the services of 5416 employees illegally, unlawfully and un justify on 13.10.199 by victimization with forces which is clear open and intentionally violation of GOLDEN HAND SHAKE SCHEME approved by the Government of Pakistan.

    Under the prescribed instructions from IMF/WORLD BANK, the Government of Pakistan planned to downsize the staff in all nationalized commercial banks. After negotiation between all the nationalized commercial banks and Ministry of Finance and the Privatization Commission, a scheme namely GOLDEN HAND SHAKE SCHEME launched in order to complete the process of downsizing the staff. All banks’ accepted and adopted the said scheme properly and the complete the job successfully without any problem. But the management of UNITED BANK LIMITED declined and launched the blind decision namely UBL RETRENCHMENT SCHEME – 1997 for their staff. Every facts of this scheme has already been knowledge of Mian Mohammad Nawaz Sharif

    Dr. Mehboob-ul-Haq (late) former Finance/Economist Minister of Islamic Republic of Pakistan has already been protested and advised about UBL RETRENCHMENT SCHEME-1997 in TIME MAGAZINE that this is not only economically murder of 5416 employees but it is economically murder of the nation.

    Dr. Mohateer Mohammad, the former Prime Minister of Malaysia has already been disappointed on this blind decision and declared on one of the leading Malaysian News Paper Daily Express that this is not good for the nation of Pakistan. On this way the unemployment/poverty will be increased automatically day by day with economically, socially, financially and criminal crises/problems, which is not better for the future of Pakistan. Now the result is opened for everyone

    He further advised that this cruel act proves that one who claimed Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz Group) to make Pakistan as an Asian Tiger, has made Pakistan as a graveyard of unemployment/jobless persons, contrary to their claim. In the name of democracy have crippled the life of peoples of Pakistan by making them fools. This has been done merely, so that to massacre at their economic/social rights and to bury them alive for ever.

    The famous Muslim Scholar Dr. Israr Ahmad (late) has already been protested and informed about this blind decision/economically murder that it is open challenge to the ECONOMICALLY/SOCIALLY SYSTEMS of the GOD directly by the HEAD OF STATE.

    On 14th October, 1997 Mian Mohammad Nawaz Sharif, Prime Minister of Islamic Republic of Pakistan ordered for reinstate the retrenched employees with immediate effect during opening ceremony of MOTORWAY through electronic media but the management of the bank declined the said instructions and failed to for implementation, but the matter is still pending since last 16 years. His one of the brother namely Mian Abbas Sharif (late) informed us that this is a political message not for implementation.

    The Electronic Media has failed to open the said matter on their live tv talk show program through their channels for the kind attention of Mian Mohammad Nawaz Sharif.

    The some facts of GOLDEN HAND SHAKE SCHEME AND UBL RETRENCHMENTSCHEME-1997 are given below your kind attention.

    1- GOLDEN HAND SHAKE SCHEME.

    This scheme launched by the Government of Pakistan in all nationalized commercial banks in order to complete the process of downsizing staff as per prescribed instructions and tariff of IMF/WORLD BANK as soon as possible.

    This scheme is optionally for those employees who have been adopted voluntarily and paid 100% share to the concerned employees without victimization as per length of their services with pension benefits etc;

    On this scheme the GOVERNMENT OF PAKISTAN has already been declared that they never dismiss/terminate or retrench any employees in any commercial nationalized banks on the base of downsizing the staff.

    2- UBL RETRENCHED EMPLOYEES-1997 (ECONOMICALLY MURDER)

    This scheme launched only by UNITED BANK LIMITED, against GOLDEN HAND SHAKE SCHEME, which is clear open and intentionally violation by victimization with forces and paid 50% share to the retrenched employees instead of 100% shares, which is again clear open and intentionally violation of GOLDEN HAND SHAKE SCHEME. AS PER SOCIAL/ECONOMICAL DEMOCRATIC STATUS OF HAZRAT OMER-E-FAROOQ, (RH) THE 2ND KHALIFA OF MUSLIM COMMUNITY, THIS BLIND DECISION (UBL RETRENCHMENT SCHEME-1997) IS EQUAL LIKE AS ECONOMICALLY MURDER WITH ILLEGALLY, UNLAWFUL AND UN JUSTIFY

    The WORLD BANK / IMF provided full funds to UNITED BANK LIMITED under the instructions of Ministry of Finance/Privatization Commission in order to complete the process of downsize the job properly but bank distributed 50% shares to the retrenched employees, without pension benefits, the rest of balance amount captured by the management of the bank illegally which is still lying in SUNDRY DEPOSIT ACCOUNT (NON ACCOUNTABILITY). Some funds have already been utilized by the new management of the bank after privatization illegally without getting prior permission from the Government of Pakistan.

    On this play 50 employees died on spot with heart attack, 200 employees have already been adopted suicide till date as protest against this blind decision (WHO ARE RESPONSIBLE ON THESE UNEXPECTED CAUSALITIES)

    More than 3000 employees have already been badly suffered / affected with chronic type of decease and they are unable to get proper treatment due to poverty.

    On this blind decision all family members of retrenched employees have already been badly affected/suffered collapsed with financially, economically and socially crises and they are routing their life with poverty. They are going gradually into graveyard

    During exiled life of Mian Mohammad Nawaz Sharif at Saudi Arabia, he had very kind committed this blind decision with some retrenched employees who were performing UMRA at MACCA SHARIF. At MACCA SHARIF he again very kind committed/agreed alongwith personal assurance and guarantee that on his Government in Islamic Republic of Pakistan he will provide TRANSPARENT JUSTICE to the UBL retrenched employees on the shape of 100% funds as per GOLDEN HAND SHAKE SCHEME, but till date his decision is still pending.

    This is for your kind attention that the GOVERNMENT OF PAKISTAN has owner rights of 51% share of the bank as per AGREEMENT executed between GOVERNMENT OF THE PAKISTAN and the BEST WAY GROUP (the new management of the Bank). Now this is a golden chance/opportunity for Mian Mohammad Nawaz Sharif to provide us TRANSPARENT JUSTICE ON THE BASE OF MUSLIM’S SOCIAL/HUMAN DEMOCRATIC RIGHTS as per HOLLY QURAN whereas now he is a commanding position to settle this matter by his SOMOTO ACTION like as MOHAMMAD BIN QASIM.

    We need the TRANSPARENT JUSTICE ON THE BASE OF MUSLIM’S SOCIAL/HUMAN DEMOCRATIC RIGHTS AS PER HOLLY QURAN ON THE SHAPE FUNDS AS PER GOLDEN HAND SHAKE SCHEME.

    You are therefore, humbly requested on compassionate grounds and appeal in the name of ALLAH alongwith his HABIB HAZRAT MOHAMMAD (PBUH) to kindly forward your foot and put/take up this matter to the kind attention of Mian Mohammad Nawaz Sharif, Prime Minister of Minister of Islamic Republic of Pakistan alongwith the other members of National Assembly. Kindly treat this matter as NATIONAL MATTER which is un settled since last 16 years and need your personal attention.

    MOST IMPORTANT
    Mr. Pervaiz Rashid, Minister for Information of Pakistan (PML-N) has already been admitted and confirmed that there is no law and option to retrench the services of the regular employees during employment in Pakistan alongwith all over the world, which is available on Daily Newspaper Mashrak dated 29th June, 2013. As per this message the services of 5416 employees retrenched by the management of the bank on 13.10.1997 is illegally, un-lawful, un-justify and blind decision. His message is attached for your kind attention and ready reference.

    You are therefore requested to kindly pay your positive and solid role in order to solve this matter immediately without further loss of time according to the prescribed instructions of HOLLY QURAN in respect of TRANSPARENT JUSTICE

    After your successful team work on this matter the GOD will provide you sweat/peaceful life and prosperity alongwith your family members.

    We thank for your kind attention on our matter with priority basis alongwith your dedicated efforts.


    UBL RETRENCHED EMPLOYEES – 1997

  • Ir
      2nd of Sep, 2013
    0 Votes

    sr my cash (10000) was reversed during withdraw from atm (bank al habib mochi pura branch lahore).my account belongs to ubl branch Dera Murad Jamali please transfer my cash into my ubl account given below. NAME IRFAN SAIFAL . CNIC - 5340533643849 . A/C 0203945216. MOB - 03003274700.

  • Ra
      17th of Nov, 2013
    0 Votes

    raja abdul rashid bhimber azad kashmir.i am also retrenced with all above mentioned persons from ubl.we hadnot given justice from any pakistan court, because of nazriaezaroorat by the courts under pressure of acting government.no justice of peace had any morl decesion power to give decesion against one person who acted unlawfully and against the constitution of pakistan.i request chief j, of pak.for god sack reed the retrenced officers dismissal order again and take suo moo action against the responsibles.i am ubale to get my childern well education, treatment of my grand daughter dissabled, my wife who is patient of highbloodpressure and my mother who remained on bed due to illness.i cant afford the expenses.i am dishearted from pakistan and pakistani every organ of the country.when any higher official read these line to think about all 5416 families and compensate 50 per cent amount remained with the bank with interests.as we have been paid only 50 persent amount.i was dissabled during duty by gun fire and became dissabled but ubl had not compensate any sort of coin and kind..

  • Mu
      20th of Nov, 2013
    0 Votes

    SIR I AM ACCOUNT HOLDER OF UBL KHICHI WALA BRANCH . MISBEHAVE OF CASHIER AND MANAGER 12AM TK CASH NAHI DATY US K BAD LAMBI LINE BEHS O TAKRAR HELP US KINDLY

  • Mu
      7th of Jan, 2014
    0 Votes

    Region :JHELUM Branch Code :546 Branch Name Address: MANDI BAHAUDDIN TEHSIL AND DIST MANDI BAHAUDDIN

    A.O.A SIR,
    MOST RESPECTFULLY IT IS HIGHLY RESERVATIONS ABOUT YOUR BANK BRANCH AT M.B.DIN.THEY HAVE
    DEDUCTED MY BALANCE AMOUNT UPTO 3000 RS. WITHOUT ANY PROPER RESON.THEY HAVE NO PROOF
    WHY THEY HAVE DEDUCTED MY AMOUNTUPTO 3000 RS.THIS IS TOTALLY UNFAIR AND CORRUPTIVE ISSUE OF YOUR
    BANK BRANCH AT M.B.DIN.TAKE A SERIOUS ACTIONS AGAINST WHO ARE MAKING YOUR COMPANY NAME RUSTY AND REFUND MY ALL AMOUNT
    .I SHALL BE VERY THANKFUL TO YOU

  • Hu
      19th of Jan, 2014
    0 Votes

    Online Service which is being utilized on net EPrepaynow.com
    Owner Name: Mehran Khan
    Organization:EPREPAYNOW.COM
    Address:
    H. No. 8, St. 19, F-8/2, Islamabad, 44000, Pakistan
    Phone:+92.515895473
    Email:help@eprepaynow.com
    & your bank branch have account with the below mentioned detail:


    Account Title: ePrePayNow Services

    Account No: 0206950538

    Branch Code: 1305 (Wahdad Road Lahore)

    Bank Name: United Bank Limited

    Sir, it's fraud ... he tell us that he belong to USA, & makes Visa Debit Card.
    I have submit my application for making my visa debit at that time I didn't inquire myself,
    but now I have complete information by some resources, you can also check
    https://www.eprepaynow.com/

    About eprepaynow.com:
    http://iwebchk.com/reports/view/eprepaynow.com

    I submit my pay order No: POGCH 0015072
    (Bank Alfalah Ltd - Gulshan Chowrangi Branch) on 27th November, 2013

    but neither I recieved card nor my payment back.

    Please inquire yourself that fraud & take action.

    Thanks & Regards,

    Hunain Zubair Siddiqui
    hunain.siddiqui82@gmail.com
    0313-2197427

  • Gh
      14th of May, 2014
    0 Votes

    During Nawaz Sharif’s second tenure, the management of United Bank Limited retrenched the services of 5, 416 employees unlawfully on October 13, 1997.
    Under the prescribed instructions from IMF and the World Bank, the Government of Pakistan planned to downsize the staff in all nationalized commercial banks.
    After negotiation amongst the nationalized commercial banks and Ministry of Finance and the Privatization Commission, a scheme namely Golden Hand-shake Scheme was launched in order to complete the process of downsizing the staff.
    All banks’ accepted and adopted the Scheme. The management of UBL, however, declined and launched the UBL Retrenchment Scheme 1997 for their staff. Nawaz Sharif knew about it.
    Dr Mehboobul Haq, former Finance Minister had protested and stated in the TIME Magazine that this was not only economic murder of 5, 416 employees but also of the nation.
    Dr. Mohateer Mohammad, the former PM of Malaysia declared in one of the leading Malaysian News Paper Daily Express that this was not good for the nation of Pakistan. He opined that it would lead to unemployment and poverty will increase.
    On October 14, 1997 Nawaz Sharif as PM ordered reinstatement of the retrenched employees with immediate effect during opening ceremony of Motorway but the UBL management refused to comply. Resultantly, the matter remains pending for the past 16 years.
    Some facts of the Golden Hand-shake Scheme and the UBL Rretrenchment Scheme1997 are given below:
    1- GOLDEN HAND SHAKE SCHEME
    This scheme launched by the Government of Pakistan in all nationalized commercial banks in order to complete the process of downsizing staff as per prescribed instructions and tariff of the IMF as soon as possible.
    The Government declared that it never dismissed or retrenched any employee in any commercial nationalized banks on the basis of downsizing the staff under this Scheme.
    2- UBL RETRENCHED EMPLOYEES-1997
    This Scheme was launched only by UBL against the Golden Hand-shake Scheme which was a clear violation by victimization with force. Under it, the employees were paid only 50% share instead of 100% shares which they were entitled to under the other Scheme.
    The IMF provided full funds to UBL under the instructions of Ministry of Finance and the Privatization Commission in order to complete the process of downsizing the job properly but bank distributed 50% shares to the retrenched employees, without pension benefits. The rest of the amount was kept by the management of the Bank illegally which is still lying in a Sundry Deposit Account.
    Some funds have already been utilized by the new management of the Bank after privatization illegally without getting prior permission from the Government of Pakistan.
    Due to this illegal retrenchment, the concerned employees and their families have been financially ruined.
    The Government of Pakistan still has ownership rights of 51% share of the Bank as per Agreement executed with the Bestway Group (the new management of the Bank).

  • Ra
      27th of Aug, 2014
    0 Votes

    hello owner of ubl your bank service is not good very local .i have apply my account request and also submit account form for ladies wiz card and form submit 3month ago .no my account make yet .islamkot branch name of card holder is kamlesh .so please do something for me .my name is Raja shahani number 03332505687

  • Az
      2nd of Sep, 2014
    0 Votes

    Sir,
    I applied for the job of casher in year 2013 from Mirpur Azad Kashmir .I don my test interview and my document send to the head office.My education is B.com and have a three year experience of the Sales Officer .
    All criteria of the job set by the organization i am at merit and complete all the requirement and test.The organization did not give me any responce or connect me .My all details of the experience and education in my c.v you can chack it .A lots of time i go to HRM office mirpur but Staff told me that bank as a face of the union case your decision is pending.
    Plz tell me about this soon as possible then i try to another job .Its my best dream to join this Bank.
    Regard:
    Azhar Shahzad
    Mirpur Azad Kashmir

  • En
      31st of Mar, 2015
    0 Votes

    Dear Sir
    As i have account in UBL Islamabad PWD branch.This is the joint account with my Misses.As i am working in Multan.Toady 31march 2015 i call my Bank (051-5170400)from my cell phone.A person attend the call I explained my problem(I have brought my cheque book with my self Multan and there in my home Islamabad we have to pay my children school fee so just only inform me about if my messes will come to branch as i know that if a account holder have no Cheque book then after verification the bank is releasing the payment)when i explain my problem to manager his behavior was very bad and he replay on phone (GUDA)already my cell phone is on recording so all my conversation recorded for your kind information.This is my application for further inquiry other wise i have to continue the same with State Bank Or Wifaqi muhtasib.
    Thanks
    Engr.Syed Amjad Ali Shah
    Cell No 03369145434
    051-5970821

  • Ha
      31st of Mar, 2016
    0 Votes

    Dear Sir
    As i have open account in UBL university campus Peshawar which have branch code is 1486.This is the current account.As i am still student in master in islamia college university peshawar. Toady March 2016. check book does not issue to me for about 2 weeks and also ATM cards. If your free than please contact me +9203128321662 or send me email on this site jansab50@gmail.com
    Thank u

Post your comment