SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

The College Networkscam, liars, fraud

1
E Review updated:

College rep came to my house and highly reccomended me the RN to BSN program. Her name was Patricia Jones and she stated being a nurse with a Master degree now recruitng students. She never told me that the college network isn't nothing but a publisher company She stated to be affilliated to different colleges preparing student for a fast track on line course. She offer me resorce center on line . They do have a resource center on line, but it is a scam nothing but the same old book they published there is no interaction or such tutor on line to help u with the class.. It is basically study a book on your own and go challenge the test. I even contact them for accademic support and had some one read the book over and over to me, these academic suport people are not professor and are not prepare instruct people. the bootom line is they make u believe they are on line fast trak course to take your degree. But its a lie. They stated They were working with financial aid and federal loans this is a lie no such federal loan are given to this company for students, I have been paying them since las year i have not received anyhing from them just a book and every time try to call then they repeat the same story you are resposible for the loan..I am like what loan I have not received nothing from you gives what do I owe you..in fact you guys collect that money in my name wich i am never going to use and never going to see..

Responses

  • T
      Apr 29, 2009

    Dear Escobar,

    The College Network is an educational services company that provides support and services to assist customers in furthering their educations. We are partnered with several institutions of higher learning, but this is essentially a self-study program. Our Academic Advisors all hold a bachelor's degree or higher and can assist you with academic-related questions or other concerns.

    I am sorry to hear that you are dissatisfied with your purchase up to this point. Normally, in this instance I would have someone from our Customer Care Unit contact you to provide assistance, however I am unable to locate you in our system. Please feel free to respond to me in this forum or contact the manager of our Customer Care Unit. Her name is Heather and she can be reached at [protected].

    Sincerely,

    Rick
    The College Network

    +1 Votes
  • J
      May 18, 2009

    Agree 100% !!! You people are a total fraud and have been reported to everyone!! The attorney general, better business ect ect!! You portray yourself that you are a college and should be shut down immediatly!!! You are taking hardworking nurses that want to better themselves and leaving a mountain of useless books and debt! You people are full of garbage! Nobody gave us a Federal Grant to continue our education like you say!!! Shame on all of you! I will def be a part of the class action statewide lawsuit to SHUT YOU DOWN!!!

    0 Votes
  • T
      May 20, 2009

    Dear jackielpn,

    Unfortunately, I am unable to identify you as a customer in our system. You are welcome to contact Academic Support and ask to speak to the manager of the Customer Care Unit.

    To briefly address some of your concerns, we do not portray ourselves as a college. Both our website and the paperwork you complete when you sign up identifies us as an educational materials and support provider. We do partner with several colleges and universities and some of them may be able to assist you in obtaining federal grants or student loans, but those are not services that we provide.

    We would be more than happy to address your concerns. It is our sincerest hope to be able to assist you in obtaining your degree. Please contact us at [protected].

    Sincerely,
    Rick
    The College Network

    0 Votes
  • J
      May 21, 2009

    Dear Rick,
    No, you people are a total fraud. You send fast talking "salesmen" to homes of nurses that want to continue their education. Your fast talking salesmen tell you that College Network is a College and you are receiving a Federal Grant to help pay. maybe you should read the hundreds of complaints that are ALLL over the internet regarding ther fact that you are just as "PUBLISHING COMPANY" and nothing else! 3 days to cancel? OK try getting someone on the phone to do that! Your kidding me right? Total scam associated with Southeastern Financial. I dont know how you sleep at night but I am sure that you are receiving a nice commision from all the nurses that have been frauded.. If you say that you are a respectable company start making copies of ALLL the local, state, and national complaints and bring them in to quality assurance and say "We may have a problem". There are hundreds and thousands of complaints so dosent that TELL you something? Tell everybody why its a sneaky 3 day cancel policy. people dont even have time to read anything! Then within 3 days people call and they cant cancel...Ahh isnt that fishy? They blow you off and then after 3 days...Oh Well You Loose!! Why are we told you are a College and receiving a Federal Grant? Maybe your logo should say "Publishing Company Only"!! Allow the nurses to be able to bow out with no harm to their credit, return useless material. Extend your cancel policy to 30-60 days so you can even look at the books. How can you cancel in three days if the delivery hasent arrived? Amazing to me. Have a great day!

    +1 Votes
  • T
      May 22, 2009

    Dear Jackie,

    Your 2 main complaints seem to be the fact that we are not a college and our 3 day cancellation period. Both of these aspects of your program are covered in your papererwork. As with any purchase, I always recommend that you read everything prior to signing.

    The 3 day cancellation period is standard where a loan is concerned. The 3 days is not to determine whether or not you want to do the program, but whether or not your finances are in line to take out a loan. The decision to further one's education is a big one and should be considered prior to signing up.

    As far as calling to cancel, we honor all cancellation requests that are made within the 3 business day cancellation period. We are available by phone from 8-11EST Monday through Thursday and from 8-9EST on Friday. Cancellation requests can also be faxed, mailed, or emailed.

    With regard to your statement about federal grants, this is not a service that we advertise or promote. To my knowledge our programs are not currently eligible for federal funding. The portion of your program that you complete with the degree-granting institution may be, but not The College Network portion.

    If you have additional concerns, please call [protected] and assk to speak to Heather. She is the manager of our Customer Care Unit and she would be more than happy to assist you with your concerns. I hope I have been able to satisfactorily answer your questions.

    Sincerely,
    Rick
    The College Network

    -2 Votes
  • J
      May 24, 2009

    Dear Rick,
    Like I said prior sir, your so called company falsely represents themselves. These fast talking salesmen tell you that you are receiving a FEDERAL GRANT to continue your education. Why dosen't College Network portray themselves as a publishing company? Had that been told then guess what? I am sure that most people would have never signed up and all these complaints would never exist. In my opinion sir this is a fast talking company that have put alot of people into debt. I am sure that you have read all the complaints all over the internet and all the complaints filed to the BBB and attorny general. Dosent that tell you something? Maybe the tacticts used for this College Network need to be changed? Maybe video should be taken al all salesmen home visits because guess what? They are portraying false information and they are telling you that they are a college and you are receiving a Federal Grant. Some states do not even recognize College Network. So now what? I do not need any questions answered. I would like to see people being able to get out of this contract, return material and rally to change the way College Network portrays themselves. My credit as well as many others is now ruined because I fell for this scam. My question to you is what is College Network going to do over all these complaints both issued to the BBB and the Attorny General?

    +1 Votes
  • T
      May 25, 2009

    Dear Jackie,

    We do not tell customers that they are receiving a federal grant to pay for the program. I am unable to locate your specific account by your first name alone, but chances are you completed a loan application as part of your enrollment paperwork. Why would we tell you that you are receiving a federal grant to pay for your program and then ask you to complete a loan application? Some of the schools that we partner with may be eligible for federal grants or financial aid, but as far as I know there are no federal grants available to pay for The College Network portion of the program.

    Additionally, the enrollment paperwork states that we are not a school and we do not grant degrees. We do not portray ourselves as a school, as that would be clearly contrary to all the information that is presented to you in writing.

    As far as your statement that The College Network is not recognized by some states, that is inaccurate. Some of the programs that we publish materials for, such as the Excelsior ASN and the ISU LPN to BSN, are not approved by boards of nursing in a few states, but that pertains to those specific programs and not to The College Network as we are a publishing company. Incidentally, if you live in a state where a particular program is not recognized by a board of nursing, we would not enroll you into that program.

    Complaints filed with the BBB or an Attorney General's office are handled on an individual basis. In all honesty, those complaints represent far less than 1% of our total customer base. We have many satisfied and successful customers. Visit http://www.college-net.com/Testimonials.asp as proof. I read their stories and I am proud that we are able to help busy working adults further their educations and careers.

    As previously stated, we would be happy to assist you. Please call [protected] and ask to speak to Heather. She is the manager of our Customer Care Unit. You could also provide me with your phone number or email address and I could have someone reach out to you.

    Sincerely,
    Rick
    The College Network

    0 Votes
  • J
      May 25, 2009

    Dear Rick,
    With upmost respect they DO tell you that you are receiving a Federal Grant, they DO tell you they are a College, and they do NOT tell you its a publishing company and nothing else. ITS A SCAM SIR! SCAMMING NURSES!!! THE COMPANY IS A FRAUD!!!

    +1 Votes
  • T
      May 25, 2009

    Jackie,

    I am not exactly sure what was said when you met with your Program Advisor, but I can't believe that they would lie to you about information that is easily verifiable. Our enrollment paperwork, paperwork that you are asked to read and sign, states that we are not a college and we do not grant degrees. Why would someone tell you The College Network is a school and then present you with paperwork to the contrary?

    Also, neither our paperwork nor our website mention federal grants. Obviously, if these were applicable to our portion of the program, they would be a wonderful sales tool and something we would certainly promote. For The College Network portion of your program, you are asked to either pay by cash, credit card, or take advantage of our guaranteed financing. It doesn't seem plausible that you would be told that your program would be paid for with a federal grant, while at the same time asking you to complete a loan application.

    Again, without having more information than your first name I am unable to look at the specifics of your account. If you provide me with your phone number and/or the email address we have on file, I would be more than happy to investigate your allegations.

    Sincerely,
    Rick
    The College Network

    -1 Votes
  • T
      Aug 28, 2009

    Well i am currntly enrolled with the college network and so far the only complaint I have is about the rep who came out and did my enrollment & informed me on how to earn money by recommending a friend who enroll into a degree program. Her name is Imelda. So, I encouraged a family memeber to check out the program for herself and she did sign up for a degree program. And yes, Imelda was also the rep that went out to her home and did the enrollment process. My cousin informed her that I recommended her, and she said what seems to be the famous line of the college network. "I can't find her in our system." she was reassured that I was in the system and to check it out. Imelda later told my cousin that she would use a gentlemen by the name of Micheal as the person who recommended her. In turn my cousin encouraged her not to do so and immediately called me to tell me what was going on. I called the center and all they could tell me was that they were going to investigate. Until this day i'VE HEARD NO RESPONSE NOR SEEN A $200.00 CREDIT/CHECK. I will not recommend anyone else to the program nor will I ever speak of the college network.


    Sincerly,
    Tauheedah

    +1 Votes
  • L
      Oct 07, 2009

    I signed up for the college network about a year ago and have passed all my excelsior classes the first time!! The rep told me that they are not a college and that they were not affiliated with Excelsior which I did double check by calling Excelsior and it was true.

    I can tell you what I expected and what I recieved from TCN:

    I expected to get a book from TCN that was a summary of the multitude of books that Excelsior usually expects that you buy, read and study... it was an awesome summary of all the required topics from WELL QUALIFIED instructors... and yes I looked up each author along with their backgrounds via the internet, I'm that anal.

    After taking 1mth to 3mths to study part time while I went to work full time I would go to Pearson Vue to take the test. Once I was done I would call TCN to send out the next summary book... that simple. Kaplan and other big name companies have summary courses for people wanting to take tests like the USMLE and MCAT and you pay for EXACTLY that a book or seminar that is a summary of the covered material as well as the important stuff highlighted.

    My guy that came to the house to sell the program to me was very up front and honest about the program and I've had no problem so far with it.

    HOWEVER the people who answer the phones to help tutor you are either, rude, lazy or just dont care. I stopped calling after my first two classes. One man had the gaul to chew his dinner the whole time we were on the phone. I even asked him to stop and he didnt. Supposidly the nurse tutor, if that person really did exist only came in one day a week and I did get a call back from that mystery person when I was a work... of course so I never did get ANY help in that regard. Luckly the summary books are well written so it didnt sink me that the resource center is a joke.

    I only have one class left before I'm done with TCN and overall I'm satisfied. Laura Scola LPN, Florida, just in case someone needs my full first and last name to reference that fact that I am a current TCN LPN-RN student as of 10-7-09

    -1 Votes
  • M
      Nov 03, 2017

    @LauraLPN-RN Summary book? I never got these so called summary books

    0 Votes
  • T
      Dec 19, 2009

    HEY EVERYONE,

    IT SEEMS THAT OLD RICK IS ALWAYS UNABLE TO LOCATE PEOPLE IN THE SYSTEM. PEOPLE ARE GIVING EXACT ACCOUNTS WITH DETAILED INFORMATION REGARDING THEIR INTERACTION WITH HIM, BUT HE JUST CAN'T LOCATE THEM IN HIS SYSTEM. I SUPPOSE THEY MUST BE MAKING IT UP. OR PERHAPS IT IS A STANDARD RETORT OF HIS IN THE EVENT THAT HE CAN'T THINK UP AN EXCUSE OR FABRICATION. Please I beg you people to just report them to the Indiana better business bureau. Rick cannot tell them he is "unable to locate that person in his system". TCN is the most horrific company that is somehow viable. They are betting on the fact people will trust them. Your best bet is to stop conversing with them and proceed with legal action.

    0 Votes
  • T
      Dec 19, 2009

    I am able to locate people as long as I have a telephone number, an email address, or a first and last name. Most people who post in these forums post using a made up name. If people contact the office directly (800.634.1443), then yes we can locate their account.

    When I remark in this forum that I am unable to locate an account, it generally means that I cannot locate an account based on the information provided in their post. For example, you posted with the name "tame the shrew." That, unfortunately, is not enough information for me to locate an account. That is why I have posted my email address and the company phone number in several locations and asked that people contact me directly.

    Please feel free to reach out to Customer Care if you are experiencing dissatisfaction with our products and/or services.

    Sincerely,
    Rick

    0 Votes
  • E
      Dec 24, 2009

    I am work as LPN in ER and getting my RN though College Network, and when I met with the rep he did tell me that they are publishing company, and about 3 day cancellation option, but my concern is that material that they provide is not enough for tests! I took Devalopmental Psych and I did get B at it, but I had to guess a lot on the test, A&P is the worst book I have ever seen, it jumps from subject to subject. I had to buy additonal books in order to be prepared, so that I can not only "pass the test", as they say, but understand and use it. I have never had any problem studying independantly, I never had to re-take any tests in LPN program (and that was "Nazi program :)), but I am really disapointed with the material that I recieved, and it's too late to cancell to everything and go just go to community college :(.

    0 Votes
  • W
      Feb 04, 2010

    The College Network Reps definitely need to know the rules and regulations of TNC. My wife was told that she could get out of her classes if she decided to take her first class and she couldn't do it. The rep said it would be "no problem". Well, she decided that she would feel more comfortable in an actual classroom setting so we called to cancel. "Well, there is a 4 class minimum that you have to take." the rep told us. He then gave us a 1-800 number to call. The academic advisers informed us that we had to pay back the entire loan! Who is lying to us???? We have been told 3 different things! So, just be aware of all of the fine print and don't let your rep come in and sale you this college. Take your time. Also, always check out the BBB website. Don't make the same mistake we did. Hopefully we can settle this dispute, I just don't want to pay $8, 000 for 1 class!

    I HAVE STARTED A FACEBOOK PAGE CALLED THE COLLEGE NETWORK - BEWARE. BECOME A FAN AND POST YOUR STORIES! WE NEED EVERYONE TO SEE THESE!!! THE FACEBOOK PAGE CAN BE FOUND HERE: http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-College-Network-BEWARE/285853579603?ref=ts&v=wall

    0 Votes
  • L
      Feb 12, 2010

    my problems go way farther than just the college network, like many others i had a good talking sales man in home talking with me and my husband. and yes just like everyone says the do tell you can get grants and aid, i belive i still have the paper work on it. so anywaz i was paying on the college network monthly and them my husband lost his job he was the only one working when i called them they said their was nothing they could do . my monthly payment was 172, i had four kids and needed every penny i had, so i closed my account sdo they could not debit it any more. i let it go into collection and one day a guy called me and threatinged to have my license (LVN)taken i had just gotten hired at a job, and with out my license would not be able to take the job. he also threaten to have my wages garnish by 40%. anywaz pushed into a cornner i felt traped and made arrangements with LOCKHART and MORRIS located in Tx, well yesterday i got a phone call from a detective, stated that my dept collector had comitted id theif with my atm card, so not only did college network screw me but so did their dept collector, as soon as i get all details i will be seeking leagal action, also anyone want to join me to start a class action let me know.

    so he can't say i can't locate her here is my full name Kathryn Lopez

    0 Votes
  • N
      Feb 17, 2010

    The people that are posting these complaints do not even sound smart enough to be LPN/LVNs much less RNs...im glad this didnt work out for you...Id hate for you to be my nurse! I hope you spell better when doing your documentation. I hope you advise your pts to read before signing paperwork. Even if you dont- its pretty much common knowledge that you read before you sign anything...and you DID sign all these papers explaining the loan and the fact that TCN is not issuing you your degree. Dont blame someone else because you are unable to study independently or because you are unable to handle your finances! Accountability is a pretty big deal in nursing as in many other professions...including raising your 4 kids...

    -2 Votes
  • Taken for a Ride,

    I too had a salesman whom came to my home and presented that the college network, was part of Excelsior College of New York, and I could actually go there to get my RN in a ceremony.
    The short story, I signed a contract for $6, 000.00 dollars plus interest.
    My husband is a disabled veteran with brain cancer.
    I then contacted Excelsior after the college network said i needed 5 classes and then sent me 10 classes.
    Excelsior College replied.

    Dear Ms. ...,

    We are NOT affiliated with the College Network. Please read the information below very carefully.


    A Word of Caution
    Rev 8-21-07


    There are tutorial firms, test preparation services, and for-profit publishing companies that sell materials with the claim that their materials will help students prepare for and pass Excelsior College Examinations. The College is not affiliated with any test preparation company and does not endorse the products or services of any test preparation organization.

    Signed,
    Jacqueline
    Combat Veteran Nurse
    Taken For A Ride By the College Network.
    Anyone know a Lawyer?

    +1 Votes
  • J
      Mar 29, 2010

    I need to get out of the college network...anyone have any suggestions??? as of right now i am thinking of cahnging my bank account so they cant get their money... My credit will be shot but what else to do...I am a single mother of 3 who joined the college network in june of 09 wasnt told anything about time to reconsider or that college network wasnt a college but publisher...so 8 months later i am still paying 251 everything month for material I havent even once opened...HELP!!!

    0 Votes
  • N
      Jun 23, 2010

    College network's paperwork is very clear. My wife and myself are enrolled in TCN LVN to ADN program. I believe the problem lies in those who sign up with them. Most people with complaints are those looking for a "get rich quick" scheme and not willing to put in the time it takes to self-learn. If all materials are read and studied, the tests are simple. The materials are composed in accordance with Excelsior guidelines (review testing curriculum on the Excelsior site). It is true many people have trouble teaching themselves and also financial issues play into the unrest. Like any bill you still have to pay even if you don't use the services. You buy a car- if you don't drive it, you can't just give it back and get your money back. If you buy a house... In college if you start classes and take out a student loan- you still have to pay the loan even if you drop the classes. I do believe that a reimbursement should be made available for unused portions of the program. In addition, I agree with other comments: If you are an LVN/ LPN and structure sentences and spell the way 90% of those with complaints did, I would be scared to have you as my nurse. LVN with 11 years down.

    0 Votes
  • D
      Jul 10, 2010

    I signed up, but now realize that independent study is not for me. I dont care about the money i have invested so far in it, I just want to quit it so i don't have to pay anymore. Does anyone know how I can do that??

    0 Votes
  • K
      Jul 14, 2010

    the college network is a scam due to the fact that they do on the interview represent the company as a college on line classes with tutors that will be available to help with questions and help with test questions . when you call to speak to a tutor you never get to talk t to one. they also misrepresent the book material as information that guarentee you will pass the test the first time then after you sign the contract you receive information a few months later that they are a publishing company and can not promise you admission in any college even if you pass all your study courses with a 4.0 GPA it's up to the ICU college representative if they will accept your test scores. What a big let down on your hope and dreams of becoming a RN. when the college network company representative tell you, you will be accepted if you pass your courses and will never have to worry about being turn down for acceptance in a college that's in partnership with the college network. I have never heard not one class mate say they pass the program setup by college network and was accepted in a college that have a partnership with college network publishing company. What I have a problem with is the misreprentation of the publishing company calling themselves a parternship with colleges and false information that they have a three day cancellation policy. I want to continue with the program if I was sure I will be accepted in the LPN/RN transitional program after completing the requirement setup by the college network staff. Also I receive a e-mail informing me of the new changes at ICU a few weeks ago that you must have completed bu the year end . A new block in the system of fraud by college network. and for misspelled works the message should be the focus not a few misspelled words. the students are not being question on their morals and intelligents the college networks on the other is being question on morals and business ethnic. Preying on good hardworking people with a dream to become a RN while still holding down a family and a job. Sincerely, K.lane-templehills, MD

    0 Votes
  • K
      Jul 20, 2010

    I WANT TO GET OUT!!! THIS IS INSANE!!! ITS
    WASTING MY TIME!!! COLLEGE NETWORK IS NOT WORTH IT.

    KETA

    0 Votes
  • S
      Jul 26, 2010

    Sorry in advanced for any bad spelling I am writing in a rush. I have signed up a week ago with TCN and I was clearly informed that they are not a college nor affiliated with Excelsior. I signed the contract although I was not told about the 3 day cancelation policy, ( I learned about via complaint sites like this one) I was and am still excited about the program. My complain is that I was told that I can test as soon as I was ready even if that meant two weeks from the day I signed becuase processing can take upto 3 weeks. but when I called to request my exam checks as I feel that I am ready to test I was told that I have to wait 30days plus an additional 3 weeks to get the testing fees that I financed thru TCN :^( I requested to speak to a manager Heather whom I am still waitng for a reply...

    I looked at the BBB before signing on and in NY they have an A- rating. I am a little nervous because I read so many unhappy complaints and wonder if there are so many with bad experiences WHY has not anyone in TCN found a solution to refunding the unused portion of the materials. It is not like buying a car and wanting your money back for not driving it.

    I have not tested yet and feel that I am a good self study and will put alot of effort into getting my moneys worth, (which in my opinion was a good investment for the convinience) but I hope that I will NOT change my mind and regret my choice if I do not pass the exams...or get a call back with good news from Heather who said that she would return my call today but I can see that the day is already gone.
    what comforts me is that they have a guarantee of paying your third exam if you fail...hopefully.

    0 Votes
  • S
      Jul 26, 2010

    Should I begin searching for a lemonade reciepe for signing up with TCN?

    When life throws you lemons...

    0 Votes
  • M
      Sep 13, 2010

    WELL RICK CHECK YOUR RECORDS FOR THIS. YOU GIVE ONLY THREE DAYS BECAUSE YOU SELL THE ACCOUNT ON THE FOUR DAY YOU GET PAID. I WAS SUED BY A LAW OFFICE YOU SOLD MY ACCOUNT TO. I DIDN'T RUN BECAUSE I KNEW THIS WAS A SCAM AND PROVED IT. I WON IN LESS THAN FIVE MINUTES. THE JUDGE SAW IT WAS A SCAM WITH ALL THE PROOF I HAD. NOW I HAVE WHAT I NEED TO DO WHAT IS RIGHT/

    0 Votes
  • A
      Nov 20, 2010

    ae jones76: are you still working on your rn? i am currently enrolled thru college network too and i agree they have been very helpful. i have finished 2 classes as well and working on m y 3rd. good luck. i know 2 people who have done all the work and all they have to do is their clinical and they are done.

    0 Votes
  • L
      Jan 11, 2011

    There are 4 requirements to proceed with a class action.
    1. Numerosity - enough plaintiffs to make class action an efficeint way to handle the claim.

    2. Commonality - common issues of fact and law for each claimant

    3. Adequacy of Class Rep - the person who is the class representatitve needs to have claims that are the same as the class members and that they are capable of serving as the representative.

    4. Adequqcy of Counsel - that the law firm representing the class has sufficient skill and resources to represent the class.


    A certified class action suit is one brought on behalf of a large group of people as plaintiffs who have suffered some similar harm from the same actions of the defendant or defendantsA certified class action suit is one brought on behalf of a large group of people as plaintiffs who have suffered some similar harm from the same actions of the defendant or defendants


    Read more: http://wiki.answers.com/Q/How_do_you_start_a_class_action_lawsuit#ixzz1Ak7MmoSI

    0 Votes
  • W
      Feb 05, 2011

    People stop complaining. If you thought the college network was a real school you are too dumb to be in college. The Clep tests along with the other college credit equivelency tests are standard tests. The college Network doesn't make them, they provide you with the resources to succeed in them and it is up to your own hard work. They have never been anything but nice and helpful, and they did help me with a loan and made it possible for me to go back for my bachelor's while working as an LPN. This program is for people who need to study on their own time and have the ability to teach themselves the material. Stop blaming them for your own stupidity and lack of knowledge and failure. I would recommend the college network to anyone and they are not a scam, just not what you expected because you were too ignorant to look into it and listen :)

    0 Votes
  • C
      Feb 10, 2011

    I disagree, yes the college network's paperwork is clear, they fail to tell you about the annual fee of $440 that has to be paid to Excelsior until you are through with the program. Also I have been in the program since 6/09 and have takened the tests, they are difficult especially if you are not use to taking computer prompt tests. By the way there are those of us who have paid in FULL for the program. And just a reminder they also tell you a tutor will be provided on line, there are tutor's available online, but there are none for the nursing program. There are those of us who are GREAT NURSES. Don't be so quick to judge others.

    0 Votes
  • K
      Mar 30, 2011

    is signed up for College Network in 2008. I graduated at the top of my high school class and number one out of 100 people in my LPN class. I wanted to get my masters in nursing. So I decided to sign up for the bridge program fom LPN to RN. Alex came by my house and signed. First let me make it very clear. I have no children and no issues that could have prevented me from sucessfully finishing the course. First of all the liars who said that they finished the course... my congrats...lol... These credits are not transferable so hopefully this is where you stop. Second, I am from NJ and the stipulations are much harder here for your license. Third there is no way to get out. I tried the program and found that it was hard for me. I didn't feel comfortable doing something that I was no sure of. When I tried to cancell the course. I couldn't so I sopped paying. They sold my debt to another company. Who in return added a $1, 000 fee. When I tried to make payments they wouldn't let me. They wanted it in full. Then they took me to court and I have money garnished out of my paycheck every week for classes I never took. And only one book open. they make out like fat rats...Plus they ruinedy credit score so bad... I can't even get a real student loan to go back to school.

    +1 Votes
  • F
      Jun 13, 2011

    How self righteous of you to presume you know a persons life situation.
    Signing up for a nursing program that you have to pay for really does not qualify as a “Get Rich Quick “scheme. Most people who sign up for online college programs work full time and have a family.
    TCN presents as a much different program than it really is. The truth does not come out until you sign up and it is too late to get out.
    I find it interesting that the representative “Rick” who has answered some of these complaints from TCN claims that they can’t find any of these people “in the system”. This is the response you get when you call and try to get any information from them right after you sign up.

    +1 Votes
  • M
      Jul 19, 2011

    This is my problem. I too signed up in a position to go back to school and make these payments they ask of you. They don't run your credit, they don't find or ask what bank you'd like the loan with, they don't give you the loan based on your capability to pay NOR do they work with you on the costs if you are unable to pay. These people commenting with a "well that's what you get for not reading the fine print" attitude have clearly never been in a position of need nor desperation. When I buy a car and they decide to take it away for non-payment, that's fine. If I bought a "home gym" or whatever other examples such as the ones earlier mentioned, I would have a tangible, physical piece of something to say, yes I borrowed money to pay for this and I should give it back if I can't". But that is not the case here. I didn't take a slot another student could have had... I didn't reside in a dorm that could have been assigned to another, or use any services which would incur a fee! In line with the logic of this company (and presumably many here who think being conned or targeted is not a crime) maybe they could be able to also include a line to the effect of "any lack of payment will result in the surrender of your firstborn" or "non-payment may result in forfeiture of any and all previous educational degrees". And that'll be okay too, right? Because after all, "it's in the fine print".
    #1. Just because it's written, doesn't mean it's legal
    #2. Who here has EVER read ALL the contracts and other papers included in the financing of a car??? If u have, you either are a lawyer, know one or can afford to have one for things of that nature.
    When you get a loan, no matter what it's for, one human to another, you should be able to entrust that your business transaction is honest and discloses information based on facts, not commission or other monetary gain. No one should have to feel they were lied to or misinformed in any way. This institute has made it hard for people who so desperately need a better life to attain this goal by sucking you dry and costing you financial, emotional and mental anguish. I am not someone who is trying to "get out of" paying my loan. If they reinstated me, I would even be willing to reconsider. My problem is with their unwavering insistence that you pay, regardless of your capability to do so. At this point, I have nothing to gain and everything to lose.

    0 Votes
  • P
      Sep 06, 2012

    Completely agree. I had an advisor visit my home in March 2011 to get information about paramedic to rn bridge classes. He laid out the entire program and for the most part made it seem as if it was now or never for me to sign up, flashing discounts and such. Definitely a true "salesman"...fine its their job. I was hesitant but was all for further my education so I signed up and made a deposit. He did inform me that to opt out i would have to contact him but made no reference to any 3 day period which i was later informed about. After a few days milling over this, it came to me that this form of study was not for me. After repeated attempts to contact the advisor via phone and email, i got no responses. I tried contacting support at TCN and was pretty much given the run around. When i finally heard back from my advisor, he directed me to contact southeast. Southeast, as nice as they were, said they couldnt help with TCN procedures which i understood. After that, my advisor pretty much disappeared and TCN customer support was less than helpful and it was then I learned of this 3 day cancel period. There is nothing even in any of my paperwork that states it including the paperwork I signed. Im not surprised that this was hidden. So now its been nearly 18months that I have been paying on something I will never use, never wanted to use and no one will help what so ever. The best they did was some SPA person offered to lower my payments for 3 months and help me change majors. Completely no help at all. I paid on this for a year and did not even use the resource center at all. The couple books they sent me are still in the plastic. Ive considered obtaining legal counsel over this but that will cost even more money. All I want is out. They can keep the money I paid so far, I just want out as I did last year. But i can tell you they sure are quick to send emails prompting you to get referals. I can say that I knew several people wishing to do this program but I turned them against it, I could not in good faith bear to see anyone i know go through this. People tried to tell me ahead of time and i didnt listen.

    0 Votes
  • S
      Dec 15, 2012

    Get a Lawyer. The College Network is a total "SCAM" The sales person lies.

    0 Votes
  • H
      Mar 05, 2013

    I agree with NurseSmarts and nursemalec99, you make your bed you lie in it. It is not TCN's fault that you are unable to complete the work. You get out of it what you will put into it. Unfortunately, the state of our society is just that, not willing to work, just want everything handed to you. I am grateful that the ones posting these idiotic comments will not be my nurse someday! I have been using TCN to pass my tests since last year, it is tough, but suck it up! Nothing in this life worth while comes easy! It is easy for one to sit at a computer and type away their anger, well just think in that amount of time that you spent pointing blame and arguing, you could have read a few chapters or scheduled your first test! Nursing is not for everyone, there will not be someone to hold your hand and spoon feed you information, you make your own choices, you work hard, and you accept all consequences to the fault of your actions (which is also part of being an adult, nursing aside). Again, just cannot say how thankful I am that those of you who can hardly spell on this forum will not make it to be my nurse someday, but I do hope that you find a job or pastime that suits your intelligence and maturity levels.

    0 Votes
  • R
      Dec 08, 2014

    Dear Rick,
    In regards to your several responses to "students", I was caught off guard by your lack of empathy .I am not sure who exactly you work for, or if you are part of the "college network cult", but I can assure you that there is many other companies in the United States you can work for, that could maybe even give you a better repuation. I hope you personally never have to pick and chose through different programs to obtain a degree.Going off your responses to others, I can safely say you probably wouldnt waste much time or effort working for the College Network, if you had a degree. It's really disrespectful for you to try to give false hope to students intentionally to those that work very hard to keep others alive by spending most of their lives being healers. This is something you know nothing about. I hope you can stop being so ego driven selfish, and brainwashed for one second so you can FEEL the pain and misery you and the company you work for causes to others. You are such a disgrace. And to be honest, I don't want to hear your manipulation tactic or a response defending the College Network, because you would yet again just be wasting more time. I also do not want to see an automated response that your company has created. You are not fooling anyone.

    0 Votes
  • R
      Dec 08, 2014

    I also want to address to the people viewing this site that the complaints above from various users claiming to be "nursing students" having no problems through the college network are actually not nursing students. They are users that the College Network made up to comment and benefit themselves from looking bad.

    0 Votes
  • T
      Dec 22, 2014

    Dear Rick is a scam,

    You're welcome to contact us at [protected] to discuss your concerns. We would be delighted to assist you with your program or answer any questions you may have. We would reach out to you by phone, however you are using my name (part of it anyhow) as opposed to your own and therefore we are unable to identify you.

    Your success and satisfaction with our products and services is out number one priority and we look forward to speaking with you.

    Thanks and have a wonderful holiday season!

    Rick

    0 Votes

Post your comment