SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Swipe Auctions / SCAM charged $159 not authorized

Review updated:

SCAM do not enter your CREDIT info. Thought I was ONLY going to be charged cents per bid. They charge my card $159 WITHOUT my approval. They then make you jump through hoops and direct you to a form to get a refund. I cancelled my CC account--this is a SCAM!

Am
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • St
      Sep 20, 2010

    Swipe Auctions scam =


    JustThink Media / Terra Marketing Group
    Corporate Head Office
    Suite 204, 85 Cranford Way
    Sherwood Park, Alberta, CANADA T8H 0H9
    Phone: 780.416.0211

    Background info on company:

    http://www.webcops.net/just_think_media_spam_scams_8001.html
    http://watch.ctv.ca/news/w5/w5-just-think-twice/#clip312665
    http://tech.ca.msn.com/article.aspx?cp-documentid=24449570

    Where to complain:

    The FTC - you can file a complaint online at:
    https://ftccomplaintassistant.gov/FTC_Wizard.aspx?Lang=en

    or by phone: http://www.ftc.gov/ftc/contact.shtm

    If you are in the United States you should also file a complaint with the Attorney General of your state:
    http://www.naag.org/current-attorneys-general.php


    Company Owner: Jesse David Willms
    Address: 527, 52328 Range Road 233, Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
    --

    More about this scam company and their history can be found here:
    http://www.webcops.net/just_think_media_spam_scams_8001.html
    --

    +2 Votes
  • Je
      Sep 22, 2010

    Good Afternoon AMadMom,

    My name is Jennifer, I am the Head of Customer Service for SwipeAuctions. Please view the attachment I have provided as it is a screen shot of our final registration page, I have highlighted the 4 sections our membership fee is located. Please note the most important one directly above the "Start Bidding" button. I assure you we do not unknowingly charge any credit card.

    If you have any questions or concerns regarding a refund or any other issues please contact me at [protected]@swipeauctions.com as I would be more then happy to help in providing a positive resolution for you. Within your email please include your first/last name, user name, email linked to your account and the link to this post.

    Warmest Regards,

    Jennifer
    Customer Service Manager

    Our Winners: http://www.swipeauctions.com/all_past_winning_auction.php
    Our World Vision Charity: http://www.swipeauctions.com/world_vision_charity.php
    Our Customer Service Page: http://www.swipeauctions.com/contact.php

    -1 Votes
  • Ch
      Sep 24, 2010

    Wow look at the Swipe Auctions scammers boasting about sponsoring children through Worldvision - using the name of a respected charity to try and make themselves look good!

    Go to swipeauctions.com and see how they boast about having 1 million members then boast about sponsoring 120 children - well it costs about a dollar a day to sponsor a worldvision child so that's 120 dollars a day they are donating to charity (which they will no doubt write off against tax anyway) compared to the 159 million dollars they will have earned from 1 million members membership "fees"!

    159 million dollars versus 120 dollars - how freakin generous! (NOT)

    What a lowlife Jesse Willms is to need to boast about his "generosity" at donating 120 bucks a day (less than the cost of one swipe auctions "membership") when he has scammed millions of dollars from people! He is even pumping out press releases to boast about his "generosity" at donating .[protected] percent of the money he stole from people to charity and keeping the rest!

    Jennifer or whatever your real name is you should be ashamed of working for these scammers.

    +1 Votes
  • Pe
      Sep 24, 2010

    UNAUTHORIZED CHARGES HAS BEEN TAKEN FROM MY BANK ACCOUNT. I SPOKE WITH SOMEONE AND THEY TOLD ME THAT I HAD TO BID ON THREE ITEMS AND IF I DID NOT WIN I MAY OR MAYNOT GET MY MONEY REFUNDED. I AM SO SORRY TO SAY THIS BUT WHAT LOW LIFE PEOPLE CAN DO THIS AND SLEEP AT NIGHT .

    0 Votes
  • St
      Sep 26, 2010

    The page Jennifer claims you are shown is NOT the one you are actually shown - the one you are shown HAS no mention of a price (see attached screenshots). Beware.

    +1 Votes
  • Fo
      Sep 29, 2010

    I feel that SwipeActions.com tricks and cheats and scams -- those are the accurate descriptions of what this "business" does, in my view, because the (very large) tagline on their webapge says "Please Register to Bid on Auctions". It does not say "Please Register to Buy the right to bid on auctions." Although no decent business would force a "Registration" into a "Purchase", the "Live Chatline" at SwipeAuctions.com insists that there is no difference between registration and purchase, when I "chatted" with them to ask for a cancellation and a refund. There is no voice telephone number that I can call for SwipeAuctions.com. ...I will tell all my friends about what this website really is. I hope you will do the same for your friends.

    +1 Votes
  • Tu
      Oct 19, 2010

    Was anyone able to get their money back from this? If so how?

    +2 Votes
  • Je
      Oct 19, 2010

    Good Afternoon,

    Please see my previous post. As I will no longer be responding to this blog please contact me at [protected]@swipeauctions.com, I will be more than happy to provide you a positive resolution to your concern of a refund or any others you may have. Within your email please include your first/last name, user name, email linked to account and the link to this post.

    Regards,

    Jennifer
    Head of Customer Service

    Our Winners: http://www.swipeauctions.com/all_past_winning_auction.php
    Our World Vision Charity: http://www.swipeauctions.com/world_vision_charity.php
    Our Customer Service Page: http://www.swipeauctions.com/contact.php

    0 Votes
  • St
      Oct 31, 2010

    I finally got my refund after writing to Jennifer. It took 32 days to receive the refund. When I email Jennifer it took another 4 days to receive the refund so it was a total of 32 days. I dont agree with the way they do business but Jennifer helped me get my refund a little faster. They told me it would take another 10 to clear my bank so it would of taken a total of 38 days. I will not do business with this company.

    Starzznurse.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Nov 01, 2010

    my name is james w constant, i was also victim from swipe auction.i am still waiting for my refund.

    +1 Votes
  • Go
      Nov 03, 2010

    I got scammed for $159 and got nowhere with their chat room customer service. I was told they were winding down and no refunds would be processed. I contacted my credit card company, told them the whole story and offered to send copies of the paperwork I have. In 48 hours I had confirmation of my refund credit. I then went to the chatroom to have a little talk with whoever came on the line. Here is how it went...

    Please wait for a site operator to respond.

    You are now chatting with 'Maddy#SA9899'

    Maddy#SA9899: Thank you for visiting SwipeAuctions.com Livechat Line. How may I assist you today?

    you: Ha, ha!!! I got my money back from my credit card company. I am posting this on all the complaint blogs and telling everyone else to do the same. What a scam.

    you: What a joke

    you: Also sending it to Federal Agencies for their info

    you: Have a nice day

    Maddy#SA9899: I would be happy to assist you with your concern, so in order to pull up the details of your account, can you please provide me with your full name, e-mail address and zip code?

    you: Cat got your tongue?

    you: Are you a real person?

    you: Or a bot?

    you: Hello?

    Maddy#SA9899: Yes! I can assure you I'm a real person - Like most companies, our bosses like us to use some prepared answers to questions as a quality control measure. This also makes it easier to handle questions quickly. And, it makes me less likely to make a typo!

    you: Well, tell your bosses they are thieves and that THIS victim recouped his money.

    Maddy#SA9899: Is there anything further I can assist you with today?

    you: Yes, burn down the office you work in.

    Chat session has been terminated by the site operator.

    +1 Votes
  • Ma
      Nov 03, 2010

    I am so pissed
    I have worked for over a month to get my $159 back and they have just stung me along and now they are shutting down the merchant account from which my refund was being processed so I'm just screwed. I called customer service only to be hung up on. These guys are shysters and I'm an idiot for falling into it.

    +1 Votes
  • St
      Nov 04, 2010

    Swipe Auctions (previously Swipebids) is indeed a scam. You can find out more informations about this scam and get advice from other victims at these websites:

    http://industrypace.com/frontpage/2010/11/01/jesse-willms-swipeauctions-shutting-down-stealing-deposits-and-refusing-to-issue-refunds-###-willms-strikes-again.html
    http://strangelyperfect.tv/8740/the-three-rules-of-trust-using-swipeauctionsbids-as-an-example/
    http://www.webcops.net/just_think_media_spam_scams_8001.html
    http://www.pennyauctionwatch.com/2010/05/swipebids-jesse-willms/
    http://strangelyperfect.tv/7955/facebook-msnbc-jesse-willms-swipe-auctions-and-doctored-photos/
    http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showthread.php?t=2713089
    http://tech.fortune.cnn.com/2010/09/22/beware-the-31-47-ipad/
    http://www.resourcesforlife.com/docs/item3561
    http://www.stuff.co.nz/technology/digital-living/4138888/The-face-that-launched-a-global-ad-scam
    http://edmonton.ctv.ca/servlet/an/local/CTVNews/20100320/EDM_w5investigation_100320/20100320/?hub=EdmontonHome
    http://www.scamraiders.com/forum/topics/swipebids-are-scam-artists
    http://www.sitejabber.com/reviews/www.swipeauctions.com
    http://open.salon.com/blog/philbert_desanex/2010/10/22/blood_on_the_information_superhighway

    and many more!!


    Scammed by Swipe Auctions?

    File complaints with the FTC at:

    https://ftccomplaintassistant.gov/FTC_Wizard.aspx?Lang=en

    Also with the Attorney General of your state.

    Company to report:

    1524948 Alberta Ltd d/b/a SwipeAuctions.com
    Just Think Media / Terra Marketing Group
    Suite 204, 85 Cranford Way
    Sherwood Park, Alberta, CANADA T8H 0H9
    CEO: Jesse Willms
    Phone: [protected]-6735

    +1 Votes
  • Po
      Nov 11, 2010

    Apparently now doing business as xbids. Was told I couldn't get my money back because their site was closing down.

    0 Votes

Post your comment