SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Suddenlink Cable And Internetoutages/billing

Review updated:

I have been having continuous problems with Suddenlink for several years. The first year at one location, I had no problems, but it all started when I moved. I disconnected my internet at my home, and moved in to an apartment that already had cable hooked up and paid for. I used the cable for 2 years, and then I called to get the internet hooked up. They informed me that I have been receiving illegal cable for the last couple of years and I need to pay for it. My apt. complex confirmed that I do not need to pay for the cable, but I do need to pay for the internet, but Suddenlink continued to bill me for both services for 3 months until I moved again. I had the cable and internet hooked up at my new home in June 2008, and now, in October 2010, they are still over charging me a full month on each bill, so that I am always a month behind when I am not really. They also charged TWO transfer fees because we were originally set up to be hooked up at one location, and then it was changed to the address next door, but I was charged for both locations.

I have now had both services for 2 1/2 years at my current home, and we have constant problems with the cable and the internet. The internet goes down often, a few times a week, and there have been several occasions where we lose service for more than 6 hours at a time and I still have never been refunded for these times without service although every time I speak with a rep, they assure that I will be credited.

The final straw now is the cable services. Suddenlink required that we switch to their digital boxes. I hooked them up, and the picture and sound quality were horrible to where we could not watch television. It was all digitally on the screen and the sound cuts in and out and parts of shows skip.See the Top 10 Worst Companies in Mountain Home, AR Suddenlink advised me to disconnect it for now and they would send someone out to look at it. Well, they did not have anyone available for 6 weeks, so I went ahead and told them to come out then - the date would be Sept. 6, 2010.

We waited around all day because it was Labor Day, and no one ever showed up. I called them, and they said they don't work on holidays. Why the hell did they schedule it for a holiday then!?

So, two weeks later, channels 28-48 are just suddenly no longer available. I call about it again and they scheduled for someone to come out to look again. This time it only took 2 days...hmmmm.
The worker told me that the channels were gone because we did not have our boxes hooked up, and he installed them all. They worked for the few minutes that he was there, and by that evening, it was all digitally and skipping again. Then the internet went down again.

2 days ago, someone came out with more hardware to fix the digital problem, and it seemed to help quite a bit, but it's still having issues from time to time. The worst is Suddenlink does their "updates" that should last a moment, but it actually lasts about 45 minutes.

Guess what!? The internet was down AGAIN this morning from 4am until at least 9:30am. This happened at home and work, so I know that this is a SUDDENLINK problem and nothing with my personal computer. The entire town has spent a minimum of 24 hours without internet service this year alone, and that is a very low-ball number.

I am so sick of the services, the outages, the customer service, and STILL no refunds, credits, or any acknowledgment that they are WRONG. Unfortunately, there is NO competition here, and I not able to get cable tv or internet services with any other provider.

If anyone has any recommendations for me, please let me know!

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Su
      Oct 14, 2010

    Hi - My name is Tina and I am with Suddenlink. I am so very sorry for the issues you have had with your services - and the inconvenience this causes. I would be more than happy to work with the Senior Manager in Mountain Home and get these issues resolved and your services running properly. Please contact me at tina-AT-suddenlink-DOT-com for prompt resolution. Thank you!

    -2 Votes
  • Th
      Jan 06, 2011

    My internet just went down about 3 times in an hour. The problem is, I work from home and my work is web based so what happens? I am unable to show up to work and I lose $$$, not to mention I am penalized for not showing up. Suddenlink is an awful company and I cannot wait to move away from here so that I can get better service (6 months and counting). I was with Embarq (now Centurylink) initially, but I realized that I was paying way too much for DSL and switched to cable, so I guess the old adage, you get what you pay for applies here triple fold. I think I'm just going to go back with Centurylink, forget speed (which I rarely if ever see a real difference anyway), I never had this many problems with DSL. The tech had to come out from Centurylink twice, once to replace a faulty modem and the other to check my phone line for trouble. No other problems and no connection issues. With Suddenlink, connection issues are the norm and I do not like...no better yet I refuse to continue paying for issues.

    +2 Votes
  • Su
      Jan 07, 2011

    Thoroughly Annoyed - I am very sorry to hear about your internet connection issues. I would be happy to work with local management teams in your area to resolve. Please feel free to contact me directly via email at tina-AT-suddenlink-DOT-com. Thank you!

    0 Votes
  • Sm
      Jun 22, 2011

    I am currently very frustrated with this service. I used to have comcast high speed and it was amazing. However I moved and this company was the only available. First thing is the connection sucks. Honestly I think the local dsl would be faster. However what really got me mad was the fact that they had my modem on "restricted" status for 4 days without calling me. I have a riouter and apparently someone downloaded torrents or something so they restricted it. What makes it worse is I had to call 3 times to find out what really happened. The first 2 times I was told it was an outage. And now I'm sitting here wonderin what else are they monitoring. My email? My contacts? What if their databases get hacked. There goes all that personal info. Worse now is I put a password on my router but now I have no connection (doing this on my phone that's how mad I am) and how am I to know if someone hacked into it and downloaded illegal junk or if there really is an outage.

    +2 Votes
  • St
      Nov 30, 2012

    I agree..Their service is horrible. Constant drops, expensive rates and now my email has been down for 24 hours due to suddenlink outage. I am looking for alternate internet provider.

    +2 Votes
  • Sd
      Dec 03, 2012

    Hi Steve- My name is Shannon and I am with Suddenlink. I’m very sorry to hear you are having trouble with your services and would be happy to help resolve. Please feel free to email me at Shannon-AT-suddenlink-DOT-com. Thanks!

    0 Votes
  • As
      Jan 23, 2013

    Yes Suddenlink sucks. I hate these CONSTANT outages!

    +2 Votes
  • Sd
      Jan 28, 2013

    Hi Ashley W- Shannon with Suddenlink here. I would be happy to look into this for you. Please feel free to contact me at shannon-AT-suddenlink-DO-com. Thank you.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
      Oct 28, 2014

    As much as cable and Tivo costs me, why in the world can I not watch a show or a movie without it cutting out and blacking out multiple times an hour? It is not worth 2 cents, much less a couple hundred dollars a month!!!

    +2 Votes
  • Nn
      Nov 28, 2015

    http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4870928744
    Enough Said!

    +2 Votes
  • Li
      Aug 25, 2016

    For the past year Suddenlink TV, phone and internet have been going out at random times of day and for random amounts of time ranging from 10 minutes to an hour or more. Suddenlink has sent technicians (which I have had to pay for!) but the outage never occurs while they are here, which is usually a couple of days after I complain. They have never been able to find a problem. I have called technical support more times than I can remember - they check and tell me that yes everything is dead but they don't know how to fix it. They had me unplug and replug the modem and router, exchange their modem, which did no good and I have a new router. The past three weeks whenever this happens the TV pixilates and goes blank for just a minute or so and then comes back on but the phone and internet stay dead. I wrote a letter to the President of Suddenlink in Lubbock and all I got was a generic email survey on how I liked their services! I don't think anyone at Sudden ink knows what they are doing!

    +2 Votes
  • Mi
      Jul 09, 2018

    Suddenlink are actually Altice who bought out several companies so they would OWN all internet & cable services to certain areas of the USA where the people have no option of using any other company!!
    They then started to gouge the customers for every penny they could, & this monthe their prices have risen by 11%!!!
    There is a couple of Class Action Lawsuits against this company for their malpractices in several States, & both France & Portugal FCC have banned Altice from buy outs in their countries due to a long history of underhand & bad trading!!

    0 Votes
  • Ta
      Aug 14, 2019

    I have been a customer with Suddenlink for 20 years, and although we've had a few outages, nothing compares to recently. On June 24, 2019, we discovered that our internet/cable line had come apart (it had been stretched further than normally should be since a support pole in the neighbor's yard rotted and they decided to stretch it the rest of the way without additional support). My husband said he would call them in the morning, as he had to go to work. Next day, he called them about it, and they said there had been a storm in the area during the night, and repairing the storm damage took priority.

    We gave it a few days, then tried to contact them to schedule a repair date. We were told that the earliest would be July 27, 2019. Shortly after this, our next bill arrived. The previous bill had been paid just before the trouble. Since we still had no service, we called Suddenlink again and asked about the current bill. We were told to go ahead and pay it--big mistake, as it turns out--and after service is restored, to call billing to receive credit for the time without internet.

    After service was restored on evening of July 27, we called to request credit for the 30+ days we had no service. We were told that a storm in the area was responsible for the outage, and we would receive no credit. After they were informed that this had happened PRIOR to the storm (a storm that was over 10 miles away) the lady on the phone said that they showed activity on our service during the time the cable was in two pieces in our yard. Then she proceeded to inform us that we were only without service for a handful of days (We couldn't make her understand that it was JUNE 24 to JULY 27 that we were talking about).

    We have made repeated calls since then, only to have the storm blamed on our outage, and to offer us a few days credit, but not the 30+ we were without service. This company is a very crooked organization, refusing to return calls, refusing to let us speak to a supervisor, and just generally unconcerned that we paid them for services we DID NOT RECEIVE. We are at our wit's end, can anyone give us some advice on this matter?

    0 Votes

Post your comment