SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Sentry Credit / Settlement

California, MD, United States Review updated:

I have an old auto loan with wells fargo which were sent to sentry credit for collections. Well I've made several payments to this agency, and wanted to setup a settlement. I contacted sentry credit and was told by a so called supervisor they cant settle for the amount im asking. Everyone knows the economy is bad and they are lucky that im trying to make good on my debt. She was soo rude and nasty, I could not make any progress on this. I tried calling wells fargo I cant get a person who will talk to me. I will never do business with wells fargo at all for anything! I really dont know what elese to do.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Co
      Oct 26, 2009

    Your debt with wells fargo for that car. One of a few things could have happened.
    1. When you got your car and signed the loan papers you may have not realized that it was throught them.
    2. It was bought by a debt buyer.
    3. Really your just like ev ery other debtor and says they never signed the paperwork.. Remember that they (The collection agency) has to have the burden of proof. If you request it they must send it to you. Of course their going to try every trick in the book to stall. Ie. (Its going to take a few weeks and that means your interset is going to rise) thats just one of many... I wouldnt give them anything without proof. No a fdcpa letter is not enough. I use to work for them and auto defc. Was my bread and butter... Anyways if you do owe it id try to settle the acount. Just remember this theyr always gonna play hard ball. Find out the statue of limitions for your state and go from there. The account my already be to old to collect on but if you pay something the account reactivates. If its about to fall of your credit report or you want to settle. Make them do all the leg work. And stand firm on your offer. Remember they work for commision

    0 Votes
  • 38
      Jan 22, 2010

    only fdcpa letters sre required
    it isnt just commission 10.38 an hour and benefits
    commission is after a quota is met
    collectors are suspened and terminated in enough is not collected
    darn no more budget for party drugs and other nasty crap they do on and off duty

    0 Votes
  • 38
      Jan 22, 2010

    go to sentry credit intranet for names and extensions of all emploees in everett and vancouver

    lets get these pieces of crap out of commssion

    0 Votes
  • 38
      Jan 22, 2010

    I have a friend that worked for this crappy ### company. Came in every day and did job well even though themself homeless and holding a job. Didnt fit in to the clique of way to top, drugs, and partying as a couple dont. Didnt accept the policy that "all debtors are liars" refused to demand from people in crisis. Was fired. Guess only the survive. Heres a queston for sentry would you want to be treated how you treat the people you call

    0 Votes
  • Se
      Feb 13, 2010

    Received a call from Sentry Credit concerning a open account with a local bank. I informed the collection specialist that I wanted to pay this debt and requested a payment plan and that this debt not be reported to the credit Bureau.

    She informed me that she couldn't authorize this and I would have to speak to a manager. I was placed on hold then transferred, I reviewed my request again for a payment plan (that what start with a payment today.) and I was told they needed payment in full during a 30 day window to avoid this being reported.

    I told her I couldn't afford to clear this matter in that time frame and asked her if they could work anything out for me. Her reply was I am looking at your 401K statement and that you own a house worth XXX. She was suggesting I cash in my 401K (that was been hammered with losses) and they I could take out a second mortgage on my house(which has lost over 120K in value).

    I told her that she couldn't have access to my 401K because that wasn't a matter of public record. I told her she was lying to me about having this information and she started making excuses.

    Lastly I asked for your name and title, I then found out she wasn't a manager and that she was another collection specialist who couldn't even authorize or deny my requests.

    I find it funny in this time of financial hardship that they would treat me this way when all I wanted to do was pay this balance and move forward.

    Here is a quite from the website:

    "Sentry Credit is committed to compassionate collections; always ensuring that every consumer is treated fairly and with respect. Collectors are trained to find ways to resolve problems and overcome obstacles. We believe every interaction should be conducted with patience, persistence, and professionalism.

    We know in these trying and troubling economic times, we possess the power to impact people’s lives in a very positive way. We understand that usually there are valid reasons why a bill went unpaid, and we are willing to listen and help figure a way out"

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Apr 20, 2012

    You people are liars. You don't care about no one. Rude and unprofessional. I have cancer and no money. Almost homeless all you care is calls daily. Stop calling me. Let my last days on earth be with peace.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Jul 05, 2012

    you people are stupid. you think just cause you fell on hard time or the economy gives you a reason not to pay your bill. those collectors are human beings to who are only doing there job. we all know you own the debt. So grow up handle your responsibilty!

    0 Votes
  • By
      Feb 11, 2014

    Got a call today from Sentry Credit...


    Have an old Wells Fargo auto loan. I offered to settle the $5600 balance for $3500 MAX. They said they MIGHT be able to work with me if I can write them a check to hold until the funds coming [tax return]. I did not give them a check, I told them I'd call back in a few days. They didn't have my current address on file so I updated that with them (now they can repo the car even though I offered to voluntarily repo it if I can't settle).


    So my approach is:


    1. Check to make sure they are legit. They say they work with Wells Fargo and they are just an independent debt collector, they don't buy debt (I find that hard to believe). So far, with all the complaints I've seen, I think they are legit.


    2. Make sure they have the title to the car. I'll call the bank next to make sure it was transferred to them.


    3. Get a letter of agreement on their letter head stating that $3500 will settle the car for the title. Must be notarized and on their letter head. I assume someone there is a notary.


    If everything checks out, do an "over the phone" check they can hold on to.


    My risk:


    They could cash the check which would be bad for me because it's illegal to write a check over a certain amount without guaranteed funds. They'd have me by the balls.


    DO I HAVE MY BASES COVERED, FOLKS?? Let me know what all of you think...

    0 Votes

Post your comment