SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

LivingSocial.comfalse representation

Review updated:

LivingSocial "deals" are not deals at all. Pat attention to the fine print! Don't get fooled like I did. Avoid these scammers at all costs!

Here's the email I sent LivingSocial explaining my frustration:

I should have known there would endless fine print and strings attached to the deals you offer. I have made my first and absolute last purchase using LivingSocial.

I’m not sure how LivingSocial has survived without being labeled a scam. I purchased hotel reservations for $295 which included three nights stay in Orlando and two nights stay in Daytona Beach. After confirming my reservations, an additional $15 per night “reservation fee” was attached to my package. A $59/night bargain suddenly became $74/night. I keep asking myself why I didn’t cancel the entire deal as soon as they additional fee was mentioned.

I was asked if I wanted to receive discount tickets to area Orlando attractions if I would participate in a 90 minute sales pitch. I have no interest in a 90 minute waste of time, so I refused. Apparently it doesn’t matter whether or not you refuse; fine print on the reservation confirmation states the 90 minute presentation is mandatory.

My trip is scheduled June 21-26. If I could, I would cancel immediately and save myself the grief. The only problem is I know somewhere in the fine print there surely must be a cancellation fee.

Your so called “deals” sucked me in once, shame on you. Rest assured I will not be fooled a second time.

Ke
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Or
      May 09, 2011
    LivingSocial.com - stay away
    LivingSocial.com
    United States

    Here is a copy of the email I just sent Livingsocial.com, it explains it all:

    Hi, I purchased 2 of the $49 vouchers for the Rose arts healing center massages and I am extremely disappointed. This is the very 1st thing I have purchased from your site, You advertised it to be:

    A one-hour massage, a detox Cellu-tone aromatherapy Cocoon Wrap, and a gift of bath salts from RoseSprings Center for the Healing Arts for just $49 (regularly $115). You'll be leaving your dear mother in good hands at this Hillsboro healing hub, where a licensed massage therapist will dissolve her knots with a variety of relaxation techniques. Afterward, she'll be enveloped in a detoxifying, firming wrap.

    It in fact was a 1 hour aromatherapy massage not 2 separate services like it was described. To be honest with you the services were very very disappointing and the actual massage time was less than 30 min. for each of us because we laid there with wrapped most of the time. Because of the way you worded your ad, we were under the impression it was 3 different separate things we paid for and it was only 2. We drove 1 hour to this place thinking we got a deal and it actually costs us more than what we would pay for this near our home. We feel like we were ripped off, it was misrepresented and would like at least one of them refunded on my account. Here is the information for each vouncher:

    VOUCHER NUMBER:
    XXXXXXXXXXX
    GIVEN TO:
    TROY
    VALID THROUGH:
    November 02, 2017

    VOUCHER NUMBER:
    XXXXXXXXXXX
    GIVEN TO:
    BRENDA LEE
    VALID THROUGH:
    November 02, 2017

    0 Votes
  • 11
      Jun 13, 2011
    LivingSocial.com - do not use livingsocial.com
    LivingSocial.com
    United States
    livingsocial.com

    I purchased two Fandango movie tickets because they were running a special for 2 tickets for $9. I also got $5 deal buck credit for creating an account. Well I was not charged four dollars and I made sure to apply it to my order. I saw four dollars as my grand total. Well I just checked and they charged me the full damn amount completely forgetting about my deal bucks I guess. Whooops! And to top it all off, I still have not gotten the effing movie tickets when they told me that I would get them within 48 hours. I will not be using LivingSocial again and I will tell as many people as I can about my experience and I hope they go down.

    0 Votes
  • Al
      Jun 15, 2011
    LivingSocial.com - terrible customer service
    livingsocial.com
    United States

    This company has horrible customer service!

    I wanted to see a final price on a trip prior to making my decision, and instead of showing me a final price or even asking if I was certain I wanted to purchase the $700+ trip for two to Cancun, the website charged the $727 to my credit card THEY KEPT ON FILE automatically. I cancelled the purchase immediately, but when i called the company but my card was instantaneously charged the money. When I called them to see if they would assist me in communicating with my bank, sending a fax to them letting them know the funds will not be collected so the bank will release them back to my account, they told me they absolutely do not communicate with banks via fax or phone. When I asked to speak to a supervisor to try and resolve the issue, the woman on the phone placed me on hold, but when the same woman came back on the phone she told me she confirmed with her supervisor that there was nothing they are willing to do.

    She advised me to have the bank call them, and that I should perhaps be mroe careful with my purchases.

    Terrible customer service, and absolutely no effort to assist me in resolving the problem. I will never use this company again and strongly suggest finding another coupon website that values their customers as people intead of numbers.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Jun 19, 2011
    LivingSocial.com - not so good for businesses
    LivingSocial.com
    United States

    They pressure businesses to sell their product or service for less than 50% off their regular rate, then take 50% of that. Be prepared to experience a loss per customer. This was the absolute worst marketing decision I have ever made for my small business, especially since overly entitled customers are now writing negative reviews because they can't get what they want right when they need it! The quality of the customers has not been what we are used to either--a lot of these people "coupon hop" and are just looking for the cheapest deal.

    I think a lot of people that buy these coupons either don't realize how much of a loss businesses are taking on these, or they don't care.

    0 Votes
  • Co
      Jun 22, 2011
    LivingSocial.com - worst customer service
    LivingSocial.com
    United States

    In August, I found out that my LivingSocial deal could not be used the way it was described. I contacted customer service, and was told that the business would honor the coupon as I described, but I could get a refund if I wanted. When I called the business again, and they confirmed they would not honor it, so I officially requested a refund on 10/19/10. Since then (it is January 30, 2017), I have received NO response from customer service. I have officially requested this refund 6 times now. NOTHING.

    I also have submitted two inquiries about accessing my account. Currently, although I have had an account for over a year, the site will not let me log in through the main page. It is only giving me the option of logging in through Facebook. I shut my facebook account down months ago. Again, two requests for help, NO response. The WORST customer service I have experienced in a long time. I will stick with Groupon from here on out.

    0 Votes
  • Ae
      Jul 10, 2011
    LivingSocial.com - buyer beware
    LivingSocial.com
    United States

    BUYER BEWARE! Extremely poor customer service-- In less than 6 months, I have requested 3 refunds due to merchants being promoted on this site that either go out of business before you can use your 'deal' or merchants who refuse to honor your purchased 'deal'. The first refund was for a deal with a deli in Knoxville, TN called 'Webster's Deli'. This deli went out of business within 2 weeks of me purchasing my Social Living deal with them. In this instance, I contacted Social Living and was issued a refund right away via my original credit card transaction. The second and third refund was for 2 house cleaning deals with 'Worldwide Domestic Services'. I purchased the deals in August, 2017 and tried no fewer than 10 times over a 3-month period to contact the merchant to set up an appointment to have my home cleaned. I finally gave up after Thanksgiving and contacted Social Living for a refund. I was told by a robotic customer care manager that, because I had waited more than 90 days to request a refund, then I would have to wait up to 3 WEEKS for my refund via a paper check!! He also told me that they are not required to disclose this delay in refunds after 90 days to their consumers. The manager ended up hanging up on me and when I called back I was told that it was a 'phone glitch'. Really

    0 Votes
  • Si
      Oct 24, 2011
    LivingSocial.com - first &voucher& I purchased - the company went out of business
    Livingsocial.com
    United States
    livingsocial.com

    First "voucher" I purchased - the company went out of business. Most recently, I purchased a "voucher" that I wanted and the receipt was correct - yet when they sent me the actual voucher, it was for a different item that I have no use for. Countless phone calls and emails and they were totally useless at actually fixing the voucher. I gave them a month to get it done and finally gave up. Luckily, the company that the voucher was for was amazing and honored my receipt - not the voucher.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
      Oct 26, 2011

    IF YOU'RE A BUSINESS...STAY AWAY FROM THESE GUYS! They tell you EVERYTHING you want to hear, THEN leave you to fend for yourself! ITS BEEN 27 DAYS since my offer ran, and I STILL HAVE NOT BEEN PAID THE $80, 000+ payment that I'm OWED. YET I have clients showing UP left and right, cashing in their vouchers! THESE GUYS are better then Groupon??? Then Groupon must be abhorrently repulsively gawdawful! LET'S see if I EVER GET MY MONEY! And their "HIGH END CLIENTS" which they promise you are a BUNCHA "NO Good, weasel, penurious penny pinching, feeble, coxcomb, fribble, vacuous, bumptious, self-righteous, ###ED poppinjay MONGRELS!" So ILLITERATE, they try to double up vouchers when it CLEARLY says on the 2nd LINE, "1 PER CUSTOMER!" SCAMSTERS CITY GALORE!

    0 Votes
  • As
      Oct 29, 2011
    LivingSocial.com - stay well clear and avoid like bubonic plague
    Livingsocial.com
    United States
    livingsocial.com

    From the UK, ordered a set of headphones on 25 september, today is the 26 of october and i don't have them yet, after numerous unanswered emails i got in touch by phone 2 weeks ago and after them saying i needed to pass a security check before the headphones were sent, i asked why they didn't call and got a wishy washy cust serv fountain of bs answer. Subsiquently passed the check and was assured they had now been sent.

    Called again earlier this week around 21st of oct and was assured they had been shipped and would be with me no later than the 25th a huge appology for the delay and hoped i enjoyed the product.

    Today i phoned again because suprise suprise they didn't show, i was told that some of the headphones had a failed delivery and would be with me later today, they then said they would phone back to confirm this.

    I got fed up of waiting for a call, so rang them back and was told that the headphones were shipped on tuesday and would take a further 7-14 days to arrive. I'm furious, i asked for a refund so i could use an auction site and get the headphones faster. i was told to wait for delivery, then return the headphones at my expence to get any of my money back.

    As compensation i was offered some virtual "Bucks" as compensation! We use pounds sterling here in england and i'm sure they are very real and not play money.

    1st time using this site, and the last, groupon are effective and efficient, livingsocial are ineffective and inept.

    Stay well clear and avoid like bubonic plague!!!

    0 Votes
  • La
      Oct 31, 2011
    LivingSocial.com - false... shame on you!
    LivingSocial.com
    United States

    I only have one problem, it's not the deals as they are great, but it's a big one.
    I had deal bucks due to a business closing down and not being able to use the deal I paid for so I got a refund in deal bucks, the next deal I purchased was more than the deal bucks, so you would imagine my credit card would only be charged the difference after the deal bucks were applied, well at least that's what it said when I purchased the deal and also what it stated on the invoice.
    They then took the full amount out of my account then refund the amount of the deal bucks after 7 days
    They take money out of your bank WITHOUT your authorisation and put it back up to seven days later, what are they doing with my money for that time... Making interest that I could have been making.
    And all I get as a response is sorry that's just the way it is, well it's not good enough.

    That's temporary THEFT...SHAME ON YOU LIVING SOCIAL...SHAME ON YOU

    0 Votes
  • Br
      Nov 10, 2011
    LivingSocial.com - they do not do any screening of the vendors and most of the vendors they provide do not answer phones and do not return calls
    Livingsocial.com
    United States
    livingsocial.com

    HORRIBLE!!! LIVINGSOCIAL (LIVING SOCIAL) SUCKS! Do not buy their vouchers. They do not do any screening of the vendors and most of the vendors they provide do not answer phones and do not return calls. When I tried to get a refund on these vendor vouchers LS ignored my emails. When they finally got back to me they would not do anything for me. They told me that they now called the vendor and they are willing to take my appointments. That is not what I wanted as a resolution. I wanted a refund. I no longer wanted to give business to vendors who are unprofessional. I love Groupon and Trubates. Go with them. I never had any problem with those guys. Living Social is the worst!

    0 Votes
  • Bi
      Nov 15, 2011
    LivingSocial.com - tried to book massage & company does not have personal to do it
    Livingsocial.com
    United States
    livingsocial.com

    HORRIBLE, bought coupon from them for a massage at local salon. Tried to book massage & company does not have personal to do it but "may" in 3 months. Asked for refund from Living Social. They refused & all they do is stonewall. Absolutely worst company I have done business with in last few years. Had to file credit card charge back. Thank God credit card companies are there for these situations.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
      Dec 16, 2011
    LivingSocial.com - living social sells duplicates of it's certificates
    Livingsocial.com
    United States
    livingsocial.com

    I've now purchased 2 different certificates from them, where the merchant has advised they were already "used" upon my presenting them. Living Social sells duplicates of it's certificates. This most recently happened to me at Whole Foods - they told me my certificate was used. Living Social then told me the same thing when I asked for a refund... except that I had never used it. There is no recourse for this, they just call you a liar and tell you to move on.

    0 Votes
  • Na
      Jan 03, 2012
    LivingSocial.com - worse customer service of all voucher/coupon sites
    Livingsocial.com
    United States
    livingsocial.com

    Worse customer service of all voucher/coupon sites! Purchased multiple vouchers and was unsatisfied with the restaurant as they would not honor my voucher. After waiting ten minutes on the phone to speak to customer service, she kept advising me that she'll look into it. The agent, Clarissa, then hung up on me while I was trying to explain why the restaurant said they wouldn't honor my coupon.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
      Apr 10, 2012
    LivingSocial.com - don't go through livingsocial or exotic escapes unless you want to be scammed and run through the ringer
    Livingsocial.com
    United States
    livingsocial.com

    I recently purchased an Exotic Escapes Vacation through Livingsocial.com for a trip to Las Vegas. The package ended up being canceled AFTER I had made my reservations AND bought my airline tickets. I had also reserved 2 more nights on top of the package through Exotic Escapes that were also canceled 'because the full package was canceled so my extra reservations were also'. I have gone around and around with these people trying to get my money back for those extra nights (200 dollars!). DON'T go through livingsocial OR exotic escapes unless you want to be scammed and run through the ringer!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ni
      May 20, 2012
    LivingSocial.com - stay away from this website
    Livingsocial.com
    United States
    livingsocial.com

    Hi-Living Social claims to be a purveyor of high quality deals, facilitated to make one's life easier. I purchased the Living Social Takeout deal, and chose to apply it to Ulah Bistro. After viewing Living Social's Ulah Bistro menu and placing my order, Living Social's confirmation email told me I was ordering a Bistro Burger, and a Carnivale pizza. I was specifically told to pick up the food at 9:00 p.m. Arriving precisely on time, Ulah reported that they had not even put in my order yet. They asked me to wait at the bar, and stated a 15 minute wait time. Ten minutes later, a manager approached me and questioned my order of a Carnivale pizza, stating that the item did not even exist on their menu, and proffered the menu as evidence. I felt very foolish, and had to recite the stated ingredients for the Carnivale pizza from memory. When my order finally appeared, thirty minutes after the promised time, Ulah had no record of the Living Social $10 discount, and charged me $30.86, when Living Social told me I should be paying $15.35. I felt very embarrassed, and noted that I believed a $10 discount should have come through the Living Social order. They graciously gave me the $10 discount, and I walked away spending $20.85, before tip, over $5 than what Living Social had quoted. When I returned home, I discovered $15.35 missing from my checking account, meaning that Living Social already took the full amount, and did not pass the information on to Ulah. So now I have paid $37.20 for a $25 meal. I have had my time, money, and confidence wasted this evening, and I would greatly appreciate to hear an explanation for this course of events.

    0 Votes
  • Ol
      May 21, 2012

    I want a refund for the robot vacuum I bought one month ago!!! Never come!!!I called staff always say it should be next week . How many next week?!!!god!!!it's 218 dollars


    Can someOne help me ???

    0 Votes
  • Pi
      Jun 10, 2012
    LivingSocial.com - I have had just extremely bad bad experience with this site
    Livingsocial.com
    United States
    livingsocial.com

    I have had just extremely bad bad experience with this site, I bought a a couple of vouchers, i did not receive my items for one of them, the other one was a photography deal and they could not fit me in. i called living social [protected] them after the deal had expired and they refused to refund my money. the business who offer the service only get paid for the vouchers they redeem, so forall the expired vouchers the full money gets pocket by the site.

    0 Votes
  • Pi
      Jun 21, 2012
    LivingSocial.com - I just want to warn people about buying deals through living social - they will rip you off
    Livingsocial.com
    United States
    livingsocial.com

    I just want to warn people about buying deals through Living Social - they will rip you off! They sell deals and then you actually try and book the deal with the supplier and no one answers the phone or replies to emails. When you ask for a refund Living Social say their policy is only to supply refunds if the company go out of business - so if you do not get your deal then tough luck. I would use Groupon or one of the other online daily deals company as they have much better service and actually supply what they are selling.

    0 Votes
  • Ho
      Jul 05, 2012
    LivingSocial.com - that's my first and last living social experience
    Livingsocial.com
    United States
    livingsocial.com

    My sister and I bought coupons for paddle boarding and were so excited to use them. We were disappointed that the vendor Sunrise Paddleboards had a kind of slimy practice of slapping on undisclosed charges to put the paddle boards in the water. It wasn't mentioned anywhere in the fine print and definitely wasn't discussed when we talked with Diane on the phone. So we wrote to Living Social to tell them how icky it felt. I said that if it was the paddle board company's unethical practice, please be informed that it left a bad taste in our mouths. I said that if it was encouraged by Living Social for vendors to to add on undisclosed fees then please remove my name from their mailing list... guess what Living Social did... they sent me an email saying that I was removed from their mailing list! No other response. What a riot! So they endorse vendors bait and switching customers! Did they even read my email? So Funny! That's my first and last Living Social experience.

    0 Votes
  • Al
      Jul 21, 2012

    did you ever get your money back? we're going through the same thing! would like your advice??

    0 Votes
  •   Jul 21, 2012

    I never did.

    0 Votes
  • Ko
      Jul 27, 2012
    LivingSocial.com - i'm extremely unhappy with livingsocial
    Livingsocial.com
    United States
    livingsocial.com

    I'm extremely UNHAPPY with LivingSocial. I bought a voucher for an eye exam for my mom and she had to leave the country before she could redeem it due to a family death. She had her eyes examined while she was out of the country which left me stuck with a voucher I can't use because I don't need eyeglasses (20/20). I tried to offer it to family/friends but either they do not want it, or need it, or are willing to drive to the location where the offer is. I contacted LivingSocial 4 times trying to find someone who is willing to help my situation and no one will issue me credit. It's incredibly upsetting that they aren't willing to offer customer service on a case by case scenario and basically tell you, "Tough luck, we have a 7 day policy and you are out $49 if you don't use it." They refuse to issue credit for a voucher that I cannot redeem due to a person having to leave the country for a funeral, and I cannot find anyone to buy the deal from me. BUYER BEWARE they don't make exceptions even for unfortunate cases. Seems like they DON'T VALUE long time customers (I've bought at least 10 vouchers in the past year).

    0 Votes
  •   Jul 27, 2012

    It's not LS's problem you couldn't offload the voucher. Next time, try one of the gifting sites for coupon/voucher/gift certificate donating and exchanging.

    0 Votes
  • Tn
      Jul 27, 2012

    Little stewie must be talking about CB and not m3c, when it comes to review bashing.

    0 Votes
  • Gi
      Aug 06, 2012
    LivingSocial.com - i'm warning all of you - do not do business with living social
    Livingsocial.com
    United States
    livingsocial.com

    I'm warning all of you - DO NOT do business with Living Social!!!

    I filed a complaint with the BBB on July 27, 2017, and still no response from LS unless you count the fake ### apology in response to the emails I sent their customer service and posts I left on their wall also on July 27. Of course, an apology doesn't get me my money back for the service I never received, and they refuse to reimburse me.

    Every day they don't respond to my concerns and the many other customers who are unfairly experiencing the same treatment, I post a warning on their FB wall to potential and current consumers. Every day I look at their wall, there are more and more complaints about people getting ripped off and Living Social not doing a darn thing about it. I post on every one of the unhappy customers' wall pleas to Living Social encouraging those customers to also file a complaint with the BBB. As of now, the BBB has recorded more than 503 complaints since the BBB granted Living Social accreditation three years ago - more than 400 of which were filed this year alone and about 20 of which have been filed since I started my "campaign" on July 27, 2017.

    It is disgusting a business can consistently advertise vendors who scam people out of their hard earned money and think they are absolved of any and all responsibility. Living Social makes a 50 percent profit off of each deal they help the vendor sell, so they are at least 50 percent responsible for ensuring customers are treated appropriately and provided with the best possible service. Yet, their Website says they will only reimburse within the first seven days a deal is purchased if the customer "changes" their mind. Furthermore, the vendor doesn't get paid for the deals bought until the Living Social coupon is marked "redeemed" or at least six months after the deal has been purchased for those deals with less stringent requirements. So in many cases, Living Social has the money to refund but refuses to unless it falls within the seven day window for people with a case of buyer's remorse.

    Enough of these large corporations taking advantage of consumers and not being held responsible. It ends here and now!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ge
      Aug 13, 2012
    LivingSocial.com - I won't let you fool me twice
    Livingsocial.com
    United States
    livingsocial.com

    Very upset..i got a voucher for a botox treatment at JONATHANDENTALSPA in hawthorne..the biggest ripped off...paid 150.00 to get dirty water injected in my face... socialliving should be more careful about what they sell...people like this dentist trying to make more money in beauty treatment is giving you a bad name ..i am going to try to get my money back..otherwise GOOD BYE livingsocial..you fool me once, , shame on you... you fool me twice shame on me..

    0 Votes
  • Ni
      Aug 14, 2012
    LivingSocial.com - this is the first time I ran into such a blatant scam dressed up as a legit website
    Livingsocial.com
    United States
    livingsocial.com

    I recently bought through them a voucher for house cleaning service.
    The merchant does not seem to exist, or has decide not to honor the offer.

    When calling the phone number on the offer you are directed to a voicemail, and my repeated messages are left unanswered.

    SocialLiving "graciously" offered to give me "courtesy" credit for the offer, but refuses to give me a cash refund (despit the fact their terms and conditions clearly state they will refund you if the vendor goes out of business)

    Why would I want credit to spend on a site which clearly advertise fake offers?

    Ranting to some of my friends I learned to my surprise some had a similar experience with LivingSocial. This is the first time I ran into such a blatant scam dressed up as a legit website.

    0 Votes
  • Fi
      Aug 21, 2012

    I know how to get the money back. The best way is to file a Small Claims action. Any other lawsuit is easy for them to brush off, but with a small claims suit, they CANNOT use a lawyer! Therefore, someone from Living Social will have to show up and defend. They won't and you will win by default EVERYTHING you ask for.
    However, there are other ways before going to that extreme. Like, calling the customer service line. it's [protected]. Other numbers are [protected] and [protected]. They will put you through to customer service. Choose option 1 and wait for it to finish. it will tell you to hold if you did not get your answer. Then, you'll be on hold for about 5 to 15 minutes, but someone WILL come on. Explain your situation. THEN, explain what it is you think you have to do to get your money back. If they do not take care of it, small claims is the answer.
    I can bring everyone together to make a change. Contact me at [protected]@gmail.com and we can create some answers for those lost in the shuffle.

    0 Votes
  • Af
      Aug 24, 2012
    LivingSocial.com - put livingsocial out of business
    Livingsocial.com
    United States
    livingsocial.com

    Purchased a Auto Detail Voucher. The Merchant can't book an appointment for me until next year. Six months to wait to have my car detailed. The voucher would be expired my then. Livingsocial won't give me a refund. Livingsocial and the merchant Muscat Auto Body have conspired to sell these vouchers, knowing they cannot honor the voucher before the expiration date. After the voucher is expired they will then just give you credit for the voucher towards the retail price of a Auto Detail. What a scam.

    Stay away from Livingsocial, especially anything service oriented when they sell too many vouchers and they can't honor them within a reasonable time. Pass this info to your family, friends, associates, acquaintance's, neighbors and strangers. Put Livingsocial out of business.

    0 Votes
  • Am
      Aug 24, 2012

    I am having the exact same problem, with the same merchant, Living social told me they will contact the merchant about the issue 2 days ago haven't heard anything yet.. I hope more people complaints will make them realize this is a scam or at least pressure the merchant to schedule us.

    -1 Votes
  • Sl
      Sep 11, 2012
    LivingSocial.com - stay away from these guys
    Livingsocial.com
    United States
    livingsocial.com

    LivingSocial is NOT a scam. However, its affiliated retailers can have scams listed as deals- and LivingSocial will not advocate for the customer at all- nor will they issue refunds. And, to make matters worse, they'll admit their business model isn't about you getting the service- it's about the money. The honesty kind of rubs it in when you've had a bad experience, no?
    I have been battling LivingSocial over a $199 mattress voucher for going on two weeks now. I went in A Goodnight Sleep Store prior to purchasing the voucher because I have heard that LivingSocial is a scam. There were two deal options- a $49 option and a $199 option. The retailer tells me the scam part is that the discount is applied to the wholesale price. She shows me the mattresses that will work for the deals and convinces me the $199 is the way to go. Basically, it means $500 toward luxury mattresses. I say, pointing to a mattress, so this one wouldn't be more than $200 with the deal? She says yes. I take pictures of the mattresses she shows me and take notes.
    I purchase the voucher.
    Turns out, it works for none of the mattresses she quoted me for. Only for mattresses that are more than $2, 000. Needless to say, I don't have $1, 500 and was very explicit about my price range. She says she can swap out my coupon for the $50 coupon, but can't give me money (making me out $150, on top of mattress expenses). That's weird. So she calls LivingSocial in front of me. "Chris" from LivingSocial says it's impossible to give refunds, regardless of whether the retailer will honor the deal. He says the merchant has to talk to merchant services, gives us the number.
    The next day, the mattress lady tells me she has had a two hour conversation with LivingSocial and that they won't budge. She says they say they've been getting complaints all day.
    I call a claims agent. My claims agent calls LS with me on conference. LS says their Merchant Services dept has never heard from my retailer. They say they will investigate, ask me to hold off on the claim.
    I do.
    They say I'll hear back from them in two days.
    In five days, after two emails from me, I get a response saying they will refund all but $34 of my money.
    I say, this is unacceptable, since you admitted the retailer scammed both of us on the phone. My claims agent recorded the call with LS permission, so it's not like there's not proof. And my photos. And my notes.
    "Chris" writes back- same guy who said it was impossible to give any kind of refund- says it's all they are willing to do.
    The moral of this- by keeping $34 of my money (does that seem arbitrary to anyone else?), they've lost a customer and had a complaint forwarded to the BBB and Consumerist. Additionally, I'm still going to go through with the claim.
    So- don't avoid LivingSocial because they are a scam. Avoid them because they admit that they do not advocate for the customer and admit that they do not care if a service is fulfilled.
    On another note, I used Groupon for the first time this week. An order had an error- they credited my account $20. It took a five second email for them to address the complaint professionally. Not five hours on the phone and in-store with no result.
    If it's a big purchase, I'd avoid a deal site. But if it's a small purchase, like a coffee coupon or a free pizza- I'd go with Groupon.
    Because they try to fix mistakes.
    I'm still trying to work this out with LS. I'm so floored that I feel there must be some sort of mistake. Hopefully, they'll issue a full refund and I can withdraw my complaint.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
      Sep 11, 2012
    LivingSocial.com - terrible customer support from living social in my opinion
    Livingsocial.com
    United States
    livingsocial.com

    I purchased a coupon through living social. When I went to use the coupon with the vendor, the vendor claimed they would not be profitable honoring the coupon and tried to charge me for "extras." They told me that if I wasn't happy, Living Social would provide a refund.

    I was not happy and contacted Living Social for a refund. Living Social would NOT provide a refund. Terrible customer support from Living Social in my opinion.

    0 Votes
  • Bl
      Sep 17, 2012
    LivingSocial.com - if anyone is contemplating a class-action lawsuit, count me in
    Livingsocial.com
    United States
    livingsocial.com

    They sold me vouchers for a restaurant that refused to honor them, then Living Social refused to give credit for the unusable vouchers. If anyone is contemplating a class-action lawsuit, count me in.

    0 Votes
  • Am
      Sep 18, 2012

    I was considering buying something from them, good thing I checked it at amazon before I made my decision, it was actually cheaper at amazon by about $20 ! Go figure, where is the deal?!?

    0 Votes
  • He
      Oct 30, 2012
    LivingSocial.com - what kind of company doesn't give a refund after a devastating hurricane hits - livingsocial.com
    Livingsocial.com
    United States
    livingsocial.com

    What kind of company doesn't give a refund after a devastating hurricane hits - Livingsocial.com!!! A place that I had bought a deal for had to close due to the hurricane - so I called LivingSocial to get a refund but I was told that I was not eligible for a full refund as I bought the deal more than 24 hours ago. Had a known we'd be hit with an ACT OF GOD then I wouldn't have purchased it. I have never in all my life experienced such poor customer service. Ever.

    0 Votes
  • Ol
      Nov 05, 2012
    LivingSocial.com - stay far away from this company
    Livingsocial.com
    United States
    livingsocial.com

    I paid $45 for $100 worth of wine from Chevy Chase Wine in DC. The text was: "The experts at this shop will choose the perfect half-dozen bottles for you, which could include a Cabernet from Spain, Chardonnay from California, or Sauvignon from South Africa". It didn't have any of that, what I got was six bottles of assorted flavors from Fox Brook in California, full retail value (not price-shopping), $5.55/bottle, or about $34. The LS customer service person, though prompt, seems to be running out of auto-responses. They did finally offer $20 in Bucks though they refuse to actually address my question about who's in charge, here, LS or the retailer. Their response to that question was that they can't give refunds (which wasn't the question at all). I have, however, been "escalated", whatever that means. Going on-line, I've seen two complaints on the same issue, same product being offered. Not happy. I guess I'll take the $20 and unsubscribe. I didn't really want the $20, I wanted what was promised.

    0 Votes
  • Sr
      Nov 22, 2012
    LivingSocial.com - I am a merchant and I am very disappointed with cheapo clients
    Livingsocial.com
    United States
    livingsocial.com

    I am a merchant and I am very disappointed with cheapo clients. We the job and at least we expect is some feedback, booking but LV clients only wants the deal. We sold 200 vouchers, we had 98% positive feedback and over 100 great reviews. We had only 2 feedback negative, it is 1% out of 200 vouchers. We are cleaning business. We had 4 clients coming back. Tell me it is good deal for business? All we could do was hope. We did the most incredible job to each one of them, including working late hours and to serve the demanding clients (never seen someone paying full price being so demanding). Then no return! Sorry people but if merchant are not welcoming its customers fault most of the time. By the end of our vouchers we just want to pay the client out for the voucher money so disappointed we were. I will never offer a deal, I know the quality of work we provide. Some people wants double up their coupon, even though says one per household. Got be kidding me? If I actually want to work for free I give coupons to charity as we always do. I could write a book about each experience. As business owner I went myself to each one of the houses. This deal companies should disappear. You know that deal you get for $30 bucks house cleaning. LV takes 52% off and only pays 48% to the merchant. After seeing all wasted time we are very disappointed. Lucky that we have good regular customers for years, otherwise we would rather seat and cry.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      Nov 27, 2012
    LivingSocial.com - as a small business do not use livingsocial.com
    Livingsocial.com
    United States
    livingsocial.com

    As a small business Do NOT use living social. People buying these deals will never be a regular client and are demanding like no one's business.We had an independant contractor manicurist run this deal and even after expiration of the voucher, people insisted on getting the DEAL! The contractor does not work for us anymore and we're still getting calls and hang ups. Living social said they would refund clients who neglected to make appointments on time, of course they never did. To sum it up all we got out of running a deal with living social are bad reviews, not just bad, but nasty!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ni
      Dec 20, 2012
    LivingSocial.com - I have used livingsocial many times but after my last experience it - no more
    Livingsocial.com
    United States
    livingsocial.com

    I have used livingsocial many times but after my last experience it - NO MORE. I purchased a voucher for a mani/pedi and when I called the nail salon to redeem it, they asked me right off the bat if I had a livingsocial coupon- I told them yes and then proceeded to tell me that they could only give me a morning or early afternoon appointment- the voucher does NOT specify times. I called livingsocial to report this and basically all they told me was oh well. If you want any control over the quality of service you receive at a business DO NOT BUY A LIVING SOCIAL VOUCHER. They don't stand by you as a customer and businesses have basically been paid already and therefore are not concerned with your experience after all, you've already coughed up the dough- what's it to them? I do appreciate the deals and discounts but after this, it's just not worth the aggravation. Will pay a little extra in the future to have control over my consumer experience.

    0 Votes

Post your comment