SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

LifematesHumiliating sales practices

Lu Toronto, ON Review updated:

Life mates is a dating services (They don't really operate on-line from what i can tell).

I was definitely worked over by the sales people (Sharon/Michelle). I was put in a room with a camera on me. I believe I was being analyzed while the sales person was not in the room. The sales person is definitely trying to make to you feel as though you are a loser and will never meet anyone without plunking down a ton of cash to them. They promise you tones of matches, but from what I can tell, they make no guarantees on the number of referals or the true quality of the referals. They sit you through a 2 hours "screening" process which is really meant to simply soften you up for the big sale.

When you go to the meeting you will need to bring you credit card and some ID, but promise yourself that you will not sign up the first day.

I'm so glad I decided to be mindful of my vulnerable position while subjecting myself to their process. I was concerned that they didn't not have suffient clientel within my own race demographic. The temper trantrum the sales person had was classic (Yes, she did even start hurling insults) and revealed her true vulture.

Even if you get a minimum number of referal guarantee, you will not be able to get any kind of guarantee that these are quality persons that you will be matched with. Because you are to busy to find you soul mate yourself they are counting on you being too busy to sue them after they swindle you. BE WARY!

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Je
      Jun 24, 2009

    I hate it how people like the one above make up total lies about highly successful companies such as this one. Unlike the false story above, my story is truth.

    I signed up 7 months ago and I'm serious when I say "it has been the best 7 months of my life". I dated many different guys and have seen various beauties of this service.

    The two hour interview in the beginning is in fact annoying but in no way is it just a way for them to get your money and make you feel like a loser. The person you sit with is always a very polite person and treats you like a friend. My matchmaker actually calls me every now and then just to say hi. Now that is a service which sits on the top of the ladder. She always finds me really incredible men and always calls or e-mails for the feedback with the will to help. The last guy I dated became my husband.

    So again, for all you good people who read reviews on the web, don't listen to this lie above or any of the other filthy trash on this amazing company. These people are just unhappy with life itself so they take out their frustration on hard and honest working people and companies like this one.

    -4 Votes
  • Sj
      Aug 21, 2017

    @Jewls NOTE: As of June 2017 Lifemates has gone out of business in Canada. They are still operating in the US. They are a scam organization. Do not sign up. Contact Ontario Consumer Protection Agency where they have the full complaint listings.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      Jul 16, 2009

    All my love and respect go out to this company. Every day, I wake up and thank the good lord for my wife who I met on this service. We’ve been married for a few months now and it all started with Lifemates. The matchmaker that worked so hard with me was the one person who I can truly say that enjoys her work more than anyone I know. She was very professional at how she matched me up with my wife and was extraordinarily honest and responsible. From the second I met her, I knew that my becoming a member was a good idea. I felt at home instantly and wasn’t at all worried. I also really like it how she always called me right after each date. My first few dates didn’t really work out too well, but she was always there to help me through the next date. I like it when people keep their word. I think it’s a pretty rare thing to find in a person. I one hundred percent recommend this company to anyone and everyone.

    -6 Votes
  • Su
      Oct 16, 2009

    No, the original post doesn't strike me as lies at all. Being in business myself for several decades the hard sell tactics of the Lifemates saleswoman I spoke with several years ago was easily spotted. The interview process (the part where you fill out their questionaires and then get grilled by their staffer) was lengthy to the point of arduous. One question in particular I found interesting was "Do you still think it's possible to meet someone suitable in a nightclub or somewhere similar?" My answer, after thinking about it for a moment, was "Well, anything is possible." (Am I wrong? I mean, it IS possible that 2 days later you could actually meet someone great someplace other than Lifemates, right?) She replied with "Okay if you think it's possible then this isn't for you then." This is a sales tactic, plain and simple.

    Of course she trotted out that tactic well after I'd already spent 2 hours filling out their forms and answering umpteen dozen test-like questions. At that point I'm sure most people just want it over with.

    As for how the rest of it went for me let's just say I'm less than satisfied with their service and leave it at that. I'm out quite a bit of money (because yes, I went for it, wanting to see if their so-called "quarrantees" had any truth to them) and am left with a very bad taste where this company is concerned. All I can say is anyone choosing to engage their services should just beware and do some research on the web and check this company out thoroughly before spending that kind of money with them.

    +3 Votes
  • Un
      Dec 17, 2011

    I agree with the slick sales tactics from LifeMates. I regretted signing that contract and paying all that money. I hope people do their research. Most of the reviews (Google-searched as "Lifemates reviews") are somewhat biased and outdated or not dated at all. I sure hope people look further at websites such as the Better Business Bureau, Consumer Affairs http://www.consumeraffairs.com/dating_services/lifemates.html

    +4 Votes
  • Md
      Oct 16, 2012

    i joined life mates 3 or more years ago they could not meet my criteria. They kept on setting me up with the wrong people so I left this company. When I joined I was going though a bankruptcy ordeal they took me on regardless. This is a poor company move in any organization. Now 3 years letter I have a collection agent calling me every day asking for allot of money 3 times what I agreed on 3 years ago. This company is a joke their motto is " A life mate to gain and nothing to loose" ###

    +3 Votes
  • Le
      Jan 24, 2013

    I am having issues with Lifemates, and decide to take action including lawsuit; anybody who has similar experience, please contact me
    [protected]@gmail.com
    Let's help each other and more people who are in the same situation.

    +4 Votes
  • Ia
      Apr 06, 2013
    Best Best Advice

    I am in the process of suing Lifemates Canada. I am willing to share my knowledge I have obtained from this case and my true experience with Lifemates.

    If you want to get your money back, the best way is to conduct lawsuit in the court. The detailed information regarding how to file in the Small Claim Court is on the Ontario court website. you also can call to receive information that you could not locate from the website.

    You can self represent based on Consumer Protection Act sections such as 9, 11, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 and Contract Law regarding Contractual Defects, such as Misrepresentation, Duress, Undue influence, Unconscionability etc. The court cost for the lawsuit is very small, comparing with the money lost to the dating service, and I believe it is totally worth it, let alone the justice we get back is priceless.

    +4 Votes
  • Ja
      Oct 19, 2017

    @I am suing Lifemates Canada I am concerned that I might be statute barred since it has been 2 years and one month since I spent $5400. to sign up with Lifemates. Can you tell me if it is too late to sue? Did you sue for Breach of contract or fraud? I am wondering if they can be held criminally responsible since what they have done, is in my opinion, criminal. I was interviewed for about 4 hours by Tracy, in London, ON. I said I did not want to buy a dream. She said not to worry, that baby boomers, of which I am one, was the largest group within Lifemates. This made sense to me since I thought younger people might not be able to afford this service, and in my age group, many people are without partners. I was told she already had someone in mind for me and that I could expect to get a match every couple of weeks unless I put a hold on my membership. She told me that only one in 80 people is a good match and asked how much time I had to date and screen people myself. She said they do all the work to make sure matches are compatible. The question that "hooked" me was, " Jayne, how much is your heart worth?" I have had only one very inappropriate match since they got my money over two years ago. I have written emails and have not received replies. When I call, I get that recorded message that all the agents are busy. I leave messages but get no reply. I do not know why this scam is being allowed to continue. I would appreciate any suggestions you might have and I am interested in learning from your experience. I appreciate your offer to help. My email address is [protected]@juno.com

    0 Votes
  • Ni
      Aug 01, 2013

    Unfair practices, pushy sales tactics
    I went to a meeting at LifeMates and felt very pressured into signing their contract on the spot. When I got home I knew I couldn’t proceed. I had a gut feeling. I emailed them right away and asked for someone to call me first thing in the morning asap. I also emailed the sales rep telling her I could not proceed and to kindly refund my money.
    To no avail.
    Infact, I even went as far as to quote their founder and CEO Todd Holley that you will refund all funds within 24hrs.

    "If it is quickly, within 24 hours, we refund all their funds, " says LifeMates' Todd Holley.

    I said, Please confirm this morning that the initial charge from 7/17/2103 is refunded and my other payments will not be processed. I had to email and tried calling a few times. This is what I received back

    “ I left messages as I needed to talk to you about this.
    The info you read was written by a former partner of Lifemates 14 years ago and has not been with our company since.
    I wish you could hear testimony of those who have fallen in love and married as a result of us bringing them together.
    I felt it was what you wanted too.
    I needed you to read the first line of the contract. Where you initialed the circle. It clearly states that if you decided to cancel that you be responsible for half of the membership costs.
    Please think about this and the money wasted verses the money spent towards your future happiness.
    I could make the payments less on a monthly basis if it helps. It is just sad to have to pay half the cost and not use our service.”

    I even went as far as calling their Director Sean Waterman, he was not accommodating at all and he too said I signed the contract and the only thing is they would give me back half of what I paid/owed for the total contract. I have not received any services through them and now they want half my money.

    I indicated that I was somewhat bullied into signing, I mentioned that I was not verbally given any indication of their non-refundable clause either before or during signing. I was not walked through the contract, simply told to sign here and initial all the circles. I should have read a little more clearly but was so pressured at the time and had already been there for so long.

    I sent Sean Waterman a letter and have not heard back at all.
    I have put a complaint into the Better Business Bureau (which they already have a “F” rating) and started with the Ontario Ministry of Consumer Protection and now proceed through the Ministry of Attorney General Small Claims Court.

    Stay very clear of this company and it’s business practices. They are not above board on any of their services, claims, contract or anything what so ever.

    +3 Votes
  • Sh
      Apr 16, 2014

    All the complains are true, I am the victim of the LifeMate, with the same story.

    +3 Votes
  • Ju
      Apr 16, 2014

    Some of the stories sound quite horrible. You could almost compare it to being in a Scientology brain cleansing analysis. Certainly not what you're looking for when you're dating!

    +2 Votes
  • Sh
      Apr 17, 2014

    Same story and I have sent the e mail and asked for the refond otherwise I am going to the court.

    +1 Votes
  • Am
      May 05, 2014

    I totally agree with what has been said above. I paid a huge amount and have received practically nothing so far. I tried Business Bureau and Ministry of Consumers for a full refund with no success. I am going to try the Small Claims Court. Has anybody found success with small claims court?

    0 Votes
  • Sl
      May 11, 2014

    Anyone wishing to join in a class action lawsuit against them can contact me at [protected]@yahoo.ca

    +1 Votes
  • Sl
      May 12, 2014

    This company has branches all over Canada and their high handed sales approach is well documented. They have positive reviews posted all over the web which are highly suspect. There is an equally abundance of complaints as well. Filing a complaint with the Ontario Consumer Protection Branch will get you no where as they have no authority to stop their unethical practices. The only recourse is through small claims court. I have read that they have been sued in a Montreal case and the claimant was successful. I suspect that they have been sued numerous times with all cases probably settled out of court. A class action suit has now been started in Mississauga and if anyone wants to join in, contact me at [protected]@yahoo.ca

    +1 Votes
  • Sl
      May 13, 2014

    Most people are intimidated by lawsuits, but a class action suit through the small claims courts in Ontario is very effective. 95% of cases are settled out of court and never reaches trial. If you need more information or wish to join in a class action suit against this company, you can contact me at [protected]@yahoo.ca

    0 Votes
  • Sl
      May 14, 2014

    Do not waste your time chasing them for your money. There's only one venue and that's through Ontario's small claims court. If anyone would like to join in a class action suit against this company, contact me at [protected]@yahoo.ca

    +1 Votes
  • Sh
      May 26, 2014

    I am a victim as well, same history and I am going to the court . Is anyone has any information about the process of claiming please.
    Best Regards,
    Shae

    0 Votes
  • Am
      May 27, 2014

    Shae,


    I am joining [protected]@yahoo.ca to join class action suit. Get in touch with Misty if you are interested. More we are, better are the chances for a win.


    I paid huge amount with no proper service delivered so far. I have already contacted Better Business Bureau and Ministry of Consumers with no results.


    Class action is the best bet.


    Amula

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Jun 16, 2014

    I also had a horrible experience with life mates. I felt pressured at the meeting, I felt like I couldn't leave without agreeing to become a member. They didn't really ask me about the type of person i'm looking for. They just took the money and that was that. I can not believe their prices! Ridiculous! Their service does not match their pricing at all. They were hard to get a hold of (after I dished out the cash) I only met three men, I joined September 2013, my last date was in January 2014, I gave my feedback and didn't hear back from them until June 2014! Crazy! In Feb I met someone through family. Joining life mates was a waste of hard earned money.

    0 Votes
  • Sl
      Jul 31, 2014

    Shae and Amula:

    You have yet to take action along with us. Lifemates is in the process of being served by Small Claims Court with our Statement of Claim. If you still wish to join in our law suit, pls contact me right away at [protected]@yahoo.ca

    0 Votes
  • Gk
      Mar 12, 2015

    I am in the process of filing a lawsuit against Lifemates. This company should be banned from doing business. This is a scam, please do your research before you get sucked in. The comments that are positive are created by Lifemates. I you have a same experience, and you signed up in Vancouver, or elsewhere in BC please contact me. [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Su
      Mar 27, 2015

    I am also a victim of Lifemates, and totally agree with comments. This company has been collecting thousands dollars from individuals, but can't deliver what they advertised. This is totally scam! I hope no more people falling in this trap and team up all the victims to file a lawsuit against Lifemates.

    0 Votes
  • Re
      May 03, 2015

    If you are also having issues with Lifemates, wish to strategize and take collective actions against this company, please contact me at [removed].

    0 Votes
  • Fe
      Nov 07, 2015

    Hey I just signed the contract 3 hrs ago and requested that they cancel it. The salesperson had me sign it without reading it. I paid $350 upfront and the rest in installments. I want to nullify the contract as I felt under duress to sign it. Anyways, I sent them an email about 2 hrs ago for cancellation. I'm going to visit the office again tomorrow to see if I can cancel the contract immediately via original source and get my refund. If not then I would like to do a Ontario small claim before they start taking money from my account. Please let me know if this has worked for anyone? Thanks

    0 Votes
  • Re
      Jan 07, 2016

    People beware life mate is total scam. They take your money and you will never ever hear from them as they promise. The fees are extravagant and the service that you receive is dismal. When you call them they see your number and will not pick up. I wish we people could get to gather and sue them once for all. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY.

    0 Votes
  • Su
      Jan 22, 2016

    I was also pressured to sign on the spot after a lengthy & ridiculous interview process. I was not once matched with a man that had any of the traits or qualities that I had stated. I would LOVE to join a class action lawsuit. Has anyone in Quebec started one? I live in Montreal. Thank you, Susie. I can be reached at [protected]@hotmail.com
    Thank you.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
      Jul 05, 2016

    Bad experience - this company is SCAM. I wasted $2, 500 and so much time waiting for their "matches" - none of whom were half-decent.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
      Dec 19, 2017

    I came across this board by chance after a colleague asked about my previous experiences with various services. A long time ago, I contacted Lifemates, and I was told in no uncertain terms that I wasn't a proper candidate for them. Reason was that I worked in the skilled trades and women weren't interested in men that worked the trades. I would be too difficult to match. This left a very sour taste in my mouth.
    A few weeks later I was called in to what eventually turned out to be an extremely high pressure sales meeting. The consultant that previously rejected me suddenly had a large number of women on file that wanted to meet me. My questions were not properly answered. I was beginning to feel that I marked because I had a "high income" (from the trades) and was desperate to meet women. Consultant remarked that I worked in an environment where "I worked with a bunch of guys, who knew a bunch of guys, who knew a bunch of guys " several times during the sales pitch, and that without signing up, I would never meet anyone.
    I finally had enough and did not bother signing up. Good thing I didn't.
    Almost a year earlier, I experienced the same treatment from The Allied Netrwork.
    Good thing that both organisations are now bankrupt.

    0 Votes

Post your comment