Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

Leslies Pool Supply / Would not honor warranty

United States, California, Mission Viejo Review updated:
75% 8
Contact information:
Leslie's Pool Supply
Mission Viejo
Phone: 949-455-9733
I bought a pump motor last June 2008, and it started making a squealing noise at the end of January 2009. It has at least a one year warranty. After removing it, I returned it to the store. The manager was out sick and 3 days later I still had not heard what the deal was. The 4th day, she informs me that indeed the motor has a problem, but it was caused by my pool water. ????? I had to get a quick education, so I come to find out that water only gets in there if the seal is bad...mine was not. Also there is not one bit of water damage, ie, calcium deposits or rust to be found. She claims that a discoloration under a rubber washer is rust, bet after showing it to 3 seperate pool equipment experts they tell me it is lubricant seeping up through the motor, discoloring the metal and is absolutely not rust. They also told me that the brand Leslies sells, Emerson, is notorious for burning out bearings, and this is what happened, not water damage. So, Leslies employee is lying, and even the DM backs her up, and he has never seen the motor. I emailed pictures to the Corporate office, and have no response. I have since become an "expert" myself, having reinstalled a new motor from a reputable company. I have also come to learn that they have a pretty ugly reputation all around the country, so I am far from the first they have screwed. I am pursuing this further, because I am right and hate being lied to. Others should beware of shopping there. I never will again.

I have photos, but too large to attatch, so your site says.


Sort by: UpDate | Rating
N  12th of May, 2009 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
In April, 2009, I purchased a Hayward Pool Vac Ultra from Leslie's Pool Supply in Fresno, California and was given a rebate certificate form for $50.00 rebate. I submitted it four days later only to be told by Hayward Pool Products that they would not honor the form as it had a December 2008 expiration date. Leslie Pool Supply employees said that form was the only one they had as the new forms were not in their possession yet and that Hayward Pool Products would honor the form.
When Hayward notified me that they would not honor the rebate because of the expired form (green in color) they did enclose a new form (yellow) which was identical to the previous form except for the expiration date and color of the form. I wrote them the following letter and will follow it up if I don't receive my rebate in a timely manner.
This is to warn all that Hayward or Leslie's or others that use rebates as a marketing tool will try anything, in my opinion, to get out of having to actually pay the rebate while getting the benefit of advertising that they will rebate to customers who purchase their products. Honesty apparently has no place in some of today's business community.

May 11, 2009
Leslie’s Pool Supply
6689 N. Blackstone Avenue
Fresno, California 93710

On April 11, 2009, I purchased a Pool Vac Ultra vacuum system from Leslie’s Pool Supply, 6689 N. Blackstone, Fresno, California 93710, 559-431-9092. The system came with a $50.00 rebate from Hayward Pool Products. I was given the paperwork to process the rebate from an employee at Leslies’ (exhibit a).
On April 14, 2009 I processed the rebate paperwork and noticed that the expiration date on the rebate certificate (green form) expired on December 31, 2008. I called Leslie’s and spoke with Ross at approximately 11:25am and he informed me that they (Leslie’s) had not gotten the new rebate forms in from Hayward and it would be fine to use the old form. I sent the paperwork in completed although I had concern that the green form was expired and feared a future problem. I took the precaution of copying all documents and noting the Leslie’s Pool Supply employee who had given me this information.
On May 11, 2009 I received notice from Hayward Pool Products that my rebate would not be sent as I HAD NOT FULLY COMPLIED WITH THE TERMS OF THE REBATE by sending in the green form. Attached to the letter (exhibit b) was a new rebate form colored Yellow which had an expiration date of December 31, 2009. Ironically, I could have filed for the rebate via the internet and would not have to had used the form. This form, with the two noted exceptions, is identical to exhibit b. I was further informed by the letter that the rebate would take an additional 4 to 6 weeks to process, inferring that the delay was MY FAULT!
I have completely complied with Hayward Pool Supply’s requirement for rebate and DEMAND that the rebate be immediately issued. This incident is entirely the fault and responsibility of either Hayward Pool Supply and/or Leslie’s Pool Supply and should be rectified NOW. You have this opportunity to make this right!
This product is the third one I have purchased from Hayward through Leslie’s and while I am satisfied with the product, I am not satisfied with this incident. I will wait until June 1, 2009 to have this incident rectified by Hayward or Leslie’s before taking this to the next level. Please don’t make that necessary.

Michael V. Cunningham

Cc: Hayward Pool Products

Served via Certified Mail
A  14th of Jul, 2009 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I paid almost $600.00 for a Polaris pool vacuum, had to take it back several times for repair. Told the person that it must be defective and requested a replacement. They told me the purchase wasnt in their computer so the couldnt honor the warranty even though they knew I bought it there.

They suck when it comes to customer service.
D  22nd of Aug, 2009 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
to leslies sucks,

try hanging on to your receipt ###, or even go through polaris because they would have a record of your purchase date...must suck to be that ###ed.
A  31st of Jul, 2012 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I had absolutely the worst customer service experience in my life with Leslie's, and I will never, ever, ever deal or buy anything from them in my life. Here is my story...

6 months ago there was a thunderstorm where I live and the following day my pool pump won't start. The pool pump came with the house I bought and was about 7 years old. I go to Leslie's and I ask them if they can send a technician to look at it and see why the pump won't turn on. They say fine we'll send one over to look at it for a service charge.

A few days later the technician comes and it turns out that all I needed was to reset the fuse box and the pump started again. At that point I was happy that the pump started again and that's all I wanted. However the technicain really wanted to sell me a new pump so he told me that my pump noise was too loud and that the pump will die on my any day (?) so I'm better off getting a new pump. Being so naive I agree to it and he sells me a new pump and installs it for $600+.

Fast forward 6 months later and the newly installed pump won't turn on again. This time I try resetting the fuse box but it doesn't help. I call Leslie and guess what they tell me ? That they didn't install the pump themselves and they don't know who installed it (could be a contractor they sent) and I will have to contact that contractor directly or Hayward for warranty information. WTF ? the receipt the technician gave me was from Leslie's and the credit card charge on my card was from Leslie's so how can they claim it wasn't done by them ? They say they will only send a technician to look at it if I pay them $100+ in service fees and if I do need a new pump then their warranty won't cover it because it wasn't installed by them.

Suffice to say I told them to screw themselves, I am now trying to hunt down the person who installed the pump for me and to contact Hayward for their warranty information. If none works I will be filing a complaint with the BBB.

Leslie's pool supplies is the worst store in the world, please don't ever spend a dollar there.

Post your Comment


Reply to