SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

CSX Railroad / hours of operation

Clearwater, FL, United States Review updated:

CSX promotes themselves as a company that is part of the local community. They state they care about the residents that live and work around their rail line. Nothing could be further from the truth.

Repeatedly I have contacted CSX regarding their hours of operation, running at 2am or 3am with the air horn blaring for miles. Can't they please not run after 11pm, unless there is something extremely mission critical. Their response? The customers in St Pete come first and it's just tough luck for you if it wakes you, your children and the rest of the county out of a dead sleep. That's CSX's idea of community relations. Their customer is the community and if your not the customer you're nothing.

It's unfortunate, but CSX has ruined their image with the public for a fickle customer.

If CSX is considering moving into your area of the country, DON'T LET THEM. They can't be trusted.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Gi
      Jun 18, 2010

    Seriously did you actually think CSX would halt their business just because you complained about their whistles...oh come on!

    Their customers depend on them to get their items (freight, coal, whatever) and for you to expect them to stop past 11:00pm is absolutely absurd!!

    Those two metal things on the ground that run parallel to each other for miles...those are called train tracks. If you move in the vicinity of those tracks ~ EXPECT to hear a train whistle! Those big engines and cars do NOT deviate from this track ~ if you do NOT like it M - O - V- E!

    -3 Votes
  • Cs
      Oct 23, 2010

    To Givemeabreak2, besides being a smart [censor] [censor], you obviously must work for CSX.

    To bring to your limited attention span, CSX changed their opertational hours recently, years after the purchase of my property. Perhaps you will buy my place since all you care about is the two metal things on the ground that run parallel.

    Do you have any answers or ideas or do you just get off making smart [censor] comments from your trailer park?

    0 Votes
  • Tr
      Jul 23, 2017

    @CSX Double speak Dont bully somebody over the 2 metal things on the ground that run parallel. You shouldn't move right next to the "2 metal things on the ground that run parallel, " or you will hear a train.

    -2 Votes
  • Ra
      Dec 16, 2010

    Double Speak, I do work for CSX on one of the busiest lines in the US. We run freight 24/7. As far as the whistles and horns go, it has to be done to alert people at crossings. I know in some areas they cant blow them as loud and not for long periods of time. Remember the railroads never stop, goods and freight always have to be moved. I would love to work 9-5 on the railroad, but it never happens. The railroad has been around longer than you or I. Why people ever buy a home close to the tracks or train yards is beyond me. The only thing I can say is try calling some more. And please dont say things like dont let CSX move into your town. The railroads employ a lot of Americans, and one can make a good living. If you worked out here you'd know the trains rolling along is dollar signs.

    0 Votes
  • St
      Feb 22, 2011

    I would like to bring to attention exessive use of train horns in Plant City, FL. I understand it is necessary to signal the trains approach in certain areas. There is a HUGE difference when it is done properly and when it is done exessively. We all work hard, and need to get a good night rest to be fresh at work. However, it is difficult to do so when there is a train horn blasting not only through the night but also through the closed bedroom window. Thank you for your time.

    +2 Votes
  • 11
      Feb 28, 2011

    110 db... really way to loud when ther are gates, bells and flashing lights.

    +1 Votes
  • Uh
      May 29, 2011

    Hello I am writing to relay my experiences with CSX RR. For the last few years we have been trying to deal with them over crossing blocking & Horn noise. There response has been to try to intimidate us, and increase of course the horn noise. Called in after being stopped by a CSX train for an hour at a crossing. Reaching the local train dispatch office in Blue Island IL, I was told by the CSX worked "that's Your G. D. economy going by stupid" & then hung up on. From mid February until recent May 25th we have called CSX about two Dozen times about crossing #163611P when there has been a train blocking that crossing for more that 30-45 min (usually an hour). Responses are different every time. Sometimes the train moves. Most time it sits more time. In our latest go around w CSX we have been of course laughed at, hung up on. and directly int imitated. Expressing to CS that when they block that crossing our are is cut off from Fire & Police response that is less than a quarter of a mile away. We then have to depend on Chicago police Five miles away to respond. I can tell you we are Not a priority to the CPD as they have there own to deal with. On May 25Th I received a phone call from what I am told by CSX RR is a "Public Safety Officer" The call was received from Ohio I live in Illinois. He would Not fully Identify himself when I asked only "Ken". He called me a liar, told me " the Damn Horns are going to blow because that's what they do". also "we may try and keep the crossing unblocked" I have yet to hear from CSX HOW this "Ken" got my home Phone number. Why he called me from TWO state away to talk about this crossing. Most importantly as a "Public Safety Officer" if Ken carries a Gun. As that would be a Peace Office Threatening a citizen.

    +1 Votes
  • Re
      Jun 23, 2011

    It is true CSX trains travel through Safety Harbor at 2 A.M. - 3 A.M. blasting their horns as if on purpose to wake residents adjacent to the tracks. One horn blow should be sufficient when they approach an intersection not a series of loud horn blows even before they get to the intersection! Sorry train engineer, just because you have to work in the middle of the night, please don't take it out on those of us who sleep at those hours. Have some common courtesy.

    +3 Votes
  • Tr
      Jul 23, 2017

    @Resident of Safety Harbor They have to blow there horns to get peoples attention in a populated area. You don't know if and idiot is going to go around the gates suddenly as a train is coming. thats why they have to blow their horns 3-5 times. Also, other trains blow their horns a lot and block crossings. A union pacific train blows it horn like 10 times at my ski resort I stay at. You don't have to bully CSX over trains horns. Its like moving into a house at the end of a runway and then complaining that the airplanes are too loud. You shouldn't move right next to a train crossing and then complaint of the trains being too loud

    -2 Votes
  • An
      Apr 09, 2018

    @TrainLover777 Not at no 2-3am in the morning there is not that many "idiots" out to go around the gates and if they do oh well they should have stayed behind them!!!

    +1 Votes
  • An
      Jul 16, 2011

    The CSX train does go through Safety Harbor, FL every morning, lately at about 4:00AM. It seems that the personnel changes since sometimes the horm is not as loud as other times. The last two nights have been horrendous. We never had this kind of noise until about three months ago and we have lived in the same house for six years, at least a mile away from the tracks. Obviously CSX has hired sadistic people to drive the trains. The horn doesn't have to be so loud as evidenced by the other considerate drivers who blow the horn only enough for anyone who just happens to be walking near the track AT 4:00 AM!! Come on.

    I don't think this forum really impacts them at all, just helps me feel like I am not the only person bothered by this egregious low class behavious on the part of the train driver.

    +3 Votes
  • 31
      Nov 16, 2011

    The federal gov't requires that the horns blow at the crossings due to the sheer stupidity of the general public in seeing those flashing red lights and gates dropped and still driving around them

    Also, it's not the engineer on the train blowing louder than any other engineer... it is a different locomotive, each one has a slightly different 'strength' to their horns.

    Also, they cannot stop running at night or they will have to triple up the amount of trains running during the daytime, which means that every crossing in town will be blocked up all day long. That sounds fun doesnt it?

    -3 Votes
  • No
      Dec 12, 2011

    CSX Trains in Orlando FL
    Has anything been done to help alleviate the excessive horn noise from the trains running after midnight along South Orange Ave? Seems like the noise starts after 11 PM and continues all the way to 6 AM. Some trains hit the horn continuously while others do short bursts. With the Sun Rail System coming in 2014, you can only wonder what it will be like for residents.

    +2 Votes
  • Sc
      Jan 05, 2012

    Agreed, the Orlando community is extremely irritated at the constant horn blowing all night. I seriously doubt that there is that much traffic during the night that the train needs to alert that it is coming through. I can see during the day hours with so much distraction, but all during the night?? come on seriously?? Some of us actually work during the day, I know it must be a new concept, but we aren't disturbing you during the day when you are trying to sleep. Not to mention our children being waked up all through the night. People shouldn't have to leave their homes and move because of inconsiderate people!!

    +2 Votes
  • Mo
      Jan 25, 2012

    I live in the Greenbriar neighborhood in Clearwater, FL and have experienced numerous cases where the CSX trains have been laying on the horn in the wee hours of the morning (2-5am). I agree it's probably better on everyone if they did run in the morning to avoid clogging up roads during the day. But one short "toot" as the train approaches each road should be sufficient warning (in addition to the lights and guard rails on the road) to the LIMITED traffic that should be on local roads at 2-5am.

    +1 Votes
  • Ba
      Mar 01, 2012

    Trains have been around a long time and are vital to our economy. When you move within several miles of a railroad track, you can expect to hear it, depending on which way the wind blows. Seriously, this is a known fact and should have been taken into consideration when purchasing a home. When I purchased my home, there was nothing behind it. Now I have a busy road. Can I complain? No. I live within a mile of the Safety Harbor Train Track and it wakes me at 3 most week nights, just as the UPS planes wake me at 5 most mornings when they land from the north, into the st. pete clearwater airport. We have a night club down the street that is allowed to blast their music till 2 am...and it keeps me awake some nights, again, depending on wind direction. This is all a part of living in a city/suburb...get over it. and do more during the day so you fall into a deeper sleep at night. I've learned to roll over and go back to sleep. I suggest you do the same.

    -2 Votes
  • Ji
      Nov 07, 2012

    Read all of the above comments and everyone has their own views and opinions. The bottom line is that everyone has valid reasons for and against. Growing up in the UK and seeing what damage Maggie Thatcher did to Britain's road networks by moving most of the freight (coal, gypsum etc) to trucks on the roads from the railways, we should all be thankful that this country has the Wisdom to keep this on the rails. I live in Orlando FL and there is a distinct difference of the horns at night and during the day and seem to be more frequent in the winter months, but I agree with the CSX guy, you need to research these things in advance and accept that there may be trains! However, CSX drivers (or engineers as they are here) should not hold down the horn endlessly, a brief blast on the horn should be adhered to no?

    -2 Votes
  • Ev
      Dec 15, 2013

    Honestly...America needs it's goods and not only because there is too many people AND THE WORLD HAS BECOME GREEDY IN DEMAND it also depends on the trains and trucks of America for a lot of things..- I grew up near train tracks in Michigan(where Canada leases the rails), however, since moving here to Florida I also find it irritating in the early morning or in the middle of the night with the constant noise blaring so loudly here in Brandon, Florida...yes it doesn't help when one has a migraine or a sleep disorder. I have friends that used to work the railroad so I respect the position of the engineers. I don't live right next to the tracks either and I find it annoying as hell in the middle of the night-just saying.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
      Jun 03, 2014

    It is simple just eliminate the horns or automate them at the agreed decibel level automatically triggered by the train activity not the engineer . Make it consistent and contemporary with the times. The rail should run 24/7 it is the smartest way of transporting bulk, now lets just improve a good thing. I live in Plant City and the noise is horrible but I am sure we will reach common ground.

    +1 Votes
  • Co
      Aug 28, 2014

    Recently an employee of csx strangled my husband in front of my 11 year old son. what kind of employees do you hire? This guy was arrested and charged in Florida in 2005 for distributing steroids and thug behavior. He got off with a misdemeanor because he told on everyone else but was just as guilty. He did this to save his behind. I dont get what kind of company hires people like this. His name is Mike Chambliss.He continues to take steroids and has the roid rage to this day.

    +2 Votes
  • Be
      Jan 01, 2015

    I love hearing the train whistle but, not for 5 min. I live 3 blocks from the track. The hospital is the same distance on the other side. Alot of people being disturbed. I can see blowing the whistle more in the daytime because of traffic but, not at 4 am.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Jan 07, 2015

    I love the trains and love a good train whistle, we have 3 crossings within 1/2 mile of my home, all of them have the bar that goes down. My town (Waldo) has a population of less than 1000. Most of the CSX engineers are moderate with the horn and you can appreciate it. However, there is this one engineer who blows his horn continuosly (8 mins, 38 seconds) without stopping..you can hear him coming and going LOL. I think the FRA says the engineer has the final authority when crossings are close together, and I'm good with that, but every once in awhile it grates on the nerves and wakes you up. You get used to the background noises of the trains, but when someone changes it up, its more noticeable and irritating.

    +1 Votes
  • At
      Jan 15, 2015

    I only saw one commenter here that mentioned the requirement for train horns. The Federal Railroad Administration was required by law to issue regulations for train horn use. This is called the Train Horn Rule. Maximum volume is 110 db and minimum is 96 db. In this Train Horn Rule, locomotive engineers sound the horn in a standardized pattern of 2 long, 1 short, 1 long blast for EVERY public grade crossing. Remember, this is required by Federal law. The Train Horn Rule DOES NOT stipulate the duration of the long or short horn blasts.
    The Train Horn Rule also provides an opportunity for communities across the country to establish "Quiet Zones". If you are interested, you need to look here: http://www.fra.dot.gov/eLib/details/L03055.
    I can understand the frustration of some people who are negatively affected by the use of train horns during normal sleep hours... but, you should get good information as to why it happens, not jump to conclusions that the engineer can just stop sounding the horn because there is no traffic. You also shouldn't get slammed for your understandable frustrations by others who seem to be just as ignorant of this requirement.

    -1 Votes
  • Rh
      Sep 04, 2015

    Train whistles can be agrevating I'm sure but if whistle duration & frequency are regulated & enforced then there wouldn't be an issue. I quote a portion from a previous posting: "The Federal Railroad Administration was required by law to issue regulations for train horn use. This is called the Train Horn Rule. Maximum volume is 110 db and minimum is 96 db. In this Train Horn Rule, locomotive engineers sound the horn in a standardized pattern of 2 long, 1 short, 1 long blast for EVERY public grade crossing. Remember, this is required by Federal law" I'm thinking duration should be perhaps 1-2 seconds for a "Long" & no longer that 1 second for a short. Signaling to "Clear the tracks" about 4-5 seconds. Blowing the horn longer than 5 seconds doesn't do any good & only annoys people. Durations of more than 30 seconds only serve to be counter productive. I 'm not sure about the "Creating a disturbance" laws in the USA but here in Canada it's 11pm - 8am (Quiet time). Wouldn't accesive duration for Whistle use be pushing the limit after 11pm? If America has "Disturbing the peace" laws, wouldn't they be similar?

    0 Votes
  • Te
      Jan 10, 2016

    I understand the train horn requirements by the feds for safety reasons. I do not understand how RR Xings can block roads such as Orient Rd in Tampa Fla for 1 hour and 23 mins. Especially considering it's located approx 100 yards from the Hillsborough County Jail and hence it also hinders our LEOs from performing their duties in a timely manner. Heaven forbid a catastrophe due to CSX and their incompetence...or worse, their indifference..

    0 Votes
  • Ta
      Mar 20, 2016

    We have the same complaint in Charlotte NC about CSX. They blow the horn all night long and it is very LOUD! CSX are not good neighbor. How can they continue to disrupt people sleep and are protected by the FDR. Something is wrong with this picture.

    +1 Votes
  • Th
      Jan 12, 2017

    Ha this is ridiculous! We live 1/4 of a mile from the Safety Harbor rail track with a toddler, and none of us wake up to the train going through from 9 PM to 5 AM. We actually wish they would use their horn more in the day when heading from South to North (we have a train-obsessed boy and will always run out the door to try to watch the train when we hear it coming). I would much rather them blow their horn to warn people, vehicles and animals of their impending presence then anyone get hurt. I'm sorry, but you need to set your priorities straight.

    -1 Votes
  • Sa
      Apr 05, 2017

    Safety Harbor FL checking in...I thought I had sleep apnea I keep waking in the middle of the night glad I found this thread. I didn't know because by the time I really woke from it he was done except for 1 night last week when he was particularly obnoxious with it. At least the R.E. market has been poppin in the area, been looking at Seminole anyway lately, anyone wanna buy a house?

    0 Votes

Post your comment