SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Cricket Wireless / bad business/compensation

Atlanta, United States Review updated:
Contact information:

Cricket wireless' legal team goes for drinks with state attorney generals and is afraid to have open cases when meeting. All attorney general complaints get what the customer is asking for. Need a refund, replacement gsm phones, and compensation for bad service? Write the attorney general. Not the bbb, not the fcc, as cricket does not have the politics involved as it does with the attorney general. This is the only way to get proper help!! Spread the word! Also get a free gs4 for the new cricket gsm service simply by writing a complaint to your ag and demand one.

Dr
Apr 22, 2015
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Yb
      Feb 27, 2009
    Cricket Wireless - Bad Service
    Cricket Wireless
    Houston
    Texas
    United States

    I have been having dropped calls, receiving text msgs weeks later. Sometimes my phone will automatically resend text messages.There are days when the phone doesn't even ring, so I am missing over 50% of my calls. This is a new phone, but Cust Svc said it was probably the phone, so I purchased a new one...same thing.
    I have more family with the same issue, we are all leaving CROOKED, i mean CRICKET WIRELESS.

    0 Votes
  • Sd
      Apr 24, 2009

    Cricket Wireless should be renamed Cricket Useless, This compant must not have protocol or work proceedures, First i added a line then wanted it disconnected so we called *611 to have it disconnected and they said it was paid untill the 19th and they would discontinue service on the 19th and would only be charged for the original phone i had to began with, So to ensure i called on the 13th and they said they had no record of a disconnect recorded, So they assured me this would be taken of, I even sent a note with the bill, Well guess what the bill came in and they still had us billed for both phones even though the other one was cut off on the 19th, So i again called there *611 customer service and asked to speak to a supervisor, of course they said oh so sorry this happened i will make sure it is fixed, Well today 04/24/09 the bill came in and these ###s still are billing us for the 2 phones even though they cut the one off on the 19th along with numerous calls and complaints.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
      May 04, 2009
    Cricket Wireless - Over Charged
    Cricket
    Oklahoma City
    Oklahoma
    United States
    Phone: 18003742538
    mycricket.com

    I have had cricket wireless service for 4-5 months now, and every time i go in I pay an average of 20 dollars over my agreed amount. I am getting charged for services i never asked for, i never ordered, and was automatically signed up for a number of things i didn't even know i was paying for. This is BULL!

    0 Votes
  • St
      May 25, 2009

    I have used cricket for close to 8 years on and off. The one thing they have to offer is good prices, but people like me who really don't have the money for at&t or verison are switching because they have very good customer service. It makes all the difference. Cricket needs FULL customer service not just a phone line with an automated system. People do no like talking to machines (I work in a call center and I know that for a fact). You NEED to have something online where your customers can lodge complaints to someone who will do something about them, an option online to chat with a tech to troubleshoot problems with your phone, and most helpfull an option online for just plain customer service. I realize it costs more money, but you've got to be noticing the loss of customers. The thing is, when it works it's great, now if you could just cover our bums when we need help, you'd have a lot more loyal customers and they'll tell their friends then your business will see it's needed increase.

    0 Votes
  • Un
      Jun 17, 2009

    damn bro i feel ur pain these phones and service suck bad and its ruining things for me to nobody gets my messages...

    0 Votes
  • St
      Oct 01, 2009

    Please contact the better business bureau

    0 Votes
  • St
      Oct 01, 2009
    Cricket Wireless - Over Billing
    Cricket Communications
    Illinois
    United States

    In April i purchased a 40.00 plan with the handset protection and recently found out that i have been billed for the $45.00 plan. When i spoke to a rep i was told they would have to charge me $15.00 to correct THEIR MISTAKE

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      Nov 10, 2009

    The following email was first sent to Smith Micro since it was under Support for the program that launches the Cricket Wireless service at 9:30 p.m. Friday Oct 30, 2009. They provided me with an email address to Cricket Wireless Support on the following Monday which I immediately forwarded the message to. There has been no response, so I thought I would send you an email with the body of the text that was sent to both parties. By the way, we've already lost two of the seven clients I have recommended the service to. My step son says that he called Cricket Support earlier today and was informed that the bandwidth was throttled and will be this way for the next several days because of "excessive downloading". I don't put any stock in this statement as this has never been a problem before; Cricket Wireless is advertised as unlimited broadband, & the two clients I lost today to a local Internet provider used the Cricket Wireless service for less than a month. Please see below:

    For the last two hours my Cricket Wireless modem has been running download speeds between 100-110 Kbps. Ping & upload speeds are typical (ping between 280-330, upload speed is 90-120 Kbps). Do you have a server down? Weather is clear here. Download speeds generally range from 400-700 Kbps.

    Generally, these speed reductions are only seen in this area from 2 a.m. to 3 a.m. I'm assuming a server reboot or other maintenance is being done at this time as this always happens regardless of the time of year.

    I reside in Atoka, Tn., approximately 25 miles north of Memphis.

    Operating System: Windows XP Home

    Windows OS Version: Windows XP Home Service Pack 3

    System scanned for viruses and other malware. System is clean. Last Windows update run Thursday 10-29-09. Antivirus updated at this time.

    Additional system used to test modem is a Dell server running Windows 2000 Pro. Windows updates and antivirus updated same day as the above system. This system also clean. Same problem.

    Problem detected with Session Information window provided by QuickLink Mobile software, verified by www.whatismyip.com/speedtest/index.asp.

    It is now 75 hours later and I am running a new application, http://www.speedtest.net; it also reports poor results. I am a local tech in the area & have gotten calls from three clients so far wanting to know why their Internet service is running slow. Current results as of Tuesday, Nov 3rd at 1:00 a.m.:

    Ping: 543 ms. Should be between 280-330 ms typical.

    Maximum download speed: 130 Kbps. Should be between 400-700 Kbps.

    Maximum upload speed: 100 Kbps (normal).

    I informed my clients that I would contact them as soon as I received an answer from you. Are you upgrading your servers? Satellite hit with gamma radiation bursts? Is this the new normal my clients can expect? They & I are not happy. All these users use both desktops & laptops. I myself have two desktops & one laptop. Please respond as soon as possible so I can contact my clients and let them know when service can be expected to return to normal. This is a service I highly recommend because of the price & past reliability.

    I have tested the service again as to the ping, download speed, and upload speed as of 12:40 a.m. today, Wednesday, Nov 4, 2009. A response from you would be appreciated in this matter. If this email has been sent to the wrong department, please forward to the correct department at your earliest convenience. Thank you.

    I received a phone call from the Escalation Dept. on Friday, Nov. 6th, 2009. I was not able to take the call at the time and a message was left by Xxxx X. Xxxxx requesting I return his call on Saturday, Nov. 7th. He informed me that he normally doesn't work on Saturdays but would be in the office at 8:00 a.m. the next morning my time to take the call. When I attempted to contact him, all I could reach was the answering machine. I left a brief message that included a call back number and a request to contact me at his earliest convenience. It is now Monday Nov. 9th at 8:05 a.m. my time and I have once again attempted to contact Mr. Smith at the phone number given. Mr. Smith no longer occupies the office or the phone number has been rerouted to another office occupied by a gentleman who is only identified as Xxx. I shall wait on this phone call until 12:30 p.m. today to see if a return call might be forthcoming.

    No phone call was returned in what I expect to be a reasonable time. All I can conclude at this point is that their customer service is lacking or they do not wish for me or my clients to participate in their services anymore. I cannot recommend this service as truthful as far s their advertised claims any longer.

    I am forwarding a copy of the final message to Cricket Wireless, the email address listed for Xxxx X. Xxxxx, and the Better Business Bureau in Denver, Co. No further contact will be required. Our cell phone has been switched from Cricket to Cellular South. We will also be switching our broadband Internet connection to the local company that provides this service. I would like to say we did appreciate the service you have provided the past two years and are sorry we have to part company.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
      Dec 12, 2009

    I went to a cricket pay center on a thursday to pay my bill that was due that day. Paid a total of $118.00 cash on my account. Got the receit and left in a hurry. In the process I must have dropped the receit because later that night my cell phone was disconnected. That Friday I went to the Cricket pay center to see why my phone was disconnected and they said because I haven't paid on my account since last month. Of course I was upset and had explained to them that I was just there not even 24 hours ago and paid $118.00 on my account. They said it was nothing they could do until I came up with the receit. I am not paying another $1.00 because the workers there are incompetent or thieves. Don't know what to do next!!! I am soooo mad!!!

    0 Votes
  • Cr
      Dec 22, 2009

    i ordered 2 cell phone through the cricket order line (via phone live person taking my order) my shipping information was entered incorrectly by cricket when i recieved my fed ex tracking number i found out my phones were being sent to the wrong address and the wrong person i called customer service to correct the shipping error and was told they could not change the shipping address although i was still being charged for the phones ($320.00) i was told someone would contact me in 24 hours to resolve this problem but they did not. i have called 20 times since and cannot get the actual cricket corporate office this is a scam and suggest NO ONE buy cricket phones over the web or phone i need help if anyone can help me resolve this matter

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Dec 30, 2009
    Cricket Wireless - sales
    cricket wireless
    Savannah
    United States

    Cricket wireless sold me a phone and service for full price then put it on sale for like $50 less the next day. Most other companies will refund the difference if you call about itg but they basicly said to bad. Well you know the old saying, do it to me once shame on you, do it to me twice shame on me. So it won't happen to me or my friends and family. So don't let it happen to you.

    0 Votes
  • Dj
      Jan 26, 2010

    I have had cricket service for 3 months and it's been a real pain. The service rep. that sold me the phone gave me the wrong service and I had to go back to the store to get things straight he conned me by makng me bridge a payment instead of correcting the problem. I had to return once again another rep. claimed to clear up the problem and once again my service was interrupted. I called customer service which cannot do anything at all and constantly hung up on me. I'm done with cricket.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
      Jan 28, 2010

    I have also had a very bad experiance with the Cricket service and company. I went to this site and posted a complaint and then looked around at some of the other complaints posted. Someone had a phone number that they called and got their problem taken care of. The number is 858 882 6000 it's a
    California number and their hours are between eight am to five pm, I called it but it was after business hours, I will try again in morning. If your problem isn't resolved then this may be worth you trying it.

    Regards Gene Beard

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Feb 04, 2010
    Cricket Wireless - loss of service
    cricket
    Illinois
    United States

    having conversation and phone service dies, dropped calls, messages delayed, people cant hear me sounds like im a country away but I guess you get what you pay for!!!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Feb 05, 2010
    Cricket Wireless - canceling my plan
    cricket
    belair
    Maryland
    United States

    I decided to change cellphone companys about a month ago and when i transfered my phone number to my new phone my old phone got turned off. now
    i am trying to cancel my old plan over the phone and it is next to impossibe because i dont have an active line. they need to make it easier to just talk to a live person instead of trying to navigate through the options. Thank you

    0 Votes
  • I0
      Feb 15, 2010

    were you trying to cancel your cricket plan? because i went from cricket to sprint here in houston and as far as i know (because i've done it more than once) since it is a no contract service all i did was...well the last month i used them back in december i just used the service and when it came time to pay the bill i just didn't. they turned my phone off and i switched my number over to sprint with no problem

    0 Votes
  • Ey
      Feb 18, 2010

    I am finding out how bad their customer service is. I went into a store to post a bridge payment, I then had 7days to pay the balance(2/15/10). I paid the balance 2/12/10 on line. I received a conformation # and an email for my payment. Well 4day after I submitted payment my service was disconnected. No active line means no contact with customer service. I go to the store on 2/16, some lady on the phone restores my service and tells me to fax over the copy of my CC statement showing the money being dept from my card. Well I try the fax# several times only to get a fast busy signal. Later that evening after I've get of work I try and call Customer service to verify the # only to find out that my service was once again disconnected so now I have to wait unit the next day to go back to the store. At their corp store I am told there is nothing they can do about it. They reactivate my service for 7day extention try and fax my info(CC statement, confirmation # and return email of payment made) to their billing department only to get the same result as I did the day before, a busy signal. So here I am hoping that this gets resolved in the next7day. If there is anyone out there who has a corp# plzzzzzzzzzzz email me [protected]@yahoo.com

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      Feb 20, 2010

    Here is the complaint I just wrote to the FTC and BBB for my recent experience...

    Cricket advertises a broadband mobile card that has speeds of 400-700 kb/s. After activation, I received speeds of about 32 kb/s on my laptop, which is basically unusable and no where close to the advertised broadband speeds.

    The sales representative at this location told me when I bought the modem and first month of service that there were no returns at all. I tried to return the device in person two days later but the manager was not there so no one knew how to process the return.

    I called the next day multiple times and at first received the same knee jerk response that they did not not do refunds. Then they said they would call customer service and try to get the modem working. They called back 1 hour later and asked me if it was working. I told them I hadn't even tried it again, and they quickly told me I could return it today, but it had to be today because they have a 3 day return policy. However, they could not refund the $28 activation fee because Cricket headquarters had no mechanism to return this fee to them and they were already charged for it.

    I called Cricket customer service and after a 1/2 hour hold time reached a representative and then escalated it to a manager. The manager refused to refund the $28 activation fee.

    Final conclusion, this practice has to be some sort of fraud and against some law. They sold me a device that didn't work as advertised, I had trouble returning it because someone capable of doing the return wasn't on site and initially lied to me and told me they had no return policy even though it was actually 3 days.

    The most blatantly fraudulent thing is that they refused to refund a $28 activation fee for a device that never worked anything close to how it was advertised. This has to be against some sort of consumer protection law. Cricket seems to be a large reputable company. I've never had such a ridiculously bad customer experience with what appears to be a large reputable company.

    Please stop them from what seems to be a highly illegal practice.

    0 Votes
  • Db
      Mar 04, 2010

    I got Cricket Broadband and signed up for automatic payments. All of a sudden, I don't have service. When I call, it tells me my service has been suspended due to non-payment. There is also a general notice when you call that they are having problems with their system of automatic payments. So, the automated person tells me to pay my bill and sends me to that system. However, these AS%*&)Es want to charge me a reconnect fee for THEIR stupid computer issues!!!

    0 Votes
  • Mh
      Mar 23, 2010

    I'm an existing member with cricket wireless. I've had to replace 3 phones. This fourth phone i only bought cause i was assured a credit to my account. So, being led to believe i could use the extra money to purchase a phone rather than switching carriers i bought a phone only to find out there was no credit toward account. After speaking to several customer service reps overseas whom could not understand the situation and i had to repeatedly explain no resolution came of it. Reps were dismissive of my concerns and somewhat rude and when asked to be transferred to a supervisor was given the run around plus they would not transfer to someone in the u.s. But the worst part of it is when the supervisor came to the phone all she could say was u were misinformed if u want to talk to somebody else callback and was somewhat reluctant to providing me contact info to take my complaint passed her level. I am very easy going and have never been more frustrated with anyone in my life. needless to say i'm switching carriers.

    0 Votes
  • Af
      Apr 22, 2010

    my name is ALisha this is my 1st phone with cricket, i paid for a car charger on 4/10/10. But this is my younger daughter phone, but it was broken from the tip on the charger. So i decide to take the phone charger back, when i did, they bush me off and said its on the bottom of the paper RUDE AND FAST.But i told them when i bought this charger i ask if i could bring it back, they told me yes with both recipient... well then the sales women was yelling at me, telling no i check the phones jacks all the time, and i notices her voices tone was very loud THEN, then i told her write down your boss number and i will walk in and do a report, because im the customer and this is not the way you treat OR TALK TO them,
    then she said saying no problem but yelling and said Ive been working here for 5 yrs, and i stop her there and said i did ask you how long you were working here i ask if you could write you name and supervisor number, so then she started to yell at me and she told me (DO YOU KNOW WHAT KIND OF LADY YOU ARE, YOU ARE THOSE LADY'S THAT COME IN HERE AND START TROUBLE, , WOW THERE WAS OTHER CUSTOMER AROUND AND how CAN SHE TELL ME WHAT KIND OF WOMEN I AM, WHO GAVE HER THE RIGHT ON WORK TIME TO SPEAK HER VOICE...THE FIRST THING IN SALES... WE ALL KNOW CUSTOMER SERVICES... I WALK OUT YELLING BACK AT HER SAYING THIS IS NOT THE WAY YOU TEACH YOUR CUSTOMER, WAKE UP, AND LEFT..
    THANK YOU
    FOR HEARING ME
    LISHA A.FELI

    SELMA, CA 93662
    CRICKET STORE

    0 Votes
  • Gd
      May 04, 2010
    Cricket Wireless - service
    cricket wireless
    Tennessee
    United States

    I paid a bridgepay extension and my service was still suspended (this is ### cricket). I work for FedEx and can easily get better service along with better customer appreciation from Verizon, alongside a deep discounts.

    0 Votes
  • En
      May 06, 2010
    Cricket Wireless - I feel like i have been robbed by cricket of my hard earned money
    Cricket Wireless
    United States
    mycricket.com

    I hate cricket wireless, i paid my bill on saturday and my service has been suspended 3 times, they say i have not paid my bill, they corrected the problem oh but my service is suspended again and i cannot get through to customer service.i have paid my bill so i feel like i have been robbed by cricket of my hard earned money.

    0 Votes
  • Db
      Jun 21, 2010
    Cricket Wireless - waiving past due balances an fees promotion
    Durham
    North Carolina
    United States
    Phone: 919-680-8269 cell is 919-937-0541

    Got a promotion card to get my serivce back on and can not get through been trying for 2 weeks calling this number 1-800-234-2265 i just recieved my aut code today 06-21-10 so what is the f problem

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Jul 26, 2010

    cricket is a rip off. Do not try Cricket. Rip off rip off

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Jul 26, 2010

    Cricket sucks, do not get a cricket phone they are idiots. They rip you off. They can't even bill your credit card correct.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Jul 26, 2010

    I would rather stick my nuts in a meat grinder than get a cricket phone.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Jul 26, 2010

    lol cricket wanted to talk to the account holder. Your talking on a phone how the hell do they know if it really is the account holder. dah

    0 Votes
  • Fo
      Aug 10, 2010
    Cricket Wireless - Billing & Service
    Illinois
    United States

    I should have known reading the countless complaints about this company before I signed up. But hey, I guess you can't fix stupid. This place has the worst customer service (INDIA) and constantly over charges your account. Total rip off and scam and the signal totally sucks. I lasted 3 months and finally dumped them.

    0 Votes
  • Cr
      Sep 04, 2010

    Pay your bill insted of lying?

    0 Votes
  • St
      Sep 25, 2010

    i have been a cust. for as long as they came to little rock and the service we get from the phone reps are very poor i am currentley on hold for the past 45 mins. for a supervisor and still no supervisor that is very poor service from mgnt. i was told one thing and now that i did that and have proof they still have not turn my phone on yet im going to the attorney general 1st thing monday to file a complaint my name is STEVEN SHERMAN 501-838-8625 I WOULD LIKE TO HERE FROM SOMEONE IN MGNT. TO EXPLAIN

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Oct 11, 2010

    I was in a cricket store on 10l7l10.the two employees manager louis and employee clint at store Princeton Plaza 11711 Princeton Pike. Theywere very rude to me.Ive been trying to drop one of my three cell phone lines and the employees kept lying to me stating that it would be done.I had to waste my time and return to that cricket 3 time and my problem still wasnt fixed.my new bill is supose to be a round 75-80 monthly with taxes.I jus got a bill to pay 155. I can be reached thru email or cell phone.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Jan 07, 2011
    Cricket Wireless - RIP OFF WIRELESS PROVIDER
    CRICKET WIRELESS
    1507 Weekly Road
    Sulphur
    Louisiana
    United States

    Cricket sends e-mail telling you to upgrade your phone for a better price. When you order one you will see a bill higher than the advertised price. When you talk to them they will tell you sorry stories. Like price changes all the time, those are for new customers and other craps. Not to mention their weird sounding customer reps.

    0 Votes
  • Ms
      Feb 05, 2011
    Cricket Wireless - Poor Customer Service
    Cricket Wireless Service
    Charlotte
    North Carolina
    United States

    I have tried to speak to a customer service representative for over a week. All you get is an automated system. Tried to do on the computer, system down all afternoon. I need help, and can't get it. Really regretting decision to switching back to Cricket!!!

    0 Votes
  • Fe
      Mar 09, 2011

    They've ripped me off too. After 6 months of horrible service (bad connects, disconnects, no connects) on their Broadband network I finally got fed up with the lame excuses for why my modem kept acting up and cancelled my service. This was before a new billing period would've started but they still debited my bankcard. It's been six months now with no credit to these charges and I still cannot make contact with a human with half a brain. Visits to the local outlet where this issue started have been useless. Calls to both local store and the listed corporate phone number in San Diego go either unanswered and/or no return calls from voicemail messages requesting the courtesy of a callback have me livid. I'm glad I found this site because I will be able to start my own personal campaign to let people know how much these a-holes DON'T care about their customer base's concerns.

    0 Votes
  • Al
      Apr 21, 2011

    Cricket wireless shut me off for owing 59 cents and then charged me a 15 dollar reconnect fee. they should be put out of business or a company should have lower rates in america and put them out of business

    0 Votes
  • Br
      Jun 10, 2011
    Cricket Wireless - Lost Business
    Cricket Wireless
    United States

    I have been trying to port my land line business phone number to a Cricket cell phone since December 15, 2010. I have lost many thousands of dollars because the "tier 2" technicians can't get it straight. Terrible service and no one to complain too. I am at the end of my rope with the porting dept. Who regulates these guys.

    0 Votes
  • Pi
      Aug 12, 2011
    Cricket Wireless - Disgusting
    Cricket Wireless
    United States

    My 13 year old daughter purchased a cricket phone today. She used the money she got got for her graduation from 8th grade. I think it is disgusting that cricket does not care who purchase a phone from them. I will try to return this stupid phone tomorrow.

    0 Votes
  • He
      Aug 12, 2011

    it is a cell phone not a gun, lighten up and talk to your daughter. Don't blame the company

    0 Votes
  • Li
      Aug 19, 2011
    Cricket Wireless - What a waste of money for crappy service!
    Cricket Wireless
    United States

    Cricket sucks big time. Very often you can't even get a signal and you are cut off or fad out. Contantly get a message that say's the Cricket customer you are trying to reach...blah blah blah, and it's because there phone service sucks! Don't buy Cricket!! Internet isn't to great either.

    0 Votes

Post your comment