The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Commonwealth Bank / Sudden bank fees

1 United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 07 54964127

Did you remember to read the fine print when you signed up for a bank account because I didn't really take much notice. I signed up for a bank account thinking that they were great because they had no fees... But apparantly the bank was only being nice to me because I had a home loan with them.

When I moved my homeloan to another bank they started charging monthly fees on all of our accounts in my name and my husbands...
The funny thing is that we have had two of the accounts with the commonwealth bank longer than we had the home loan... Probably around 20 years ago...

So when I rang up to complain they just said "bad luck" and that I should have read the fine print!!! I only went to check on the account because I didn't want to get overdrawn because there was a paypal fee coming out..

I would have at least appreciated a warning letter, that after 20 years on two accounts and 1 year on the other, that now I was going to be charged fees??

I am disgusted for the second time with the Commonwealth bank (first time was trying to move my homeloan).

03/09/2008 O'DRAWING APPR'L FEE $30.00 $52.15 DR
02/09/2008 PAYPAL AUSTRALIA $6.99 $22.15 DR
01/09/2008 PREV MONTH ACCT FEE $6.00 $15.16 DR
01/09/2008 DEBIT INT TO 28 AUG $0.11 $9.16 DR
01/08/2008 PREV MONTH ACCT FEE $6.00 $9.05 DR
01/08/2008 PAYPAL AUSTRALIA $6.99 $3.05 DR
01/07/2008 PREV MONTH ACCT FEE $6.00 $3.94 CR
01/07/2008 Interest earned on this account $0.05
02/06/2008 PREV MONTH ACCT FEE $6.00 $9.94 CR

Mi
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Te
      19th of Oct, 2008
    0 Votes

    I agree with this complaint.. i was only $17 dollars over the limit. but why do they charge you for $30 dollars for? i use paypal also so it directly debits from the bank, but i agree with the complain above.. palpal or the bank should warn us about fees and they should warn us about us being on debit. If i knew about this then i wouldnt have been transfering it from my streamline to netsaver, i dont see why cant the bank just take off the remaining $$ from my net saver to cover the debt? Well yes i called up and they go i signed the document, but like the previous complaint. i was never told about any fees and charges because i am a student i dont get monthly fees and charges, they should have warned me about this fee. I find it kind of decieving, the banks should have warned us about the overdraft etc if so i would have used my credit card atleast it gives us time and notice for us to pay them back before interest fees are applied.

  • Li
      23rd of Oct, 2008
    0 Votes

    Wow! i never knew they would do this. I just transferred some money into my paypal without knowing that I have an owing because I never knew my bill was getting withdrawn out of my account this week. I checked my balance online and I have this...O'DRAWING APPR'L...thing! Saying I owe them 30 fee! LIKE WHAT IS THIS! I don't remember getting any fees because I am a student as well.

  • Wi
      6th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    29/10/2008 O'DRAWING APPR'L FEE
    $30.00
    errgh...commwealth sucks...i am a students as well..& i agree with the above. They should at least give us a warning or a 24hours notice before withdrawing .. rather than like..BANG $30.

  • An
      26th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    that SUCK!!...same here $30 AU from no where..no sign..no ###...no notice...charging for what??
    banks in australia are just funny. Service fees everywhere for everything. Do you call this service or a cop-like watching your transaction ready to charge you.

  • Bi
      26th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    Commonwealth has charged a $30 fee aswell: O'DRAWING APPR'L FEE

    what the hell is this?!

  • Yu
      2nd of Dec, 2008
    0 Votes

    yeah me too.. what the hell is this.. 30$!!
    i'm a student here.. come on!!
    suck with commonwealth..

  • Ph
      16th of Mar, 2009
    0 Votes

    Me too, I got charged $30 from no where. I am a student too. Students do not have much money so $30 means a lot. Pay back my money, CBA :((((

  • Da
      23rd of Mar, 2009
    0 Votes

    yeah ###in O'DRAWING APPR'L FEE 30 bucks without notice. when I ringed they said it is a system and I'm just a student who gets free from any charges. I would like to sue them as they never warned us about this suck fee. They will have realised that they never be compliance and look after their consumers. Wish somethin' would happen to them...:(((

  • Me
      7th of Apr, 2009
    0 Votes

    Yeah i agree WTF seriously, Im already stuggling with the lack of money i have and then all the sudden:
    O'DRAWING APPR'L FEE
    $30.00
    BANG!
    A warning or anything would have been nice!
    now i owe them $44.09 because stupid fitness first took money out of my account this month even though i cancelled my membership TWO months ago!
    THIS SUCKS!

  • Fa
      3rd of May, 2009
    0 Votes

    Same problem for me. I lacked 10$ when i purchased something by Paypal. they charged me 30 dallars for that!!! I called them. they said if we wanted to reject the payment it would be 35$ fee!!! stupid commonwealth.

  • Ra
      2nd of Jun, 2009
    0 Votes

    Yeah i agree WTF seriously, Im already stuggling with the lack of money i have and then all the sudden:
    O'DRAWING APPR'L FEE
    $30.00
    BANG!
    A warning or anything would have been nice!
    now i owe them $44.09 because stupid fitness first took money out of my account this month even though i cancelled my membership TWO months ago!
    THIS SUCKS!

    +++++

    SAME STORY TO ME!!!
    i was like WTF $30.00?!
    this is unfair and all they want just money from u :(!!!

  • Ri
      11th of Jun, 2009
    0 Votes

    Same story. they just charge me 30 dolars because i overdrawn 3 dolars for paypal transaction. Damned. I am an international student. I dont have much money to cover that fee. Commonwealth the worst bank i ever with. IT IS SUCK!

  • Sh
      22nd of Jun, 2009
    0 Votes

    I totally agree. I have had o'drawing appr fee for more than 10 freaking times! wtf is wrong with commonwealth bank. Im dissapointed in them!!!

  • Wa
      8th of Jul, 2009
    0 Votes

    commonwealth bank sucks big time i also got O'DRAWING APPR'L FEE : 30$ withdrawn my account...um changing my bank, ### YOU Commonwealth!

  • Ca
      1st of Oct, 2009
    0 Votes

    it outrageously sucks! without any notice or warning, leave alone any explanaoudl tion what "O'Drwaing App/l Fee actually mean...at least a letter of reminder and or warning shud be sent to our email, otherwise what is point of giving this information to them... we all demand an apology and an explanation!!!

  • Da
      12th of Dec, 2009
    0 Votes

    I got the same thing!! 3 times $10 O'Drawing Appar'l Fee!! No notice, no reminder, no signing papers, sucks!! Money gone for no reason!!

  • L2
      11th of Feb, 2010
    0 Votes

    Commonwealth bank sucks! worst bank i ever been with!!! ... not only disappointed with $10 O'Drawing Appar'l Fee but also with Exit fee if you want to pay off your home loan!! They never told us about huge amount money we will have to pay if want to break the loan!!1 WT[censored] Australia commonwealth bank... ### YOU!!!

  • Co
      12th of Feb, 2010
    0 Votes

    i am in the process of filing a complaint as my account has been opened since 1995 and i just found out yesterday that im being charged fees at the same rate back in 1995 to this date. It's ridiculous. i was just told of a streamline e access that charges you only $4 per month for unlimited transactions due to the high technology we use these days but i was not on that. i asked them angrily how come no staff has offered this to me i have called in a few times and yet no one offers this to me. no wonder my account has been charged with about $30 of fees monthly due to me using internet banking and atm and eftpos. please email me with your complaints so that we can get our money back from commonwealth bank. my email address is coffeebreeze11@yahoo.com let's do this together the more complaints the better.

  • St
      13th of Apr, 2010
    0 Votes

    what the ### i got O'DRAWING APPR'L FEE $10 without any noticed, , , is ###, is that possible to get back the money?

  • Cb
      18th of Jun, 2010
    0 Votes

    I now hate the Commonwealth Bank to with their FILTHY O'DRAWING APPR'L FEE.
    I am going to close all my accounts with them and my credit card. I have cancelled my refinance of my home loan and investment loan. I calculate they will miss out on around $300, 000 in interest over the next 25 years.
    goodbye commonwealth bank..CBA totally SUCK..keep your O'DRAWING APPR'L FEE and ROT in hell.
    They send me an email for so many thing but NOT when I overdraw a tiny amount.
    They are the [censor] of the earth as far as I am concerned.

Post your comment