SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

CanadaVet.comliars

1
F Review updated:

Hi, I recently purchase some worm and flea medication from a company called
www.CanadaVet.com . When I receive my medication I noticed that on the vial
that they had sent me a medication that was way past the expiry date. I
phoned up CanadaVet.com and they said that the have government
authorization to sell out of date medication. At this point I was a bit
alarm, but they assured me that it was all okay. So being the fool that I
am I used their medication and next thing I knew my Dog started shivering
and developed a Concussion. He had problem eating and threw up for days. I
brought him to my vet and was told that this company may have sold me
counterfiet medications. I am fell I am ripped off and have placed my pet
in grave danger. Never Buy from this Company (CanadaVet.com) they are
liars.

Responses

  •   Jun 02, 2009

    I wouldn't use out of date medications either. I would probably have asked to return them...I also would have reported them, I think.

    However, it's doubtful your dog suffered a concussion from medication. A concussion occurs after a blow to the head. Everything I've read indicates medication isn't the cause of a concussion.

    Your dog might have been sick because of the medication though, or he might have been sick because you combined medications that shouldn't be. You don't say what you ordered or whether it was prescribed for your dog. You shouldn't give your anything if a vet hasn't prescribed it.

    Good information here on safe online pharmacies for vet meds and how to avoid counterfeit medications: http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/692323/dangers_of_online_pet_medication_pharmacies_pg2.html?cat=53

    +1 Votes
  • C
      Jun 24, 2009

    I attempted to purchase dog medication from this company, canadavet.com, also. After waiting more than three weeks for their order to arrive, I contacted them. They tried to tell me that the reason I did not receive the medication was because I had neglected to include the word "Avenue" after my street name. This, of course, is absurd and would make no difference in the delivery time. They offered to ship it out again, and when I said I thought they should expedite the order since I had already waited almost a month, they refused altogether.
    Just as well, given the complaint above. DO NOT ORDER FROM THIS COMPANY. POOR PRODUCTS and WORSE CUSTOMER SERVICE. Probably a scam.

    +1 Votes
  • C
      Jun 24, 2009

    I had a similar recent nightmare experience with canadavet.com. Very unsatisfied. Do not order from this company. You will be sorry. Canadavet.com sells out of date medications, the delivery times take FOREVER, and if you complain they don't care. They feel very justified selling out of date medications and making you wait for them. They do not deserve anyone's business.

    0 Votes
  • R
      Jun 25, 2009

    Hello,
    I am the Dispatch Manager for CanadaVet.com and wish to advise that we do NOT sell out of date medications. The customers above are confused with the exipration dates that are mandatory as the products are shipped from Australia. In Australia, it is mandatory to have a month and year stamped on the packaging. All our products have at least 12months to 2 years expiration dates on them. For example the Heartgard chewables manufactured by Merial have an expiration date stamped on them showing the month and year NOT the day and month.
    Robyne P

    +3 Votes
  • W
      Nov 07, 2017

    @Robyne Page I have never had an issue with their cat Revolution products...I realize they take longer to ship, however...dated appropriately and no issues. Thank you. W. Robbins

    0 Votes
  • R
      Oct 22, 2019

    @Robyne Page and as a pharmacist in the states, because of numerous drug shortages world wide, the FDA has been issuing extended expiration dates for various products - expiration dates have become a real con game with the manufacturers - it is happening in the food industry as well

    0 Votes
  • R
      Oct 22, 2019

    @Robyne Page In addition, I am in about my 7th year ordering from this supplier, and occasionally a bit slow going through customs I assume, but within 7 to 10 days my orders have always arrived with NO issues and their prices are much cheaper than I can get through my vet - and on a separate note, next time you have to see your vet ask about 3 year rabies vaccines - most vets do NOT advertise but just as effective as the yearly and much kinder to your pet

    0 Votes
  • D
      Jul 14, 2009

    I have some Heartgard I ordered online from a different Australian site right here, it says "EXPIRY DATE" very clearly. Nice try, scammer.

    +1 Votes
  • B
      Jun 29, 2010

    wow. wish I had seen these reviews before ordering. I have been waiting 3 wks and still nothing, I called and they told me they had no idea when the order would arrive. I told them to cancel. No can do. After a month, I'm allowed to ask them to cancel the order which will take an additional 28 days. They do not tell you that everything is shipped from Australia (they should be Australiavet, but no, then we wouldn't order, would we?) MAX rip-off company.

    +1 Votes
  • C
      Jul 12, 2010

    I ordered frontline plus from canadavet.com. It did take about 3 weeks to receive. But if you read about them it does say it can take longer then if you order closer to home. I am not defending them. I did not pay attention to the expiration date, but the product did not work.
    There were less fleas for about 4 days, then they were back full blown. And of course you have to wait a month before treating again. I will not buy again. It was a waste of 80.00.

    0 Votes
  • C
      Jul 12, 2010

    Don't buy expired ANYTHING and feed it to your dog. When a product has expired it means the ingredients in it are too old and will make you (or your dog) sick. Don't ever take anybody's word, if the product is expired.

    -2 Votes
  • C
      Mar 29, 2011

    Bought some Frontline on 2/17/2011, and today is 3/29/2011, still no product or explanation as to why it takes 1.5 months to deliver something. Representative wouldn't honor the agreement in the confirmation email stating that if product wasn't received within 21 business days I would be refunded. Rather, representative decided it better to argue with me over what the actual day count was and that I would be entitled to a refund after 25 business days, even though that completely contradicted what was written in confirmation email. Needless to say, its beyond 25 business days now and still nothing. This company is 100% false and misleading and, as everyone before me has stated on this blog, is absolutely a SCAM! Do not buy anything from this company and tell your friends as well, unless you want to throw some $$$ into the wind as I did. Your better off dealing with a reputable power seller on eBay rather than with this bunch of knuckleheads... But good luck to you if you decide to purchase from them anyway, you'll need it...

    0 Votes
  • J
      Sep 29, 2011

    I have been buying from Canadavet.com for years & have never had a problem. The initial purchase takes longer for some reason. After that my purchases have arrived within 2 weeks. As for Frontline, my vet told me the product does not work, no matter who it is purchased from. I use Comfortis - more expensive, but it works. I have NEVER received anything that has expired. Check to see if you are not looking at the manufacture date. Like I said, I have been using them for 3 years - problem free.

    0 Votes
  • C
      Oct 25, 2011

    Please note, CanadaVet.com is not associated with CanadaVetCare, Canacreek or any other website with a similar name. Unfortunately some websites are pretending to be CanadaVet or telling customers that they are in some way associated with CanadaVet. There are many complaints about these websites failing to deliver or failing to answer emails and phone calls. Please avoid these websites. CanadaVet.com never sells out of date product and always tries to resolve customers problems. If you ever have a concern you can contact [protected]@canadavet.com or call our call centre which is located in Vancouver, BC and open 7 days a week.

    +2 Votes
  • T
      Nov 09, 2011

    Well now that I read this I don't quite feel so bad! I am from Canada and went to order some products for my dog only to find out that they DON'T SHIP TO CANADA!!! I couldn't believe it! So I would have to live in U.S.A. or any other country except Canada to get an order from a Canadian company! The reason I found the site was because I did a Google search for Canada + flea medications and this site came up. So if the stuff is expired then I guess I really wouldn't have wanted it anyway! Try to find a discount on something these days makes it easier for scammers to prey on people!

    0 Votes
  • M
      Jun 25, 2012

    am so happy i didnt order my product from them after reading all this!!!

    0 Votes
  • J
      Feb 27, 2013

    I ordered Frontline Plus for my Jack Russell and am very satisfied. Have always used Frontline Plus, except for a short time I bought the generic (Same ingredient) as Frontline, from either Target or WalMart, but not sure the SAME AS Generic, works as well. My Vet sells it but for way more, and it has always worked well, important since our little guy sleeps between us. And the stuff I bought from this site has a good expire date of 6/2014, so recently just ordered a 12 month supply of Heartguard 30s. Got 12 months for not much more than 6 months would cost me at the Vets, and I'm sure I'll be just as satisfied. Buying Heartguard from an online U.S. merchant like petmeds.com, they require a prescription or a verification from your dogs Vet that the dog is current on the heartworm blood test. And why would a Vet cooperate doing that>>LOL. For some reason this Canadian site does not, and that was a PLUS to me, since I stay current on his meds and tests.

    0 Votes
  • J
      Mar 03, 2013

    I'm the owner of the above Jack Russel and received my heartguard 30 order today well within the estimated delivery time. My only concern, even though it has a great date of into 2015, the product is shown as being made by, "Merial, " in the U.s, but was shipped from Singapore of all places. This does give me some pause about genuineness. I just hope it is not counterfeit. They have assured me that it is not.

    0 Votes
  • J
      Jul 11, 2013

    Ordered flea meds from the website that makes every effort to look like they are based in Canada. Certainly they say NOTHING about being based in Australia. Consequently it is 30 days later and still no delivery.

    In summary - they are entirely misleading in their approach (if not outright LIARS) and should be avoided.
    I recommend that you not order from Canadavet.com

    0 Votes
  • S
      Oct 03, 2013

    There seems to be a lot of concern about the expiration dates. Solid products last much longer than most expiration dates. If a product has expired by 6 months, what do you think happens? Do you think it just metabolizes to another material? It should retain a high percentage of potency. We Americans throw away way too many medications because of arbitrary expiration dates. I am most concerned that the Canadavet products are actually the right chemicals...

    +1 Votes
  • J
      Jul 10, 2017

    @SaHann "Do you think it just metabolizes to another material?" Well, YES, medicines metabolize- changing into other compounds. But the expressed concern isn't about metabolism, is it? It's about whether CanadaVet.com supplies genuine medications, within their labeled expiration dates. That's what people are paying for, and that is what they expect to get. What happens to innumerable compounds after the expiration date isn't the subject of this discussion.

    I am baffled how administering a medication can cause a concussion as expressed by the first review listed.

    0 Votes
  • S
      Dec 17, 2013

    I've ordered from them before and haven't had a problem. The items I've ordered need a script in the US. They work around this by having it shipped from Australia and other countries. Sometimes it take forever for this roumd-robin delivery system to get the tiem delivered (6 weeks). They have a decient rating from the Canadian Better Business Bureau.
    http://www.bbb.org/mbc/business-reviews/veterinarians-equipment-and-supplies/canadavetdirectcom-in-vancouver-bc-1241318#reasonrating

    0 Votes
  • P
      May 30, 2014

    I ordered 2 weeks ago, it arrived and does not expire until 2016.
    Worked out fine for me.

    +1 Votes
  • B
      Sep 17, 2014

    I ordered Advantage for my cats from Canadavet.com on August 30th/14, today is Sept. 17/14 and still have not received. I assumed I was ordering from Canada, but became suspicious when the confirmation of my payment came from Worldpay card and was charged on my credit card in US dollars. I have gone back to my confirmation and have noted that it is being shipped from Australia. Had I known all this I probably would not have ordered from Canadavet.com. I am not sure after reviewing all the reviews if I should use the product even if I do receive the product. I have not tried to cancel as after reading reviews that sounds impossible.

    +1 Votes
  • B
      Sep 18, 2014

    I am following up on my above review. I received my product Sept. 17 after submitting the above review. I had ordered Advantage and that is what I received. Approximate time to receive was about 2.5 weeks. It did come from Australia, and was manufactured in Germany. I have applied the product to my cats and all seems good. Somewhat soon to determine whether the product has worked, but I do think it will. Overall I am pleased with Canadavet.com and will order product from them again. It is worth the money I saved even with the USD exchange I paid as I am in Canada.

    0 Votes
  • M
      Nov 05, 2014

    This is not a Canadian company I waited two weeks and when it finally arrived it was from Australia

    +1 Votes
  • R
      May 27, 2015

    I as well was scammed over purchasing from a company in which I trusted was called CANADAVET. To my surprise when I made the online purchase and was charged American currency. They don't me I neglected to switched the drop down box to Canada. When then I asked if this company is Canadian why is the drop down not defaulted to Canadian currency. The customer service is completely rude. Unreliable site. Product purchased over 3 wks ago not yet to receive. Was told product is now coming in from Australia. Should of known to do my research. Scared to even use this product if and when I receive it. Will have a licensed Vet check the product before applying it to my pet.

    0 Votes
  • L
      May 30, 2015

    I've ordered a few times fm Canada Vet and found all to be on the up and up. Very fast delivery and great customer service. No expired drugs. BTW, expired drugs, and we all have them in our homes, don't morph into dangerous ingredients especially not causing concussions of all things. That's called head trauma. Active ingredients simply degrade and lose efficacy which is why there's an expiry date on ALL meds. How many of us take expired acetaminophen or ASA and don't realize it's expired...sometimes for yrs.., shouldn't due to diminishing efficacy...but we do. And, sometimes a medication will work well for some pets and not for others, just like in humans. The answer to that is to try something else until u find something that works...just like for humans.

    0 Votes
  • E
      Jun 01, 2015

    I have been waiting over three weeks for my tick and flea medication...Tick season will be over by the time I get it...if I ever get it. IT IS VERY MISLEADING TO HAVE A COMPANY NAME OF CANADAVET.COM WHEN THEY CHARGE IN US DOLLARS AND SHIP FROM AUSTALIA...REAL CANADIAN EH!

    +1 Votes
  • C
      Jul 18, 2015

    I also ordered from CanadaVet.com and waited a month to receive my order. I ordered Advantix. I contacted them and they said they were based in Austrailia and that is why it took so long. I questioned why they are trying to represent themselves from Canada. No reply .

    My dogs all had a reaction to the medicine. Pimple like rashes in the areas where I put the medication. One of my dogs started throwing up and then had diarrhea for 24 hours. He is ok now but I was very concerned for my dogs well being. I Took them all to see my vet and he thought that the medication could be a knock off. I emailed CanadaVet but have had no reply.

    DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY !!!

    +1 Votes
  • U
      Sep 05, 2015

    I am in Sarnia Ontario Canada, I purchased Revolution for cats 5-15lbs and received the goods as ordered, but while I was waiting for the order to arrive I ran across this site, I was horrified by what I had just done, well like I said the order arrived as stated, free delivery, took 2-3 weeks meds where all well within the dates of expiry and packages were all sealed, so since I had been in the race horse business for many years I had seen many fraudulent drugs, even sold by a few vets, so I contacted the company and I had sent them the packaging and one pipette of meds sealed, they confirmed that they are legit and we're definitely there products. So in my opinion there was no reason to get all upset about these reviews as they are legit.

    0 Votes
  • P
      Oct 26, 2015

    Great!!! I ordered from Canada vet, I live in Ontario Canada and I WISH I had seen these reviews before ordering 130$ worth. It's been 2 weeks and I still have not received my order. I don't have much hope for delivery now! First time I've ever ordered anything online, and most definitely the last!!!

    +1 Votes
  • K
      Nov 23, 2015

    I live in Ontario also and its been almost a month since my order was placed and still haven't receive it. when i requested a tracking number they stated Thank you for your email. Your order was shipped out on the 26th of October and at this time is in transit.

    We ship our orders with the Postal Service by first class airmail as we have found this to be a most reliable, quick and economical way of shipping our orders. Unfortunately they cannot provide us with a means of tracking individual orders however most parcels take about 7 to 10 days to arrive. Occasionally they may take up to 28 days as actual delivery time depends on processing time by the postal service and whether you live in a metropolitan or rural area. At times of high security parcels are sometimes held up in customs and unfortunately once an order is shipped we have no control over these delays.

    Luckily i paid with paypal and will be reporting despute with them over this...so not use this company they clearly have major supply and shipping issues.

    0 Votes
  • W
      Apr 19, 2016

    I came across this site so now I'm scared to order Heartgard from here because the packaging looks different than the ones I normally get.

    0 Votes
  • T
      Apr 29, 2016

    A great place to order comfortis. No problems.

    0 Votes
  • G
      May 06, 2016

    I ordered well over a month ago. When I called after 2 weeks, I was told it "could not be tracked". When I called after 21 days, I was told to wait another week as it "was held up in customs". Really? Right after I was told the company had no way to track orders? I did wait the extra time, still no order. Now, I am still waiting for my refund. The customer service agents are lovely and polite, but the company's customer service is abysmal. I will be posting about my experience to the Canadian Kennel Club and American Kennel Club pages.

    0 Votes
  • I
      Jan 05, 2017

    Very similar experience here in Toronto, I have placed an order with this Company on dec05/2016, today it has been 30 days and still no advantix, called them twice, same story like in these previous comments, it is in the transit, cant be tracked, it takes a while to come from Australia, anyway today I asked for my $$ back, they said no problem it will be 3-5 business days, has anyone actually received money back from Canadavet???I think I last $208, very sad.

    0 Votes
  • B
      Apr 18, 2017

    I ordered Nextgard. It says it ships out within 24 hours. I ordered it on Saturday Apirl 8th and it wasn't shipped out till the April 12th That is not a 24 hour. I asked for a tracking number and at first they refused. Then I got a number sgadj31074211 So I asked the link to the this tracking number. I could not get one . Then I was told they are not in Canada they were bought by some Muslim with a heavy accent and they are now stationed in London UK. And they use a warehouse( a Australian) vet to buy it and ship it out to the USA. They are not let me repeat not Canadians. I was rudely told I am to wait for it by a superviser, That my package was either in customs or on route. If they had followed their own policy and shipped it within the 24 hours which would be Monday I would have had it. I now dont feel I am going to get it.

    -1 Votes
  • U
      Sep 26, 2017

    @Betteroffwithout How do you know the religion of the person you spoke with at Canada Vet? That seems like a very personal conversation to have with a customer service rep...

    0 Votes
  • L
      May 22, 2017

    I've been buying Heartgard Plus from Canadavet for several years. Have never received an out of date box.
    It has never taken more than a couple weeks from Australia.
    We have our dogs tested regularly, as we live in a high mosquito area in the southern US.
    No problems so far.

    0 Votes
  • U
      Jun 29, 2017

    Ordered dewormer from here for my daughter who lives in Canada. It has taken weeks and its still not there! She could have driven there, picked it up and driven home in this time. I dont know how they are shipping it but a basic package would not take this long via Canada post. Avoid at all cost.

    0 Votes
  • D
      Jul 30, 2017

    I wish I have read this sooner. Lost $121.

    0 Votes
  • U
      Aug 19, 2017

    @DonQuach Contact them and demand your money back. I did via paypal and I got a refund. That is the main reason I use paypal with companies like this

    0 Votes
  • R
      Aug 03, 2017

    Will never order from CanadaVet.com again!!!
    I ordered three tubes of K9 Advantix on April 8, it was shipped on April 10.
    May 2 - still hadn't received, sent email complaining and asked for tracking number.
    May 3 - CanadaVet.com responded saying order was shipped on April 8, they ship, using the "Postal Service", by first class airmail and they don't provide individual tracking, delivery may take up to 28 days as it may be held up in Customs (until now I was unaware their products were NOT shipped from Canada).
    May 5 - CanadaVet.com informed me my "postcode" on my order was incomplete (as if I don't know how to write my own 'Postal Code') and that this would delay my order. I had no further contact with them after this, because I knew I was wasting my breathe with them.
    May 12 - product arrived (5 weeks from order date) and we began treatment immediately.
    July 31 - In the intervening months since we began treatment we saw no change in our dog's flea condition (he still had them) and it was getting worse, we tried a DIY flea bath which only gave him relief for a few days, we tried the rub-in spray which did the same as the shampoo. We took him to the groomers today and they told us of the nightmare we are facing. He had literally hundreds of fleas on him and our house is infested with them. When we told them we had been using Advantix and where we got it, they said they see this a lot and suspect we may have gotten 'fake' medication.
    I have used Advantix for years (always purchased from my Vet) and it has ALWAYS done it's job. I have no idea whether or not CanadaVet.com sent me legit or fake medication, I do know that what they sent me did absolutely nothing to control the flea problem we have.
    Lesson learned, so far it's cost me $60 for useless meds & $80 for professional grooming, don't how much more it will cost to rid our house of a flea infestation.

    0 Votes
  • U
      Aug 19, 2017

    @Ray558 It ships from China or some such place, very likely a knock off

    0 Votes
  • U
      Aug 19, 2017

    Customs refused to let the order into Canada it was so bad they turned it back at the boarder!

    0 Votes
  • C
      Sep 01, 2017

    Note for Canadians that heartworm meds and many other wormers are on the list of 'precription' meds controlled by the gov't. Customs can and often do stop and inspect these shipments to ensure it meets regulations. *YOU* as the BUYER are considered the "importer" and the two issues you will come up against are:
    1 - you may not import more than a 3month supply at at time. (so forget about buying a 6-pack monthly treatment...)
    2 - EITHER the medication must be in a form not suitable for human use (pills and topical ointments DO NOT meet this requirement)
    -OR- the retail packaging must be BILINGUAL and clearly state for animal use only (Canadavet.com website clearly states that all packages are ENGLISH only)
    Therefore it is my opinion that it is too risky (i.e. you risk losing your money) to buy through them. If Canada Customs happens to pick your package randomly to inspect (or otherwise if they are looking for this company's similar packaging), they will likely seize it. And Canadavet.com clearly states on the website that YOU are responsible for meeting legal import requirements (rightly so). I highly doubt Caadavet gives any refund in such case.

    0 Votes

Post your comment