SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

American Behavioural Research Institute / RelaxiumMisleading claim

Review updated:

Consumers have enough difficulty distinguishing good supplements from the bad.

Relaxium is deliberately misleading consumers with false claims, aimed at giving reassurances of the products' legitimacy. The company website homepage announces that "Relaxium is endorsed by: American Behavioural Research Institute."
On further investigation, it appears that the Relaxium trademark is owned by American Behavioral Research Institute, LLC, Boca Raton:
"On Saturday, October 31, 2009, a U.S. federal trademark registration was filed for RELAXIUM by American Behavioral Research Institute, LLC, Boca Raton, FL 33496. The USPTO has given the RELAXIUM trademark serial number of [protected]. The current federal status of this trademark filing is REGISTERED. The correspondent listed for RELAXIUM is MORRIS E. TUREK of YOURT..., 167 L..., CHESTERFIELD, MO [protected] ."

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Wa
      Aug 11, 2017

    Although many alternative products which claim to be "natural" for the relief from insomnia, poor sleep, falling asleep, staying asleep, drifting into REM state / stage of sleep, one must be careful of what ingredients and amounts are used to formulate the end product. Our bodies do not produce certain chemical compounds and or hormones or chemicals such as Serotonin or 5-hydroxytryptamine (5-HT) is a monoamine neurotransmitter for the Pineal gland to control or help our sleep cycle(s). One must take into consideration many factors such as any related stress, anxiety, depression, melancholy brought on or about by situational and real life causes. We also must consider any underlying addictions such as; nicotine, drugs, alcohol or other medications used on a daily basis. One must also see if they are healthy and that the "cause" of sleep is not from some underlying disease, illness or psychological, or deficiency. I highly caution, Melatonin may be harmful if taken for longer than 2-3 months as it is a "hormone." Underlying Psychosomatic related problems which stem from childhood could be a cause or over all living conditions and social structure due to ones in ability to change thier lviing conditions, employment or familial situtations. The similar condition could be Seasonal disorders and not enough sun. A full blood screen and any deficiencies in metabolism, diet, and exercise should be used before buying and using any product.Although many alternative products that claim to be natural for relief from insomnia, poor sleep, falling asleep, staying asleep, drifting into REM state/stage of sleep, one must be careful of the ingredients. Our bodies do not produce certain chemical compounds or hormones for the Pinal gland to control or help our sleep cycle. One must take into consideration stress, anxiety, depression, melancholy brought on or about by situational and real life causes. We also must consider and underlying addictions such as nicotine, drugs, alcohol or other medications. One must also see if they are healthy and the cause of sleep is not from some underlying disease, illness or psychological, deficiency and caution Melatonin may be harmful if taken for longer than2-3 months as it is a hormone. Underlying Psychosomatic / Psuchosis related problems which stem from child hood may be an underlying systemic cause. The similar condition could be "Seasonal Affecive Disorder" SAD disorders and possibly not getting enough Viatmin D / not enough sun / sunlight. A full blood screen for any mal-deficiencies in metabolism, diet, and exercise should be used before buying and using any product. Highest caution and regard to taking anything internally for any amount of tie may have an adverse or negative reactioive depressive state to ones body. See a naturopath who is also a certified Medical Doctor who is well versed in nutions and wellness.

    +3 Votes
  • Bo
      Jul 27, 2018

    @WaggMoore1 Dear Wa: May I say, Well Said! The far majority of complaints against this company are relative to marketing and sales techniques. Your post is spot on advice for dealing with the underlying issue. Thank You.
    btw; My son is a doctor. He would tell me, 'Dad, great article but you misspelled nutrition' lol. Best Wishes

    +1 Votes
  • Kr
      Oct 30, 2018

    @WaggMoore1 At 33 yrs old, I had a stroke after using 5HTP for anxiety. I was in the process of moving and I had mild high blood pressure. I thought since it was " natural ", it was safe. Wrong. VERIFY WITH A DOCTOR BEFORE USING " SUPPLEMENTS !!

    +1 Votes
  • Ca
      Mar 26, 2018

    A total scam. They don't tell you online that you are signing up for $60 bottles every two months until after you have inserted your credit card and after their giant "SUBMIT PAYMENT NOW" button where the print is unbelievably small of what you are really buying.

    +3 Votes
  • Ha
      Apr 10, 2018

    This is a scam, on TV they tell you no obligation one month free supply, but they will charge after you sign up for free one month supply, than within few weeks they will charge another $119.00 to you account. This Company is a fraud. I wish there was negative star for this company.

    +1 Votes
  • Re
      Apr 13, 2018

    I had the same thing happen as Cayman44 described. They supposedly give you 30 days free supply for a minor shipping charge. Then they send out two bottles and about a week and a half later charge you 119.90! I am not even sure they work, as I haven't used enough of them to see! But, they offered me 100 refund if I keep the bottles and don't bother with going to the post office where I would have to pay for shipping to send them back. Since their charge had overdrawn my account, I had little choice but to accept their offer, only for them to then tell me that it might take a day or two for the refund to get posted to my account. That of course, they said would be the banks fault. So, altho I don't know if their formula will work or not, take my word for it that their business practices lack a whole lot when it comes to transparency.

    0 Votes
  • 1g
      Apr 17, 2018

    @Rebecca Quick You are lucky. I didn't get any free bottle! They sent 2 bottles, they charged $8 for " free trial", but no bottle, and charged $119 for those 2 bottles! The scam is deeper if no one is stopping them. A similar product ingredients are in tab. from Puritan Pride

    +2 Votes
  • Mo
      Apr 24, 2018

    This company is soooooo miss leading and expensive!
    Go to your local health food store and get better for less.

    +2 Votes
  • Ma
      Jul 20, 2018

    What a joke. Actors are completely unconvincing. You have to be completely desperate and ignorant to fall for a snake oil pitch like this. Stats are contrived wordsmithing and poorly done. Get off the tv#!!

    0 Votes
  • Vi
      Sep 12, 2018

    Victoria M.W./Hawaii
    As a returning customer of Relaxium, I have not one seconds in my mind that this product is what people might call a scam, or whatever label could someone find to post negative messages. For those people, they don't seem to really experience the best results given by Relaxium. My experience WITH RELAXIUM as a customer had given me the BEST RESULTS to not experience daily pain on my knee, it had given me the best restful sleep at night, and had given me the calmness of myself. I have tried other products only RELAXIUM had been the best, related in taking daily supplements. As far as I am concern as a customer, I HAVE NO NEGATIVE COMPLAINS ABOUT RELAXIUM...

    -1 Votes
  • Be
      Oct 17, 2018

    I'm a civil litigator and from what I've read so far leads me to say that I strongly suggest all of you come together to file a lawsuit in federal court as a class action.

    +1 Votes
  • He
      Oct 27, 2018

    Well, the one woman writing in, said Relaxium did help her, but I'm not sure if her wakefulness was caused by insomnia or her injured knee. I just wonder if I could please and kindly get 8 hours of sleep at night!!! I used to wake up at 4am, but now I wake up after only 6-7, thanks to a concoction of fresh ginger, saffron, organic honey, boiling water, TEA. I lost the anxiety-depression with the saffron, and the ginger-organic honey is a relaxer. BUT, I need 8 hours. I wonder if Relaxium works...and is melatonin really a hormone? There is a whopping 5mg in Relaxium, much more than other OTC sleep aids which only have 1.5mg.

    -1 Votes
  • Su
      Oct 02, 2019

    @Helen Thyvald You can get 5mg in NATROL +5-HTP Advanced Sleep. It’s in a time-released formula, available at Walgreens, CVS for sure. Sometimes I’ve seen it at Walmart

    +1 Votes

Post your comment