The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

ALW Sourcing, LLC / False Debt Collection

1 Trenton, NJ, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 888-379-4884

Received a debt collection letter for $6, 817.45. We knew we owed or had ever owed any company or person this amount of money!

Upon calling them they told us we owed this money on a debt to Household Finance from 18 years ago!

We didn't even live in the United States 18 years ago.

This is purely a scam to scare people into paying something they do not owe. We are contacting the Maryland State Attorney's office today.

Don't fall for this!! Report them and let's get this ### arrested!

Ak
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ma
      27th of Feb, 2009
    0 Votes
    ALW Sourcing, LLC - telephone harassment
    ALW Sourcing, LLC
    Baltimore
    Maryland
    United States

    They call me up on a daily basis. They say I owe hospital emergency room charges from 3 1/2 years ago but can't tell me what hospital the charges are from.

  • Cc
      27th of Mar, 2009
    0 Votes
    ALW Sourcing, LLC - Electric Bill
    ALW SOURCING, LLC
    United States

    THEY ARE SENDING OUT LETTERS THAT LOOK REAL, SAYING THAT YOU OWE MONEY FOR AN ELECTRIC BILL FROM 15 YEARS AGO OR MORE AND THEY WANT YOU TO PAY IT. I SAW THAT THIS HAPPENED LAST YEAR TO SOME PEOPLE, WELL THEY ARE TRYING TO DO IT AGAIN IN PA. THEY ARE ALSO CALLING AND TRYING TO FIND OUT INFORMATION.

  • Cc
      27th of Mar, 2009
    0 Votes

    I totally agree how can a company try to do this to someone

  • Ki
      27th of Mar, 2009
    0 Votes

    OMG! I got a phone call from these idiots last week telling me that I owed an electric bill from 19 years ago. What are they doing, going through the records of anyone who moved out of the area PECO serves? I haven't had an account with PECO since 1989. I know I didn't owe them anything because PECO reports to the credit bureaus and it would have shown up.

    They really tried to convince me and bully me, calling me a deadbeat, etc. They offered a fabulous deal that I couldn't refuse (or so he thought) that I could pay half and he'd go away. I told him he can go away now, without payment, and to send me the paperwork proving I owe it and I'd look into it...

    I contacted the NJ State Attorney General's Office, who called me back within minutes. They are going to call these idiots and then send me a complaint form.

  • Id
      30th of Jun, 2009
    0 Votes

    They have been doing the same thing to us for quite a while. My ringer stays off on my phone due to these people. I am sick of them.

  • Ma
      25th of Aug, 2009
    0 Votes

    They call every day. They say I owe hospital emergency room charges from 2001 but can't tell me what hospital the charges are from.i called then back and they (she) said to make this goaway i just have to pay the 215 $ i told the noway and lol

  • Wa
      2nd of Sep, 2009
    0 Votes

    about 6 months ago this company started calling us looking for an Elizabeth Lewis. We dont' know who that person is, no relations to that person. after a few weeks of them calling and having the automated message left on the phone, we called and raised hell to get our number "taken off" they assured us it was a mistake. now 6 months later they are calling again, this time, the first time they called I called them back and went off on the first person. Then they started going through a list of names. I asked for a manager, got some other jockey and let him have it for about 10 mins after he said it was a different account but same person, when asked why the first person would just go through a list of names then if it was just one person he stumbled with all of that. gave him a good dose of just going off to waste the time he wasted me and did it with a smile.

  • Le
      2nd of Oct, 2009
    0 Votes

    I just got one in the mail from ALW Sourcing, LLC. The letters says their office is in Maryland, but yet this letter originated from Trenton, NJ. I know I owe people out there money for medical bills, but not at the amount they sent me on the letter. The letter also says I can pay it all off for only %40 of the bill and if they dont hear back from me in 30 days, they will ASSUME the debt is vaild o_O

  • Be
      19th of Oct, 2009
    0 Votes

    Just thought I'd post my recent experience (and past) with this scam.

    Here's what happened...

    I had a cell phone that I switched plans with.

    A debt collector called my father 7 years later, trying to find me. My father called me on my cell (different company etc) to give me their number, and tell me I better get it cleared up...

    I was on vacation with my girlfriend (now wife) at the time, and called the number he gave me, and they said the cell company sent me to collections, which is where they came into play...

    I told them I closed out that account YEARS ago, and they offered up the possibility that I had a left-over balance that was pro-rated from account activity that occurred AFTER I paid my final bill... I called the old cell-company, and they said they wouldn't have any account info regarding me if they had sent it to collections, and it was out of their hands now, and I needed to deal with the collection agency. I was young/dumb and believed that I truly owed money which now was in collections, and with the late-fees, etc. that was tacked on, I ended up sending this collection agency $200+ to get this issue resolved.

    Well... today, 6 years after that last collection fiasco, I got a letter from a collection agency saying I owed $75 for the same cell-phone account from 12 or 13 years ago. I called the number and told the guy I paid a collection agency 6 years ago regarding this account, and he put it in as a "dispute" and after I mentioned getting a lawyer to look into it because I had no record of it on credit reports pulled for a recent mortgage etc... and he backed down pretty quickly and said he'd file it as a dispute.

    I googled the name of the collection agency (ALW Sourcing LLC) and google exploded with sites about fraud etc.

    I pulled a new credit report, and my account history makes no mention of any accounts in default etc... and my credit is perfect.

    The letter was sent Pre-sorted first-class (not certified etc) and it had a return envelope to send them a check

    It appears this is a popular scam now, because I spoke with a neighbor who does investment banking to ask him if he knew anything about it, and he was contacted about a Credit-Card that they said he owed on from 5 years before he was born

    The scam is based on the fact that they buy up old account information, and then make you believe that you failed to close out/pay some account.

    I guess with the credit troubles of so many people, it's easy to be duped into believing they are legitimate, or in my case from 12+ years ago, they scared me into sending them money because I wanted to protect my good credit and not ignore the threats of what I thought was a legitimate dept collection agency.


    To go further with this, does anyone know of an appropriate agency I can relay my experience with, in order to put some heat on these guys? I do not know for sure if this "Collector" was the same one I sent $200 to 6 or 7 years ago, but I can at least make a claim that they are currently soliciting me for a fraudulent debt. The person I spoke with offered up my last 4 digits of my SS# over the phone, and verified my name etc.. from the "Claim #" that was on the letter I received. I'm sure it's not difficult to obtain the last 4 digits of a SS# from a past credit report etc... and I did not give him any personal information... he wanted me to verify my entire SS# and I refused.

    The letter says I need to inform them in writing within 30 days, or they assume the debt as valid... since it wasn't sent certified etc. I will disregard this, and offer them no more communications directly.

    I am in OHIO, and yes, the letter states "Trenton NJ" as it's origin. Can someone tell me who/where I can contact to make a complaint?

  • Wa
      12th of Feb, 2010
    0 Votes

    Monica from ALW Sourcing 866-588-7138 Ext. 5926 is a scam... Tell her to stop calling and let her know you are reporting her to the police

  • Bl
      8th of Jan, 2011
    0 Votes
    ALW Sourcing, LLC - bogus debt collection
    ALW Sourcing, LLC form NJ
    United States

    I just received a notice, telling me I could settle for $375.19. Needless to say, I had no idea where this came from. I called the agency and got a voice mail that sounded legit. Upon calling the number of the ALW Sourcing from ALW Sourcing's official site I learned it was bogus.

    Do not send money to these people. Phew! Glad we didn't fall for this.

  • Th
      20th of Mar, 2012
    0 Votes

    ALW called me... Marlene (888) 379-4884 eXT. 5911 Ref SG9846
    Said I owed a $1000 and will settle for $400. Remind you that this is a dept from 2002 (as they say) and when checking my credit report... I have NO current dept or collections on file. Plus, my credit is 820. Freakin scam

Post your comment