CitiMortgagescam and fraud!

D
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

In 7/06 I originated a course of construction loan through a local bank. During the closing of the coc loan we had to determine an amount of the loan based on costs. We did the loan for the full amount which was not quite the 80% LTV that we needed. Our originator said we could stop the draws once we reached the 80% LTV... which we did. We closed the loan with no PMI insurance. The loan was then sold to Citimortgage and our first payment was 10/1/07. We received a letter stating they were affiliated with their mortgage insurance company and if we had a problem to write them a letter. I immediately wrote them a letter and they sent me a letter stating I was at 79.5% ltv and needed to be at 80% or less (which 79.5% is less) and that if we wanted to remove it we would have to pay for another appraisal. I called, talking to several Customer service people who did not know what PMI was and finally talked to a manager who said that she was sorry, since our LTV was 79.5% we had to pay mortgage insurance as it needed to be at 80%... (which made no sense at all and she didn't get it after I explained).

I did not respond to their letter okaying them to get an appraisal so they sent me another letter in December stating I now needed to have an LTV of 65% or less and that my current LTV is 79.6%... so in order to drop PMI I must pay for an appraisal. This is both illegal and a customer nightmare. Not sure what do at this point except to talk to my originator.

This is my complaint and I have all the documentation to provide if needed.

Responses

  • An
    Anonymous 62662 Aug 14, 2017

    (CitiMortgage)This company is a mess. I applied for a refinance of an existing mortgage. I had weekly requests for the exact same documents. I submitted the documents multiple times at least 3 and had up to seven requests for the same ones. The incompetence was astounding. In addition they went past the 60 day lock in rate even though I had provided everything they requested as it was requested within a day or two (usually the same day). It is now on day 70 because of their incompetence and non responsiveness. I could have made a change and they may have provided the loan but I would have to reapply at this point. If they had actually treated me like I mattered, I would have had this loan. (Seriously????). I have done business with them since the early 2000's and honestly am so frustrated and angry I want to walk away from them today. Do not do business with these guys. They are incompetent at best.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    justiceplease Jun 01, 2011

    I keep getting a random fee for $84 that pops up every 6 months or so. I never pay it and eventually they send me something saying their mistake. 6 months later like clockwork here it is again. I called and asked citi what it was(again) this time they told me it was for an appraisal from 2010. I asked them "why would I want or need an appraisal?" No answer from the cucustomer service agent. So just a random charge what the heck? If I pay it win, if I don't no big deal??. Excellent Citimortgage keep up the criminal activity.

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    Sandra in Michigan Mar 18, 2011

    I've been getting multiple daily calls on my cell from [protected]. It is a recording that announces "you've been preapproved for a loan modification." After about thirty of these calls, I called the number and the guy who answered said it was called "Home Affordable Program." When I asked how he got my number, he said "you are very rude" and hung up! Seriously. This company is not only a scam BUT Citimortgage sold my number to them. When I called the [protected] number, I was told that they got my number (which is a cell phone) from Citimortgage. Citimortgage said that it gives customer information to its "affiliates" and that they would remove me from the list but it would take 30 days. There needs to be some investigation about this -- it is shocking to believe that Citimortgage "gave" my info to this scam company. I'm sure the truth is that they sold my information to them. And they don't give a crap what kind of company they sell their customer information to.

    1 Votes
  • Cc
    ccbutler Feb 06, 2011

    This company is a complete mess- I agree with every complaint on here as my husband, myself and children are going through the same thing! We had always paid our mortgage with Citi on time(10 years) until my husband lost his job. We became a month and then two months behind (the two months) we were told by Citi we could not qualify for remodification unless we were. We have given them all the proper paperwork- mailing and faxed time after time. They constantly said the info was lost and that we would have to resend- then told the process would take up to 8 months for underwriters. My husband has called these people (different person everytime), told something different everytime and callled to check on remodification and told out of the blue that we were being foreclosed on!!! This has been a nightmare and we are no where near over. I had a bad feeling when they kept giving us the run around, losing paperwork, no follow-up with us unless we called them. Then they say they have two weeks to work out repayment plan with us. We are willing to pay the full amount that we owe (borrowing from family) to get caught up- they do not want to accept payment or workout payment option!!! At this point getting an attorney is inevitable. We certainly feel that our hands are tied and we were foreclosed on during the remodification after three months of being behind. If anyone reads this and has any suggestions please e-mail me at [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • La
    LARRYJ2407 Mar 31, 2010

    CITI HAS GIVE MYWIFE AND I THE RUN AROUND FOR ABOUT A YEAR ON OUR LOAN.WE HAD BEEN PAYING THE AMOUNT ON OUR BILL AND THEY WERE CHARGING US LATE CHARGES .THIS WAS FOUND OUT AFTER I HAD GOT A LOAN WITH SOMEONE ELSE AND WHEN TIME TO SIGN AND PROCESS NEW LOAN IT DIDNT GO .THEN WE FOUND THIS OUT, WE HAVE BEEN HUNG UP ON TOLD THREE DIFFERT PAYMENT AND ON OUR LOAN THE PERSON THAT HANDLED IT DIDNT EVEN KNOW WHAT WAS GOING ON.WE USED NACA IN DEC.AND SINCE THEY FOUND THAT OUT WE HAVE BE TREATED WORSE. WE ARE NOW HIRING OUT SIDE HELP BEFORE WE LOSE OUR HOME.ITS SAD WHEN A BANK LIKE CITI CANT KEEP UP WITH PAPER WORK AND DONT TRY TO HELP PEOPLE THAT ARE TRYING TO DO WHAT IS RIGHT.BUT THINGS HAPPEN IN PEOPLE LIFES THAT ARE OUT OF THERE CONTROL.BUT YOU HAVE TO TAKE CARE OF FAMILY.I PRAY THAT EVERYONE THAT IS OUR SHOES AND OTHERS GET THERE LOANS TO WHERE YOU CAN LIVE A NOMAL LIFE!

    1 Votes
  • Al
    Alicia Nathan Aug 14, 2009

    Citi Mortgage...where do I begin? My grandma's son took out a fraudulent mortgage on my Grandma's home that was already paid off years ago. We have filed criminal charges and told the fraud dept at Citi and their response was "too bad, she has to pay the mortgage anyways" Can someone please tell me how this makes any sense at all??? My Grandma is about to lose her home that my Grandfather built for her 50 years ago because her terrible son took out a mortgage on her home and used the money for himself and Citi doesn't want to do anything about it! If there is anyone in the Chicago area that can possibly help my Grandma please email me. My email is [email protected] What in God's name is a Fraud Dept for if they refuse to help one of their own customers who has a terrible fraud committed against them!

    1 Votes
  • No
    notociti Apr 21, 2009

    Since CitiMortgage is a national bank contact

    Comptroller of the Currency (OCC)
    Compliance Management
    250 E. Street, SW
    Mail Stop 309
    Washington, DC 20219
    Toll free: [protected]

    1 Votes
  • Be
    bertha Dec 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Office of Thrift Supervision [protected] fax [protected] cunsumer.complaint2ots.treas.gov
    Send them the info on ho93 citimortgage is in violation fo RESPA, the website is currently flooded with complaints. i'm not sure how much of a private investor Paulson is $45 billion in one month and they are stil breaking laws and gauging consumers

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.