The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Ceridian / Cobra ServicesHorrific Customer Service

Ceridian is the most inept company I've ever dealt with.

My husband lost his job on 9/4/09. Because I am on life sustaining medication (Type 1 diabetic) we completed our COBRA paperwork at the first available opportunity. We paid electronically (to speed things up) on 9/21/09 and the funds were taken out of our bank account on 9/24/09. Yet, when checking on Ceridian's site to see if our money was received and our coverage was in effect, there was no indication that any payment had been received. Numerous phone calls later, an "urgent update ticket" was opened on October 1st. Unfortunately, because of the way the Ceridian agent opened the ticket, on 10/5/2009 our payment FINALLY posted, but although we had paid through 11/5/2009, our account reflected that we only had paid for coverage through 10/4/2009. So, effective 10/5/2009, our account showed we were paid through... 10/4/2009.

THEN, came the matter of Ceridian communicating with UHC that payment had been received. Again, during the 10/1/2009 "emergency/Urgent update" ticket call, I was assured UHC would have everything they needed to show we had coverage with 24 to 48 business hours. During yet another follow-up call AFTER the 48 business hour mark passed, in which a really nice Ceridian supervisor (Patty) got involved, I had both Ceridian AND UHC on the phone together so they could share needed information so that our coverage could resume. (UHC even got us to a special department who could handle this) but, unfortunately, Patty wasn't able to access all of the information UHC needed to process the urgent request. (Only Ceridian's Eligibility Department has that data...) She said she'd research it, get the info, and get back to me in 2 hours.

After no word, four hours later, I placed yet another follow-up call. Account Supervisor Melanie was the rudest thing I've ever dealt with. She talked to me like I was an idiot and said things like, "Well, it's late in the day, YOU SHOULD HAVE CALLED EARLIER IN THE DAY..." (What?!) I explained that this was a follow-up to a conversation that took place 4 hours ago which was a follow up to the EMERGENCY UPDATE TICKET that was opened -- again, because I am on life sustaining mediation -- on 10/1/2009. She was SO put out when she said, "It typically takes us 2 - 4 weeks to process information, but it takes 24-48 BUSINESS hours to process emergency request." When I pointed out that it had been well over 48 business hours since the 10/1/2009 emergency ticket was opened, she repeated that I had just talked to supervisor Patty "a couple of hours (it was over 4 hours) ago". I repeated the dates. So, dear Melanie, in the most condescending, you're-an-idiot tone imaginable, speaking slowly as though I was mentally impaired, loudly and firmly said, "Ma'am, we have a process. We have to wait for UHC to get us information." I explained that, during the three-way calls I'd had with Ceridian and UHC just four hours previous, that it was determined that CERIDIAN needed to get UHC information. She completely changed her story and then said it was all my husband's employers fault. She rattled off crap that she pulled out of no where that did not match ANYTHING I had been told by either company. She also said, "We JUST got your payment on 9/28", although I was sitting there looking at the screen which showed they got it on 9/21 and cashed it on 9/24, which was information that CERIDIAN employees had already confirmed... she just MADE stuff up, again, all the while talking to me like I was the biggest ### that ever lived.

SO... yesterday they finally corrected things to show I was paid through 11/4/2009 but, guess what, they STILL have not sent the information that UHC needs to UHC. I called Ceridian YET AGAIN this morning only to have an agent answer the phone and in their best "try to make this sound like a recording" voice, announced that their system was down and to please call back later. After the agent read the spiel, I asked if he could transfer me to Supervisor Patty. "I can't. With our system down, I don't know who Patty is. Please can you call back in an hour?"

Horrific, horrific, horrific. Neither my husband NOR I have EVER been unemployed for a day, and to our astonishment, we are BOTH unemployed at this time. It is over a month since he lost his job, and although we are (finally) showing paid through 11/4/2009, we cannot use any of our medical or prescription benefits. It's too bad, after talking to a couple of wonderful, COURTEOUS Ceridian reps (John, Patty) that a SUPERVISOR (who HAS to know just how much the company fails due to the sheer number of complaints she must get) would be so ridiculously inept.

To all of you corporate employers out there who are looking for a third party vendor out there to handle your employees benefits, look somewhere else, because Ceridian sucks.

Signed,

An ex VP of International Operations

Responses

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.