The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Books-A-Millionmagazines

C Review updated:

Bought books at Booksamillion. Then clerk told me I could get three magazine subscriptions free for two months. Presumably this was a reward due to the amount of my purchase. I gave her three magazines from her list. She then handed me the credit card slip to sign. And then another slip to sign for my free magazines. She told me to just sign. I read it. What it was was an authorization to, after the two free months of each magazine, to release my credit card number to Magazine Rewards Center, which would then bill me for continued subscriptions. I was to sign to give them permission to release my credit card number for this. Of course, I refused to sign. They said it was no use, the credit number had already been sent to Magazine Rewards Center. If they had already done this, without getting my signature, why get me to sign? They said I would have to call Magazine Rewards Center to get the charges cancelled, as they had already gone through.

Responses

  • Ih
    ihatebam Jul 22, 2019

    I went into the free subscription offer with eyes wide open. I followed all the instructions to cancel. I can even call the number to cancel them right now, and it will give me a confirmation that all subscriptions were canceled last summer. Yet, I still get the subscriptions, and I'm still being charged. DO NOT fall for the scam!!

    1 Votes
  • Sd
    Sdturnbull Jan 22, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This magazine scam happened to me also. Unfortunately went a year without noticing charges on my card!! I hate them!!!

    1 Votes
  • Am
    Amanda Buck Howell Feb 24, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Upset!!

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    jamiecoche Feb 19, 2017

    I am annoyed. This guy talked super fast asking me if I want to donate blah blah blah so I said "yes" because I'm a people pleaser and stupid. It turned out to be a a 15 dollar bag of coffee FOR THE TROOPS. I spent an additional 15 dollars FOR 1 BAG OF COFFEE FOR THE TROOPS who presumably already have coffee. ANYWAY to reward my generosity this fine establishment rewarded me with 3 free months of magazines! Lucky me! Except now I'm being charged for a year subscription. Really? After I so generously provided coffee to our troops? The one thing that they need the most, so shameful. They suck and should prepare themselves for the sass coming their way.

    1 Votes
  • Am
    Amanda Buck Howell Feb 24, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @jamiecoche I just found out today I also was scammed with their little magazine trick they do!!! Never did I agree to share my bank account information with any 3rd party magazine company!! Never will they get my business again!!

    1 Votes
  • Ar
    ARodriguez Jul 29, 2014

    While reviewing my credit card statement, I just realized I was being charged for 3 magazine subscriptions that had gone through Books A Million. I spent over two hours on the phone with my credit card fighting the charges and then canceling the subscription that I never authorized or was aware of. I was promised I will get my money back but I do not care too much about that. What bothers me is the business practices at Books a Million. The solution for me is simple! I will never buy anything from them ever again.

    3 Votes
  • Wi
    Wild Child Dec 07, 2012

    Oh, yes, I also found out the hard way about this scam. And I do consider it a scam because when I checked out using my debit card and was given the offer of the free magazines I accepted and was not told at any time that in two months the magazine company would be charging my debit card for the magazines. I just figured that I would eventually get something in the mail asking if I wanted to actually subscribe to the magazines after two months. Alas, I was too naive! I went to bed one night with close to 90 dollars on my debit card(I am very vigilant about keeping up with the balance). Next day I went to make a six dollar purchase and was declined, and when I called I had less than two dollars on the card. This was at a difficult time of the month a day or so before my disability payment came on the card, and there I was with myself and my teen-aged son with no money for food or anything if he had not earned thirty dollars that weekend doing odd jobs. After a mind-boggling afternoon of calling the debit card company and ascertaining what had happened I then had to call the magazine company and cancel, but since the money would not go back on the card for a couple of days I was sitting there broke and desperate. They had taken 95 dollars off without my knowledge. I also called Books a Million in Albany, Georgia, to complain, and to the manager's credit she was very polite and apologetic! But now I am skittish about such offers and have learned my lesson the hard way.

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    KayJ Aug 07, 2011

    I totally agree. I shopped at Books A Million, who by the way have PERMANENTLY lost a customer. Anyway when i checked out they lady says for your purchase today you will get 2 free subscriptions to a magazine. Thank God I read my reciept and guess what it said.. Books a million gave my bank account info to this company and I will be billed for a 12 month subscription. Shame on book a million. Tried to call to cancel and can't w/o a subscription # plus they already did hits to my bank acct to check it. I had my bank to a stop pay but i'm not sure what company name they will try to use to make the debit so I just got a new bank card which should stop the drafts all together.

    1 Votes
  • Ta
    Tamara Jan 30, 2009

    I order at least one time a year from their website (almost always some Christmas gifts)and have been doing this for years and have always been happy with their service. Never had a problem with any order.

    My last order was ordered Dec 10th and shipped on the 12th. I think good response for the time of the year and the fact that there is free shipping.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.