The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
BenepathFraud and scam

Review updated:

This vendor supplies health internet leads for insurance agents and brokers. Their website makes contradictory claims that there is no commitment to use their service and that one may cancel at any time. They also promise closing rates of 30% and claim that shoppers do not visit competitor's websites. I have not closed anywhere near 30% of their leads, although I did when I used a vendor that does not supply live health leads any longer (vimo.com).

In addition, I was stuck into a 4-week agreement, but they then changed it to 6 weeks without any notification or terminology in the agreement. You do not have any control over your lead volume or leads territories. You have to rely on the company to do that and must notify them 7 days in advance of any changes or stopping of leads no matter what. Seven days cost me over a thousand dollars worth of leads that I could never get to answer their phones, no matter what time of the day or night I called them. If you want to purchase internet leads, I would recommend leadco.biz and stay away from Benepath by any and all means.

More Benepath Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Ja
    Jake123456 Dec 06, 2016

    Horrible lead company; horrible service; horrible quality of lead; 70% of my leads had to be returned; big waste of time. 12/06/2016 Chicagoland agent

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jake123456 Dec 29, 2016

    @Jake123456 [protected]; Still more bogus leads coming into my inbox. They are sending old leads and claiming they are fresh.

    3 Votes
  • Na
    Nancy Nutcella Dec 16, 2015

    I have been using Benepath for a long time. They are amazing. I find Clelland Green to be very honest and kind. I think I am going to stay with Benepath for a long time.

    2 Votes
  • In
    Insurancepro Nov 22, 2013

    I have used Benepath for exclusive group health leads 5+ for at least two yeas. I do NOT close 30%, but mostly due to employers who are under the time gun or in crisis mode. 30% are just "shoppers" and want to find that pie in the sky rate / plan.

    I find them to be good, although I wish they returned more leads, especially for those "shoppers", however I find them to be fair. I pay more for my leads, however that is due to my own parameters. I am better than break even as far as net margin.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Benepath sucks Mar 14, 2013

    Benepath is garbage. The leads are not exclusive as advertised and they do not return bad leads. I have not had 1 person confirm that they have requested an exclusive quote from my web page or has requested to be contacted. Big scam

    1 Votes
  • Kd
    kdr406 Oct 19, 2012

    I can say as a broker who markets 99% of my new business from the internet, I have used several leads vendors over the past five years. What I have found is that there are two types of web leads:

    1. buyers. (above age 35, in between jobs, 50’s laid off and need temp health plans or mini med plans, Senior Markets sopping for Medicare)
    2. liars (age 18 to 34, to much time on smart phone wishing they had insurance and wondering if they can afford it)

    Buyer beware: understand your target market and through experience ask your lead vendor to put specific filters for the type of client you're looking for. Keep in mind that the lead vendor’s job is to produce as many leads as possible that meet your profile.

    I've talked with several SEO web developers who admit honestly that it cost more money per month to drive traffic to your specific website to get a lead that it is for you to buy good quality leads from a lead vendor if your monthly advertising budget is under $500 month.

    I am one of those agents who can say I'm in the 30% closing ratio for my target market of senior leads.
    Industry average about 10% of the individual market if you don't have specific filters.

    More filters means more cost and less volume equals higher quality closing ratio.

    I found Benepath to be honest to work with. They don't claim to be the lowest the provider. Nor do I see them selling me a lot of bogus leads generated by other lead vendors who resell their unsold leads to other lead vendors.

    Benepath takes pride in providing leads that they have gathered themselves.

    1 Votes
  • Wi
    Willardsellsinsurance Mar 12, 2012

    The leads are expensive but they are great leads. 30% is easy with these leads (I do at least 40%)

    They did make clear to me that I need provide notice before stopping the leads for any length of time.

    -1 Votes
  • Po
    pooragent Apr 05, 2009

    I have used Benepath for almost 2 years. I recently canceled my relationship with them. I found Clelland Green to be very honest and willing to work with me on shutting down leads when needed. He is more accomidating then what is in the contract for sure. That being said it does not help you quickly.

    As for as closing ratios??? I have been at this 15 years with a number of lead companies. 30% is stretching it for sure. I seriously doubt any one is closing that ratio, with the number of shoppers and non serious leads that are supplied. My biggest complaint is you have no control over the number of leads yo get daily. I have had 20 leads dumped on me with no reason behind it. Other days no leads at all. Also he is constantly looking to increase your costs.

    I would suggest you do not get involved unless you have deep pockets.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    Clelland Green Mar 05, 2009

    I'm not sure who this person is, but I will address his/her complaints one at a time:

    1) The offer our site makes this language is on our FAQ page "When can I cancel?
    A. You can at any time after the first four weeks by simply providing us with two weeks notice."
    - we have never changed any contract language without providing agents with proper notice - and we have only changed our contract one time to current agents - and it was not an increase in the cancellation notice.
    2) We have agents who are closing over 30% of their leads. Close rates vary based on many factors, but the one factor that is most important is an agent's selling skills. If you are good, you will make your sales. If you follow-up with leads after the 1st week you will make your sales.
    3) While we don't control where people go after they goto Benepath.com, in our own tests we found that less than 10% of our leads went to another site for health insurance quotes. We have never had a customer dispute this statistic.
    4) Pause notices - I verbally tell every customer that we need advance notice to pause (we build custom campaigns and need time to turn them off), its in our welcome email, and it is in our agreement. This was no surprise to whoever wrote this complaint. In emergency situation, we have always done what we could to get things off sooner - if it is at all possible.

    Clelland Green
    President - http://www.benepath.com

    1 Votes
  • Br
    Brandi Kane Mar 27, 2019

    @Clelland Green I spoke to a rep, Melissa Elington and she was great and explained all of this to me. She told me about the 4 week commitment, which is smart business sense given it takes a week or 2 or 3 to get a return sometimes. She also explained the 7 day cancellation so I plugged the date into my calendar so I don't forget. I love the fact Benepath uses a photo of you!!! No other lead vendor has ever done this, to my knowledge! The intro to the agent is killer! I love my experience so far! And Melissa was definitely very sweet and efficient!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.