Be Wiser InsuranceCancellation

C
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I completed an online Insurance quote for my van with Go Compare, and Be Wiser was the cheapest insurer at £1250, I CLEARLY stated in my online information that i had ZERO No Claims Bonus in conjunction with the quote i was requesting. I promptly paid £281 pounds deposit via my credit card and was placed on cover, all was well until one week later i received a phone call which was stating Be Wiser needed to confirm my details. They asked me to provide proof of NCB on any recent policies i had held, i told the girl that i had clearly stated i had NO NO CLAIMS BONUS and had said so on the information i provided on the online quote, she then said to me that i had stated that i had had no accidents or claims in the last 5 years, which means to them they ASSUME therefore i can provide proof of some form of NCB whether i wish to use it on this policy or not, so based on that assumption they quoted me £1250 for my policy. When i said to this girl that i had no NCB of my own because i had been driving under the insurance of my previous employers Traders policy for the past 7 years and did not have an insurance policy of my own, she said to me that even though she could see on my details that i had put zero NCB they were going to increase my policy payment by a further £1100 pounds for having no NCB! In summary, Be Wiser took my deposit knowing i had declared zero NCB, then left it a week before coming on the phone demanding another grand because i have no NCB!, needless to say i refused and am now waiting for a refund of £248 of the original £281 pounds deposit i paid them just last week. In the meantime i have had to shell out another £300 pounds deposit to a more reputable firm today to remain insured, and it remains to be seen how quickly Be Wiser refund my money. It appears these lower end insurance companies will do all they can to get peoples deposits, then find an excuse to load the policies a few days later in the hope that some people will think its to much hassle to cancel and find someone more reputable, and just pay more, AVOID!

Responses

  • In
    i nemeth Nov 23, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    they did the same to me, i think this is how they make they money.the most disgusting company i ever came across in my life!!!

    1 Votes
  • An
    Angry Gail Oct 23, 2012

    I totally agree... a rip off company. We paid £1070 by debit card to insure our car. They then rang to say it would be another £680 as I hadnt told them of a bump I had 4 years ago ( thought I had done... only bump in 30 years, no other vehicle involved and no compensation etc...I only hit a post in the dark in the carpark at work!) thought this was excessive so asked how much we would get back if cancelled policy... We would lose £700!!! We asked for them to send us a breakdown of this and at this time they also asked us to send a copy of our NCB. So we paid the £680 to remain insured and posted off the NCB by recorded delivery. Heard nothing until a letter arrived 2 days ago saying they had cancelled our policy!!! No explanation of why. Tried to speak to a manager... waste of time... she just said we said we had only 4 years NCB and had said 5 on the online application... Dont think we did but if this is correct they should have spoken to us as no way would we leave a £35, 000 car uninsured. Apparently after paying £1700 it is exactly that... Not insured and they wont give us any money back until we send back the policy. How can companies like this keep trading? Can anyone reading this tell me what we can do? Who can we complain to? Thanks

    1 Votes
  • An
    anotherpuntercheated Jan 10, 2013

    The same thing happened to me. I was quoted one figure then a week later an additional premium was charged based on a spurious reason. They would have charged me £160 for 20 days cover to cancel the policy - an annual premium of £1956. These people are not reputable. Goodness knows how they handle their claims. Don't touch them ... find a reputable insurance company even if it costs more.

    1 Votes
  • Da
    darren jseph Feb 26, 2013

    hi iv recently paid on my visa debi card for car insurance of323 pounds then i checked on line bankig to learn that they had taken 2 payments out so iv rang them them up 9 times in the last 5 days and they keep saying their checking it even tho iv sent them my ban statement with the transaction on it the be wiser people are saying hats theirs only one reading on their system but are doing a screenline test it does my head in to think that they will probably get away with this iv ended up paying 646 lol and the advisors on the other treat me like a villan if o r when they find out the truth then i wont acompensatin as its left me short as i had directdebits going now iv got bank charges thx for reading daz

    1 Votes
  • Li
    livs92 Apr 02, 2013

    I got insurance policy put with these filled out everything out on go compare, paid £258 first payment at the beginning of march, then £118 the following month. I recently checked my emails and noticed they had sent me my policy through email which usually company post it. As i scanning through it i noticed they had put i was born in 1982 when i was born 1992 which i dont understand how they got it wrong as i filled it out on go compare and also had told them numerous of times as they kept ringing me to confirm things. I rang the company after been cut off twice and told them of THEIR mistake and now they wanting a extra £1000 on top of the insurance so i asked if i could cancel it as i was not willing to pay that as it wss there mistake and they said i would have to pay a cancellation fee! This company are scammers would definatley not recommend and now im still waiting for the manager to get back in touch!

    1 Votes
  • Le
    Leon Yenoh Jan 20, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Bewiser...it should be Beware-ier...I got insurance with them in August 2011, I had full 20years NCB when I got my policy with them, I had a minor prang in July 2012, my one and only in 35 years of driving, but my next renewal policy went sky high, when I questioned it with them they said it was because I had claimed..when I said I wanted to move to another insurer they said they had moved my NCB to zero even though I had NCB protection with them and I would be treated like a new driver again..Please avoid Bewiser...they are bad news..

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    karen taylor2 Feb 20, 2014

    Just had the dubious privilege of taking out insurance with them paying a deposit only to find that all the details on first policy was ok but on the other cars insured they had entered incorrect info for the same people on first policy rang them and they said even though they acknowledged it was their error I had to pay more said no I want to cancellation and they tried to charge me for it I am horrified at the way they do business even though they say calls are recorded will not give access to prove inaccuracies are their fault I am now awaiting refund but not holding my breath as they are a dodgy and criminal company at best
    Be wiser and stay away from them

    1 Votes
  • Ti
    Tina reid Aug 05, 2014

    Do not use this company they deliberately give you a low quote to get your money and then find any reason they can think of to charge you more

    1 Votes
  • Ne
    newpane Aug 09, 2014

    Be Wiser custmer service is poor and unhelpful. Don't even try to get insurance from them. Stay Away!!!

    2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.