Barnette's Remanufactured EnginesEngine rebuild ripoff

1

Engine had a bad valve on the driver side when it arrived from them. Then the head gasket on the left side failed after 100 miles. Their workmanship is poor and they don't honor their work, word, or the warranty. They don't want to talk after the sale. I do not recommend them.

Responses

  • Cu
    Customer Service Mngr Dec 16, 2010

    We at Barnette's Engines were very suprised to stumble apon this review on the web. Mr. Barnette wanted us to reply to these complaints as soon as possible, so as to let our customers, and potential customers know that we here at Barnette are committed to providing the very best customer service possible. We are very sorry that George M, whom we cannot identify after searching our data base, had this problem, and cannot believe that he can honestly say that we do not want to talk after the sale. We work with customers daily before, after, and during the sale and installation of their engines. We will be sending a personal reply to George M, to contact us as well, so we can further discuss, and perhaps solve whatever issues he may have .

    -1 Votes
  • Du
    Duane W Dec 26, 2010

    Know how you feel George M:
    I bought a motor from Barnette's after Danny himself called me on my cell phone and personally guaranteed the motor. Received and installed the motor by a certified mechanic. After intial start up proceedures were finished, the test ran the vehical and less than 5 miles the lower end of the engine went out. Called Barnette's, they said to send the motor back with eveything intact. Of course they said it wasn't their fault and its the mechanics fault and is not warrentable, "WHAT"!!!. And when we got to talk to someone without being hung up on, they said they WOULD NOT RETURN my oilpan, valve covers and valve, seals, all the bracketry for the pump, alt, ps, ac, etc. (over $500.00). So lets recap, Barnettes's have my 1) $2, 200.00 2) my core motor 3) the rebuilt motor (junk) 4) and over $500.00 in parts. And I have over $5, 000 bill from my mechanic.
    This is about 5% of the story, I didn't mention what several mechanics found. Duane W

    3 Votes
  • Ce
    Cedric41 Jan 12, 2011

    well i am lucky to say that i have done business with Barnettes Remanufactured Engines they do stand behind there work and if there is an issue with your engine give them a chance i do understand now that sometimes the engines have upgrades due to the manufacturer finding defects in there own product Barnettes remanufactured engines then takes it upon themselves to include the necessary upgrades though perfection in progress as always i give them an A+. i had issues with my first engine and given the chance they will corect the problem thats business and they understand that. As for Danny when my car went down he came four states down to get me and my car no complaints or problems replaced enginecorrected the manufacturer defects so Far so good Thank You Danny and Tim for being patient and professional and gettingmy dodge charger back on the road. If you have a bad dodge engine they can fix it and build it better thank you

    3 Votes
  • Ba
    badmotor Feb 20, 2011

    Beware of Barnette engines. Warranty seems to always be blame installer, then claim no fault, so customer pays more money. They do not stand behind their products or have any kind of certified technical staff on hand. They are either in way over their heads with all the new OHC motors they are trying to build or just rip off artists. Maybe both? There are a lot of better places to get your engine from.

    3 Votes
  • Rd
    R. Dunn Feb 24, 2011

    I bought an engine from Barnette's in Virginia and could not be happier. They built my engine to order, and shipped it to me within the explained time frame. My core was not any good, so I had to pay the core fee, but they allowed 30 days before charging me the core fee. My car is running great. My mechanic could not believe the quality of the product I recieved for the amount of money I paid. Trhis is an awesome company to do business with!!!

    4 Votes
  • Ca
    CarDudez Jun 28, 2011

    A great company to do business with. I have put a lot of engines in cars, Barnettes builds a great product. I will be a repeat buyer for sure.

    -1 Votes
  • Te
    ted nelson Jul 15, 2011

    that is true they are lyer and theieves, had a new motor shipped two weeks late/put motor in and started it up/no oil pressure/called them they said they would pay for shipping and for the mech/2 weeks later they called looking for credit card/said this is all my problem/so i gave credit card to get back/i called them they said they would give money back/they did not/they said dont trying stopping credit payment they would come and take my truck if i did/the owner is a real ### and so is joyce/do not buy motors from them/there work sucks/and they all lye

    1 Votes
  • Nh
    nhrachamp Jul 28, 2011

    Barnettes engines sent me an engine that was so bad I couldn't believe it. I did not want another engine from them and took a lose. Valve guides loose, valve seats out of round, valve springs too weak that even shimming wouldn't help. Rods knocked, a tear down showed a pitted crankshaft that was polished, when it should have been ground. I wrote them to check on quality control and that I would re do the engine myself. All I asked for was a labor payment. I sent pictures and letters from my rebuilder(He was so busy he couldn't do my engine, I am so sorry I didn't wait), I got a very poor "give a damn attitude". I would not buy from them and for anyone who did get an engine that runs all I can say is keep on praying...

    3 Votes
  • Tr
    TRUE TALK WALT Aug 03, 2011

    THIS COMPANY IS A SCAM DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY THESE ARE TRUE EVENTS. THE GOOD REPLIES ARE WRITTEN BY THE SCAM ARTISTS BARNETTES they send your motor late and the workmanship is horrible!!! They dont honor their word or warranty. JIM/JOYCE/WD BARNETTE or DANNY they are all liers and theives who dont return phone calls yell and scream at you on the phone becuase they know their doing shadey business dealing which cost the consumer more money in the long run They sent my motor out without an oil pan. the cylider heads are/were bad i went to another machine shop to fix the problem cuase i want nothing more to do with this company. I repeat...THIS COMPANY WILL GIVE YOU THE RUN AROUND, TAKE YOUR MONEY, POOR WORKMANSHIP, WILL NOT HONOR WARRANTY, NO RESPECT FOR THE CONSUMER BAD, DISHONEST BARNETTES ENGINES. WILL POST PICTUERS SOON

    4 Votes
  • Nh
    nhrachamp Aug 24, 2011

    absolutely true. When craftmanship gets poor and they dont care what went wrong and have a give a damn attitude, its time for them to go out of business.

    3 Votes
  • Dd
    DDM6531 Dec 30, 2011

    I just bought an engine from Bernette's. My mechanic couldn't figure out a problem, I was stumped as well as he was. I called Bernette's, talked to Joyce on the situation. They not only acted on my problem, Danny, the owner, actually drove and picked my vehicle up and took it to their shop.{ 6 hours away }.the very next morning I received a call from Joyce to find it was error of MECH. They, { Bernette's} finished my build and delivered my vehicle to me. Jasper nor any other major engine builder would have done this. Not everyone can please everyone, but I give this Company 5 stars and they will do all of my work in the future
    and would recommend any and all to use.

    2 Votes
  • Kw
    K.wheeler Jun 25, 2012

    Ok..This has to be the biggest Rip Off company in the state of Virginia..I mean we live in the USA right. What is wrong with these people. We paid for this engine in full by the end of May...Still no Engine!!! Today is June 26th. They keep telling me the engine will be shipped on Monday or Tuesday or It will be here Friday .This has been going on for 3 weeks...This part was wrong or the block was bad or something else was wrong...Run around Over and Over and Over!!! I called again today and Bridgett told me she would call me back in 10 to 20 minutes..guess what no call ..Surprise..oh yes we went to the shop on our way back from the beach on Friday the 22nd. They said the took it to the trucking company that day...NOT!!! Beleive me THIS IS A RIP OFF COMPANY, !!! DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM THIS COMPANY!! IF MY MONEY IS NOT BACK IN MY ACCOUNT WITHIN 24 HOURS I AM CALLING THE POLICE AND FILING A REPORT!!! there is so much more I am just tired of the whole mess. A BUNCH OS LIARS ...They will not call you back But they will give you the run around and NO ENGINE, , we have been without a truck for a month and a half now...Any way DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY!!! Big RIP OFF!!!

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    Claudell Mack Aug 06, 2012

    If your looking to put a motor in your car or truck, you will do better by rebuilding it yourself rather then sending it to barnette's half fix a engine. I CLaudell Mack paid these awful folks 3850 to fix my engine. I got back a motor that used 2 quarts of oils
    Every two weeks. The kicker is when I sent it back theses fools told me
    The engine was installed bad and the motor over heated. Be mindful that the motor used oil as soon as I got it. Please never use this company for anything they all or liars and the warranty they give you is not worth the paper it is printed on. They blame everyone else other then themselves. Awful!!! This company needs to be out of service.
    I am thinking about buying a billboard in VA. telling people how awful this place is and do not give them the chance
    To rip them off like they did me.

    2 Votes
  • Bu
    bubbagump Aug 25, 2012

    All these stories sound familiar. I too purchased a motor from Barnettes - it took a month to get and after less than 4000 miles - catastrophic failure. Of course they are blaming it on the installation. They said the timing belt came off resulting in damage to the motor - how do they know that when I didn't send the timing belt? They sent me a bunch of pictures. How do I even know if its my motor they took a picture of? it seems to me they spent more time trying to figure out how to blame someone else than to actually solve the problem

    3 Votes
  • Ja
    Jay02 Aug 25, 2012

    Charging $220 automatically for the extension is a cheating. JOI phone should provide option to customers whether to extend or not. I see tons of complains all over internet about JOI phone. I expect some government agency should take consumer action against JOI phone.

    1 Votes
  • Re
    Red VQ53 Sep 10, 2012

    I recently bought a VQ35 Rev-Up engine from Barnette's engine. I have had nothing but top-of-the-line, professional treatment from Joyce. She answered all of my questions, [ At least several hundred] treated me with respect, and help calm my nerves after I read some of these horrible reviews. I cant speak for the unhappy people who took their time to post negative reviews about Barnettes. I can only give my opinion on how well I was treated. This weekend my motor will be installed and I can look forward to contacting Joyce with the good news. And I will update my experience with this company. But so far highly pleased!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    CHRIS VAN MATRE Sep 10, 2012

    YES IT IS A BAD PLACE TO BY A ENGINE HAD BAD HEAD 8000 MILES THEY USE USED HEAD BOLTS DO NOT BUY THERE ENGINE THEY HAVE A ### WARRANTY IS A SCAM THEY WILL ONLY PAY 550.00 FOR ANY THING THAT GOES OUT ON ENGINE IF YOU CAN TALK TO ANY ONE IF YOU DO THEY DO NOT KNOW ANY THING ABOUT A ENGINE THE RUN AROUND I WISH I WOULD KNOW BEFORE I SPENT MY MONEY

    0 Votes
  • Za
    Zach I Sep 24, 2012

    I have experienced the exact same thing that everyone else on here has complained about. I purhased an engine from them and put 10k on it before it blew up. They sent me a motor that had bad rings and/or bad boring of cylinders. After getting the car out of the shop I began to have issues a month later. The motor was spark knocking and eventually started to misfire. I brought the car to the shop and they went through everything that could cause the detonation (maf sensor, pcv valve, egr valve, coil packs, injectors, etc) and they could not find an issue with any. They pulled the spark plugs out and cylinder 1's plug was soaked in oil. After calling Barnettes countless times they kept telling my mechanic to do different tests on the engine after every call. All of the issues were lead to poor craftsmenship of the motor. They then said they wanted pictures of the heat tabs to make sure the motor never overheated. My mechanic used a snake camera to take a picture and sent it to them. They then said the picture wasn't clear enough and wanted me to either pay to have my engine shipped so their mechanics can look at or pay to have the whole car towed to them! This company is a scam and has no intentions of honoring a warranty or helping the customer. We did all of their tests they asked and finally gave up as it was getting no where and they weren't going to help. Save yourself the hassle and get a motor from jasper, lkq, etc.

    1 Votes
  • Ti
    TinaZ Sep 25, 2012

    I think we should get together, hire a lawyer and sue Barnettes. This company is getting away with doing this over and over again! Its time to put a stop to it and show this company ripping off innocent people has come to an end! Let me know if anyone here is interested. The more the better! We still have our engine, rusted bolts and all. I refused to send it back. I knew from my conversations with Joyce there was no way in hell Barnettes was going to warranty their product! Joyce actually suggested I send my car with the blown engine to them! Are you serious, I have NEVER heard of such a thing! This company should be put out of business and payback everyone and then some!

    -1 Votes
  • Ti
    TinaZ Sep 25, 2012

    FYI JASPERS has a ONE TIME NO FAULT WARRANTY! Word of mouth will kill a business so use yours. Tell everyone and post on blogs so that hopefully you can help one person from being scammed and keep Barnettes from making money off some other poor soul like they have done to so many others. Just used JASPERS for a tranny in my Acura. Received a defective tranny and without hesitation, testing, OR countless back and forth phone calls, JASPERS had a new tranny delivered the NEXT DAY to my mechanic! Heck Barnettes won't even call me back!
    **BUYER BEWARE DO NOT USE BARNETTES** p.s. Barnettes is not a member of the BBB...can you see why?!

    1 Votes
  • Fm
    fminuto Oct 09, 2012

    no truth to the complaints i read, i purchased an engine for my 2003 dodge durango.barnettes shipped my mechanic a quality remanufactured engine for far less money than their competition and when promised( on time.) my mechanic could not believe the quality in their workmanship.my engine was installed 6 months ago and is working better than the original engine, better milage, more power, also the staff was very courteous, THANK YOU for a quality remanufactured engine for my vehicle, if need be i would definately use your services again, i will recommend you to friends&family.yours truly FM sharon springs new york.

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    Hooligan Oct 12, 2012

    Hmm...so i ordered a motor from these guys in late august with promises of delivery within 10 to 15 business days. after over 35 business days i received my customers motor every thread was painted and super rusty and not chased the spark plug threads were cross threaded. my engine was shipped incorrectly twice. What was promised to me as far as hardware did not come with the engine. The crank was rusty the cams were complete ###. I had to reshim the valve lash. Customer service was a joke! the owner Mr. Barnette told me to basically get ###ed. I am currently disputing the engine cost in full 2095.00 with amex. NEVER HAVE I BEEN SO MISTREATED BY A COMPANY AND I WORKED FOR WALMART...

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    Ford- Nov 24, 2012

    SCAM, DONT BUY FROM THEM!!!
    they do not honor their warranty and their engines are crap.
    i could get a used engine from a junk yard with 100, 000 miles on it, and it would probably be better than Barnetts.
    bad engines, crappy service, horribly deceptive warrenties.

    2 Votes
  • 4i
    4INer Nov 30, 2012

    I strongly suspect that any positive reviews were written by one of the lying employees of Barnett's. These people have proven to me that they are nothing but rip-off artists and liars! They all should run for political office! Do not do business with these people. The only way anyone could possibly have had a "pleasant" experience with Barnett's would be out of sheer once in a lifetime luck!! I believe I will be filing suit against the lying thieves. Please respond if you're interested in a class action suit...

    0 Votes
  • 4i
    4INer Dec 03, 2012

    I could replay just about everything mentioned in the above posts. But rather than tell you about their piece of junk engine, I'll tell you how they handle warranty work. Joyce tells me to take the car to a mechanic and says that they will pay 55 bucks an hour for one hour of troubleshooting and up to 10 more hours for repair. The mechanic pulls the valve cover and finds a busted timing chain. Joyce instructs them to remove the engine and send the long block to them using Bernette's shipper. I called Joyce and she repeats what she told them, tells me there will be no surprises, that she doesn't need anything from me, and that they will have the engine rebuilt in a week. Well 5 weeks later and about 25 phone calls later (with promise after promise to call me back and let me know when my engine would be fixed and zero returned calls from them), they tell me that they will not fix my engine, that they will not ship it back to me, and that they will not pay the mechanics that removed and troubleshot the engine. So now I have a car in a shop without an engine and I'm going to have to pay the mechanics out of my own pocket for removing the engine and then pay to get my engine shipped back to me. An engine which by the way, Bernette's has disassembled. The reason the refuse to repair my engine? They say the heat tabs are melted. The mechanic that removed the engine swears that they were not melted. And why would you disassemble an engine that you were not going to repair, after all there's no need to disassemble the motor to see the heat tabs. Bottom line is this. I will be filing suit and anybody that would like to join me in a class action, please call me at 660-653-9823. If you're shopping for an engine??? Do yourself a favor and go somewhere else!!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    marnisarah Dec 19, 2012

    I purchased an engine from Barnettes in November 2011, it was sent to me (very late) January 11, 2012. My mechanic installed the "new" engine and in a matter of months and under 4000 miles, on August 27, 2012 it blew up (the engine), my mechanic diagnosed the problem as blown head gasket, I thought "this isnt right" "I have been doing everything my warranty says to do". Why, then is this happening?! I called Joyce and told her the news, my mechanic and I made sure to follow all of her directions and was preparing to send out the engine, when I was informed that I would be responsible for the cost of the shipping, until Barnettes could diagnose the issue and determine whom was at fault, I am disabled and I am on a fixed income so I couldnt just ship it, so after crying and begging, Joyce agreed to pay the shipping. I had it shipped in October to Virginia, I live in Michigan, she called to tell me there was a default in the engine head gasket that the manufacturer made (not Barnettes fault) and they would have to rebuild the entire engine again. after waiting a very long time my engine was sent to me December 10, 2012, I re'cvd it on december 13, 2012 and my mechanics were going to install it on Monday December 17, 2012. On december 17th I re'cvd a frantic call from Joyce and was told that when my mechanic was putting the "new" engine together their were many things wrong, for instance, the bolts were rusty, the cam shaft was the wrong size, the cylinder heads were put on backwards, needless to say the engine was sent back down to VA on December 18th 2012..I am still waiting and my patience has run out.. They are not members of BBB, I will never buy from them again!

    0 Votes
  • Js
    JSander Jan 22, 2013

    i can only speek for myself, but I did some research and had my mechanic review some complaints the I found for seveal companys before I made a decision.Barnettes engines had far less caomplaint then some other rebuilding companys. I went with barnettes based on my installers recommendation and I'm glad I did. My car is running great...I saved a lot of money! Barnettes engines built me a good engine and I now have proof under the hood of my little gas saving geo. Thank you Barnettes... by the way Joyce really knows her stuff and was great to work with

    -1 Votes
  • Ma
    marnisarah Feb 01, 2013

    I cannot delete the negative review so I will state this my engine is done, I am driving again and I am happy that so far it is still running like a champ, thanks Joyce for bending over backwards and for firing that asshat that ruined my engine the first time it came here to Michigan. Thanks also for paying the 605.00, unfortunately for me I had to pay an additional 729.00. I am happy so thank you Barnettes.

    -1 Votes
  • Ma
    marnisarah Mar 06, 2013

    ah my engine, my poor poor truck what am I to do, my engine is ticking, yea lifters I can hear them and I am sad to report that at some point I have to call Barnettes and I do not want to. I want to instead shoot myself in the head for dealing with them in the first place, typically when you buy something and use a credit card, you get the merchandise whatever it may be, then you use whatever it is and if it breaks then typically the customers product is replaced or fixed at no cost to the customer, not so in this case, this company is beyond unbelievable. I do not trust my truck at all and check the oil constantly, I am coming down there at the end of April to Chesapeake, VA, Barnettes will see me out there windows protesting against them, oh yes and I will be posting it on You Tube. I need a bullhorn and a microphone with an adapter so you all could hear the ticking, while I am protesting outside of there state of the art shop, state of the art my ###, so if anyone else want to join me for some awesome anarchy message me. The only mistake in life is the lesson not learned..Albert Einstein.

    1 Votes
  • Ti
    Tim Gutilla May 01, 2013

    Purchased 4.0 engine from barnettes june 2011.Apr 2013 timing chain guides are bad.Iput only 18, 000 on engine.Called about warranty and they told me they did not recieve paper that i sent them.DO NOT USE THIS RIPOFF PLACE.They do not honor their warranty.i am going to better business and try to stop these people from ripping off others.5 yr unlimited my butt.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    marnisarah Aug 15, 2013

    Barnettes sucks!

    1 Votes
  • Da
    Daygo_8 Nov 17, 2013

    I have a 1997 Ford Cobra and I ended up spinning bearings on my engine and I was trying to do research to how I should go about rebuilding my engine. So I looked on line for machine shops who could stand behind their work and warranty a good quality motor. So I ended up finding BARNETTS ENGINES earlier this year in February . Called them up and paid them no problem. They pick my engine up and rebuilt it and send it back to me. I receive motor after being rebuilt and I'm pumped about dropping the engine in my car... so the Ford Mechanic at Santa Maria Ford California starts the labor on my car to put engine back in... there's 1 problem... as the mechanics at Ford are about to drop my engine in they notice that my Cobra flywheel will not line up with the crankshaft... they either put a GT mustang crank or a Mark 8 crank... called them up and they said they were sorry but that left me another 6 weeks with no car... finally 6 weeks later I get my engine back after having to send it for a 2nd time... then I get motor back and after its dropped in my car and mechanics want to start my car... I'm not getting oil on the passenger side of my engine... they left a clogged oil stem in my motor and I went more days with no car because the mechanics couldn't figure out how a rebuilt engine was not getting oil on 1 side of my motor.. so we found problem and fixed it and replaced both oil stems in my motor and then my engine started working. . I drove my car 6 months for a total of 15000 miles in my motor with all oil changes made at 3, 000- 3, 500 miles... well my motor spun another bearing as I was driving to Los Angeles on 11.12.13 and I have no idea to where my bearing got spun because my car was working fine before I left town. But then I call barnetts engines the next day for help since I have a 5 year unlimited mile warranty and tell them im stranded 3 hours from my house and I Don't know how this happened. The warranty is all a set up to get you to give them money year after year. They want me to come out of pocket to pay a mechanic for labor to take engine from my car then pay for shipping on my motor to get from California to Virginia. So a minimum of $1, 000.00 at least. . . Then was told they have to inspect engine and they decide weather i broke it or if they didn't build it right. They only cover 550.00 dollars of labor with no assurance that it will be fixed for sure...if they think its your fault they either have you ship your motor back on your own dollar with no fix or they would re charge you to redo the motor for another 2 or 3 thousand . There's no mechanic who would take out and reinstall an engine for my 1997 cobra mustang for that low of a labor rate. Labor rate is at least 100.00 dollars an hour in California. So now I got no car again and I'm not sold that my engine will be fixed correctly after all the trouble they have already put me through. I really don't suggest anyone to these guys anymore, it's a real headache and if your motor breaks they look for every reason to say why its not them. How I get a spun bearing after 15, 000 I have no idea other than poor quality parts . I drove my car a total of 6 months and now nothing looks good for me and I'm not too sold with barnetts engines quality of work. This was one of the biggest regrets I've had and quite the learning experience. I don't even want to do anymore business with Barnetts engines and I definitely would not recommend anyone to get work done at Barnettes engines.

    My 1997 Ford Cobra is now just sitting again with a knocking noise coming from the bottom end. I AM NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM PLEASED WITH THE LIFE OF MY ENGINE AND QUALITY OF WORK I RECEIVED.

    They don't work with the B.B.B ( Better Business Bureau) ... & I can see why now

    -Diego DeMiranda 11.17.13

    1 Votes
  • Ti
    TinaZ Apr 04, 2014

    Ready to sue Barnettes? Lets all get together and do it! [email protected] me. This company is a scam, and they should be put out of business like they put our cars out of service.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    marnisarah Apr 05, 2014

    On December 21, 2013 I had to trade in my Honda Passport for another vehicle. I now have a car payment. To anyone that is thinking of buying an engine from Barnettes..Think again!

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tommy Harmon Sep 07, 2014

    I bought 3 engines from Barnettes. I have some old vehicles with high mileage. Hired a mechanic from the Charlotte, NC area to install the motors. He was recommended by another rebuild shop which didn't have my motors in stock. Barnettes sent the rebuilt motors in a timely fashion. The mechanic installed the motors in one day and required cash payment. Later I learned the mechanic had left a washer and a clamp off the new motor. He also got air into some systems, and used the old gaskets off the previous engine instead of the new gaskets sent by Barnettes. Barnettes worked with me through this. I am very happy with them, and would get another motor from them when I need one. I visited their shop, and met Jay the customer troubleshooter. I can't say enough about how good a job they did. They have good people there. Joyce on the phone is delightful to talk with. Chesapeake is a beautiful area, and Barnettes shop is just down the street from the naval shipyard where ships are repaired. Be sure to visit Virginia Beach too if you go there.
    Tommy Harmon, Charlotte, NC

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chads71 Nov 11, 2014

    Junk junk junk junk junk. Thats all they build. Motor lasted a whole 30, 000 mile before oil pump failed and they denied the worthless warranty they give out. Should have bought a Jasper engine.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Robert Laurenti Jan 25, 2015

    I also bought a re manufactured engine and was not happy with the results, you can follow e-mail string(below) and you can make your own decision if you think this is a company that you would like to do business with, I am a firm believer a company is evaluated from how they deal with an issue, and I feel they left me the customer with the bill...

    Dan, (1st e-mail sent 12/18/2014)

    I am reaching out to you once again regarding the engine replacement/warranty issue for my 2000 Dodge Durango. This issue has been ongoing since August and has not been resolved to my satisfaction. It is beyond frustrating that you and your company have handled this issue the way you have. In my opinion, it seems you have handled this issue with minimum care and effort. I am a paying customer and I deserve the time and attention it takes to correct this problem. I have placed numerous calls to you and left numerous messages for you and I have always had to follow up with you instead of you making this priority and getting back to me in a timely manner. I feel that I have been more than patient and cooperative with you and your company, and I have not received the same in return. I also feel that there has been a lack of professionalism on your end. The last thing you told me when you and I spoke last week that you were going to send me a package containing the test results from your engineer in regards to the engine, I still have not received the package and considering the severity of the issue and the ongoing lack of communication, I would have thought you would have sent it priority mail. To remind you again this issue has been ongoing since August. Four months have gone by and this issue still has not been resolved. If I do not receive satisfaction by end of day Friday December 19, 2014 then I will be taking legal action against you and your company and will also be filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau.
    Regretfully so,
    Bob Laurenti
    216-078-2597

    Bob, (response 12/19/2014)
    I received your email this morning.
    Lack of time and attention?, If I missed any calls, I apologize for that as I have not been in the office much
    the last 2 weeks, I am still battling the FLU, however that sir, is not your problem.
    You purchased your engine in 2012, you had a part failure in May of 2014, at which time we handled the repair
    and did the reimbursement of funds to you as outlined in our warranty.
    This second incident if you recall, you son was on the way to the dealership for another issue with his
    vehicle, unrelated to the engine, but what happened after that has never been clear.
    Regardless, we, my staff and I spent countless hours on the phone with the dealership attempting to get to the
    root cause of the issue, listening to their constantly changing story, erroneous test result, appearing and
    disappearing ECM codes, compression jumping from cylinder to cylinder, and general lack of professionalism.
    The vehicle is in South Dakota, we are in Virginia. In any warranty situation the mechanic is our eyes and
    ears if they cannot effectively communicate what is actually happening on site, we are at a loss.
    Again, out of total frustration I sent an independent inspector to the dealership, where he diagnosed it as a blown head gasket. Do you mean to tell me that a shop full of ASC mechanics could not diagnose a blown head gasket?
    Can anyone explain why the ECM had no codes, other than the cat code in history?
    Any mechanic will tell you that a blown head gasket, would cause a misfire, the water going past the gasket
    simply causes a misfire...nothing made sense.
    I absorbed the cost for that too.
    I also sent for the cylinder head, at my expense, had it checked by an independent shop, at my expense
    and shipped it back, with all the parts to make the repair, when there was no problem found! ALSO
    at my expense.
    I am not doing enough?, here is the question Bob, what is (did) the dealership doing (do)?
    They are so ready to condemn the engine, It only had a problem AFTER your son brought it in for an unrelated
    issue, and they forced it to start, did any of this occur.
    Regarding the head gasket, The engineers report clearly stated the the head gasket was damaged prior
    to installation, do they not look at parts before installing? The gasket sets are taped and look at the pictures
    I have attached, that looks like a cut in the gasket, but I can't be sure and am not accusing, just noting.
    Then I also sent you 275.00, to help with the labor.
    We are not the bad guys here, we have been working with all parties involved, spent hours working
    on this, paid MORE money than our warranty states, all for a problem we did not create.
    I can't make you change your mind, I can only ask that you look at the facts, as I have stated them to
    you once again, with the hope you will look to the mechanics that were hands on throughout the process.
    If you feel that I have not done enough, and are compelled to file a complaint with the BBB, or start legal
    proceedings, I will defend my company and myself then.

    Bob, (response 0n 12/22/2014 you will have to read carefully, responses are built into email string)
    I received your email this morning.
    Lack of time and attention?, If I missed any calls, I apologize for that as I have not been in the office much
    the last 2 weeks, I am still battling the FLU, however that sir, is not your problem.

    Response-Through the whole process I had to make several calls to get any answers / updates, I was told I was going to get updates and it just did not happen, poor customer service to a customer with a problem, another example, I called on December 17th and Joyce answered the call and stated you were at lunch (NOT SICK) and she would have you call me on your return, no call-but you know what the funny thing is, I received a check in the mail on Saturday the 20th of December for the $275.00 which had a date of the 17th(the date I left you a message) on the envelope in which I was supposed to receive a package with all the findings from the week before that you were going to mail out, which I still have not received?

    You purchased your engine in 2012, you had a part failure in May of 2014, at which time we handled the repair
    and did the reimbursement of funds to you as outlined in our warranty.

    Response-Less than 15, 000 miles?-I still have to confirm exact mileage?

    This second incident if you recall, you son was on the way to the dealership for another issue with his
    vehicle, unrelated to the engine, but what happened after that has never been clear.

    Response-My son did have his car towed to dealership for an issue, that is correct, from that there was an issue with air compressor, in which was taken care, then it was stated that the car had a miss in engine, and that is where the situation becomes a confusing??? The bottom line with this in my opinion is you hold the warranty for the engine, the burden of proof is on your company, I am the customer stuck directly in the middle, which paid good money for what I thought to be a good product/warranty. There were conversations with what was really happening with information provided from dealership, back in forth so you had a independent company come out to evaluate the vehicle(never seen their findings?), prior to vehicle being taken apart, to determine exactly what was going on or what went on and if there were still conflicting information from their findings(which it appeared from our conversations) you were provided from dealership/ independent company then maybe you should have had another company come out. At the time we all had a conversation(you, myself, and dealership) of the findings and I/dealership was confident that you were taking care of vehicle under warranty, and if that was not the case at the time, my decision to proceed might have been different, I stated right from the beginning I had NO PLANS on paying another dime for repairs based on spending the money for a new engine and then for a repairs with less than 15, 000 miles on engine defect.

    Regardless, we, my staff and I spent countless hours on the phone with the dealership attempting to get to the
    root cause of the issue, listening to their constantly changing story, erroneous test result, appearing and
    disappearing ECM codes, compression jumping from cylinder to cylinder, and general lack of professionalism.

    Response-This in my opinion should have been resolved with the independent company coming out to look at the vehicle on your behalf? Not a customer issue.

    The vehicle is in South Dakota, we are in Virginia. In any warranty situation the mechanic is our eyes and
    ears if they cannot effectively communicate what is actually happening on site, we are at a loss.

    Response-Again, you paid for an independent company to come out and be your eyes, where are the results? Not a customer issue.

    Again, out of total frustration I sent an independent inspector to the dealership, where he diagnosed it as a blown head gasket. I never seen the results? Do you mean to tell me that a shop full of ASC mechanics could not diagnose a blown head gasket?

    Response- I cannot speak for dealership.

    Can anyone explain why the ECM had no codes, other than the cat code in history?

    Response-I am smart enough to know that with electronics everything is not as it seems, things do happen that cannot be explained. Again that is why you had an independent company look at. Not customer problem.

    Any mechanic will tell you that a blown head gasket, would cause a misfire, the water going past the gasket
    simply causes a misfire...nothing made sense.

    Response-Maybe more needed to be done by independent company, dealership did state that you could have anyone come in and look at vehicle, I stated if you wanted me to have it towed somewhere else, I would consider it.

    I absorbed the cost for that too.

    Response-The burden of proof is with the company that holds the warranty.

    I also sent for the cylinder head, at my expense, had it checked by an independent shop, at my expense-

    Response-burden of proof with company in which hold warranty.
    and shipped it back, with all the parts to make the repair, when there was no problem found!

    Response-Why was a different head sent back for repair if there were no problem found?

    ALSO
    at my expense. You hold the warranty,

    Response-I would expect that

    I am not doing enough?, here is the question Bob, what is (did) the dealership doing (do)?

    Response-In my opinion you hold the warranty and burden of proof. Put your shoes on the other foot, and I ask you in your honest opinion, have I really been taken care of from your company, since August really??

    They are so ready to condemn the engine, It only had a problem AFTER your son brought it in for an unrelated
    issue, and they forced it to start, did any of this occur.

    Response-I would only thought that with a independent company that anything in question would have been resolved.

    Regarding the head gasket, The engineers report clearly stated the head gasket or surface of head was damaged prior
    to installation, do they not look at parts before installing?

    Response-If this to be the case, I would have expected that you would have taken care of your customer/warranty, due to it was the product you sent to be used on the warranty, and then have conversation with the dealership, due to you hold the warranty on the engine.

    The gasket sets are taped and look at the pictures

    Response-I have not seen any pictures?
    I have attached, that looks like a cut in the gasket, but I can't be sure and am not accusing, just noting.

    Response- Issue that needed to be brought with dealership.

    Then I also sent you 275.00, to help with the labor.

    Response-There is a bill for $1, 100.00, I would expected at the time it was determined the head was being taken apart and sent back to you that the cost was going to be absorbed by your company due to you have the warranty on the engine and the burden of proof, and if there were any findings that you had after having everything evauated, that you took it up with the dealership, not leaving a customer out pay??

    We are not the bad guys here, we have been working with all parties involved, spent hours working
    on this, paid MORE money than our warranty states, all for a problem we did not create.

    Response-I am into taking servicing customers myself for over thirty plus years, I would never have left my customer out there way I was left, never-there is always a cost in doing business, by just doing the right thing, all I ever asked was to be taken care of based on paying for your product/warranty.

    I can't make you change your mind, I can only ask that you look at the facts, as I have stated them to
    you once again, with the hope you will look to the mechanics that were hands on throughout the process.

    Response- I believe you hold the warranty and burden of proof.

    If you feel that I have not done enough, and are compelled to file a complaint with the BBB, or start legal-

    Response-I have delayed my actions due to your response and hopeful the right thing still to be done.

    proceedings, I will defend my company and myself then. It is about doing the right thing by your customer.

    Response-I will be sending back the $275.00, it appears that it needed by your company.

    Response-Do you think you have taken care of a customer, the way you would expect to be taken care of?

    Response- I live by treat people the way that I would want to be treated, is that what you think has been done? Thanks

    (my response from not getting any response 1/22/2014)
    Well again no response, but I came to realize that with your company and the type of service that I received or DID NOT receive, with me always having to track someone down to find out responses/updates.


    Here is my update, I reviewed with legal counsel, even though I have a strong case, with all the information that was provided by you and the information from the dealership, (ie., the head did not have any problems but you shipped a different head out, leaking cylinder, which was tested by dealership, which was never stated in any of your emails, are a few examples), the cost of lawyer and going to court outweighs the cost of the repair, with that being said I will not return the check for the $275.00, I will use it to pay the dealership for the repairs that they were made and I will pay the rest.

    I will file a complaint with the BBB office and do the things I need to insure that others know the type of service to expect/that I received and let them determine if that is the type of service they would expect.

    Again I ask...

    Do you think you have taken care of a customer, the way you would expect to be taken care of?

    I live by treat people the way that I would want to be treated, is that what you think has been done?
    Thanks

    This is my experience with Barnette's, I ask you would you liked to be serviced this way?

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    RIPPED OFF by Barnette's Jan 15, 2016

    BARNETT'S REMANUFACTURED ENGINES - RIP OFF
    It's unfortunate they have been allowed to continue to conduct business, but we'll soon see justice and bad karma prevail.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem