Barbizon model centerthey are cons...

M
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

Barbizon is a complete waste of mine and everybody's time...
They make you come into there little auditioning to look and judge you. After that they say you have so much potential. Thats just them sweet talking you so they can pull as much money as they can. Trust me you dont want to deal with these people. Their all fake!

Responses

  • Mo
    monique hodge Apr 28, 2015

    I put my babygirl in this and she loves it but I felt funny about it. she has only been to the first 2 classes and I think I am going to request a refund. I have been seeing to much negativity and when I seen the story from NBC that sold me to break this deal. I have paid $500 already and they want $2140 that is not even including clothes shoes ect. I will take my loss of 250 for the nonrefund and send my certified letter and move on

    -1 Votes
  • No
    NotSureOnThis Oct 17, 2014

    ATTENTION. PLEASE READ!

    I have an audition Nov.2 in Lancaster PA with a woman named Crystal.

    First off, everything on the site seemed very cookie-cutter and 'too good to be true' - which is why I searched the cons. I'm glad I did and I'm glad I know what to expect .. I actually was stopped at a mall to fill a form.

    Is anybody familiar with Barbizon Pennsylvania?

    I'm thinking about still going but I am 100% not paying ###. She told me it wouldn't be an issue and my parents simply don't have 1000s on them like that. So if they try to get me to sign ###, or put down extreme information or make me pay something ridiculous .. I'm not doing it. I'll just leave.

    I don't even want to model. I want to be an actress.

    Please respond if you have any opinions or if you're familiar with the one in PA.

    Thank you.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    madmom.1 Jul 10, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They are a bunch of scam artists!
    I took my daughter to one of their "auditions" with about 100 others, the lady that spoke was very good and choosing her words, talking about how to be aware of scam agencies and you should never have to pay for your portfolio (which is true) but kept discussing how a true agency you should never have to pay for, then went to talk about these "life time classes" that were "only" $1600.00. WAIT didn't she just say that you shouldn't have to pay? They had each person read a short script, and then she went on to say "oh when she saw my daughter that she knew she wanted to work with her and that because she knew my daughter was the one that she would even give her a reduce rate using there student scholarship but would need our credit card number within 24 hours. For one, no business should ever need your credit card number within 24 hours, Barbizon puts pressure on you so fast so that way you have no time to do any research and they get your kids so excited so they want to get their money before you can actually have time think about it. I told my daughter I can guarantee every person in that room heard the same speach, and there were kids as young as 5 years old. Let me ask you a question? Do they have different classes for the 5 year olds and the 16 year olds? Or do they 5 year olds take the adult classes or vise vera? My daughters friend is currently in Barbizon, has been for 2 years, she has not progressed and the few photos that she has are the same as a high school photo, nothing spectacular. And they also send this young lady out to "recruit" other young people.?!!? I have never heard of any model going out and having to recruit people! My daughter is determined to do these classes and had her grandma sign the contract, which her grandma isn't her legal guardian. Is that even legal? I have had a bad feeling about this whole Barbizon place and my gut never steers me wrong, I even went into this ordeal with a positive attitude about it, boy did that change quickly. I can't believe that Barbizon is still a business, which calling them a business gives them too much credit. They are a bunch of low life thieves that steal your money and crush your kid's dreams!! I will be attending my daughters first class this weekend and you can bet your butt i will be calling them out in front of the entire class!!

    0 Votes
  • Kh
    Khadeja Smith Mar 12, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @madmom.1 I just paid a downpayment of 600 dollars today, just so I can feel super depleted seeing all of these bad reviews... I hope immediate refunds are a thing for this company...smh

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    makeastand Aug 23, 2013

    Please file a complaint with the Federal Trades Commission www.ftc.gov The FTC can put a stop to misrepresentation by a company and the FTC can literally shut a company down if they refuse to comply with the law. The FTC is also the agency that can literally force reimbursement for consumers who have been scammed by a company. It takes many complaints before the FTC can go to work. Please pass this information to others who have been "taken" by Barbizon and please visit the website www.ftc.gov Also you can file complaints with the State's Attorney General - the state where the Barbizon is located that you believe has misrepresented itself or "fooled" you. The state attorney general will help you and also forward your complaints to other state agencies who can help you. File a complaint with the Better Business Bureau too. Thank You

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    makeastand Aug 23, 2013

    Please help stop Barbizon from misleading consumers and hurting our children. Please consider filing a complaint with the Federal Trades Commission www.ftc.gov File a complaint with the State in which the Barbizon is located - Contact that states attorney general and their office will help you and forward your complaint to other agencies located in their state. File a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. The most important complaint to file is with the Federal Trades Commission as they are the office who can literally put an end to Barbizon misrepresenting themselves to consumers, they can also enforce reimbursement by the company. It takes many consumers to complain before our Federal Government can actually go to work and I have found more than enough people complaining on the internet in order to get the FTC into action but we must all file our complaints as they could care less what is on the internet. Please pass this along and please go to www.ftc.gov Thank You

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Barbizon Model! Jun 04, 2012

    Actually it is not a waste of my time. And its not a scam at all. All of you that are saying that it is a "Scam" and "fake" are just jealous that that didn't accept you.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    LeesaG Mar 06, 2012

    Barbizon is a complete scam. Ruined my high school dream to become a model. Once my mom paid for me to go to school and i graduated. I never heard from that school again. I got one job which was a benefit for them because i stood in the mall a recommended people to come to that scam school. Then once you graduate they tell you to come on a trip to NY which is like 5000 dollars. Barbizon is a scam I will not recommend it to nobody. I get scared when my little cousins go to auditions. Never knowing if it is real or not. Barbizon ruined my trust for aNY modeling try out or school. Like Tyra Banks said you should never pay for modeling school If they really want you.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jenna Smith Jul 06, 2011

    It's Not A Scam! It's A School Not An Agency. They're Helping You Not Ripping You Off! I've Gone There And I've Learned Acting And Modeling Tips! If You Even Take The Time To Read Their Website They Even Said They Don't Guarantee That You'll Become Famous But If You Have The Good Enough Potential You Can Make It. Your Just Mad You Didnt Become Famous!!

    -1 Votes
  • Je
    jenn.13 Apr 12, 2011

    hey, I was actually accepted to Babizon about an half an hour ago and I was excited that they called me. I couldn't believe it, but once they asked me for my fathers' debt number I thought twice. "Rita" asked me to ask my dad for it. I said sure, so I called my dad to tell him. But once my dad anwsered he sounded a little sad.He said that he had already talked to her and that she asked for the same thing. So he made an excuse to hang up. Then he told me that it was all a scam. He said that he had investigated over that web and found alot of information that proves it. I couldn't believe this, I wasn't convinced. So, right now I'am investigating for myself to see if it is true. Their's a lot of proof that it is, but for some reason I'am still not convinced. Just about 10 minutes ago my dad called me to tell me that their telephone number is not even registered. What company doesn't have a registered number? It also got me thinking, why would they even ask for your debt number if they don't even know how your going to pay? That's strange, a good company doesn't do that especially not over the phone. I guess I'm still in shock that this happened to me. I mean they even went to my school and my school is pretty strict on letting anyone in. I guess they can fool anyone.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    kaspiring Mar 25, 2011

    I just signed my daughter for Barbizon OC. Does anyone have any experience with that location?

    0 Votes
  • Al
    allycatz Mar 24, 2011

    I have an interview with them this sunday and after reading this i'm a bit uneased. I'm going to the one in San Fran. I might do lessons I might not I still have to do this and get called back.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mama Justice Jan 06, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Yes that makes sense why would I give the lady at Barbizon my credit card and everything over the phone in less than 24 hours. Thanks for bringing that to my attention. And your right about the idenity theft they would have all my info.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mama Justice Jan 06, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Barbizon is a scam, why do they need your credit or debit card information so badly? Idenity theft anyone?

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mama Justice Jan 06, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Barbizon North Carolina and South Carolina is a scam. I've talked to other parents who feel the same way. With the way economy is today I think paying for modeling and acting is not helping my child's future at all. I know they were exposed on Dateline NBC. Should have been my first red flag. Sarah told my daughter that she was picked out of over 200, trying to make my daughter special. I did some research and they are not with the Board of Education, like Sarah told me. I did contact the Better Business Burea and the rating was not up to my standards for my child, when I brought this up to her, she made all kinds of excuses. My advise to other parents do your research . Don't pay with less than 24 hours to a complete stranger . Talk to other parents at the interviews, exchange phone numbers. Compare your experiences . She offered references, but respectfully declined, because maybe they are already set up to say nice things. As for the other comment, she did the same to us and said she could work with us on money, even offering discounts or paying lower amount to get my daughter started. On top of all this said she talked to her director Carrie and already was booking jobs for my daughter. When I got home, I read over the paperwork and found typos in their packet of info, and it even says no jobs guaranteed. And the contract, please read the fine print. I mean if you purchase a car, you have up to 30 days. But with Barbizon you lose money and very little time to change your mind. Needless to say we are going to do much more research before we make anything permanent and compare what the other options are and not make a hasty decision and any company if they care about my daughter will give me time to decide what is best, a week, month no deadline . But I will NOT be Pressured or SOLD by her.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jamesjenkins6983 May 29, 2010

    WE JUST WENT TO THE RICHMOND CONVENTION CENTER 5/29/2010 430pm.

    THIS IS A SCAM, U GOTTA READ THIS.

    We were told by our so called assigned director JUDY from Tampa FLorida that there were no costs involved, zero. She said that they represent hundreds of other agencies that pay for everything, I could only assume that Barbazon worked off of a percentage scale. I asked these questions so that we did not waste our time on a scam. We attended the two hour presentation. What they do HIGHLY UNETHICAL, is put all the children in the front rows and the parents in the back. They do this so that you cannot make a quick exit. They show your kids all of the famous people on NICK TV, etc to build them up and make the want to join. They next hit the parents with a one time fee of over $2000.00. They make it difficult to say know because of what they have done to the kids already. I don't want to be mean, but I saw them randomly scouting people at the mall any one that would fill the form out and they ACCEPTED EVERYONE!!! There were a lot of girls that should have been turned down but do you think that Barbizon is going to turn down $2000.00 for their training classes, yeah right. They take em' all and have no standards. Less than 1% ever make a dime with Barbazon, you have to keep in mind that they are located in every major city in the U.S. Think of all these people that are not making it 99% and the $2000.00 they are losing, you would be better off going out to buy $2000.00 in lottery tickets. I have emailed the company to complain. I confronted the director about the lies and she told me to take my daughter and leave, this was before our INTERVIEW. Whether you receive any good trainining or not from their classes this is not a company that you want teaching your child anything and now my 9 yr old little girl is upset that her daddy won't pay the money. What a bunch of ripoff [censor]s. If anyone wants to know more about my experience please email me at [email protected] I dont want to see someone get screwed.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Cassandra_Baber May 18, 2010

    I'm a model. I'm semi-pro and I never took "classes" on any of that nonsense. I went through the material they mailed to my 15 year old sister. I will note that they singled out the sister that was a little heavier than average, the girl with low self esteem. Her twin sister is slimmer and has higher self esteem and she didn't get the mailing - that was the first thing that tipped me off. Looking through their material, it shows a large spread with "stars" on it, photos and bios, but reading through it it comments that four, out of some thirty-odd photos actually went to Barbizon.

    I have my B.A. in History, and have an Associates' in marketing. The fact that they didn't claim those big stars went to Barbizon on the literature immediately tipped me off. They are implying it, but not stating it. Why? Because they can't legally say that those stars went there when they didn't, that's illegal. But implying it? Dirty pool but won't put them in court.

    I didn't go to the meeting, but I went through the class list and scoffed. You don't need to learn how to walk, how to pose, those are things that a photographer will work with you on. I know. I walked into my first shoot knowing nothing and the photographer instructed me (turn this way, kick your hips that way, tip your head up...) and I got some spectacular photos. I also didn't have to pay a penny for any photos I've had taken. I personally work through Model Mayhem and have done a number for TFCD work and have had some wonderful experiences with fantastic photographers that have been amazingly professional and through there I have several magazine opportunities. That isn't to say that MM is the cure for cancer, but it is a decent way to get started.

    So yes, having examined the material, having looked through all the nonsense I felt sick. They prey on girls that feel bad about themselves and under the guise of giving them confidence they milk the family for thousands of dollars that aren't necessary to get into the business if you know what you're doing.

    Modeling is a dangerous business to wander into, whatever steps you take, take them carefully. Make sure that the photographers aren't screwing you, make sure that the agency isn't messing with you, make sure that you aren't compromising yourself. You don't need to be Carmen Electra to do it, either.

    0 Votes
  • Jk
    JK Hanbury May 16, 2010

    When you start with the premise that you are going to be interviewed, having been specially picked, only to find it is a cattle call for an overpriced exercise in commercial robbery, you will get complaints. After some study, I believe they do use a precious few to succeed, but they know who they are at the cattle call. I know this because my granddaughter was one of them. They select about15% of that group to school at a fee, knowing full well their value to them will be recruiting more students. Sadly, most of these young people will get an early life lesson on how easily they can be taken advantage of.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Like2Bike4 Feb 07, 2010

    Does anybody have experience with Barbizon in the Kansas City area? My daughter and I attended the Intro/Audition last night and while it was not as overbooked as the one in San Francisco, it was pretty crowded. My concerns are the "extra" costs no one is communicating, the fact that each Barbizon is a franchise who can change times/venue or cancel classes as they wish. Reviewing the refund schedule concerns me if they are able to make changes as they want. This would be an 1- 1/2 hour commute, and even if it is "only" 1 weekend a month it is a substantial "extra" investment. My call back will be Monday night, so any info would be appreciated. Oh, by the way! Has anyone really not been accepted?

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    princess_terri 2011 Jan 20, 2010

    well i strongly disagree im am currently 16 years old its [protected].&nd i got my phone call not to long ago saying that i was accepted &nd so far i have strated my training &nd it is great im learing things i never knew my scout is great she makes me fell great &nd confident my self-confident as went halway throught the roof since i strated barbizon so i dont know about all of you but its working great for me &nd my little cousin who is also in..

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shannon lu Jan 09, 2010

    I went to Barbizon when I was 15. I did not go there with expectations of becoming a fashion model, I only wanted more confidence. After going there, and 'graduating', it is easy enough to say that Barbizon IS A RIP OFF. However, I did meet my closest friend there and even she agrees what a rip off it was. The so called school was constantly asking for money, even after stating that we had paid for everything in full already. The teachers had no idea what they were doing when it came to teaching simple things - such as doing one's eyebrows. The school itself, was in a very shabby building that was completely unprofessional, lacking heat in the middle of winter. I wish I wasn't making this up, but my parents did waste their money. I'm happy for those of you that were satisfied with your experience, and I'm not trying to be negative, only sharing my thoughts. If you have the money, spend it at a real professional school that is willing to work with you, not only your wallets.

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    sarahcornfields Jan 04, 2010

    Ok. I've seen so many complaints about Barbizon and people thinking it's a scam. I personally went to Barbizon, learned a lot, spent money (yes, I'm not ashamed of it), went to a competition, won my division, and received callbacks from other agencies. I've also received three paid jobs from Barbizon without having graduated yet. What people need to realize is that there is no way anyone can make it in this business without spending a dime. Despite what Tyra Banks and other celebrities like that might say, when you add it all up, they must have spent money somewhere along the way to further their career. This is what is called an investment. Yes, there are some wise and not so wise investments and with any investment there is risk. You need to ask yourself if the risk is worth the reward.

    Where do you think models get their portfolios? Pictures taken of them, right? Well, how did they get those pictures all nice and printed out on glossy paper for them and not just cut out of a magazine they were in? They paid for it.

    Even for actors, they invest money. Has anyone ever been to an acting workshop? If you have, then you know that it's beneficial and you had a pay a fee. Barbizon is basically an extended workshop and those who are dedicated will pursue and invest. If you think it is a scam, then you're thinking negatively and will never see the positive effects.

    When's the last time you heard of a college that takes you through school without asking for a dime until -you- make money? ... Never? That's because there isn't one. (Unless someone can prove me wrong, and then I'd love to see this magical place.) That's what Barbizon is about. They tell you up front that they are not an agency, but they can give you the tools to get an agency and give you a list of agencies once you graduate. If this just seems impossible to you or your situation, then maybe this industry isn't where you need to be.

    I agree with nonyabiznus, Charles, and christine and some others. I especially agree with nonyabiznus: some of you instead of complaining about something should learn how to complain (meaning you should probably do some research and learn how to use proper grammar and spelling.)

    0 Votes
  • No
    Not_Getting_Scammed Nov 16, 2009

    This is a huge scam. My daughter went yesterday to one of their so called auditions. Today she was chosen as one of the lucky ones and we needed to make a decision right away since the class starts this coming weekend. Right there I knew this was a scam. Any reputable company would let you think about it. The definitly do a good job of selling this crap. They has my daughter all excited. I explained to her how it was a scam and told her to goolge it. She now believes me. It is criminal what they do. Obviously they are successful since they have been around for 70 years. I am sure a few people make it, as some people walking in the mall are discovered and make it. I just think they completely mislead you.

    1 Votes
  • Au
    audreyg Oct 08, 2009

    YWe had an awful experience with the San Francisco office in September 2009. We were made to believe our daughter was special and had a lot of opportunity. Our first clue that something was not quite right was our deposit hit our credit card within hours of giving the number to reserve the spot. No contract or registration was ever signed. I am so happy I did not say that I may want to pay the whole amount in order to save a few hundred dollars. Second clue was how rushed we were made to feel and the pressure that was put upon us to hurry up to 'get in' for the training by that weekend. Then the third clue was no returning of the phone calls we made to discuss what our final decision was. I have made 15 or so calls to my only contact at the San Francisco Barbizon office and have not receive one call back. This is not good business etiquette right here folks! This person knows who she is too and I would bet she is the one who wrote comment #6 on this posting. So, beware some good comments are probably posted by the sales folk trying to do damage control on the blogs. I for one am glad I took the time to read the blog comments; they were very helpful and dead on. Without this information, we would have probably gone through with it till end, spent a lot of money and then have nothing come out of it for my daughter. They don't tell you things like that you will have to pay for the sitting too but you do and it also costs another 1to2k to go to the big show if you go.

    It has been about 5 weeks now since they took my money, I have not received even a courtesy call back and I have not received a refund. The charge is in dispute right now (which means I do not have to pay for it) and Barbizon's merchant bank is being contacted by my credit card to get the funds back. I am confident that it won't be a problem because if this happened to us, I am damn sure it has happened to many others so their merchant bank has got to be saying, 'here's another one of those'.

    Chuck it up to life lesson learned. If you want to be a model - go to open call at any respected modeling agency. Most of them have them and many don't require professional photos.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    tiburon06 Sep 01, 2009

    barbizon is a scam they tell you its not going to cost nothing and that if they do need money for whatever that they will take it out of youre pay when you start working and so they got our attention by telling us we wouldnt have to pay anything so we went to there addition and they gave us this long slide show presintation with all these people that went threw there program and who are now making hundreds of thousands of dallors or more and tell you if youre energetic and practice and now what youre doing you can make all this money and then they interview everybody and call you and tell you that you passed youre addition and out of 40 or 50 people you and 10 or 15 other people only made it "which im sure they just say that to get you all excitted and thinking you have something special about you" and then after you pass they met up with just you and then say oh you perfect you would be so good to do this and blah blah blah and then say but youll need training and that is 1400 up front or 490 up front and 65 a week and that you need to have it within 90 days or youll have to re addition and then they say you dont have to pay anything else unless you go onto la or where ever "which is a lie" but they try to tell you all you will have to pay is a [protected] dallor school and then after you end up paying that they will say well you need 50 for this and then after that you will need 2oo for something else then another 3oo for another thing and they try to get the money for the school out of you at first and say that there wont be anything else that way when you pay it and they do start telling you oh you will need money for this and that and this and that you allready got so much money into it you cant just quit and back out ive read hundreds of reviews of people who went to the school and say its just a scam they dont get any jobs and dont make any money all they did was waist theres i looked up a million reviews and didnt see one good thing about it so what does that tell you...hmmmm that maybe its a SCAM ya im sure they have people that go threw there school and become famous but those people have probly been doing it there hole lives and know someone in the bussiness that can pull strings for them you are stupid if you think that this pro talent barbizon thing is the real deal

    0 Votes
  • 4t
    4theppl Aug 31, 2009

    To "Tricky91" you are so very lucky to have such an astute daughter- I'm sure she picked it up from you. I spent a very short time with a Barbizon, I won't say which because of their legal contracts, but you can find the training and information in other ways for much less. The "audition" ... well, if you have the potential of money or being pursued by a collection agency then you will be accepted into this audition.

    And yes, you can learn all sorts of great stuff and meet neat people, and get a job out of it, maybe. You can also do that from many other ways without paying thousands of dollars, however. Try acting classes at schools for instance, or intern at the college during the summer...

    The point is - check things out, check your facts, don't let them mislead you and tell you what you want to hear if you cannot afford a finishing school for your kids.

    1 Votes
  • Tr
    TRICKY91 Aug 29, 2009

    IF BARBIZON IS FAKE HOW CAN SEAN FARIS IS SO FAMOUS...HE WENT THROUGH IT AND NOW LOOK AT HIM...SO YEA IT'S NOT FAKE OF A SCAM BUT THEY DO ASK FOR ALOT OF MONEY...BUT IT'S WORTH IT...

    -1 Votes
  • Ma
    madmotherof3 Aug 02, 2009

    My youngest daughter received a phone call two weeks prior saying she was recommended for modeling/acting. They called the house so it was obvious someone gave them our number. I was asked if I would like to bring my daughter to a scheduled INTERVIEW to discuss the endless opportunities that Barbizon could provide if my daughter had any talent at all. I was given the choice of a 9:30 am or 1:30 pm appointment. We opted for the later because it was over an hour drive. When we arrived it was a mad house with a line longer than at the unemployment office. EVERYONE in line had an appointment at 1:30 pm, and to make matters worse, people from the 9:30am line were still waiting for, what was now called, an AUDITION. Not wanting to disappoint my daughter, I sat through a looping DVD, then a presentation by a woman, who I thought was very good, on the selling points of a good education, good eating habits, setting priorities and goals, and she could not stress enough that good agents only get paid when their clients work. BUT, Barbizon never sends out models or actors that have no experience or prior training. So they offer classes over a six month period (one weekend a month, 1/2 day Saturday and 1/2 day Sunday) for the low price of $2145.00 That's $357.50 per weekend. So it's a little pricey, I can maybe find somewhere closer to give lessons in the same way for less travel time and less money, but maybe not. So we decide to keep our scheduled INTERVIEW/AUDITION. 3 1/2 hours and 18 times throught the looping DVD, those of us who are remaining (because they haven't got through the 300+ kids scheduled at 1:30) are asked to step into the hall so the 5:00 pm group could come in and start their movie and presentation. ARE YOU KIDDING ME!?! I didn't not cause a scene, but the guy next to us did. He asked why their were so over scheduled. The head executive woman, 2nd in charge, said that patience is a must in this industry, and if he thought this was a long wait he should see some of the other auditions his daughter would no doubt be sent to. She was good.

    My daughter decided to leave on her own. "Mom, this is ridicules, they only want our money. And besides, if I have to see that flipping DVD one more time someone's going down."

    1 Votes
  • Ar
    Ari =] Jul 25, 2009

    Umm, I went to the hotel today, and they played the DVDs and had a big presentation and I got really excited. My parents said no, and I dunno if I even made it yet based on my interview. They're gonna call me tonight so I'd know if I've been offered the classes or not. I've always dreamed of being famous or modeling or acting, I mean, there aren't many girls who dont. But I was really willing to take classes and learn knew things and gain confidence. I really wanted to be succesful in that area, but I dunno anymore. =/ does anyone know of any other companies that could put me on the right track? i really wanna get started. I've heard of success stories and stories about fraud and scamming, I just really want to get started in that direction though. Sooo if anyone has advice, please let me know. =]

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    tall tina Jul 05, 2009

    I have an appointment this weekend for my daughter? After reading the comments, I am skeptical!!! So it is not free???????????????

    0 Votes
  • Na
    NatayleDee Jun 29, 2009

    BARBIZON ARE A BUNCH OF CON ARTIST, WHAT I LEARNED WAS THAT IF AN AGENCY ASKS FOR A WHOLE LOT OF MONEY UP FRONT, MOST LIKELY THEIR SCAMMING YOU. a GOOD ONE WOULD ASK FOR A SMALL FEE, LET YOU TRY IT OUT AND SEE IF YOU LIKE IT, AND THEN YOU CAN CONTINUE, NOT BARBIZON, YOU CANT EVEN REFUND YOUR MONEY.
    AND ON TOP OF THAT THEIR LYING, THEY SAY MODELING AND ACTING, YOU ONLY GET ONE ACTING CLASS, AND THE TEACHER OF IT OPENLY SAID HE THOUGHT WE WERE BEING SCAMMED. THE CLASSES ARE LONG AND BORING AND DONT TEACH YOU MUCH, THEIR BASICALLY A WASTE OF YOUR TIME. I WENT OUT OF MY WAY TO TRY TO AVOID SOME OF THE CLASSES, LIKE I FEEL SORRY FOR MY MOM WHO FEELS LIKE SHES GETTING A DEAL HERE BUT ISNT. I WOULD HAVE QUIT BUT IT WASNT MY MONEY I WAS USING, NOW I GOTTA FIND SOME SORTA WAY TO REPAY MY MOTHER OVER 2, 000 DOLLARS, WHERE THE HELL AM I GOING TO GET THAT KINDA OF MONEY. BARBIZON HAS PUT ME IN SUCH A HORRIBLE SITUATION. I THOUGHT MY MONEY OR MY OMS WA PAYING FOR A LIST OF THINGS WHEN IN REALITY, ALL MY MONEY PAID FOR WAS THEIR CLASSES, THAT JUST ASK YOU FOR MORE MONEY TO PAY FOR THINGS THEY SAID WAS INCLUDED IN THE PACKAGE LIKE MAKE UP. THROUGHOUT THE CLASSES MOST OF WHAT THEIR DOING IS SELLING YOU PRODUCTS YOU CAN FIND ON THEIR SITE AND BUT FOR A "LOW" PRICE, YOU KNOW ON TOP OF THAT 2 GRAND. NOW I'M GRADUATING AND DREADING IT BECAUSE I HAVE LEARNED ABSOLUTELY NOTHING, AND DONT KNOW HOW TO FACE MY MOTHER OR WHAT WILL BE ASKED OF ME AT THE GRADUATION.

    I ADVICE YOU TO NOT TAKE THE CLASSES, SAVE YOUR SELF THE PAIN AND MONEY.

    0 Votes
  • nonyabiznus Jun 24, 2009

    It's quite obvious from all the comments here, good and bad, that if you have the "look" or the "potential", then Barbizon MIGHT help you launch your career. But it's just as obvious that Barbizon will TELL you you have the look or potential whether you do or not in order to get your money.
    They are a business, and they are in it to support themselves and profit, so whatever gets them into your pocketbook is what you will hear.
    Millions of people (since 1939) have paid for their classes, portfolios, photoshoots, etc..., so it stands to reason a few will become famous... DUH... but it doesn't mean they are going to make your average, mediocre kid a supermodel or movie star. Think about how few actually "make it" and figure the amount of money Barbizon wants compared to the minuscule chance of your child's success...
    Most people are WASTING the $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$.
    And if your child really is something special (ask someone unassociated with you and your kid, so you get an OBJECTIVE opinion), check out stories of how the famous were "discovered" (it's easy, cause if your reading this you have Internet access and famous people love to brag about themselves so their stories are easy to find on the Web) and maybe you'll follow their leads instead of just forking over a$$loads of money to a "modeling agency" that really isn't.
    Actually it's also obvious some people here should have spent the money on grammar and spelling lessons...

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Bryn Jun 12, 2009

    Yes, Barbizon is a rip off. Did I talk classes? Yes. Do I regret them? No. Why, because I knew I was getting ripped off. I needed to learn the proper way to walk and I knew i would get signed. Did I get signed? Yes. Do i get jobs? Yes. Should everyone go to Barbizon? No. If you are gullible and have gullible parents, do not get into Barbizon. It's pretty pathetic because a lot of the parents worship the ground Barbizon walks on, its gross. To get into IMTA you have to be with Barbizon or John Robert Powers and it is waaaaaaay more expensive than Barbizon. I was at a show the other day and the moms were talking about how exciting it was going to be and how famous their kids were going to be. Their girls had bad skin, bad teeth and were overweight. I'm sorry, Elite and Ford are not looking for that kind of "look". Just know what you're getting into.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    christine Apr 07, 2009

    In reading the above post I can only think of expectations. As a former model myself who graduated from modeling school after a long battle to get into the school I find schooling as a whole to be an excellent route for parents guiding their children to success. My battle was with my mom, she was from a small town and very few people in my small town ever left the small town. We did not have "overblown" expectations of what modeling school would do for me. I learned about confidence, avoiding peer pressure, make-up, runway, and photo posing, interview skills, etiquette, skin care, posture, grace, voice and diction. The topics I studied in modeling school were not offered in any other format in my primary education. After finishing training I had the opportunity to work locally in fashion shows, bridal shows, promotional model, local cable access TV commercials and even went on to sign with a NY agency. I never made a million dollars... but that is not what I expected. I expected opportunity and education. I went on to college and now work in a corporate environment, a young thirty something, mother of two who is the Vice President of the company. As a parent myself I would never deny my children the opportunity to educate themselves in any area they were passionate about with a structured curriculum and a safe state approved atmosphere.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    cooly Apr 03, 2009

    I thought I Knew much about barbizon and I was thinking a about going there but after what i heard today not sure. my parents dont have that much money and if its expensive for nothing it is not worth it. I most certaintly would like to be a model or an actress and i also heard really good things about barbizon. i also got card saying thay wanted me to be there or something like that anyway i hope its not a ripp off cause i want my dreams to come true. My friend reccomended me to do barbizon cause she graduated but told me the pictures were like $300. well anyway i do not Know what i want right now.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    katie Mar 29, 2009

    my two best friends and i got stopped at wet seal where someone was "scouting" and asked if we had any experience, and we said no, so she recommended barbizon for us. i haven't gone to the classes yet, and neither has one of the friends who was with me, but the third finished the program and is now modeling as her job. she was 13, now 15. when i think of barbizon, i don't think of ridiculous prices, because, honestly, the modeling business is expensive, but definitely worth it. the only bad thing is, now my friend moved to las vegas from atlanta for her modeling. i don't know exactly how much she's made, but she's paid off her tuition by far, and now i'm just begging my mom to take me! :) so i definitely recommend it. and to anyone who thinks it's a ripoff, you're wrong. and to anyone who thinks it's a trafficking conspiracy, you're crazy!

    0 Votes
  • 4r
    4rm-another-mother Feb 06, 2009

    Ok let me tell u guyz about barbizon! its a lot soo bare with me. Barbizon is one of the biggest rip-offs I've ever known. They don't necessarily lie to you, but they definitely MISLEAD you. READ CAREFULLY! They talk about how u got the look or they helped these stars that you see on the videos during the interview thingy, but in reality they didn't get them there they happen to cheat them out of their money to. Let's be smart here ppl, bcuz I wasn't you shouldn't have to pay THAT MUCH if any at all. I don't know y i didnt realize this b4 but they fed me & my mommy THIS STUFF about how cute we were and my mommy wasnt even in for the interview. I wasn't believing all of this stuff. They don't get you HUGE jobs, after the class like I said b4 READ CAREFULLY! and after reading all of the comments barbizon is ridiculous with the ppl they excepted. I dont feel special anymore, and they were all sooo nice. But its just a ploy luckily we caught up with this thing, b4 giving the money. ALSO even my mommy said some of them girlz shouldnt even had been in there.. some would say not so cute, kinda ugly..not my words. but regardless plz google or yahoo search b4 you waste ppl money. I'm soo thanxful friends at school told me this was a scam b4 we paid. I hope i SAVE SOMEBODY!

    0 Votes
  • Co
    ConcernedParent Jan 29, 2009

    I put myself through college at an agency like Barbizon. My job was to sell classes. I told every young girl and her mother that we were going to teach them poise, confidence, runway skills, how to apply makeup, etc. "Of course we can never guarantee that anyone will get modeling jobs, but many of our students have gone on to model - look at their pictures on my wall." It's a pretty easy sell in most cases, as every girl and her mom wants "the dream." It really didn't matter if they ever had a chance to model, we just had to keep filling up those classes.
    The business really bothers me. I modeled myself, as well as worked in the agency. I saw creepy photographers talking young girls into posing for really inappropriate photos. I saw 19 year old male models talking young 15 year old models with stars in their eyes into bed.
    I know it's not all this way, and there are success stories. I just caution you, parents. I have daughters now. I would NEVER expose them to these types of schools. My daughters are beautiful, and if they come to me and tell me they want to model, I'll hire a photographer to take some fantastic shots of them (with me there) and I'll make the rounds to the established agencies in town myself, with them. I truly feel that any established agency will give me an honest opinion if my daughter has the look they are seeking. If so, they will tell me what she needs to do to get work.

    1 Votes
  • Da
    David Lawrence Nov 23, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The Barbizon school has been in business since 1939 and is the most reputable in training for the performing arts. One only has to read their web site that clearly states their mission statement of training. A school cannot select talent for Modeling or acting only the the writer or photo editor has that control. Agents and Managers have the job of representing trained and prepared talent and arranging for auditions. It is not possible to work in the entertainment industry without training. Models and actors are made not born. Each and every talent that you see working as a model or actor has had training and they continue to train through out their entire career. Those who become angry and sour about not working have unrealistic expectations for themselves, schools and agents. Industry professionals have no use for these types of malcontents, as there is a line of happy, well mannered talent to fill the spots. It is what is on the inside that is more important than the outside. On Barbizon's web site it clearly list all the national clients that have hired Barbizon grads.You see them every day in ads, hear them on the radio, TV and staring in Feature films. Most Barbizon schools are licensed by the state department of education which would not allow the exploitation of any minor. Those who become successful in the entertainment industry take from each teacher and audition experience and understand that if another opportunity comes up they act in a way that they would be considered in the future and not become angry.

    1 Votes
  • Ro
    Rob Nov 08, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Correction! Do not stop them because of diplomatic immunity

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rob Nov 08, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I can't agree or disagree with anyone being a 42 year old male. However Barbizon has had a cart in the shopping mall where I work. They've been interviewing girls for this and said they would fly them free of charge and get them free photo's ect... according to one of the girls working the cart.

    I was really caught back with fear when they said they'd fly them free to somewhere. I distinctly got the image of human trafficing. I have feelings that this is a front for someone Turkish or Arab King in the Middle-East attempting to pick some girls for his harem.

    They probably dress them up take photos and send them to the Kings the Kings then say which one they want and then they are flown out of the country. They are virtually kidnapped and the local authorities cannot stop them because of diplomatic law. Once the girl is on the plane she's history.

    See this link describing what happened to a former Miss USA.

    www.sauduction.com/12issue.html

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.