Andersen Windowsdo not honor warranty!

T
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

During the late 1980’s and early 1990s Andersen had a factory quality problem. The vinyl sash frames cracked on some of their windows.

Last June an Andersen Window technician did warranty work at my home. Andersen provided 13 new sashes which he installed.

During a subsequent storm with wind and rain, several of the new sashes leaked water. The water comes between the sash frame and the glass. During the time of the storm, it just so happens that a local authorized Andersen dealer technician was at my house doing some installation work for me. He witnessed the water coming in (around the glass on the new sashes) and said it’s obviously a factory defect. I might add that he has been to the Andersen factory to watch their processes. He said it is evident the glue was improperly applied; gaps in the glue allowing water to infiltrate around the glass.

I have called and written to Andersen numerous times. Their response is “We do NOT warranty any of our work done under a previous warranty.” I find this to be incredible. In other words, they can use defective windows to do their warranty work, knowing the windows will fail and the consumer is stuck!!!

Responses

  • Li
    Lisa Iwanski Levasseur Jun 01, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Has anyone at all had good results in trying to hold Andersen to their Warranty? I have 2 Frenchwood Gliders with same defect leak of bottom panel separating from glass. They admit the defect. They also admit their are not honoring the warranty because too many of the doors have the defect. Hmm, where to do go next with this ?

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Karen Condo Oct 03, 2019

    I am president of a condo development in Michigan with 184 units, built in the late 80's to 90's. All units have Andersen windows. Our Association has replaced glass that has imploded and repaired ones with negative air space and glass touching in the center at a cost $57-$128 per frame. At the rate of 5-15 per month for years. To the person who commented that it is $10 per window as they defend Andersen windows can you please put me in touch with a contractor who can do the work for $10. To the Law firm please contact me to be involved in any class action suit because we should be able to go through our records and supply you with lots of data regarding the endless problems we have had.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dan Hancock Jul 23, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too suffered rotted inside wood sash in vinyl clad double hung Anderson windows manufactured 12/97. 19 of my 44 Anderson windows have rotten wood sashes. Anderson representative says sashes warranty only 10 years and glass for 20 years even though when sold to me it was lifetime warranty...never buy Anderson windows again!!!

    0 Votes
  • Me
    MelRuthie Jul 15, 2016

    I am ALL DONE with Andersen. In the mid-1990s we replaced all the windows in our house with Andersen and we were happy. In 1999, we built a new house and put in all Andersen windows -- sold that house last year, we were happy with the windows. I had been told that Andersen quality is NOT what is used to be -- but when we started a remodel in the house we move to this year, we ordered Andersen windows including a $3K+ 3-panel patio door. VERY unhappy. After the installation, I thought the grain in the interior wood looked "off" -- but hoped that it would look better when stained/finished. This past week, our woodwork guy (who learned the trade from his great-grandfather, grandfather, father -- he's 4th generation) started staining, agreed the grain looked off -- and really, it looks worse even worse now. Just poor-quality wood that should have been used to make pallets, not my high-quality expensive patio door that is supposed to be a focal point of my remodeling project. I was shuffled around their customer support -- the first person I talked to said they would work to get me the "quality you expect from Andersen" -- but today I was told to jump in a lake, it's just a "variation in the wood grain" -- too bad, so sad. The doors & windows have not even been trimmed out -- brand new! -- and look like they are weathered and water-stained. I will NEVER EVER buy or recommend Andersen again, and will tell everybody I know.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Fred Lydick Feb 17, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello,
    This above-described post is just informative and is all about Andersen windows..These windows are quite perfect for any House. Nice post. Thank you too much...

    11:07 PM

    -1 Votes
  • Jw
    J Watson Jan 13, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought Andersen windows in 1985-86. First replaced my living room window. It is the hole front of my living room, no problems. Next bedroom windows in 1986. One of the windows in my bedroom, the vinyl bubbled up after about six months. Andersen replaced but did not pay for labor. My installer did not charged me. Then in 1999 I had a kitchen built on. A sliding patio door put in. Big mistake. First the vinyl on the sliding side started peeling. They replaced it. Then the stationary one was replaced. Okay. Last winter the doors started leaking. Not for rain but when the wind blows you freeze sitting in front of it. I called Andersen talked to Gene. I told him my story and he in common words, oh well sorry about your luck. He did sent me weather stripping. The ones that goes between the doors. Okay. So here I sit with the door leaking, and I am freezing typing this gripe when nothing is going to be done. Oh, I forgot Gene did send me, without cost the weather stripping and some touch up paint. So I called him today left him a not so nice voice mail and now I am still cold but feeling better. I will have this crapy door replaced with some other brand and bad mouth Andersen. Will never buy or recommend Andersen windows. I had been told the were not as good ad they used to be and those people were right. Pam Watson

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    From Iowa 72 Oct 18, 2015

    I see most of the complaints are vinyl . Which is the cheapest way to go. Get what you pay for I guess. I would suggest buying a window with the aluminum clad instead of the vinyl. I'm really surprised they even make a vinyl clad . Considering what heat does to vinyl. So I'm going to buy Andersen windows with a aluminum clad and see how they hold up . Because all the tests by companies ran on windows and Andersen and Pella still come out on top every time . Im looking through a window right now that you can barely see through do to the moisture inside the window. Its only 5 years old . It's not a Anderson or Pella . Uv rays does a lot of damage to plastics, so if you are buying a window make sure you don't buy vinyl and do the up keep on them if you want them to look nice and last a long time .

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    Lorenzo Fernandez Jr. Mar 03, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @From Iowa 72 Anderson E Series are absolutely horrible also!

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Terry Simpson Jul 23, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have a Garden Window that I had installed in 2000. I have had condensation problems with it ever since. I just found out last week that the sill has rotted, due to the condensation. I contacted Silverline windows ( a division of Anderson) right here in Lansing, IL. They said that it is not the fault of the manufacturer. I say that; "If the window had the proper insulation between the glass, then there would not have been any condensation." The cold came through both panes into the inside causing a warm and cold air to clash which results in condensation. I have a limited Lifetime warranty. I guess it exceeds their limit.
    So, I guess I will have to either have the window replaced with a standard window or have this one repaired and suffer the condensation problem longer.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Majid B. Jul 04, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have installed Andersen widows over 10 years ago. Although I do not have any issues with their single windows, I have frame issues on their factory joined multi window units. These are 200 series vynle clad windows. Corner of frames cracks and rain gets in. I have let them know about the issues multiple times, before my 10 year warrenty run out, but could never get them to accept responsibility. I am looking to take them to court. Anyone else having such issues? Any suggestions on law firm?

    0 Votes
  • Tw
    Twinsmom71 Apr 10, 2015

    My entire hourse has Anderson windows installed in 1997. They are the CIG-2 2-98.6 series, a combination of wood and vinyl. In the last two years the wood has started to show signs of mold. I have also noticed the windows seem to be holding extreme condensation between the panes (probably what is causing the mold). I called Anderson knowing full well they are out of warranty just asking for suggestions and they sent me cleaning tips. I followed the instructions and now the wood looks horrible and is peeling. Now they are telling me to sand and restain. Really? I realize the windows are now 18 years old, but other than the mold the widows are great. My husband works for a construction materials supplier and he had access to one of those infrared cameras. He brought it home and tested our windows and they are still not leaking in hardly any air. So I supposed I should be happy about that, but the mold really concerns me. While I don't want to NOT recommend Anderson windows, I definately don't recommend buying them with any wood. Go all vinyl!

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    sherry mueller Oct 19, 2014

    Rotting wood, metal on exterior doors peeling, hardware doesn't stay fit or tight', screens are flimsy!

    0 Votes
  • Ot
    otr ill Aug 20, 2014

    Problem: HP Printer not connecting to my laptop.

    I had an issue while connecting my 2 year old HP printer to my brother's laptop that I had borrowed for starting my own business. I used a quick google search to fix the problem but that did not help me.

    I then decided to get professional help to solve my problem. After having received many quotations from various companies, i decided to go ahead with Online Tech Repair (www.onlinetechrepairs.com).

    Reasons I chose them over the others:
    1) They were extremely friendly and patient with me during my initial discussions and responded promptly to my request.
    2) Their prices were extremely reasonable.
    3) They were ready and willing to walk me through the entire process step by step and were on call with me till i got it fixed.

    How did they do it
    1) They first asked me to state my problem clearly and asked me a few questions. This was done to detect any physical connectivity issues with the printer.
    2) After having answered this, they confirmed that the printer and the laptop were functioning correctly.
    3) They then, asked me if they could access my laptop remotely to troubleshoot the problem and fix it. I agreed.
    4) One of the tech support executives accessed my laptop and started troubleshooting.
    5) I sat back and watched as the tech support executive was navigating my laptop to spot the issue. The issue was fixed.
    6) I was told that it was due to an older version of the driver that had been installed.

    My Experience
    I loved the entire friendly conversation that took place with them. They understood my needs clearly and acted upon the solution immediately. Being a technical noob, i sometimes find it difficult to communicate with tech support teams. It was a very different experience with the guys at Online Tech Repairs. You can check out their website www.onlinetechrepairs.com or call them on [protected].
    Would definitely recommend this service to anyone who needs help fixing their computers.
    Thanks a ton guys. Great Job...!!

    0 Votes
  • Jk
    JKMuller Aug 13, 2014

    Andersen Window Warranty sucks just like the windows. As a builder Andersen windows should NOT be your windows of choice their warranty is very poor and they don't stand behind their workmanship.Please look at other windows and their warranty, you don't want to be looking for NEW WINDOWS IN 10 years, YES 10 YEARS!!!. Let this be a word to the WISE!,

    0 Votes
  • Da
    davidwidow Nov 28, 2013

    I have Andersen double hung widows and have an insect problem. Cluster flies are getting through the screen!! Worse, they are coming in via the widow!!! I have put up plastic to seal the widow off to see if the source are the widows. After several days, there were many flies trapped between the plastic on the interior of the house widow and the inside of the widow. Andersen sent a rep out to see about my situation. He took the widow apart and we found many dead flies trapped inside the vertical vinyl slots. He said, " I have never seen anything like this."
    His report to Andersen was that the widows are functioning properly. Andersen claims all sorts of thinks. The widows were not installed correctly, the flies are coming in from another source. ( That is why I isolated 3 widows on the interior of the house to test this out). Our conversation was over 2 hours long. I explained my heat loss idea that attracted the flies. YES, IF THE FLIES ARE COMING IN, THERE ARE AIR LEAKS!!! The flies are coming in on the sides of the screen edges and then going into the vertical channels the widows open with and I think through a 1/4" gap at the top of the widow's vinyl. (see picture on previous complaint). They refused to give me the detailed plans of the vinyl structure that I planned to use to make the repair easier. I did send pictures to an email address that did not work which they gave me!!! They promised to call me when the report came in. I called several times and they did not call me as promised. I had to find out the news my phoning them. There is much more to this event but, I do not want to write a book. I feel that the widows are over designed(or poorly) and made of cheap vinyl that will rot out in the weather. I still remember olds 1920 houses with double hung widows that did not have this problem. The were wooden framed. I have a 1922 house, also that has double hung widows that does not have insects coming in.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Disappointed David Nov 11, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We have Andersen windows that are cracked at the frames. I found this out when I replased my hail dammaged siding, all of my window frames were cracking. Some windows were even molding and rotting at only 14 years old. I wil never recomend Andersen windows to anyone. Their customer service is worthless and wanted to charge me 26.00 dollars for a one ounce tube of crack repair compound. This will only delay the real problem. Please think twice before purchasing from Andersen.

    0 Votes
  • Us
    US Navy member Oct 30, 2013

    Why has Anderson authorized used replacement parts for my Anderson doors deer warranty? The tracking # indicates my replacement part was delivered to the repairman 10pm today but the door was replaced at 4pm with used parts. I believe I should not have to pay for a previously used part to be installed. I'm seeking a new replacement part and free labor to re-installed a new replacement by a reputable installer or I will seek legal action, screwing a service member doesn't go over well in my state.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    LeRoy Landin Oct 30, 2013

    I am an Andersen dealer and install tech. Andersen is the best company to deal with i have ever been associated with. I have 29 years in the glass and window business. This IS the only company i would even consider for windows!!

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    HandyMike Oct 21, 2013

    Over a period of about 4 or 5 years, I installed 9 Andersen casements, 3 double-hung and a Frenchwood sliding glass door in my house. I found the installations were quite simple (in new construction) and Andersen's instructions were clear and complete. The reason I chose Andersen casements was that my Dad had one installed in his house in 1962 and there was never a problem with it. I read some of these complaints and I can't understand the complaints about them honoring their warranty. I did have a problem with one of the vinyl sashes cracking and allowing water to enter the sash about 5 years after installation. I called Andersen's 800 number expecting they would send someone to inspect the damage to determine if it was indeed a manufacturing defect. Instead they just sent me a sash (I told them I would install it - it's not brain surgery!) no charge. A couple other windows, about 17 - 18 years after installation developed an oval shaped fogging on the inside of (not between) the window. Again, I called the 800 number and again they sent two sashes no charge and no questions asked. I installed the Frenchwood door myself in 1993 (purchased from Home Depot) and have never had a problem with it.

    Yes, there is a tiny amount of condensation around the edges of the windows. I did ask them about this when I called about the oval shaped condensation and they explained that (as someone else pointed out) my house was damp. And they were right about that, too. I can live with that as I'd rather have a tiny amount of condensation than dried out sinuses.

    Here's a pic of the bay window I built where there used to be a flat wall. Since the bay was structural, I decided to use three casements instead of a "bay" window which Andersen says are not meant to be weight bearing. I installed this about 13 years ago and it has been problem free so far.

    Most of these complaints sound to me like the results of improper installation. I'm not a contractor nor do I work for Andersen, I just thought that after the great treatment I have received from them over the years, they deserved some praise

    1 Votes
  • Am
    amaglow1 Sep 26, 2013

    We had windows installed in January 2013 by Andersen. We have a problem with the glass panes being bowed out (convex) in the windows. This distorts the reflections, makes the windows look like plastic, a straight edge placed on the windows rock back and forth. So far customer service says that all the windows have that and it is a quality of heat and wind load. We are pursuing getting flat glass in the panels. Has anyone else had this problem? If so, was there any resolution?

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    GEEIJO Jun 13, 2013

    Wow Andersen has no fans.need to replace windows because they leak under driving rain conditions.does anyone have suggestions for ones that perform well ?

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anderson 200 May 28, 2013

    Series 200 windows leak - not just air but water! I have called Anderson and they are great at giving you the run around. They will have you measuring everything in an attempt to claim it is you fault. I will never again use Anderson Windows!!!

    1 Votes
  • Be
    Beberoni Mar 11, 2013

    I am wondering if some of these complaints, are not on Anderson windows, instead of Andersen. Be aware folks, there are two window companies, Andersen, who normally sales a good quality window, and Anderson, who sales cheaper windows and I believe they came into the market with that name with the sole intent to make people think they are the quality Andersen windows. Andersen and Anderson. Check that out.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Beberoni Mar 11, 2013

    I see complaints about Andersen windows, spelled Anderson, and I know there is a cheaper window called Anderson. I am thinking many of the complaints here may be against Anderson, not Andersen, but the people complaining are not aware there are two different companies, named Andersen and Anderson.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    windasman Feb 14, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ok, you complainers may want to make SURE you're thinking of the right manufacturer. AndersOn did have a lot of complaints, and I believe is no longer in business. If you're referring to AndersEn, at least have the sense to spell it right...

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jon A Feb 11, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Totally agree, Andersen products are junk!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jon A Feb 11, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I recently attempted to get warranty service on my Andersen windows which were installed in my newly constructed house only seven years ago. Since the first winter, the windows have leaked air which caused terrible moisture build up which led to mold growth. My builder said that this would eventually go away as the house ages, well its only gotten worse! When I contacted Andersen, they told me that my windows were still under warranty, but the problem I have is not their issue, I have too much humidity in the house! I run a dehumidifier, so I know that it is not the problem. I just want to warn everyone who is considering new construction, to avoid choosing Andersen windows as they will not honor their warranty on their inferior windows! Buyer beware.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Janet engler Jan 21, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    In 1989, we installed 23 Andersen Perma-shield Narroline vinyl clad windows throughout our house. In 2007 while sweeping our deck, the broom went through the siding and we found the bottom sill of the kitchen nook windows/ (plus frame & siding) deteriorated from water (you could squeeze the sill and water would come out). The trail of the water damage started at each corner of the bottom side sills of the windows (before dismantling, the windows looked perfect and the only sign of any problem was a slight discoloration on the inside wood sash).
    At first Andersen said via phone it was an installation problem. After we had an independent business inspect the damage, they stated no error in installation but "The wood frame under the sill cladding is nearly completely deteriorated. The most obvious location for the water to enter is at the junction of the exterior cladding where the jamb cladding meets the sill cladding. All the windows have a gap in this lower corner ranging from 1/16" to 3/16". The design shows no attempt to caulk these during manufacturing or any type of counter flashing to create an overlap." We contacted Andersen again and after several months they finally sent someone to take a look at the problem. Their answer was our "limited warranty had expired". They offered a goodwill payment of $600 contingent upon us signing a release of all claims against them. The amount was to go towards two of the eight kitchen nook windows we replaced, but to us, this was an insult and we did not accept it.
    We purchased the windows because of their advertisement of permanence: "since windows become a virtually permanent member of your home once they are installed" & "tough long lasting Perma Shield Vinyl on frame exterior". Nowhere did we see an advertisement of a limited warranty of 10-20 years. (Who in their right mind would put in windows which would last only 10-20 years!!!). Plus their advertisement (which I still have) states "All weather exposed parts of perma shield window and gliding door frames are also covered with vinyl to provide a weather lock between the window and your house". Although their advertisement (copyright 1982) shows vinyl on the sill sides, ours did not come as such, which we believe is causing the water to get inside the wood core and rot from the inside out.
    Today, we just had to replace another window because of inside wood discoloration and found the same deterioration as we found in 2007. There is also an area of water damage below another window which we have not yet torn apart, but will in a few weeks. Wish we had never heard about Andersen windows and had gone with a less expensive brand which would have lasted about as long as the Andersen windows!!! Janet Engler, Chehalis, Washington

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Patricia L Wright Jan 16, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just built a home 2012... And YES I ALSO THOUGHT ANDERSON WINDOWS ""WHERE" suppose to be a good company... Well my story started 10 months ago during a storm that water was pouring through the huge 6 pain window we had purchased from Anderson. I called Anderson that night Oct. 29 2012. and I was given a repair guys phone number to contact. He did come out first thing in the morning.. I was told that there was no SEALENT BETWEEN the windows when they where all put together.. I had 3 large double hung and 1 large arch that also had 3 pains of glass at the top all boxed up together with NO NOTICE TO THE INSTALLERS that this window needed to be sealed..."" in between each section"".PRIOR TO INSTALLING !!! That is just NUTS !! Anderson needs to notify the consumer that when they buy their windows, the consumer is responsible to finish weather proofing in between the sections.. I would of bought a window somewhere else... Now I have a window 1 year old that is warped with water damage, that it's my fault I should of known to weather proof this window... PRIOR TO INSTALLING !!!

    0 Votes
  • Rb
    rbert7 Dec 12, 2012

    I have a house on the Oregon Coast with 34 Andersen windows installed in 1989 during a major remodel, we added 17 more Andersen windows in 2004 with an addition. Two of the Original windows failed in 2005 and were replaced with no problem under warranty, I had to pay to have them installed. Three door panels installed in 2004 delamainated and the dosrs were replaced in 2007 with Andersen picking up the labor and materials. Last month one of the doors installed under warranty in 2007 failed, Andersen is replacing the door but is charging me $245 labor to replace it. The windows are are holding up well, but he door panels delaminating is caused by a manufacturing defect and Andersen needs to pick up the tab. In addition when the doors are replaced the interior wood has to be refinished at my cost. I am now waiting for the other two door panels replaced in 2007 to delaminate. What is my recouse when they fail outside of the warranty period?

    0 Votes
  • Df
    dfa Dec 11, 2012

    We built our house 18 yrs ago and installed all Andersen double hung "Permashield" windows. Like others, we were led to believe these would windows would last. We have so far replaced 3 of the windows due to the so called "Permashield" coating cracking on the outside and allowing the wood to rot. To those who say you can't expect a window to last a lifetime...I expect a window that is vinyl clad to last...after all you CANNOT paint them or seal them periodically like a wood window without the shield. In other words you CANNOT do any maintenance on them that you would if they were not "protected" from the elements. AND we paid a premium price for them! I am writing to the company and including pictures of the rotted windows...for all the good it will do!

    0 Votes
  • Sv
    sv gibson Aug 26, 2012

    i know one of the service techs and i hear a lot of issues dealing with warranty work with this company, They charge such high rates for labor that basically the customer cannot afford it.
    They have many issues, this company. They may be a large company, but they have let go of
    standing behind their products and trying to put the customer first. Remember them, the customer.? These companys become to big and loose something along the way. wake up,
    you can loose it all tomorrow. .

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    chas2 Jun 23, 2012

    Brand new house. 1 year old. Many wooden double hung. All are loose and leaking wind and dirt. So far Anderson is totally stonewalling me. These windows suck and they don't want to help.

    1 Votes
  • Yo
    yoopergirl May 24, 2012

    We built our house 30 years ago and used all Anderson windows. The vinyl on the outside of the windows is cracking and peeling, basically disintegrating. When we chose Anderson, we believed these windows would last the life of our home. We are very disappointed and don't know what to do, since there is no warranty.

    1 Votes
  • Un
    Unhappy in NV May 24, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We don't have a complaint against Andersen Windows but the grids are beyond ridiculous!!! We built our home and installed 67 Andersen windows all will decorative grids. To date we have had a problem with removing and replacing the grids. We have broken many of them and have resorted to just slapping them back up piecemeal until the next time the windows need cleaning. They are absolutely impossible to take out and put back in after washing the windows. We cannot have a window washing service come to do our windows because they are so rough with the grids that we're sure there would be many more broken grids. The better solution would have been placing the grids sandwiched in between the two panes of glass. The frustration is not worth the extra money and effort.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mrs. Wright Apr 26, 2012

    This just sounds like best Buy...if something goes wrong with a product you buy from them and it is still under warranty...even if you still had a year of the warranty left...you must by new warranty as once you get a repair, the old warranty is null and void...good money making scam. But I don't think that Anderson doors is stupid...their doors and windows were installed in the houses around were I live...and if you want to replace a door for a new door...because of the oddball sizing...the only thing you can replace it with is...you got it...another Anderson door, unless you have the cash to get someone to come in and completely redo the rough opening for you. NExt time I buy a new house I am sure to check to make sure the windows and doors are of STANDARD sizing...and it better not come with the name Andersen!!!

    0 Votes
  • Do
    doogymd Mar 27, 2012

    I built a house in 2005 using all Anderson windows, except for two, they were pace windows, you tell me my house is to air tight I run two dehumidifiers and a air exchanger and they still condensate and are molding and rotting at the sill, the outside sashes are falling off and 3 of the 8 leak real bad, now for the pace windows same wood sash in perfect condition no issues what so ever . Windows are left wide open, meaning no blinds or curtains and they still ice and sweat up, I can cover the pace windows and they do not ice or sweat and they were to of the cheaper windows . Please explain !!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mariannemm Aug 03, 2011

    Please do not do business with this company that makes such junk. I bought an Anderson Storm 3000 model door in May 2008 and the window frame plastic has fallen apart, warped and cracked in less than two years. I put up with it but then the screen handle metal lock literally fell on the floor one day last year and I was so shocked to discovered the only thing that was holding it on all this time was some piece of double sided tape, seriously that is not even logical let alone secure!!! What were they thinking? Who would get away with designing the taping on a lock and selling it? So if the main door is locked by the key you can slide the window with your hands, since the lock just fell off, and there is no way to fix it or replace it securely, I can help but wonder what engineer thought to tape a lock into place?
    So I called customer rep to finally complain and they said they realized the issue and now have designed the lock, that now actually screws into the door frame (it is really attached now, what a novel idea!) And now I can have the privilege to buy that replacement to fix that issue for a mere 27 dollars, and the window frame piece for 18. So for 45 bucks with tax the new "lock assembly" arrived and I was now shocked again, the lock is now also cheap plastic, not even a metal lock. So I had to think so what if this new lock actually really screws in, it is PLASTIC folks, the door frame is the same junk quality plastic, crap that warped and cracked previously in only two years time with little use. I am very unhappy I spend a lousy 45 bucks for cheap inexpensive plastic pieces to fix their really bad door.
    What a loser company, don't waste your time please save yourself the heart aches. I also asked for the manager, as the customer rep was not helpful, I complained to the manager and was given the "we are so sorry for your inconvenience " routine over and over no matter what I complaint I shared, but they were not going to help do anything to fix it or offer anything but to offer me the deal to buy their junk solution for 45 bucks. Of course they never mentioned the lock solution they offer to fix the problem was also just a junk plastic piece and not even metal when they tell you it is priced at 27 dollars! So, even now they acknowledge their design flaw regarding the two sided tape... is a metal lock that actually attaches to the door too much to ask for a 27 dollar replacement I had to pay for to replace the tape? I even mentioned I would write bad reviews about their products to let everyone know about these issues and that did not faze them at all…. Buyers beware.

    0 Votes
  • An
    AndersenLiner May 23, 2011

    First a disclaimer: I am a current Andersen employee and have been for some time. I work in one of their factories manufacturing a variety of their windows. I can't speak to the warranty part of any complaint with Andersen as that is a customer service issue, however I have heard from several of my friends who have purchased Andersen windows that when a problem does arise, it doesn't stay a problem for long as Andersen solves it very quickly. What I can speak to is the quality of manufacturing that goes into one of their windows. I can and will put my word on the line that this company actually cares about what they send out the door. Obviously with any large manufacturing corporation there will be some emphasis on numbers over quality, however I cannot tell you how many windows I have had to remake because of the slightest defect on the unit that the company deemed was unacceptable (such as too many nail holes in the vinyl liner). In my 10+ years of experience manufacturing their windows, I have NEVER seen ANY window shipped out that has a major defect in it such as a large hole in the vinyl that doesn't belong . Granted some minor mistakes are made, such as small holes (like smaller than a pinhead) in the corners of the vinyl being overlooked, which is a VERY easy thing to miss when working on a high output line as anybody who has worked on window manufacturing lines can attest to. (I have friends who work at a small competing window company in the area who deal with the same problem) If and when a problem does arise the higher ups do a very good job of letting us know what the problem was and how to avoid it in the future. Again, I AM a happy Andersen employee and I have no experience on the warranty side of the window, but as to the manufacturing quality; it is very high. If anything they worry TOO much about quality as we always seem to be behind on orders because they keep telling us to slow down so we can look the window over to make sure nothing's wrong with it. I also believe that with any high value purchase, research needs to be done and questions need to be asked. If you feel Andersen isn't the window for you than move on, however I strongly believe that if you research Andersen you'll find that the happy customers outnumber the unhappy ones a great deal. And any large company, such as Andersen, is going to have unhappy customers.

    0 Votes
  • M1
    m103619 Apr 12, 2011

    My house was built in 1988, 15 Andersen double hungs were installed. They are all leaking water at the seams of the vinyl wrapping, which caused the frames and sills to soak with water and rot. I too, thought I was installing a window that was a maintenance free lifetime window at a premium price. Now they all need to be replaced, estimates are around $15000. Andersen says 20 years is good life for a window. The house next door was built in 1735, stil has original windows. My daughter's house, around 1900, still original windows. Had I known Andersen windows were 20 year units (I am sure they have been leaking for many years, however it was not noticable due to the vinyl cover), I would have selected a different brand.

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    sadley miss led Apr 04, 2011

    In 2003 purchased a patio door warrenty stated 10 year coverage on hardware -handle finish came off called company stated that that color was not covered along with certain other colors- why didn't they state that when I purchased the product the brochure said no such thing-would cost me double the original amount to replace item.
    I WILL NEVER PURCHASE OR RECOMMEND AN ANDERSEN PRODUCT TO ANYBODY AND I WILL PAST THIS ALONG TO THE BUILDER WHO RECOMMENDED ANDERSEN TO ME !!!
    Sadly Misled

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.