Anchor House Financial Logo

Anchor House Financial

Having problems with Anchor House Financial?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

Customer Service

5662 Calle Real, Suite #207, Gaviota
Santa Barbara, California
United States - 93117
Mon8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tue8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wed8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thu8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Fri8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
SatClosed
SunClosed
Business Management
Mr. Michael Davenport, Partner

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Davenport, Partner

Alternate Business Names
MDSQ LLC

Complaints & Reviews

Anchor House Financialrefund not received

After a payment of two hundred ninety nine dollars being made to receive the company services to help me locate a house anywhere in the country. Within the printed privacy policy it was also stated to an agreement with a refund if there was not a home found with the company. I had to cancel the account within months because there was not any help given to look more into the homes but there was never a refund of the payment placed on my credit card. The company has played me out of 299 dollars as I can see along with others who posted comments that opened online accounts.

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Anchor House Financialservice

    Called because I saw they could help with getting a house. Cost 199.00 well we never got a house but they sure did take our money. When asked for a refund you had to do all this stuff just to get your money back. Well u took my 199.00 and I want my REFUND you say is fully refundable. You can contact me at 419two048660 to get my information to send my refund back.

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      Anchor House FinancialPre-foreclosure properties

      I was going through a divorce and my credit was trashed. This company promised me that I could find a pre-foreclosure property for little or no money down and very small payments. I signed up, followed all the instructions, and four months later had no response at all. I called customer service and was told I could request a refund if I sent a certified letter explaining why I was requesting the refund. I sent the letter, but heard nothing for three months. I called customer service and was told they never received my certified letter, so I sent another one. The second letter went unanswered for FIVE MONTHS before it was returned and stamped "Mailbox Abandoned."

      After some internet research, I learned that owner Michael Davenport has been arrested for fraud, so now I'm hoping there is some sort of class-action lawsuit that will allow for the chance of recouping at least some of the $199 I paid.

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        Anchor House FinancialRent-to-own homes

        This. Company ran a ad on craiglists June2015 that read Rent to own the home of your dream no money down or as low as $700.00 a month for your house payment then when you call them they will tell you its a one time fee to get you start on looking for your home, and that fee is $199.00 then you have to create an account withbyour last name and a ID number that they give you so they will know how to identify you when you call, they ask for your email address then you go on thier site and they suppoisely have a list of 100 to 300 houses on there site from state to state and then they send you some letters with the companies name on it and tell you to put your signture on it and make copies of them, then when you see a house you like they want you to mail that letter to the homeowner, but do not want you to contact them at all they tell you they will do that when they receive one of those letters, but a lot of these people do not know this company have there address and want to know how didvthey house get on there list and how do they generate this list from week to week that they tell you they update every week which is a big lie!!! When you ask for yoyr Money back they tell you that you have to wait 90 days before you get your money back then you have to write a letter to them telling why you don, t like the company then they claim they will send you your money, but they don, t they will keep giving you the run around My Husband. And I called them in November 2015 and talk to three different Supervisor, s who kept hanging up on us each time we called to dicuss them sending our money back, we had to file a complaint with BBB of California and we filed a Complaint with Consumers Protection Division I just wish we wouldvhave done more research on them before we sent our money to them...Please do not fool with this Company, We are still trying to get our money back people work too hard for there money to get ripped off by companies like this!! Couple of Winston Salem NC

        Add your opinion

          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

          Anchor House FinancialHouse search

          I was looking for a home in Tennessee as we were moving from Ohio. Gave them my credit card. They charged $199 to my card and gave me addresses of homes. Made a trip to Tennessee and found out that all the homes still had occupants that were in the midst of forclosures and it was up to me to let them know that they needed to move out. Most of the homes were dumps and I was not going to be the one to tell these people that they had to move.would be doing their dirty work for them. Now I am trying to get my $199 back and after some phone calls found out that I have to send the letter certified be charged a $25 fee. Month later no check and after calling them I was told I sent it to the wrong address yet it was signed for. The address I mailed it to is on their website. I was told to send another letter regular mail as they say they never received it. Stay away from these people!!!

          Add your opinion

            By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

            We are here to help

            • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
            • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
            • Honest and unbiased reviews
            • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

            Anchor House FinancialHousing

            Yes just about an hour ago same thing been a customer since 9/20/2015 and just today after sending out 32 letters received no response. They keep saying there is nothing they can do and my service will be canceled in September with no refund even though I have contentiously been calling and leaving e-mails letting them know the status of my account. I want my money back we can all go in on an attorney [protected]@gmail.com or if you are one start getting a hold of us lets do this

            Add your opinion

              By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

              Anchor House Financial — The are a scam

              Found their add in local websites for rental properties. We called and got an agent named Paula she was on...

              Anchor House FinancialHome listing

              122140 11/14/2015 1:27:22 PM i got this product i should have known i will join any one that wishes to be apart of class action suite. i am in new york states . • I thought our state would do something about guys like this but I guess I was wrong. Sometimes I think I am the only one trying to make an honest living, then companies like Anchor House Financial
              5662 Calle Real Suite #207 Goleta, CA 93117 legally steal from the American people. I had people look up my name from the letters I sent out to them and they came to my home asking why I said their house is in foreclosure. I as for my money back a week later sent out over a dozen letters locally. I should have known better coming from an ad on Craig’s list. I will never get my money back I should have just called my bank and put a stop pay, I was fooled with the money back guaranty.

              • I would luv to see this company be burn from the earth, if these guys are not the definition of predatory marketing I don’t know what is.

              I guess I did learn one thing; the world is people constantly looking for ways to swindle other people out of their earnings. Threw false hopes dreams, the true American way let’s just make a company that is based on truth but we will just tell lies.

              i wish every one in NY to call them just to tie up there lines...
              [protected]

              PS 'If it is to good to be true' well you know the rest

              Add your opinion

                By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                • Jm
                  Jman123 May 16, 2016

                  My wife and I back in January of 2016 decided after I had gotten real sick to move back to our home state. We ran into anchor house financial unfortunately! I unfortunately caught their scam the next day after paying their 199.00 fee. I simply called the next day and asked for a refund. The man on the other end stated to me to call back during normal hours and request our refund then. You think easy and maybe an understanding company that makes things right with their clients...NO. Very rude people...very dis-honest . I called the next business day to request our refund as stated to me that we had to wait 90 days until we could request our refund. They state that they record all call...NOT TRUE as they would be out of business if they did so by the way they talk to their clients and their horrific lies! After the 90 day wait we proceed to request our refund. Once again a major issue and concern...get this..we did not contact any home owners nor did we look at any properties because you are unable to as there are no actual pictures of the homes. They now state that we have to send five denial letters from homeowners to get our money back. No wait a moment . So I simply ask that we did not pursue to use their company after we paid, but now they ask us to select any five homeowners and ask for a letter of denial? That right there is illegal . I hope and pray that once we sue this company that others will follow. They do not deserve to be in business...they are robbing people under a statute that now if taken before a judge will rule in favor of complaintant. Please get an attorney right away if you are having the same issues. It's time to make these people pay back what they have taken!

                  0 Votes

                Anchor House FinancialRefunds are not easy to obtain if you pay your money... Beware!

                This company is a fast talking scam. I was told by someone that it's no risk because there is a 100% refund if the services does not work out for me. I called to cancel because obviously it didn't work out. People were not interested in handing their homes over that easily. I called to ask for a refund and was referred to this terms of service area where it asks for 5 letters of denial from 5 different home owners before they would refund any amount. Well what homeowner is gonna take their time to send me a denial letter saying that they are not interested, oh yea and their full name and address has to be on the letter along with their signature? I wouldn't waste my time like that. I'd just throw the letter in the trash. They got me good but it's a lesson learned because I know my money is as good as gone. You only see those refund terms AFTER you've signed up and paid your $199 and have access to their website. Not before. UNLESS YOU WANT TO WASTE $199 BUCKS, DO NOT GIVE THIS COMPANY YOUR MONEY. YOU WILL NEVER GET IT BACK AND I DON'T SEE ANYONE ON HERE COMPLAINING WHO'S HAD GOOD RESULTS WORKING WITH THEM. Buyer beware!!! Pay at your own risk!!

                Add your opinion

                  By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                  • Sh
                    ShirleyHP Feb 11, 2016

                    I agree!!!

                    1 Votes
                  • He
                    Herbert Brown Mar 07, 2016

                    Hello... would you be interested in petitioning for a class action suit?

                    1 Votes
                  • Bi
                    Billie Eldridge Jun 19, 2016
                    This comment was posted by
                    a verified customer
                    Verified customer

                    I don't know who to contact to turn this scam business in I'm a mother of four children barely able to afford food for us to eat looking for a home and the man who spoke to me on the phone went bye Richard the number [protected] is how to Contact American Standard online. Com he gave me his cell phone number that's out of CA [protected], I called him to ask for a refund he answered the phone but hung up before a word was said I called again he let it go to voice mail. My bank account shows this transaction is on hold but they can't stop payment they are telling me Anchor House Financial is the only one who is able to stop payment my family and I lost 199.00 that's a lot to us.

                    1 Votes

                  Anchor House Financial[censored] Rippoff

                  My daughter and I are homeless and have been trying for the best of a year to find a place. Seen anchor house financial on Craig's list and I called talked with this nice lady. I was hesitant about giving them money but she assured me that there was nothing to worry about that if I wasn't happy with the products that it was completely refundable. It's been a month since I did and haven't been contacted by any property owners or them so I started asking around and I'm pretty sure they don't exist. The world is going to Hell So is the internet. Everyone is trying to scam every one. My advice is, If it's not face to face property in hand then it's fake.

                  Add your opinion

                    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                    Anchor House FinancialHouse finding services

                    Wow this company is a JOKE!!! My parents wanted to sign up for their services because they were looking for a home. They found their services on craigslist and thought this was too good to be true. So my dad spoke with a gentlemen buy the name of Michael who had also given my dad his cell phone number which is [protected] and when we called that he called us back, he said it would be a one time fee of $199 with a refund up to a year if they didn't find a home through the services. We had him on speaker phone so we could hear everything he had to say. After he was done explaining the program it seemed perfect, mind you I took down notes on EVERYTHING he said. We gave him the cc info and he told us he would send us an email and walk us through everything. He then said he would call us right back. I then looked up the company and the reviews and seen that this company was fraudulent. Within 5 min he called and I told him my parents did not want to participate in their program and he told me to contact their customer service, which was closed. We called the bank to stop payment and report fraud, as the bank was stopping it and putting a block on the account they were running the card for another $199. So they were trying to take $400 from my parents because I told them they were fraudulent and that they didn't want any part of their program. Oh and when I was reading back everything he had told us, like how they set up all the appointments he said no no you have to put letters in the peoples mailboxes so they can contact you!!! What the heck, that doesn't even sound legitimate. Everything he told us he back tracked after the payment was ran and said no that's not how the program works.

                    Add your opinion

                      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                      Anchor House FinancialReal estate scam

                      Really, how do you people sleep at night? We are a couple in our mid sixty's and have been robbed by people we have helped. Seen your ad on craigslist and we both thought maybe this could be our lucky break, but of course we didn't you went ahead and stole our $199 . Now we just wanted to let you know that, that money wasn't easy to come by and that we were homeless last year for a little while with our 5 cat's. So to say the least we just didn't want that to happen to us again and your deal sounded great, yeah right! I hope that this doesn't happen to one of your mom or even your grandma, I know that you all have family and it could happen to a family member, unless you have a very cold heart and don't give a damn which is probably the case. You people are ###!

                      Add your opinion

                        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                        Anchor House FinancialCompany uses switch-and-bait tactics to swindle $199

                        Like others, I called a number on Craigslist about a home. I asked A LOT of quetions, and even called the guy - Shawn Banes Agent #2402 numerous times to see if the answers would be any different. I was calling his cell phone directly. He answered the phone regardless of day or time and was very polite. He provided an address to a home that was in the area we were interested in and we looked it up on Zillow, drove by, saw that it was empty but did not have a for sale sign in the yard. We looked around and thought that would be great. He explained the program as a "take-over-payments" type of Rent -to-own deal and that all of the homes were in Pre Foreclosure. He explained there was a one-time fee of $199 to cover a the access to the property listings and the title search once a property was found. He never indicated the program was a DIY program, rather appearing as if they would provide the services and help us find qualified properties and they would "set appointments for you to go take a look at the homes. Once you find the one you like, we will sit you down with the owner and the bank and negotiate a contract that will Deed the property to you once you agree to the terms. The terms are the initial mortgage instrument terms and payments. You simply pick up where the owner left off, continue making the payments as contracted, and then own the home after all payments are made. The bank negotiates all of this with you and is completely involved and knows what is going on so if you decide to refinance the home in a few years, and have made good payment history with them, they will most likely offer finacing to you based on your established credit by making payments on the home directly to them. Remember, the house is Deeded to you. The owner's credit will not suffer but they will still be on the mortgage until you refinance which is an option, not required. You will not need any money down, and there are no credit checks... just take over the existing payments." It took us 2 weeks to pay the fee to get started. When I finally was able to pay the fee, he called back from a blocked number and then gave the information needed to get online access and how to use the website. He provided the Customer Service number and steps to follow. But he never explained that we would have to do all the digging ourselves, and he also failed to mention that the homes on their so-called list were from 2011 and 2012... this is 2016. I know how to research properties in our area so I looked up a list of homes (54 of them showed up), and then researched 26 of them. Every single one of them had already been forclosed and auctioned. I called Shawn back and explained this and he stated he had never heard of such a thing... to call the Customer Service number and speak with the legal department and tell them the information is not matching up... yada yada yada. Clearly this company is built on scamming people out of their money with no recourse to get the money back. In their Terms and Agreements, it states to send a letter by UPS but to wait 90 days and provide proof that the information is incorrect and then they investigate. If they agree to refund the money, they keep 10% of the funds and then issue a check 30 days later...so it would take 120 days to even see if we are able to get a refund. That spells SCAM. Additionally, when I was asking the initial questions, the one thing they would not provide was the company name so I could research it beforehand. I should have taken that as my first clue that this was not legit and I was about to throw $199 out the window. When I asked about the "We are state regulated" as Shawn mentioned and described a couple of times, I asked specifically for who the regulating body was and the answer was "we are regulated to do business in California as a network and support to Real Estate investors" which means they probably have a buisness license, but they are not "regulated" by the Real Estate Commission or any other regulatory body. This company needs to be investigated for being a scam and the people who have been taken should receive a full refund. The company misrepresents their services with lies and half-truths, using swith-bait tactics; refuses to provide the company name prior to making payment; then denies any wrong-doing even with proof in black and white.

                        Company uses switch-and-bait tactics to swindle $199
                        Company uses switch-and-bait tactics to swindle $199
                        Company uses switch-and-bait tactics to swindle $199

                        Add your opinion

                          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                          Anchor House FinancialFraud Company !

                          I spoke with a Guy. I explained to him that I was looking for a home in the area of Ventura Sherman Oaks .He explained to me that there were 250 listings within. After paying the 199$ dollars I was able to use their search engine. Also they stated to send as many letters as possible to owners of homes in forclosure from their listings. They said they would refund my money if I show written proof of 5 denials from homowners. The catch or problem is that no homeowners even respond at all...and they want me to go and nock on their doors to ask them for denial letters..!!! I sent 30 letters with no response. I want a full refund for the blatant lie about 250 houses in that area... This guy lied and deceived me to get a payment. This is the worst kind of scam possible because it preys on weak homeless people's money that simply want to gain some stability for their children. Anchor House Financial - Unethical behaviour - stay-away...

                          Add your opinion

                            By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                            Anchor House Financial$199 fee not refunded

                            They made it sound awesome and a good deal on the phone. Then after I paid I started doing more digging and found out that it's a big scam they said they can refund me my money until 90 days even though I just made the transaction within two hours of me calling back. They were rude. So now basically lesson learned but it's the principle of the matter times are tough and it sounded good. One of the houses is next to where I live now which I know isn't in for closure. It's bs they can do this without having been sued

                            Add your opinion

                              By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                              Anchor House Financial — Unethical behaviour - stay-away

                              Thank God for the internet... 9/19/15 - location: Bowie, MD. I responded to an add on Craigslist. Of course...

                              Anchor House FinancialRude & Unprofessional

                              I called on 4 different places I saw advertised on Craigslist and each number I reached the same place of business. Though they do not answer the phone Anchor House Financial. I had to ask several times what company I was calling before I was finally told. Olivia hung up on me when I she couldn't comprehend what I was saying. Then when I called back, it was the most unprofessional woman on the other end. She nothing but 'Yeah', was eating and chewing and talking with her mouth full on the phone. I am glad I found out what this fraudulent place was before coughing up money I don't have

                              Add your opinion

                                By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                                Anchor House FinancialFraud Company !!

                                I was looking for a apartment, i saw this company ad in craigslist.
                                i called the number, a guy picked up the phone and started saying that the company has many list of cheap houses, that are just lying there unnoticed and you can have a 3d view of every houses, and he started taking about $199 dollar so just to enter the website and view the listing, if i don't like the money gets refunded. as i view there website they had a listing of a houses but no contact of the owner, and no picture of the house either, forget about the 3d view. when i call them back a women picked it up and say's you have to google to get the information, i said i want my money back. she said i have to wait 90 days to get my money refunded. later on when i saw there information on refund, it says that i have to get 5 denial later from the landlord and mail it to them with my address on it.
                                I knew i was busted. Now i see in this complain board, i wasn't the only one getting cheated. They should be Jailed. I am a hardworking student and a musician $199 dollar was a lot of money to me.

                                Add your opinion

                                  By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                                  Anchor House Financial — deceived and lied to and never got a response from any homeowner

                                  I spoke with a woman named Erica. I explained to her that I was looking for a home in the Lowell, MI zipcode...

                                  Anchor House FinancialRude Housing Coordinators

                                  My biggest complaint was their RUDE housing coordinators. I called several times, and finally got a nice person to speak with. I did use their services to help me find pre-forclosed properties, and I DID get into a house after I did all the footwork. It took me 5 weeks. But when I signed up for $199, I was given their customer support people, and they were very nice. They need to train their housing coordinators to be as friendly as their customer support team. Also, I am able to get more properties for up to year, and they don't try to sell me anything further.
                                  Would recommend them.

                                  Add your opinion

                                    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                                    • Ke
                                      KentJ99 Jul 27, 2015
                                      This comment was posted by
                                      a verified customer
                                      Verified customer

                                      It just sounds like you have to do a little work - but well worth it. Do you still have the house? Would you mind speaking with me briefly about Anchor Financial. I t would be greatly appreciated. Kent email: [protected]@yahoo.com

                                      0 Votes
                                    • Sp
                                      spparks72 Aug 06, 2015

                                      Can you share more about the process and how it worked? My husband and I just signed up today. Feel free to email me [protected]@yahoo.com.

                                      0 Votes
                                    • Cu
                                      CuriousMe Aug 22, 2015

                                      Have any of you successfully gotten a home through this company? The beginning of my scenerio is similar to the complaints that I see regarding fraudulent activity.

                                      0 Votes
                                    • Je
                                      jessicapapayiannis Sep 13, 2015

                                      hello guys can you please tell me how you got the home owners to answer? i am sending out letters like the reps told me to is there anything else that i have to do? email me please at [protected]@aim.com

                                      0 Votes
                                    • La
                                      Latasha N Jody Oct 24, 2015
                                      This comment was posted by
                                      a verified customer
                                      Verified customer

                                      If anyone has gotten into a home with them successfully please email me at... [protected]@outlook.com

                                      0 Votes
                                    • Sd
                                      Sdwinburn Dec 02, 2015
                                      This comment was posted by
                                      a verified customer
                                      Verified customer

                                      Please contact me with more information to use the services to be more successful in getting g into a home. It would be greatly appreciated, [protected]@hotmail.com

                                      0 Votes