Americas Tire StoreThis is the first negative incident that I've had

G
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

I have been a customer since at least 1996, have purchased tires for two other cars that I've owned without incident. Again I purchased 4 tires for my 2003 Nissan Pathfinder on 2/16/07 in Redwood City, Store, 1610 Broadway. Despite the fact that my car took 245/65-17, the sales person told me that the size was out and gave me 265/65-17. He convinced me that those tires were appropriate for my car despite me going back in after they were mounted because they rubbed against my car whenever I turned the wheel. I have been getting regular rotations and balances, both at American Tires as well as other tire places as there is no location in Oakland where I live. I had 67, 000 miles on my car at purchase, now I have 113, 927 which means that I've placed 46, 927 miles on the car since purchasing the tires. I checked the Dunlop website as well as others, apparently the tires have a 60, 000 mile warranty on them. I took my car in for a rotation and balance on 11/11/09, the work was refused because "RF tire is bald from the outter ease". I had my tires checked and was told that the balding tire is due to the tires being too large for my car. Also, the right front tire seems to be the only one bald, although I suspect balding on the other tires as well due to size. I called the Fremont store today 11/21/09 regarding this issue and was told that the tires were optional tires and that there was no tread warranty listed despite the information on the Dunlop website which clearly states that there is a tread warranty of 60, 000 miles. I have recommended many people who are now customers of American Tires, as I myself have been. This is the first negative incident that I've had. I purchased the tire Certificate at the time of purchase in 2007. On 11/11/09 the Redwood City store sales person never asked about this, never suggested that I explore buying new tires, just sent me on my way with tires they stated were a "safety hazard".

Responses

  • Jr
    J.R. Flores Sep 17, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This complaint we have is to address poor communication by service rep NOT explaining all charges added to invoice of 4 tires purchased by Mrs. Maureen Piazza on January 8, 2010.

    Charges unexplained: 4 Certificates for free replacement @4x$13.00 = 52.00.

    Please assist with correcting this situation and refunding these monies.

    0 Votes
  • At
    Atule Sep 04, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been a customer since at least 1996, have purchased tires for two other cars that I've owned without incident. Again I purchased 4 tires for my 2003 Nissan Pathfinder on 2/16/07 in Redwood City, Store, 1610 Broadway. Despite the fact that my car took 245/65-17, the sales person told me that the size was out and gave me 265/65-17. He convinced me that those tires were appropriate for my car despite me going back in after they were mounted because they rubbed against my car whenever I turned the wheel. I have been getting regular rotations and balances, both at American Tires as well as other tire places as there is no location in Oakland where I live. I had 67, 000 miles on my car at purchase, now I have 113, 927 which means that I've placed 46, 927 miles on the car since purchasing the tires. I checked the Dunlop website as well as others, apparently the tires have a 60, 000 mile warranty on them. I took my car in for a rotation and balance on 11/11/09, the work was refused because "RF tire is bald from the outter ease". I had my tires checked and was told that the balding tire is due to the tires being too large for my car. Also, the right front tire seems to be the only one bald, although I suspect balding on the other tires as well due to size. I called the Fremont store today 11/21/09 regarding this issue and was told that the tires were optional tires and that there was no tread warranty listed despite the information on the Dunlop website which clearly states that there is a tread warranty of 60, 000 miles. I have recommended many people who are now customers of American Tires, as I myself have been. This is the first negative incident that I've had. I purchased the tire Certificate at the time of purchase in 2007. On 11/11/09 the Redwood City store sales person never asked about this, never suggested that I explore buying new tires, just sent me on my way with tires they stated were a "safety hazard".

    1 Votes
  • Wa
    wazbewi Aug 24, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Atule This is the same thing I am going through now wrong size and rubbing and wear

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    Eddie J Sep 28, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The Redwood City store I where they sold me a Tire that was old & out dated ( DOT date of manufacture ) when i took the tire and receipt and left the Manager ran out and STOLE the tire from me and ran back inside. I had to call the police and will sue the company to get my money back and pay for the eye glasses he broke while taking the tire away from me. Nothing but Crooks & Thieves at Redwood City America's Tire !

    2 Votes
  • Ed
    Eddie J Aug 24, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    These guys are crooks ! They still owe me the cost of the tire ! Boycott these Bums if you do buy tires Check for old and out of date tires this is why buying discount tires from them is UNSAFE !

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    Karen2260 Oct 21, 2018

    They broke my tire sensor and they have the nerve to tell me that it was my fault.!!!
    I am disgusted i spent SIX HUNDRED DOLLARS.!!! On tires from americas tires and when i left they said the sensor would go away on its own and its been 2 weeks and its still on i am soooo angry then i bring the car and they said i broke it when clearly it was them

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.