Advance Auto Partswarranty scam/ poor customer service

1
M Review updated:

I purchased a muffler from advance auto parts (AAP) and installed it myself on the same day. I noticed that it did not fit right so assumed it was the wrong part, I am not a muffler guy so how could I know? AAP told me that it was the correct part so I took the muffler to a muffler shop to see if they could make it fit. The muffler shop told me that they could not fix it because it was damaged beyond repair and was clearly a factory defect. I took this information back to AAP and they refused to honor the lifetime warranty. Needless to say that I will never shop at AAP again. I advise readers to do the same.

Responses

  • No
    nothing May 27, 2009

    what an idiot, i bet you would return dirty diapers to wal-mart too, you are also part of the economic problems. when your going to repair something yourself, be sure you can do the repair and also that you know what your doing on the repair. I would have laughed at you if i was working at that place.

    -3 Votes
  • Mc
    mcgreger64 Aug 27, 2009

    I don't know how you could not see a damaged beyond repair coming out of the box. My bet is you banged the crap out of and than took to the shop. An Second if I was your muffler shop guy I would tell you that it also caused damage to the converter and rest of the tail pipe. I mean come on. People like you cause more problems for good hard working people and there managers.

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    Fank Dec 06, 2009

    I purchase and alternator from Advance Auto Parts with life time warranty 3 1/2 years ago. Alternator has gone bad so it was taken out and i have taken to Advance Auto Parts ware it was purchase from Store 04920. They said it did not come from there store. It had only one label on it the reman bar code. This was my third Alternator from this store! now it does not show in there data base system for there data base only goes back 2 year. how i know this for i been shopping in the store for 5 years and i ask the parts man when was the first time i shop there he said 2/26/08.. I said what! I been coming here for more then 5 years and my phone has not change for more then 8 years! WHAT A SCAM!!! How can you offer life time warranty if you Data Base only goes back 2 years?!!!

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    Miah Scranton. Harper Mar 14, 2019

    @Fank The store in Lancaster Ca, told me they don't even keep records of items that was purchased by has warranties we need to save our receipts if we want to warranty my reply was receipts don't last forever and the ink does fade over a while they still told me to bring in the receipt to maybe they can see the numbers I don't know how you can do that on a faded receipt and if you're issuing out warranties you need to keep records that's a condo that's should be a store policy and I don't see why it's not so unfortunately they are fraught what place does not keep records of that but you have warranties like receipts stay forever young and ink doesn't fade. There scam artist and I wish I knew about this board before I purchased any items. CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT NEEDS TO BE LOOKED INTO. HONESTLY THEY PROBABLY WILL GO OUT OF BUSINESS.

    2 Votes
  • Je
    jeff183 Jan 21, 2010

    I purchased an a/c compressor from Advance Auto Parts, took to an repair shop for install where ASE Mechanic installed it, found out it was bad, and Advance's corporate office blamed me, the mechanic and everything they could think of not to refund for a/c repair. Would never go there again.

    3 Votes
  • Ax
    A.x.J. Feb 08, 2010

    Advance Auto Scam
    For all you Do it Yourself mechanic, you need to know that Advance Auto at 403 N. Mattis, Champaign IL. 61821, store number 06572, refused to honor there lifetime warrant on there parts. I purchase some brake pads and paid extra for the life time warrant and when I needed new brake pads I was told by the manage that I shouldn’t expect to get new pads when they wear out. My advice to anyone that want parts for there auto is to shop at a place that will abide by there warranties.

    A.J. Champaign, IL

    0 Votes
  • La
    Laugh43 Sep 01, 2010

    You guys are a bunch of illiterate high school drop outs, can't you read the receipts that you get with your purchases, dumbasses? Advance Auto does not offer anything with a lifetime warranty, just a LIMITED LIFETIME WARRANTY. But, then again I can't blame you, what with marrying your sisters and gang raping goats, it's gotta be hard for the busy ignoramus on the go to pay attention to anything else. How did you make it out of the test tubes! How can you expect to return a mangled piece of s*** and get your money back, JACKASS! You probably wear flip flops and socks don't you.People like you make me wanna throw up, as a matter a fact, give me your parent's trailer address so I could slap them!

    -1 Votes
  • Cj
    CJB57 Dec 30, 2010

    One thing - Advance does not sell a lifetime warranty.
    Everyone thinks "Hey the brake pads/shoes are limited lifetime warranty! Now after X number of years I should new parts."
    The database is now at 2 years if you want accuracy on warranties do this. Scan the recp'ts into your computer keep them backed up you can print them out if need be. This is called responsibility!

    -3 Votes
  • Ma
    mattftx Jan 04, 2011

    Tried to buy a remanned pump they tried to sell me a used one, also tried to sell me a used puller with stripped bolts & also bought a brand new timing tensioner and it collapsed and fried to whole engine!!!Tried to tell them about it got the run around!!! also brake pads failed after 4 months!!! dont be [censor]ed start going to napa, autozone, china, hong kong, anywhere but advance they will screw you the best they can!!! dont listen to me try it for yourself!!! good luck now!!!
    I will be posting this throughout the internet at least 15 times each day until their business is wiped out!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    tappans Jan 14, 2011

    sears jensen beach, fl i bought a pair of monroe air shocks life time warranty supposed to be life time warranty they claim not to know any thing a bout the warranty strange sears love TOO SCREW THE HECK OUT OF PEOPLE ANY BODY ELSE HAVE THIS KIND OF PROBLEM HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    junkmom Sep 20, 2011

    Advance auto allowed me to have a warrenty transfered to me after my old mechanic was no longer in business...I had ilderton dodge pick up a new motor and install it in my truck.( the old one was bad)...I have been waiting several weeks for a reimbursement check for the work done under the warrenty. I was called on 9/16 and told that they had the check but that they would only pay it to my ex mechanic because he had not come in and signed papers to say he is no longer in business. They had me call him to see if he would sign the check over to me and he refuses. His excuss is he will have to pay taxes. Apparently he is still in business and refuses to sign paper work to that effect.. Now ADvance auto says Im not the warrenty holder and they wont pay me. Due to this fact they have allowed my warrenty to be voided because someone other than the warrenty holder has done the work...I think they are holding me responsibly for an internal problem. So far they are not helping me..I need help

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    sandnomad Jun 07, 2013

    I bought some AAP best brake pads three years ago, and the receipt stated they had a limited lifetime warranty. Well, needless to say, they wore out in three years, but when I took my receipt to get new ones, I was told the part numbers didn't match, so I must have bought them for a different car. The guy checked the system, and all the records of my purchases prior to 2012 had been purged. I thought it was a pretty neat scam to offer a limited lifetime warranty to entice purchasers, purge past records, and change the part numbers as well. I just bought some new brake shoes, because three years wear ain't that bad and just laughed it off. Anyone buying parts from AAP and expecting them to honor a limited lifetime warranty should shop elsewhere. After all, everything wears out eventually.

    2 Votes
  • Kr
    krzysiek Oct 20, 2013

    Battery died I went to replace it with my recit I was told sorry its not in our system I have the frikin recit THATS ###.

    3 Votes
  • Ha
    Hawkhead Dec 26, 2013

    Took a 3 yo alternator that took a ### with limited/lifetime warranty back to Advance. Screen came up blank on the comp. Did not honor warranty. Just recently took back a palladium starter a little over 3 yo. Again, comp. screen came up blank and even though it said limited/lifetime right on receipt, they would not honor. Do not pay extra for this warranty, it's just a scam. I had a 7 yo limited/lifetime alternator from Autozone go bad and they replaced it, no questions asked. I also once had an Advance worker accuse me of stealing a part from a pulley puller I rented from them. He said a bearing was missing that went between the two shell halves. I tried to explain to this idiot that once the two shell halves are placed over the pulley hub nothing else could possibly fit in between and if he knew how the thing worked he would know that. He still would not return my deposit. I finally told him to call another Advance store "pick any one" and asked them to count the no. of pieces in the kit, if it was short 1 piece I would leave and he could keep my money. He didn't do that but instead had a little pow wow with some girl in the corner of the store. He went to the register came back and threw my money on the counter and told me never to come back. He was mad because he was a dumb ### and I got over on him.
    Napa & Autozone are the better choices.

    2 Votes
  • Jc
    Jcdew67 Jan 12, 2014

    Limited Lifetime is a Oxymoron and is not honored for most of their parts at Advance Auto Parts.. If you truly want a Lifetime Warranty go to Autozone, I have taken back shocks that went bad 14 years ago and Autozone honored it.

    2 Votes
  • Fo
    Former Patron Aug 11, 2017

    Advance Auto is the worst of all the retail auto parts stores. They do NOT honor their limited lifetime warranties. My Carquest fuel pump, with a lifetime limited warranty, is just one example of their shady business practices. They are a scam racket organization and I would highly recommend everyone file a complaint with the BBB and their State Attorney General's Office, Consumer Affairs Division, like I did.

    2 Votes
  • Ou
    Oucha Nov 14, 2018

    I got scammed from all of them. Whats new?. Read the fine print. Pay attention.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem