Academic Superstoresoftware purchase - customer service

J Feb 23, 2020

I placed an order for Parallels software on 2/10/2020. On the order page, purchase eligibility is noted, and in this case, both faculty and students are eligible for discounted pricing (the same eligibility is listed as of 2/23/2020). Verification of eligibility is only done when an order is placed.

After I placed my order I was taken to a page to verify my eligibility. The page asked for documentation; there were a few ways to authenticate. I choose the option for a current pay stub, an option on the list for faculty. I am a full-time college professor; I have been using the student/faculty version of the software for years. As my pay stub did not list my job title, I sent over an employment verification document from Equifax, something my HR department provides for work verifications. After sending these documents, I noted I received an email asking for verification documentation from their customer service team. I replied directly (as suggested in the email if help was needed) and in the email, I noted that I had sent the documentation and to advise if additional info was needed. I sent this email from my University email account.

02/13/2020 (3 days later) - I received the following generic email: "Just confirming that we got your request. We're on it. "

02/13/2020 (about 10 min after prior) - I received a generic email: "msoden commented: Please find below the only acceptable forms of proof ... Pay Stub (cross out confidential information)" with additional info and a list of other acceptable documents to verify eligibility to purchase. I also did this with my .edu university email account, as with prior emails sent.

02/13/2020 (about 15 min after email) - I sent a direct email to the customer service rep with an attachment of my current check stub.

02/14/2020 - After 24 hours of no reply, I resent pay stub attachment and an email asking for a follow-up on my order.

02/15/2020 - Another 24 hours later, I received the following email: "We apologize for the delay in answering your help request. Unfortunately our support team is experiencing a higher volume than normal. Our team is working hard to get to your ticket as quickly as possible. Thanks for your patience, we'll be in contact soon."

02/18/2020 - Received an email with the subject line: Order with Academic Superstore is Canceled". No additional info was added. I replied an inquired why it was canceled.

02/18/202 (about 15 minutes later) - I received a generic email stating: "msoden commented: It is a student edition. Must provide one of the eligibility documents below as proof of student status..." In this case, only student eligibility info was available.

2/18/2020 (about an hour later) - I sent an email to their customer service team stating how dissatisfied I was with their service. I shared how their service was very slow, my order was canceled after providing documents they requested, and little details were made available. I also noted how I was disappointed for what appeared to be their error. I included screenshots from their own website, which clearly states I was eligible to purchase the product at a discounted price and that my info was sent multiple times as requested.

2/19/2020 (about 24 hours after I sent my email above) - I received a generic confirmation of email receipt: "We apologize for the delay in answering your help request. Unfortunately our support team is experiencing a higher volume than normal. Our team is working hard to get to your ticket as quickly as possible. Thanks for your patience..."

As of the time of this review on 2/23/2020, I have received no additional followup. When I log into my account on their website, I can see the order has been canceled. On my eligibility page, there is a note that documents have been received, but my eligibility is not listed. This would mean if I want to purchase something else, I would need to go through the same, very long process, and who knows what would happen. I also note that the software is listed as student and faculty; at this point, I am not sure if faculty can purchase as my questions were never answered.

In the end, I will purchase the software directly from the vendor. It is slightly more expensive, but at least I will get it in minutes, versus not knowing for days if I will get it or not. This company advertises some great prices on software for faculty and students. However, their customer support is horrible; customers will have no idea if the order will process or not, and it could take a week or even longer to find out, one way or another.

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.