The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
21st MortgageHarassing phone calls

P Review updated:

This Is for Laura who posted on 4/3/2009: I don't know what state you live in, but I live in OKLA. I used to work in the loan business, and it is illegal for a company, collecting on ANYTHING to contact you at your job when you have expressed verbal +/or written objection to it. SUGGESTION: Write up a letter stating that you do not wish to be contacted at work, fax it to them. Save the letter (which, of course, sign & date), the fax cover, the transmission report saying in was 'sent successful' and possibly a print-out of their webpage stating what their fax number is. I myself have had numerous trouble with this company, and hope to help others as much as I can !!!

Responses

  • Pi
    pissed_off39 Apr 20, 2020

    I wish i would have seen these reviews earlier! Had them set it up to pull from my back account. At first it wasn't a problem. There was a glitch with my bank after they pulled my money . My bank denied the charge. Ended up going to a new bank and got everything set up with 21st Mortgage for the new bank account. Even have the letter from them saying they switched my bank account. Well now they won't debit my account and won't let me pay online. They said once i miss a payment (no fault of my own) It locks you out of the system for 3 MONTHS! Really! So now i get harassing phone calls and threatening letters to foreclose. I told them that if they would let me pay online or if they would debt my account like their supposed to, they would have my payment. Worst company ever! Who has ever heard of a company not allowing you to pay your bill and gets mad when you have to send a check in?? These people that's who!

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Regret21st Dec 11, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @pissed_off39 They are the weorst of worst I regret!!!

    0 Votes
  • Dj
    DJS1 Nov 06, 2019

    I appreciate all the reviews and warnings from all of you. We just financed a double wide through 21st Mortgage. The only reason we did was the house was at a great price and we did not want to lose out on the special that was offered. Our credit scores are 800 so they processed our loan in record time. We own a brick home and are in the process of selling it. I am a Veteran and once we sell the brick home, I am rolling this loan into a VA backed loan from another lender at 3.5% interest rate. So my first payment came due the beginning of November. I had not received any payment book or documents and just figured I would wait until I got all the documents. On the 4th of November, I receive a phone call from Ashley letting me know my payment was late. I told her I was waiting for the documents and also said the payment is not considered late until the 15th of the month. She informed me that the payment becomes late if it is not paid on the 1st of the month and they will report the late payment to the credit bureau. What a crock. Pursuant to the Fair Debt Collection Act, a creditor cannot report an account late until it is 30 days past due. I went ahead and made the payment and they have yet to credit my bank account. I will not allow this company to harass me, my family, co workers, or my loved ones. I will take legal action against them with a blink of an eye. 21st Mortgage better treat me like an upstanding customer or I will own them.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kendal73 Jul 05, 2012

    If you have 21st Mortgage and would like to start a class action lawsuit go to this URL

    http://www.gotaclassaction.com/contact.php...

    Tell your story and if enough people gets involved the attorneys will become interested.

    (Please repost this URL everywhere and lets take action; post it constantly on any complaint so we can become thousands)

    0 Votes
  • Si
    silverado99_sickens_me_to_death Feb 12, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Victims of 21st Mortgage, PLEASE read this post to the end. I know this is lengthy, but it may hold some answers for you or a loved one.

    My comment is for Silverado99. I've been watching you closely for quite some time now. The problem I have with you is that you never seem to deviate from your response to any and all complaints against 21st Mortgage Corporation. We can all see that you have your copy and paste experience down to a science. To date, you have exhibited your talent with the same response at least 21 times on this particular complaint board, all of which say the same thing. As a matter of fact, having done some research, I found that your response is the same on other complaint boards as well. For example, /link removed/ What I would like to know is ... who the heck are you, and since when has 'your' corporation decided to start following federal privacy regulations? Come on now! Don't pee on me and tell me it's raining! 21st Mortgage Corporation's idea of 'resolving a complaint' is a joke at the very least. I can't believe you even have the audacity to post a response like that to the people you crap all over on a daily basis. Tell me silverado, are you seriously going to continue to defend this mortgage company, despite the fact that you are fully aware that your blowing wind up our butts? Or maybe your a victim of this company who is being forced to feed us this crap in order to keep a roof over YOUR head. If that is indeed the case, please do tell and redeem yourself here and now. In either case, you should be ashamed of yourself for trying to feed us this crappy paragraph over and over again. Maybe if you copy and paste it enough, you'll actually start believing it. Now that's a scary though, isn't it? You and this company of yours make me sick. Hence the nickname I have chosen to use on this complaint board... silverado99_sickens_me_to_death! Now, having said all that, let me share MY experience with 21st Mortgage Corporation for all who care to read it.

    Over the last 10 years, our mortgage has been sold to 3 different company's. 21st being the latest. It's been about a year and a half now, and a nightmare from day one. In this company's mind, there is no such thing as a grace period. Although it is suppose to be 20 days, if our payment was not in their hands by the 1st of the month, the calls would start. First the home phone, then the cell phones. My husband explained that we did not need their 'reminder' calls, and kindly asked them to stop. Well, that went in one ear and out the other. We finally stopped answering their calls all together, at which point they would start calling us private, blocked, and using all the numbers they had at their availability. Now mind you, we were NEVER 'late' on our payments. They were always made before the grace period. So basically, it was just a matter of harassment. Almost as if they enjoyed making our lives miserable. The calls would start at approx. 7 am and continue throughout the day until 10 pm. Now, here is the kicker. This past month, we got a certified notice in the mail from 21st, stating that our payment was short by $70. We placed a call with our financial institution and found that there had been an error on their part, and the immediately rectified the problem. By that time, the damage had already been done and 21st pulled out every naughty in the book! My husband told the woman at 21st that a check would be sent out that day. Well, needless to say, that wasn’t good enough. She told him that they would not accept that check unless it was accompanied with the telephone numbers and addresses of at least 3 different family members, in addition to at least 2 phone numbers and addresses to our nearest neighbors AND our employer's phone numbers and addresses! She proceeded to tell us that if they did not get all of this information along with the payment, they would start foreclosure on our home. My husband chuckled and threw in a few choice words and hung up on her. We sent them their check, certified, which they accepted and promptly cashed. Needless to say, they did NOT get any phone numbers or addresses from us, and to boot, we had our home phone disconnected, and put a block on our cell phones for all the numbers 21st has ever used to contact us. Jokes on you 21st!

    Victims of 21st Mortgage Company, PLEASE do your homework! Write a complaint to the BBB. Do some research. Report them to the Federal Trade Commission. Call your local AG's Office as well as calling AG's Office in Tennessee. FIGHT BACK! If we all pitch in and do our share, we can bring this company down to it's knees! Check out the following websites.
    http://knoxville.citysearch.com/review/9413156?reviewId=44853361#done
    /link removed/
    http://www.ehow.com/how_6038774_stop-mortgage-harassment.html
    http://state.tn.us/tdfi/crd/index.html

    1 Votes
  • Si
    silverado99_sickens_me_to_death Feb 12, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Victims of 21st Mortgage, PLEASE read this post to the end. I know this is lengthy, but it may hold some answers for you or a loved one.

    My comment is for Silverado99. I've been watching you closely for quite some time now. The problem I have with you is that you never seem to deviate from your response to any and all complaints against 21st Mortgage Corporation. We can all see that you have your copy and paste experience down to a science. To date, you have exhibited your talent with the same response at least 21 times on this particular complaint board, all of which say the same thing. As a matter of fact, having done some research, I found that your response is the same on other complaint boards as well. For example, /link removed/ What I would like to know is ... who the heck are you, and since when has 'your' corporation decided to start following federal privacy regulations? Come on now! Don't pee on me and tell me it's raining! 21st Mortgage Corporation's idea of 'resolving a complaint' is a joke at the very least. I can't believe you even have the audacity to post a response like that to the people you crap all over on a daily basis. Tell me silverado, are you seriously going to continue to defend this mortgage company, despite the fact that you are fully aware that your blowing wind up our butts? Or maybe your a victim of this company who is being forced to feed us this crap in order to keep a roof over YOUR head. If that is indeed the case, please do tell and redeem yourself here and now. In either case, you should be ashamed of yourself for trying to feed us this crappy paragraph over and over again. Maybe if you copy and paste it enough, you'll actually start believing it. Now that's a scary though, isn't it? You and this company of yours make me sick. Hence the nickname I have chosen to use on this complaint board... silverado99_sickens_me_to_death! Now, having said all that, let me share MY experience with 21st Mortgage Corporation for all who care to read it.

    Over the last 10 years, our mortgage has been sold to 3 different company's. 21st being the latest. It's been about a year and a half now, and a nightmare from day one. In this company's mind, there is no such thing as a grace period. Although it is suppose to be 20 days, if our payment was not in their hands by the 1st of the month, the calls would start. First the home phone, then the cell phones. My husband explained that we did not need their 'reminder' calls, and kindly asked them to stop. Well, that went in one ear and out the other. We finally stopped answering their calls all together, at which point they would start calling us private, blocked, and using all the numbers they had at their availability. Now mind you, we were NEVER 'late' on our payments. They were always made before the grace period. So basically, it was just a matter of harassment. Almost as if they enjoyed making our lives miserable. The calls would start at approx. 7 am and continue throughout the day until 10 pm. Now, here is the kicker. This past month, we got a certified notice in the mail from 21st, stating that our payment was short by $70. We placed a call with our financial institution and found that there had been an error on their part, and the immediately rectified the problem. By that time, the damage had already been done and 21st pulled out every naughty in the book! My husband told the woman at 21st that a check would be sent out that day. Well, needless to say, that wasn’t good enough. She told him that they would not accept that check unless it was accompanied with the telephone numbers and addresses of at least 3 different family members, in addition to at least 2 phone numbers and addresses to our nearest neighbors AND our employer's phone numbers and addresses! She proceeded to tell us that if they did not get all of this information along with the payment, they would start foreclosure on our home. My husband chuckled and threw in a few choice words and hung up on her. We sent them their check, certified, which they accepted and promptly cashed. Needless to say, they did NOT get any phone numbers or addresses from us, and to boot, we had our home phone disconnected, and put a block on our cell phones for all the numbers 21st has ever used to contact us. Jokes on you 21st!

    Victims of 21st Mortgage Company, PLEASE do your homework! Write a complaint to the BBB. Do some research. Report them to the Federal Trade Commission. Call your local AG's Office as well as calling AG's Office in Tennessee. FIGHT BACK! If we all pitch in and do our share, we can bring this company down to it's knees! Check out the following websites.
    http://knoxville.citysearch.com/review/9413156?reviewId=44853361#done
    /link removed/
    http://www.ehow.com/how_6038774_stop-mortgage-harassment.html
    http://state.tn.us/tdfi/crd/index.html

    1 Votes
  • Br
    Brenda E. Dec 12, 2009

    Boy that is a line of crab Silverado99 you must work for them in the PR Department because they will call everyone they can they called my sister's ex husband about me now tell me how they got his number and what bussiness they had calling him about my account they are lying crooks period...

    1 Votes
  • Sp
    spanky2be2003 Sep 15, 2009

    We also have this mortgage company and this company calls my work phone 3 and 4 times and day and call my cell phone 5 or 6 times a day. They also calls my husband cell phone 6 or 7 times a day. They have asked us personal question as to are we getting any income taxes, can u borrow the money from a check advance place and we only be just a couple days behind and sometime 1 month but never over that time. Our payment is due on the 1st and they start calling from the first until we send the payment off. They are very rude and all of this is uncall for I know that we can do something about this company.

    1 Votes
  • Si
    Silverado99 Jun 23, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It is the policy of 21st mortgage to only address customer complaints in a confidential discussion with our customer. To appropriately respond to a complaint may require releasing confidential information, which is strictly forbidden under federal privacy regulations. We will attempt to contact the referenced customer to resolve this complaint.

    -3 Votes
  • Ru
    rugerfamily May 06, 2009

    As with Laura our mortgage was bought or acquired by 21st Mortgage as well. It has not been a good experience. We were making bi weekly payments, not a big deal. Well we got hit with a blizzard and could not get to our bank to deposit my husbands check. Long story short their payment is returned NSF. As soon as we were allowed to drive again and the banks were open we money gramed our payment. the account mangager informs me that she took money from what we have paid in overage (that was supposed to be applied to principal but has not been)plus the money we sent money gram. Also she informed my husband that any extra money we send goes on the end of the interest NOT to principal. Anyone know if this bs is even legal?

    2 Votes
  • La
    laura Apr 24, 2009

    Our mortgage was bought or acquired by 21st mortgage. They are the rudest people I've ever had to deal with. I am late on my mortgage, and am trying to catch up, but it never goes more than 30 days overdue. They have found family members I didn't even know I had and called them. What do they think they're doing, threatening people to make them move? I wish I knew what to do about this company... any ideas anyone?

    1 Votes
  • An
    anonymous1 Apr 05, 2009

    I have another comment on being "predatory". As I am sitting here typing this, we have 2 representatives on our front porch. I have NEVER heard of a mortgage company doing such a thing. I could understand if we were 6 months behind, but we're only 1 payment behind. We just sent a payment by moneygram on Friday and I guess it hasn't gotten there yet. When we bought the place, we could afford it. My husband was making decent money. Well since the economy has went into a downward spiral, my husband's hours were cut drastically. I have been trying to find a job, but it's all but impossible. No, I don't want sympathy, I just want other people to know what kind of company this is. We rented for about 10 years before we bought this place and NEVER even had landlords that were this rude. I mean who shows up on a Sunday afternoon to hassle people about a mortgage payment...I'll tell ya who! 21st Mortgage. I would suggest that anyone seeking to get a mortgage beware of this company. They basically prey on people who's credit isn't so great. And yes, they will call anyone they think knows you. Stay away from them! It's better to rent than to deal with these jerks!

    1 Votes
  • La
    Laura Davis Apr 03, 2009

    you are right about them they are rude and someone needs to do something about it

    1 Votes
  • La
    Laura Davis Apr 03, 2009

    I pay my mortgage every month around the 20th of the month. I call them and pay it over the phone. Every month starting on the day the payment is due, they call my job all day telling whoever answers the phone to tell me to pay them or move out. I have asked them not to call my job because we can't have personal phone calls (unless it is an emergency) but they still call anyway. They have called my home telling my kids to get their stuff out of their house. These peoples are very rude not only the associates but the so called supervisors too. If I tell them that I will be a couple days late they will go as far as to tell you to borrow the money from a friend or relative. My response is youlet me have it and i'll pay you back.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.