Zinnis Dress Shop Of SpringfieldDoes not take returns!

R
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Purchased outfit on friday afternoon, tried to return it on Tuesday afternoon because the store is closed on Sunday and Monday and was told by the owner that she does not take returns. No where in the store is there a sign stating that. The receipt states no return on evening wear and this shop according to owner is such, but never prior to me paying and getting a receipt did I know of the no return policy.

This store is not only a rip off, but extremely pushy. Would not recommend anyone to go in there and purchase anything from this pushy, rude, pompous and self righteous individual who exists only because of her family name.

More Zinnis Dress Shop Of Springfield Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Ri
    riama nagero Feb 20, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    When you read the positive reviews here about this dress shop and owner, you come to the realization that they can only be from the Zinni cronies and friends. There's no way anyone who is not connected to Carolyn can go into that store and say anything good about the place or her. She is so rude and arrogant it's incredible she's in business dressing women for happy occasions. She dresses the young girls like sluts for their proms and even sells the same dress to different girls at the same high school when she says she won't!! It happened to my daughter's friend who showed up in the exact same dress as another girl who purchased from Zinni and was humiliated! Zinni also ripped off a good friend of mine who bought her mother of the bride dress there. It fell apart on the day of the wedding and she had to rush out to buy another dress somewhere else an hour before the ceremony! A nightmare you can avoid if you don't give this business any of your time or money. If you look at the company she keeps, it gives many clues. Carolyn is engaged to a disgraced politician who was jailed for ripping people off.

    0 Votes
  • Cy
    Cynthia Ianni Nov 09, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My daughter who turns 21 in a few weeks stopped in to Zinnis yesterday on her way to work. She waited 10 minutes while a young clerk waited on the only other customer in the store. It was around 4:30. When she finally asked to try on a dress the clerk told her you have to a parent or guardian with you even if you are over 18. My question is to Ms. Zinni, "How old do you have to be to try on a dress without a parent or guardian?' Does she card customers? We bought many a prom dress there and I was underwhelmed with the service and prices. Every dress needed expensive alterations and the person altering them was referred by Carolyn Zinni...My daughter said she will never shop there again. The clerk could have told her sooner about the ridiculous policy or let her try the dress on.

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    promgirl Mar 17, 2012

    I had one of the best experiences at Zinni's because of Ashley! She is by far the best! I don't care for the owner she was rude and told me I looked great in a dress that looked horrible on me and didn't even fit! She was just looking to make a sale, but Ash really helped me find my perfect prom dress. The dresses are beautiful there don't get me wrong! Here's a little advice if you go...see Ashley or the other brunette girl I think her name was Peg. They are sweet as pie! Stay away from the blonde she is so rude and disrespectful!

    xoxo prom girl xoxo

    0 Votes
  • Cm
    cmac52 Jul 09, 2011

    I first shopped at the original Zinni's in South Philadelphia in the the late 60's. The owners, Lou and Jean, were the epitome of class and their store contained the most beautiful items. Yesterday, I shopped at Zinni's in Springfield and found the same quality of merchandise. I also found the staff very helpful. Carolyn worked with me in choosing a gown for my son's wedding and a dress for the rehearsal dinner. She was helpful, informative and spent almost 2 hours helping me choose just the right things. She was a perfect delight, extremely kind, knowledgeable and professional. She even followed-up with me today to tell me that the dress was ordered and when to expect it. I had only the best experience there. As for some of the negative comments, to each their own. I find it unnecessary to stoop to name-calling when someone posts a review that may differ from your opinion. Oh, and I am not a "rich snob."

    0 Votes
  • No
    notfairsue Jun 01, 2011

    I don't normally blog on these type of websites, but i was compelled to after what i just witnessed in Zinni's. There was a mother and daughter there for mother of the bride and she appeared to of had an appointment with the owner, i noticed the owner was working with her for some time, while waiting for her daughter arrival. I observed the store being a little busy at the time, as i was waiting to be helped as well, looking for some accessories. When the owner went to assist her staff with one of their own clients, the mother of the bride was sitting in the corner still awaiting her daughters arrival. Once the daughter arrived at this point Carolyn and her staff were helping me look through some accessories. at this point the mother of the bride and daughter became enraged and said that they were being treated unfairly. I think that this customer and her daughter are insane for saying these things. The owner was just waiting for the mothers daughter so that they could enjoy the experience together. But before the owner got to explain herself or her staff, the mother would not let up on Carolyn the owner. NOT FAIR Carolyn does great work, i left the shop with the best accessories in the world, along with the best service and a great experience! My sister is getting married in December and i am sending my mom there for her mother of the bride dress. I'm sure she will be very beautiful!

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    fit2015 Apr 25, 2011

    I've been going to get every single one of my dresses from Zinni's since my freshmen year of high school. The staff in the shop, especially Carolyn, are always as helpful as anyone could ask. They now know me by name and can recall dresses that I've purchased in the past off the top of their head! Talk about being good at what you do! The girls and Carolyn definitely know what they're doing and found me the most amazing prom gown I could ask for.

    The reviews on Carolyn, in my opinion, are from jealous, ### people. The Zinni's staff always say that they won't sell a dress unless a girl looks absolutely gorgeous because they want you to look amazing and people to ask where you purchased your gown. Duh!

    This is a great shop and has been in business for so long because they know what they're doing. 5 star shop! I'll be coming back with my daughters one day, and possibly for my wedding!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    SANDY A Apr 05, 2011

    I AM GOING TO BE THE MOTHER OF THE BRIDE THIS SUMMER.I WILLSAY THAT THEY HAVE NICE DRESSES, BUT A LITTLE PRICEY. MY COMPLAINT IS I STOPPED IN THERE A COUPLE OF WEEKS AGO TO FIND A DRESS.NOT ONCE DID ANY OF THE HELP SPEAK TO ME, ASK ME IF I NEEDED HELP, OR EVEN LOOK AT ME . THEY WERE MORE INTERESTED IN HELPING THE PROM GIRLS. I DON'T LIKE BEING TREATED THAT WAY !!! AND I WON'T BE BACK!!! I FOUND A BEAUTIFUL DRESS AT KOP MALL!!! YOUR LOSS ZINNIS. I WILL TELL EVERYONE ABOUT YOUR SERVICE!!! IT SUCKS

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sarah Parker Feb 28, 2011

    I was at Zinni's of philadelphia yesterday afternoon with my daughter for her sweet 16 . We witnessed the most insane client in that shop. I don't know how the owner did not throw her out ! I was about to myself. The woman was rude, and called a one of zinnis staff the B word. The owner Carolyn did not allow for this in her shop in front of clients and staff and asked the woman to leave or she would call the police if she did not. Now here is the best part
    this insane lady told the owner she ruined her daughters day. Thats a joke the Mom was doing so and is ruining her daughters life.!!! For us we had the best time ever !!
    The owner kept giving my little girl ( grown now ) dress after dress perhaps 15 of them until my daughter gave a HUGE smile and then we knew that was the ONE. Carolyn and Jackie thank you so very much for not loosing patience with my daughter for her special day. The best dress shop with fashion sense

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    big brown Oct 27, 2010

    funny thing I'm a ups driver and was in Zinni's when the young lady showed fear of the puppy
    the owner was about to put the dog in her car because she thought she would make a mess their newly painted door. The real truth is the owner didn't do it fast enough, so the bratty young lady stormed away from the shop. I heard her complaining as I returned to my truck . I have never posted anything on the net however i don't think this is fair to post

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    msdesign0706 Oct 24, 2010

    I am the Mother of the groom and this is my first child to marry. Zinni's was recommended to me by two people. I called to confirm store hours. I don't recall the name of the person with whom I spoke, but she seemed to have an attitude. She informed me that I needed an appointment and the two people who recommended the store should have told me that. She also informed me that women know what they like, but don't know what looks good on them, and that is why I need a stylist like herself with 18 years of experience. Needless to say, I did not make an appointment and will buy my gown elsewhere.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    neisha003 Oct 22, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I went to Zinnis yesterday to look for a cocktail dress. When I got to the door there was a dog running at me so I closed the door immediately. I'm afraid of dogs. The owner then came to the door and told me that the dog dosent bite. I told her that I was afraid of the dog and could she put the dog up while I look around. She told me that she couldnt put the dog up because the dog would scratch her door. Are you freaken kidding me????? So you turn down a customer just because your dog will scratch your door up. I thought that was very rude and I will never recommend anyone to shop at that store.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    patty0127 May 16, 2010

    Where was your Mother when she tried on this dress?

    0 Votes
  • Am
    amcook Mar 09, 2010

    My mother and sister just went to Zinni's this week to by my sister a Junior Prom dress. My sister is very short and skinny so she needs to watch about what style of dress she buys. The owner put her in all kins of puffy dresses telling her she looked great and they were made for her body. So my little sister hearing some compliments buys the dress. I couldn't take the devestaion on her face when she talked to her friends and they told her the truth. Now we have a $400 prom dress that makes her miserable everytime she looks at it becasue this woman was only in for a sale. They have so many dresses there that would have looked great on her and the only thing the woman puts he in is this? It makes a person think that they are only out for the sale. If you put a girl in a dress that flatters her figure she will continure to come back and you can sell her 100 dresses eaily. Nedless to say we will never step foot in that store again.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    negativity is annoying Mar 02, 2010

    Zinni's is a fabulous shop filled with great staff that are always going out of their way to make every customer feel beyond beautiful! I have had nothing but pleasant experiences there and have noticed that every single customer is also treated that way...I appreciate the Zinni's return policy because I don't want to spend that kind of money on a dress that was walked out of the store and into someone elses hands in god only knows what kind of environment. Carolyn is honest because she cares not because she wants anyone to feel bad about themselves. For everyone with negativity about this store maybe you should stick to macy's where you can return whatever you please, but this is a specialty boutique with special policies that apply to everyone! These comments above are beyond harsh and are so inaccurate it is actually funny. I also sense the jealousy among some of you negative people. As for the parent or guardian policy i understand that may be disappointing to a young girl but this isn't dress up! Lastly, I am one of the customers that swings in with comfortable clothes and never once have I felt discrimated against or anyone else I referred there. I hope Zinni's is around for eternity & I don't doubt that it will be!!!

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jen jonees Dec 16, 2009

    wow was i the bell of the ball. thanks carolyn you were right the whole time
    thank you for the best sales help EVER
    jen

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    moo moo Oct 17, 2009

    Im disappointed in this store. I spent a lot of money for a dress that wasn't spectacular, tried returning it the day after and was told there no returns accepted. These reviews all seem on point and its unfortunate that this is how they treat their customers. I hope they go out of business soon.

    1 Votes
  • Zi
    ZinniLover Aug 28, 2009

    So Carolyn is a shallow piece of ###, because her "ex" husband is loaded???? Oh and now Hannah Banana is a piece of ### because she happens to love Zinni's, and enjoyed her experience there. Grow up, and get a life!

    0 Votes
  • Up
    Upset in Delco Aug 23, 2009

    Hannah Banana you are also a shallow piece of ###.

    0 Votes
  • Up
    Upset in Delco Aug 23, 2009

    Carloyn is a piece of crap. Her former 2nd husband helped her put togather a "Spaghetti Dinner Benefit" for her son, who had cancer, and many who attended the event donated hard earned money for George's medical bills. Halfway through the dinner, Georges Father pulled up with his new Girl, looking like they were going to the Oscars. He was decked out in a designer suit and she looked like she had $100, 000 worth of jewelry on. It was an insult to all of the people who donated hard earned money when this guys dad is a wealthy doctor.

    Carolyn is a shallow person. I would never drop a dime into her business. It's terrible thing, having cancer, as I know first hand battling leukemia myself, but to have a Benefit dinner for a kid who happens to be driving a new $40, 000 SUV the week after his benefit was a slap in the face to anyone who attended.

    After dropping off a caserole to her house when her son was diagnosed, we chatted for a while and she "acted" nice. A few years later I went to her dress shop for a wedding dress and she was not only rude and short with me, but she was downright mean, even after I told her about our former meeting. What a piece of ###.

    -1 Votes
  • Ch
    char467 Aug 04, 2009

    I visited Zinnis' Dress shop Saturday 8/1/09 having no clue that I would find anything that I would want to buy. Carolyn spotted me and gave the absolute best customer service that a human could receive. One of the comments said that she was snooty and that is the furthest from the truth. Not only was she warm, friendly and accommodating but she was considerate. I left there with three of the most beautiful dresses that you could ever want to buy that she brought up from the basement. I did not know there was a basement. She over extended herself to help me. One of the things that impressed me was that we may not have been dressed like we could afford anything in that store but Carolyn treated us as if we were Queens. My sister is a Business Service manger with one the largest retail companies in the world and I am a supervisor for the same company.

    Charmaine

    -1 Votes
  • Zi
    ZinniLover Jul 11, 2009

    Hey Susie Q,
    If you have so much money to "buy her 6 times over" why dont YOU open a dress shop????????
    hmmmmm...I have one word for you
    JEALOUS!!

    0 Votes
  • Su
    suzie q Mar 11, 2009

    FYI, there is a very nice dress shop called the Golden asp in Bensalem, go there first. I have been in Zinnis to look at both prom dresses for my daughter and mother of the bride dresses with my sister. The owner is such a upety snob. Needless to say, I have enough money to buy and sell her 6 times over, but do not flaunt it. Being in Business wear, when I shop I dress in comfortable jeans and when my sister and I walked in she looked us up and down like we were street urchins. I laughed at her and we walked out. Same thing with my duaghter and I. PLEASE, SOMEONE, ANYONE, OPEN UP A DRESS SHOP THAT CARRIES THE SAME QUALITY DRESSES IN DELAWARE COUNTY, AND PUT HER OUT OF BUSINESS!

    -1 Votes
  • Pa
    patty127 Mar 10, 2009

    I have known Carolyn and her parents on a buisness and personal level for years. I just purchased my daughters prom gown from zinnis, Carolyn spent so much daughter who is alittle shy and self consience about her body, needless to say she left the shop beaming, she lvoed the way she looke because Carolyn knew what would look great on her!
    Thank you Carolyn and staff for all your help, i will send pictures
    Thank you,
    Patty

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Hannah Banana Jan 28, 2009

    I personally love Zinni's they have fabulous dresses and are very kind. She knows exactly what cut will be great for your body.

    It's great that they don't have a return policy, that way you know that the dress has only ever been tried on, but not worn. This way it is in perfect condition for the owner.

    As for the parent or guardian, it's good because some girls don't know what looks good and what doesn't. No one wants a girl coming looking skanky.

    Caroline has every right to be who she is. She owns a darling, prestigious, beautiful shop that contains gowns of the same calibur.

    Hannah Banana

    0 Votes
  • Zi
    Zimper Sep 22, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Carolyn Zinni is a terrible person who takes advantage of the people around her. She gets what she wants then dumps them but not without taking everything with her first

    1 Votes
  • Ki
    Kimberly Jul 27, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They are only nice to you if you look like a rich snob .. i walked in there and walked right out! I ended up buying my prom dress at Stellas onn Mcdade and they were VERY nice

    0 Votes
  • Me
    MEM May 21, 2008

    I have not once found any of the staff @ Zinnis to be pushy or rude I hope that shop has a 20 year lease because I never realized how good I could look until they got there hands on me Thanks Carolyn
    And I have made appointments myself and to know they will spend more than one and half hours on me alone made me feel very special, and educated me on "How Do I Look" AMAZING my husbands tells me...

    0 Votes
  • Di
    DIANE QUERCETTI May 14, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    PUSHY AND RUDE - THEY WILL NOT EVEN LET YOU LOOK AT THEIR DRESSES DOWNSTAIRS UNLESS YOU HAVE AN APPOINTMENT. THEY
    CATER TO PEOPLE THAT DO NOT WORK. THE ONLY OPTION TO GO THERE AFTER WORK IS TO GO ON A SATURDAY (MOB SCENE) I WOULD HAVE THOUGHT THE STUFFY ATMOSPHERE WOULD HAVE BEEN MORE ON THE MAIN LINE BUT THEY ARE IN SPRINGFIELD FOR GOD'S SAKE.

    1 Votes
  • Mb
    M. Ballance Apr 21, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi my name is mare I am a senior at penncrest and have no clue what your talking about penncrest boycotting Zinni's I bought my prom dress there and that lady was so nice she picked the perfect dress for my size 18 body and I never once felt bad about myself.
    Those of you who know me best know I lost my mother when I was 11. That store told me I needed a parent or guardian not just a parent.

    you should be happy she needs the approval of an guardian or parent

    Some of my classmates are brats and they just want what they want when they want it
    please cry me a river...

    0 Votes
  • Ve
    Veryupsetting Mar 17, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    About two years ago there was a young lady that went shopping with her friend and her mother for her prom dress. The young lady was told that each girl trying on dresses had to be accompanied by their parent. This young lady's mother had just passed away from Cancer. The young girl left the store crying. This led to the store being boycotted from the young ladies that attended her school Penncrest. Rightfully so.

    1 Votes
  • Zi
    Zinnis of Philadelphia Feb 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    In the Four years of owning my own shop
    I have dressed over Four thousand woman
    And said client is the only one who did not agree with our return policy
    The truth of the matter is she has a reputation of wearing clothes and returning them
    We will only sell the finest clothing to our clients that have NEVER been worn prior to purchase
    So we advise said client to shop at the malls so she can wear the outfit to her her husbands work party on a Thursday evening and then return it to the mall with no questions asked.
    our clients deserve much better.

    -1 Votes
  • La
    Lann Feb 26, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    That lady was insane! I was just there today and she was grabbing the most obnoxious dresses for my small flat chested figure... idiot.

    However, I did see one dress I really enjoyed :)
    but it was highly over priced in my opinion...

    -1 Votes
  • La
    Lauren Dec 11, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Zinnis of Philadelphia has beautiful dresses and they are very nice!! You are crazy!!

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.