The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Xoom Energyhijacked unauthorized service

J

I am writing a complaint about this electric company called xoom energy. First off, I am not a customer of xoom, what I am... Is a hijacked customer. I am a customer of another electric company. I have paid my bills w/them with no interruption, then all the sudden I get a bill in the mail from an electric company i've never heard of, talked to, signed up with, seen... Etc. Xoom energy. I instantly called my current electric company to ask what was going on, were they bought out? But no it couldn't be because I just paid my electric bill w/my current company the day before. So they checked the status of my account, and sure enough I had a zero balance w/them.
Apparently two days after my current electric company's billing cycle ended, xoom hijacked my service, disconnected me from my current company and signed me up unauthorized to their service, then charged me 178.00 for 7 days worth of services they claim I used from their company.
I dont think so!
My electric company calls this a 'forced transfer'... And for some reason this is legal. It shouldnt be. Ever. Luckily for me, my electric company will have this resolved in a couple of days, but xoom has the right to turn off my electric service because of this. I don't understand what gives them the right to terminate my account that I signed up for with my current company, then to punish me, when they were trying to steal money with this fake bill, by cutting my electricity off! How dare they. How dare any company that uses these tactics. I would never want to do business with a company that does this to unsuspecting people. My electric company told me that I owe xoom nothing, and not to pay the bill. So I won't, but they might turn off my electricity in retaliation, and then I am to call my current company so they can get it back on asap if and when this happens.

If this happens to you, report it to your current electric company asap! They will handle it, xoom will lie to you, or make false statements about how you signed up w/them. Don't even contact them, contact you actual provider and they will handle it. Pay nothing they send you. If you're hijacked you owe them nothing, it was an unauthorized switch! Sometimes they do a door to door search, getting names, addresses, and current electric carries... Which they use to find you and hijack your services. Never answer your door to them, or tell them it's none of their business what your name is, or who your carrier is.

Responses

  • An
    Anaware customer Jan 07, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had Xoom for 7 months now. I asked a lot of questions and was fully informed about what switching would entail. As soon as my Xoom online account was set up I opened it and reviewed everything. I checked the box that said I wanted a paper bill. I have saved a great deal of money. I cannot complain at all about the service. In fact, I have compared rates and in 99% of the cases, Xoom was, in fact, cheaper than anyone else. I read many of the previous complaints and they do not make sense. I see some people blame Xoom when it is obviously an issue with an individual IBO. People need to be responsible for their own bills. It is too convenient to blame a company because the customer did not do their due diligence. This is a great company. They have obviously evolved a great deal as they grew. Anyone reading a complaint from 2013 or 2014 must take into account that this is 2017. Be fair and above board. I will recommend Xoom to all of my family and friends. Good luck.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    letsbeserious Feb 26, 2014

    They are not a scam. Here is what happens: Your friend proposes saving you money on your electric with Xoom. You decide to help them out, because you plan on reviewing your bill to make sure it remains lower. Your friend says it will be a variable rate or fixed rate but push for the variable rate saying that it will always be lower than PECO. Once you switch it is variable, and lower than PECO and you're happy (for the first 3 months). After that period you are bumped up out of the introductory variable rate, and that is when you start paying double and get blindsided. At that point you call XOOM and they have you trapped for another 2-3 months if you decide to cancel. Then when you ask for credit or try to disconnect to go back to PECO, they say unfortunately it will take about 2-3 months to get off their service, since PECO needs to come out and do a final reading on the meter. This is all mentioned in the terms and conditions which you never read because you trust that your friend wouldnt put you in a position to lose money. The truth of the matter is that your friend honestly believes they will save you money, because they truely do not have the proper knowledge on how it works. Then your friend feels awful putting you through all of this and losing you money (if they truely are good people)


    The bottom line is you may save some money short term with a company like XOOM ...but stay with your existing company and never have a complaint.


    All of you agents out there who are responding with how great XOOM is, do your homework and stop misleading your friends...stop drinking the company coolaid they have you hypnotized.

    1 Votes
  • Ca
    Carlyshan Feb 24, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Pretty pathetic when someone goes online to lie and bash competition. You realize XOOM does not have a sales department, they are a supplier. If some network representative swicthed you, maybe you need to look around at your freidns and family and see who did. Since XOOM would nee dyou utility id#, Social Security #, name address and more information to do so, And I doubt they were sneaking around your drawers.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anaware customer Jan 07, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Carlyshan Good points. I sense many here who are complaining are not home owners... the best lie is the one closest to the truth... I smell a rat in many of these complaints...

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    rashal Oct 11, 2013

    Xoom energy IS A TOTAL FRAUD COMPANY IN MIVHIGAN, JUST BEWARE.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    hasil Sep 14, 2013

    I totally agree with all of you. I was also tricked by a friend who promised me that he would save me money on my energy bills and immediately within the first 2 months with Xoom Energy my bills have almost doubled. I have not had any good experiences with Xoom energy and was never told that I would locked into this horrible contract with this rip off of a company for a year. I never had to sign anything and actually never even met with my so called friend in person to sign up for this SCAM service. I was only asked to provide my current account # with my current energy supply which i have never had any problems with. I should have known better seeings how he called repeatedly for days trying to convince me to let him sign me up for the service so he could save me some money because he knew that i was already enduring financial difficulties. In the end I am one pissed off ex friend and completely dissatisfied customer of XOOM energy. Don't sign up for this service because all you are doing is making ACN and all their affiliates money and you will end up losing money. XOOM ENERGY IS A SCAM!!!

    0 Votes
  • Tk
    tkonline Jun 21, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    So you are saying XOOM, which does no marketing like you describe at all, somehow snuck into your house and got your SS#, account number from current provider and entered it in their system and contacted your current provider to do a transfer of service? See how that sounds? Someone you know working to make sales or leads for themselves may have, since that makes a bit more sense. How about find out who YOU know that actually has things like you bill there and could actual do this and then write about them online? XOOM has lower rates in almost every market they serve, and as Vinessa said, ...XOOM also has 35% and 100% renewable energy products now, so people can switch and get guaranteed 100% renewable energy used in their home.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    davids209 May 08, 2013

    Like somebody said earlier in their comments. For every 1 complaint, there are 100 satisfied customers. Nobody reports their satisfaction, only complaints. If I eventually sign up for XOOM energy (to help out a friend), I will have actually compared rates to see if it makes sense for me. Someone on here also made the accusation that their utility company raised their transportation fees for paying their procurement to another company. I saw this same complaint on the internet earlier today, so I immediately called my local utility company PG&E(Northern California). I told them "I'm thinking about switching companies to pay my procurement. If I change companies, does that affect my transportion cost?" He told me "NO. Everyone gets changed the exact same transportation fee, whether they pay PG&E for procurement or another company for procurement." Just so you know, if you have overage charges, it is charged through your transportation cost (not your procurement). By the way, who are all the people who are getting into these contracts, locking in their rates? I mean are you guys deathly afraid that market is going to sky rocket in prices? LOL. With deregulation of natural gas, the market is much more competative. So, why not sign up for Variable Rate? At least there is no cancellation fee. I do agree that the person responsible for the hijacking can be tracked down. This sounds like the criminal activity of a single person.

    0 Votes
  • So
    Sovereign Student May 01, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Wow! I am surprised at the negative comments on here. First Zoom is a great company of integrity. Check Better Business Bureau rating for yourself. Second, a customer can not be switched without info from your billing statement which only the customer has access to.
    Third, there are other companies and reps who are commenting on this site to badger their competition. Zoom is the biggest and best alternative energy company out there and some are envious. To try and make their company look superior they badger another. Integrity would go be the better company without hurting another.

    0 Votes
  • He
    Heathm14 Mar 26, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My mom badgered me to sign up with Xoom, saying it would save me money. I finally did and it has been costing me over twice as much for gas. I feel they were dishonest with me and I want out of the contract. They are charging me $25 to get out of the contract, but I've already paid them MORE than that it what I've paid them for their "service, " which is sending me a $14 bill each month. I'm still paying a bill for my local gas company, which only went down by $2. How is this saving me money? I'm done with them & I'm not paying the $25!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Darren U Mar 21, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Xoom is a legit company. I used the for a 1 year contract for my gas as California did not have electric with xoom yet. You do get two bills. One from Xoom and one from the gas company (transportation fee). While the differences were not large, maybe any where from a dollar to $20, my gas bill was on average, compared over 12 months, higher by about $7 so I did not save any money with Xoom and I had to pay two bills. I went with Xoom to help out a friend, but it did make sense. The regulation of gas and electric is a good idea and the fixed rate is better over a one year average but for Socal gas customers, that transportation fee if broken down and added into the fixed rate makes it slightly higher so the gas company makes Xoom look not so good. Not the fault of Xoom. However, in trying to cancel with Xoom, I called them at the beginning of January and 2 times after and each time they told me that my account would be canceled and transferred back to Socal gas but as of today I am still being charged by Xoom. After speaking with Xoom today it turns out my cancellation request was marked invalid by someone at Xoom and was told that they need Socal gas to send them a form to cancel my account. I don't know why I wasn't informed of this back in January or the 2 other times I called but I can only guess as to the reasons they have. So 3 months after I tried to cancel I am still paying two bills and Xoom claims no responsibility over my invalid cancellation request and asked that I keep paying my bill and to call the Socal gas company to handle my cancellation with their company. I am not saying this will happen to anyone else but this is my experience with Xoom.

    0 Votes
  • Jn
    JNorCalM Mar 18, 2013

    I've just canceled my contract with Xoom Energy; service was provided in Northern California. Only reason for canceling? My normally $30/ month spring gas bill for my house (I've lived here for several years, have the bill stubs from previous years to compare with, use same amount of gas consistently month to month, year to year so don't try to tell me that it's due to some weird spike in usage, PGE anamoly, etc) soared to $100/ month. Advertised savings? Yes. Real, actual, honest savings? NO...

    0 Votes
  • My
    My2Cents Feb 05, 2013

    Wow, I see many different reviews about the same company. I have been a Xoom Energy Customer for almost a year. I have a fixed rate that has been much lower then my PECO utility company was willing to match. This has saved me money for an entire year. I will definitely be reviewing my options at the end of the first year, but as a consumer, if you don't do your research first before you buy then you have no one else to blame but yourself. It was my nephue who presented me the option to switch and for that I thank him. He told me I would still be provided a bill from PECO and a portion of that bill was going to be my electric consumption cost from Xoom. I get one bill, pay the same company as I always have but a portion of it goes to Xoom. I'm not surprised to see and be reading all the complaints from California, its the mentality of your state as a whole. Everyone there seems to want everything for FREE and if you don't get it for FREE, you complain about it. As far as the person from Texas who says your account was hijacked, you need to file a complaint with your public utilities commission and have the representatives number traced back to who did the hijacking because my nephue had a number that appeared on the application that I filled out so he would get the credit. Either you are not telling the whole truth or someone should be held responsible. As for me, my situation, the sales person was honest, straight forward, presented the product with professionalism and answered all of my questions before I switched. Its worked well for me, I just hope I can get the same rate going forward for 2013 when my account is up for renewal.

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    Adevisingh Feb 03, 2013

    I have Xoom energy and your friends that sign all of those that put negative comments up didn't obviously clarify that 1) your bills would be separate, as one is for supply and one is for delivery. 2) The rates between SoCal gas and Xoom energy are very competitive and competitive. And for the one who was hijacked, obviously your trusted friend took your social, account number for your electric, etc...I love Xoom energy and am quite satisfied!

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Vinessa Lane Dec 19, 2012

    Clean energy is the way to go...watch "The Global Warning" on youtube. You can use all electric and feed power back into the grid and get paid for it. Install solar panels, it creates jobs and takes out the CO2 emissions from the air which will save our Planet from the excess CO2 PPM in the air. Every bit helps on the path we are on if nothing is done now. Wind farms are growing faster than power plants. When States like Texas, which is already on the rise on wind farms, Kansas, South and North Dakota are up and running with wind farms, we will no longer need to depend on foreign oil or even our own and we can shut down these polluting power plants. Zoom is on the wrong path, and it's tied to MLM.

    0 Votes
  • Po
    posty Dec 11, 2012

    Wish I didn't sign up with Xoom Energy. They are sold by ACN (pyramid company) to people. I purchased their gas service and was told I'd save a few bucks. Even if I broke even, I would do it for my friend. My first month I got a bill from my regular gas company and another bill from Xoom, both in different amounts but almost doubling my bill. I called Xoom and they told me that they supply the gas, but the gas company charges for transportation of the gas and taxes. I asked why my bill was double the normal amount, and from my local gas company it appears that they are charging more for the transportation than what I normally paid for everything. The Xoom rep was polite, but could not explain it and simply said that in Southern CA the gas company charges more she guessed. I cancelled immediately which costs $25 cancellation fee within the first year, but saved me way more to cancel than continue. So if you are told it will save you money, research it first, even if it is for a friend.

    1 Votes
  • De
    Deacond Oct 31, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hmmmm I live in California and have Xoom Energy as my supplier on record. I love Xoom. I was paying $1.06/per therm with PG&E. Now with Xoom I am paying .43 cents per therm. There are no baseline overages either. AS SOME HAVE POST HERE, unless you have signed paperwork or signed up online, there is no way that your service could be highjacked.

    0 Votes
  • Go
    goingtothetop Oct 17, 2012

    All I have to say is, to those that say negative things about XOOM AND ACN, your just negative people who have nothing else to do but complain an until you get the negativity out of your life, ie: your husband or wife or whatever's causing this negativity, you'll always have a misurable life. For those that tried ACN and it didn't work for you its because you didn't work it according to the S.Y.S.T.E.M. ACN is the best in the world. People give up to quick on things. This isn't a get rich scheme like many others, it's a get rich slow opportunity, an as the saying goes, I'd rather get rich slow than not get rich at all. Once you sign up, you have 1 year until you have to renew, so work it for 1 year and see what happens, don't work it for 1 or 2 months and then complain that it doesn't work. You have to put in the work just like any job, but this is your own business, so you should want to put in the work to get the results you want: FINANCIAL FREEDOM, TIME, $$$$$$. You wouldn't give up on your family, so why would you give up on your business that's gonna provide for your family long after your gone. DON'T GIVE UP, DON'T EVER GIVE UP!!! So stop making complaints about a company that you know nothing about, do your research, and not negative research, all your gonna get is negative results.

    0 Votes
  • Si
    SimplySalli Oct 11, 2012

    The problems re Xoom energy are not about Billing as much as the savings promises. The costs are greater than PGE, SOCAL etc, as you will and DO get charged for both your current company plus Xoom. They need to train their independents better. They target seniors and will not let them out of their contract.

    DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THIS COMPANY!!!

    My costs ARE: $20.00 a month higher on XOOM!

    Great news you have a choice: Bad news, it will cost you MORE!

    1 Votes
  • LV Energy Jun 10, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Try a trusted company that truly saves you money on your electric bill. First you need to do research and compare prices, be sure you can review terms and conditions first before ever signing up with any provider. Make sure you know the difference between Variable rates and Fixed rates. Always be sure you are not already in a contract before switching to avoid early termination fees from your current provider. I have been in the energy business since 2009 and I have seen the Good, the Bad and the Ugly. To report unauthorized switching, or "Slamming" report it to your states Utility Commission. A good link to compare electricity rates and a non-bias company is http://www.cheaperelectricityrate.com I hope this helps you!

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    baiken Apr 11, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am an ACN independant business owner and i do understand that with any company there will always be mixed reviews. I do agree that there has to be a scoundrel whom you may know and has illegally transfered your service. As an IBO of ACN we can not garuntee a savings for your gas and/or electric, so YES Xoom energy may not be your choice for savings...however, the key being that you now have a choice. ACN is a wonderful company and has changed my families life for the better as well as many others i know. This company is very much legal and legit and not for everyone. Think outside the "pyramid" not box. Just remember, people always comment on the bad and never the good. For every 1 complaint, there are 100 satisfied customers. For the person with the original complaint, there should be an ibo number attached to your account through acn and if there is that person needs to be reported to acn for disiciplinary actions. ACN will not tollerate this persons actions. I wish you luck

    0 Votes
  • Gg
    GGC Mar 16, 2012

    Have XOOM gas in Southern Calif. Xoom's prices are higher than the regular gas company as soon as you sign on. A total rip off as is ACN.

    0 Votes
  • Lk
    LKepecs Mar 06, 2012

    I do get a bill only from Xoom Energy, and not from Centerpoint Energy anymore. There are some states that may receive useage bills from Xoom, AND distribution bills from their own local carrier, but that is not the case in Texas. The total electric bills including all taxes and distribution charges that I have received with Xoom energy is listed in my review http://melissasdish.wordpress.com/2012/02/15/review-xoom-energy/
    Yes, I am a certified dealer of Xoom, and I also use their service, because they are really good, and I've saved a lot of money with them. If I was not satisfied with their service, I would never have written a great review on them. And yes, there are products that I sell through an affiliate link, which I've written horrible reviews on as well. http://melissasdish.wordpress.com/2011/12/15/product-reviews-gardening-equipment/

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    folderman Feb 26, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    first of all there is deregulation.you have the power to choose where you get you electric or gas.your utility company doesn't own gas or electric.they just are there to transport it to your home or business.there are a lot of companies out there to choose from.i think it is your utility companies fault because xoom energy gets paid from your utility company and it appears on your same bill.

    0 Votes
  • 2c
    2cool2fail Feb 24, 2012

    According to their website they do send out a bill as well as you continue to get a bill from SoCal Gas..the people who are posting in favor are probably apart of FHTM ...lol google this pyramid scheme

    1 Votes
  • Lk
    LKepecs Feb 21, 2012

    I am sorry that you had such a problem with them. I do not understand how an energy account can possibly get hijacked like that. Are you sure it was the company, and not an indepenent representative that signed you up without your knowledge which is highly illegal?
    I had signed up with Xoom energy back in November 2011 and my bills have been much much lower- in the amount of 30% to 44% lower than what they were before. I am truly thrilled with their service so far. I even wrote articles how excited I am with their service http://melissasdish.wordpress.com/2012/02/15/review-xoom-energy/
    I hope your problem gets resolved soon.

    0 Votes
  • None of what is written here is true, the only way you could have been hijacked is someone you know did it to you. Check your friends and family for a scoundrel, you'll probably find one. Xooms rates are less than those in California and Texas, I looked them up. Why are you trying to cause trouble for a legitimate and ethical company?

    0 Votes
  • Qw
    qwerqwer Feb 16, 2012

    Signed up for gas in CA for friend favor. Paying more than ever. Xoom DOES send bill for energy alone. Also bill fro socal gas. Locked in for one year or giant cancellation fee!

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    clifornia Feb 15, 2012

    xoom energy in California is not saving me any money. They are bothering me to daily phone calls to buy my xoom bill directly to xoom. Another ACN joke.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    clifornia Feb 15, 2012

    xoom energy in California is not saving my any money. They are bothering me to daily phone calls to buy my xoom bill directly to xoom.

    -1 Votes
  • Lo
    logandeb Feb 13, 2012

    And to further the post by @T Diddle:

    Xoom Energy only uses Social Media to promote their service, they DO NOT go door-to-door.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    RoyalPrince93 Jul 13, 2018

    @logandeb Actually yes they do that’s how I signed up for Xoom energy

    0 Votes
  • Td
    T Diddle Feb 03, 2012

    this is fake because xoom energy doesn't send any bills out, you get bills from your current gas provider, not xoom energy. xoom doesn't own and doesn't purchase the lines/pipes/fixtures needed to provide you with your utilities, your current gas/electric company does...so this is fake, research what i'm saying and you'll find that to be true

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    MSaez Feb 01, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm glad you posted this because I didn't feel comfortable about signing up with them after reading the terms and conditions. I feel a lot better now that I know my instincts where correct. Thanks again and I'm glad your electric company settle the issue. But it does suck that they shut your electric off.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.