Westinghouse LCD TVnon existent support and warranty service

C
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I purchased a Westinghouse LCD TV model LTV-37w2 HD in August of 2007. I received the product and was initially happy. We put this TV in a spare room thus the TV was used very little, 50 - 100 hours by my estimation.

Early in March of 2008, after having the television for about 7 months the screen would no longer stay on. When the unit was powered on, the screen would display for about a second and then go blank. I tried hooking up devices to all the different ports with the same result. Sound is heard but you can not see the display after the initial flash.

I called customer support towards the end of March of 2008 and was told I could take the unit for service to the nearest center which is about 1.5 hours drive away. I later called back and was told I also had the option of sending the unit in for warranty service to the service center in California. I asked to be sent a box for the TV to ship in safely and was told that was not an option. I asked about the shipping charges and I was told that if I had read the fine print in the warranty that shipping charges are not covered either.

When I asked to escalate my call I was told that I would receive a call back from a supervisor within "24 to 72 hours." I placed my request and waited patiently. I did eventually get a call, which went to voicemail because I was on the phone at the time. The supervisor left a message but did not leave a callback number. I was forced to call the general support center number back and go through the same process. I provided them with an alternate number, hoping to catch their call this time. Once again, I waited the typical 24 to 72 hours. I received a call again which went unanswered at the original number. The supervisor made no attempt to call the alternate number. I had to call back a third time and request a call from a supervisor. I eventually got in touch with a supervisor by the agent at the help desk transferring me, not because the supervisor called me. The supervisor, Ben, was completely unsympathetic and unwavering in the policy of paying for nothing and making no attempt to help support this defective product.

Looking for other options, I even found a local TV repair place that was more than happy to help out if they would get some cooperation from Westinghouse in becoming warranty authorized. I acted as a middle man, took the information from Westinghouse and provided it to the TV repair shop. After over a week I was told that Westinhouse made no effort to even contact the local repair shop.

At that point I called back and was told there was no guarantee that even if I brought the unit in to the other service center that they coudl fix it. Thus my options were to incur the cost to do that and still be faced with shipping charges to California or simply send it directly to California. With no other option, decided to send the unit to California. I was told today that the charges would be about $300. I find that completely unreasonable. I went back to the website and the warranty there is listed simply as "1 year parts and labor." I feel that this is false advertising.

This issue has been going on for more than a month already. I expect to be contacted ASAP by phone or email and be provided with a shipping label so I can receive warranty service with minimal cost to me. I am thus far very dissatisfied with the product and the service I've received. I am willing to be understanding and accept that electronics occasionally fail but I expect the manufacturer to provide support during the warranty period.

I request that this matter be resolved immediately to avoid future action. I await your prompt response and resolution.

Responses

  • Ki
    Kim Johnson Jun 09, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased a Westinghouse LTV 32w3HD tv in April of 2007, the TV was working good until it went out, the screen went completely black, it would not come on at all, I called customer service and no one could get it working, so I sent the TV back which I had to pay shipping and handling cost.

    The TV was received April 7th 08, I have been calling about my TV and have not received it yet and today is June 9th. I have spoke with a number of people, I have spoke with supervisors and everyone is telling me the same thing, it will be about 7 to 10 days thats been sents April. The supervisors are making no attempt what so ever helping me understand where my TV is and why its taking so long only thing I have been getting is, it went to corported, then I was told by customer service the TV was discontinue, at that time I ask to spoke to supervisor again his name was Henry he said that wasn't true and he did not know why he told me that, but it did go to corporated and for to give it another 7 to 10 days and that was the end of April and If I didn't here from them to call him. I started call the first week of May asking to speak to Henry the supervisor because he said to ask for him, well I can't seen to evey get Henry because after they put me on hold a different supervisor takes the call, and again I have to go through the hold thing again for them to tell me the same 7 to 10 days.

    I called again today June 9th and after going back and forth with the supervisor again I ask him where is my TV and now he tell me its in Santa Fe are you kidding me its in Santa Fe Springs where I sent it, so all this about corporated and not having the parts and discontinue and wait 7 to 10 are just lies.

    I brought the TV, paid to have it shipped back, I have cable and no TV, this makes no sense what so ever, I am so dissatified with Westinghouse and the service.

    I want this matter cleared up immediatley to avoid future action.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    Warren Hartmann Jul 12, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also have been amazed by the lack of customer service from Westinghouse.

    I have been trying to get my LTV 32w3 repaired since January of 2008. A local TV repair service said they could not repair the unit since Westinghouse did not have repair parts for this unit. On the positive side, since Westinghouse did not have repair parts for the LTV 32w3, and the TV failed soon after the 1 year warranty period, they agreed to honor the warranty and send me a new TV a SK-32H240S. I was told that I would get this new model TV since they no longer sold or repaired my model. I would have to ship the old TV back to them at my expense and in 1 to 2 weeks they would send me a new TV.

    I sent my LTV32W3 to Westinghouse on March 25, 2008 at my expense. They received it on March 31st. I had been originally told that I would receive a new TV, in 5 to 10 days since repair parts were not available for my model. When I called back to check on the status of my new TV, I was told that I would receive a refurbished unit and they could not tell me when it would be shipped. I checked continually for 6 weeks with no estimate of ship date and no reason of why it was being delayed. On May 8th I contacted a Mike Brown from corporate offices who said he would expedite my replacement TV. Mike seemed to be the first person concerned about resolving my problem.

    On May 16, 2008 I received a refurbished SK-32H240S TV. I hooked up the TV and it worked fine for 2 days, about 3 to 4 hours of use, and then the picture started to go bad. The colors were off again and the blending of colors did not seem correct. They appeared to occur in small boxes, but larger than individual pixels. There did not appear to be a blending of the colors but major changes which gave it the look of a printed comic book. I tried resetting to factory setting, changing to an external antenna, another cable hook-up, and even a DVD input on the RCA type connectors instead of the coaxial input. None of this worked. Also when unplugging the unit and then re-plugging it in there is a loud crack from the TV as is receives power. When I searched the internet about repairs to Westinghouse TV’s I found numerous accounts of failures similar to mine. I also saw accounts about people returning the TV 3 or 4 times for repair before they obtained one that worked, or they gave up.

    I contacted the Westinghouse customer support number again on May 19th. I was told that I needed to send it back in and I would receive a prepaid label to send it back within 1 to 2 days. It is now July 12th and I have called numerous times to obtain the return label but I am still waiting. I tried calling Mike Brown but found out that he had left the company and the other customer rep’s I left messages with, never returned my calls. I have written to the president of Westinghouse and filled a Better Business Bureau claim but have not heard back from Westinghouse on either issue, and it has been over 7 weeks. The customer support anserwing service on the east coast seems to have no knowledge of what is happening in the corporate offices in Calif.. This has been a very frustrating experience for me and I would not reccomend them to anyone. I do not understand how they maintain a good BBB rating with all the problems I see on the internet. I would like Westinghouse to refund the cost of my TV and shipping expenses and end this horrible experience.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Patrick Hayes Aug 19, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also have had problems with a Westinghouse LCD27W2 I purchased from Best Buy. My screen turns green and then scrambles intermittently. It is very annoying. I called customer service tonight and was told the warranty had expired so basically there was nothing they could do. When I told them I heard that Westinghouse was the number one returned TV at Best Buy and stated there must be a material defect or known bug, she said again there was nothing they could do b/c of my lack of warranty. I told her that when I take my Chevy Tahoe into the shop, they fix things for free that they know are unsafe or known defective. She agreed but again no help.

    I spent $800 on my TV about 1.5 yrs ago. I am going to make it my pet project to let folks know they need to steer clear of Westinghouse. And with God as my witness, I will never purchase from that company again. I really feel bad for poor people who buy these things at Wallmart. This is exploitation.

    Unhappy former customer of Westinghouse,
    Pat Hayes

    0 Votes
  • An
    Ann Aug 25, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Horrible company, on par with health insurance companies.

    We are currently building our case for small claims court. FYI: e-mail them instead of calling (build a paper trail).

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joey cinco Oct 25, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I got the same problem, no picture but with sound.

    I brought it to a local repair shop, they were able to identify the problem

    but no parts available anywhere!

    I end up buying another LCD TV another brand of course...this time LG LCD 37

    very nice and affordable!!!

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alton Oct 28, 2008

    bought a flat screen tv, Westinhouse from Best Buy. Apparently I was sold a used tv as original and not to mention defective tv. When I called Best Buy to talk to the manager re: this matter, I was told "who gives a damn!", "after a month you are no longer our customer!", "that is what happens when you refuse to buy our extended service plan!". I was even assaulted by the manager when I said I would file a complaint with Attorney General even I was a disabled person. When I called the police, the said they had no camare where the incident happened. However, during a private investigation, their employee gave all the information about the lies told to the police not having camera and even pointed out where the cameras were. When informed best Buy, the refused to respond.

    0 Votes
  • Jf
    J from NC Dec 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    A year and a half ago, I too, was baited into a "great price" for my very first LCD TV- a Westinghouse LTV-32W6 HD. Was talked into it and was awestruck like a dummy (I have since come to my senses)

    A couple of days ago, the screen goes entirely GREEN. (same problem as Patrick above) Menu still pops up and displays on the screen when the button is pushed on the remote, the audio still comes through, cable input and DVD input both and play, but, still, no picture. Tried the same troubleshoot method (unplug, reboot etc) still, nothing.

    So I take it to a reputable repair shop that specializes in flat screens and the guy tells me to "be prepared for the worst." "It's more than likely the main board" he tells me.

    I took it to him as the warranty ran out on it. Prior to this, I had a 26" Sharp tube TV that still works to this very day that I had purchased in 1996. It still does. Clear picture, sound, everything. Now, having something finally that's supposed to be the cutting edge of technology and today, I call him back to find out exactly what the problem was and he confirmed it was the main board. He said that based on his personal dealings with Westinghouse LCD TV's, the have a history of doing this.

    So I then ask him how much is it going to cost to have it repaired (I figure I can have it repaired, throw it in another room and buy another) WRONG. He then proceeds to inform me the TV not working is only one half of the problem. The other half (And listen up folks-this is an eye opener for anyone contemplating the purchase of one) Westinghouse has none of the parts or any parts that support the repair of this TV.

    After searching the web, I have found this to be true along with numerous other complaints mirroring and verifying everything written here, Too bad, I'm a year and a half too late.

    800.00 and a year and a half later and for what, a TV that lasts only a year and a half? And no parts available from Westinghouse? I remember when I was a kid and my parents had many products in the house with their name on it. I have no idea what happened to the original company, pride of maufacturing, quality of product, consumer satisfaction. Seems like all of it is now just a memory-non-existent.

    FTR and FWIW, I will NEVER, EVER, BUY OR EVEN CONSIDER THE PURCHASE OF ANYTHING EVER AGAIN, WITH THE WESTINGHOUSE BRAND NAME, LOGO OR ANYTHING ELSE ASSOCIATED WITH THIS COMPANY AS LONG AS I LIVE.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    pav Jan 19, 2009

    I brought this WestingHouse TV on EBAy in december for my brother. It was refurbished item. I was in my brothers place when this was delivered. To my surprise as soon as i switched on it shutoff after two minutes. My brother shipped the product for service in Jan of 2008, my brother lives in kansas. After repeated instructions to westinghouse to ship the fixed TV to kansas they shipped to me in new jersy. i sent back the tV (big mistake) to westing house. so that they can ship the product to kansas. Until now after a solid year and un countable calls to westing house they do not know where my TV is . Such a poor service and waste of my time . Do not know what to do now? After a year i do not have TV (360 dollars).

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brenda Moon Mar 11, 2009

    I wish I had done my homework before I bought my TV. The set is ten months old and dead as a door nail. It seemed so state-of-art when purchased.
    My set died this afternoon. It crackled, sputtered, a strange pattern came accross the screen with a terrible noise. I could not turn the set off with my remote. I could not turn it off with the controls on the set. I finally unplugged it from the wall. When I plugged it back in nothing.
    After having read what others have gone through, I don't have much hope for a satisfactory resolution. I will provide follow-up at a later date.

    0 Votes
  • Hs
    hsl692000 Mar 20, 2009

    I do not normally post comments on the internet but, I bought a Westinghouse SK-32H240S approximately 1 year ago. Same exact thing that everyone is describing, sound...no picture. I'm assuming I'm stuck with it as I am not intending to put more money into it to have it shipped away only to never hear from anyone again. One thing I know for sure is that I will NEVER buy a Westinghouse tv again, and I'm sure glad I didn't get rid of my old tv (15years old) which is still working great!!

    0 Votes
  • We
    WESTINGHOUSE SUCKS!!! Apr 19, 2009

    Please and please, nobody should ever consider buying any Westinghouse TV. They all have exact same issues. I bought mine last thursday and it worked for only 15 mins before all the horizontal and vertical lines showed up and the screen eventually went blank. no troubleshouting in the world could fix it. I am amazed that such company with such audacity to play on the intelligence of consumers can be allowed to do business in the USA. I am appalled, mad as hell. I am considering taking the case to the office of NY state attoney-general. Or consumer advocate out there. No American should fall victim again to this scoundrel of a company called WESTINGHOUSE!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    RaymondO Apr 19, 2009

    One more satisfied customer...after about a year and a half, today I got the green screen with sound but no picture. My av input works so I guess I can stick an $800 TV in my kid's room to play Wii on and watch movies...unbelievable. At least now for $800 I can get a bigger and higher quality set. WESTINGHOUSE...you suck...and the sad thing is I am sure they could care less about their customers...

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    gerry and millie May 01, 2009

    Well, guess what we called Westing house today our tv SK-32H240S has went blank sound but no picture we called Westing house they said the back lite was out and that was 80% of the cost of the tv. No offer to hep us in any way . We recieved the tv from a drawing so don't have the money in it that the rest of you do. We strongly agree with all of you Westing house should never sell another product in the USA.
    Gerry and Millie

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Lee May 05, 2009

    Bought my 32 inch lcd in feb of 08. Started getting a black line down the right hand side of the screen in july. Called westinghouse for an RMA# which the rep. didnt seem to put in the computer. called back every month until finally March of 09 i get the number and address to send it back. Thinking my troubles were over...(Paid 90 dollars to send back) They received my television on APril 8th, I called them on the 15th to make sure everything i was suppose to do "attach name address RMA# on three sides of the box" etc... the rep said everything was fine and they were working on it. (later to find out they're not even on the same coast!)

    After calling about twice a week to check on the status. On 4/20 the rep stated it was sitting in shipping (not in a box...just sitting there) and to call back in five days and they would give me a tracking number from UPS. Called back on 4/27 the rep said the same thing. Left a note for a manager to call me back. 24-72 hours they said it would take. No word from them either.

    May 4th... called and the rep said they cant find the part to fix the television and for the last two weeks i've been lied to. He actually said i was lied to! Thinking he was going to help me, he put in another note for the people in california to call me. which they did... said "we're still looking for parts" and hung up the phone on me. So, now i'm stuck with no answer to where my television really is... and a stupid address i could send a letter to. (which i'm doing after this) I've contacted the BBB and the FTC and a few lawyers i've found on websearches trying to put together a case against westinghouse.

    i too, will never buy another product from the scam artists.

    0 Votes
  • Un
    Unhappy May 07, 2009

    I've had the same experience that all of the others who have posted comments. I bought a Westinghouse tv in March 2008. It worked fine until January 17, 2009. It was still under warranty. The picture went out, but still had sound. I called the support line number and was told to ship the unit to El Paso Texas ( At my own expense). I did and after many phone calls to check on the tv I received a replacement tv by delivery. I hooked the replacement up and it came on fine except it was in black and white (no color). I called to report the new problem immediately. When I called, they did not even know that I had been shipped a replacement tv. Their records showed that they were still waiting to find a replacement unit to send to me. I explained that I had received a replacement tv with out any notification and that it did not work. This was in mid- March. They sent me a label to have the tv sent back. This time to a different place in Texas (Close to Grapevine, TX). I did so and they received this tv on April 1, 2009. I have called and talked to helpdesk personnel, supervisors, etc. still no one can tell me when I will receive a replacement tv. I have been without a tv for three and a half months now with now resolution in site. My advice to anyone purchasing a tv is to stay away from WESTINGHOUSE.

    0 Votes
  • Df
    dfuelo May 08, 2009

    I would like to buy an LCD TV- a Westinghouse LTV-32W6 HD. What do you think, do I buy it???

    0 Votes
  • Up
    upset-set May 09, 2009

    Is this an ongoing problem with westinghouse? Looks like they would do a recall or something on them (sk-32h240s) .. yes Mine went out sound but no picture. This is stupid.. hmm class action??

    0 Votes
  • Ir
    irritated May 21, 2009

    I have a 19" Westinghouse LCD TV and last week the tuner burned out. It still plays sound but the screen is perpetually white. The AV inputs don't work at all, but I can run my DVD player through the component inputs and both picture and sound work fine. Apparently this is a very common problem with this model. I've had it for a couple of years and primarily used it as a computer monitor, then I moved almost a year ago and since then have been using it as an actual TV. Many other people have had the tuner die on them within a year of use. Do not recommend.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Melodye May 28, 2009

    Me too--my Westinghouse went blank I sent back UPS and they received on April 13th. My story mirrors other complaints on this board as well as others online in other blogs regarding same.

    This is what I have found so far---please share any resources you may have found as well.

    Company information:
    Westinghouse Digital Electronics
    12150 Mora Drive
    Santa Fe Springs, California
    United States
    Phone: [protected]
    www.westinghouse.com

    I Shipped (they received April 13, 2009) to:
    Westinghouse Digital Electronics
    Return Center
    27 Spur Dr.
    Suite C
    El Paso, TX 79906
    Signed for on the dock by "Bonilla"

    (the last contact said) the warehouse had moved to:
    Wistron InfoComm Corp
    4051 Freeport PKY Suit 200
    Grapevine TX 76051
    (unconfirmed address. I am still checking)

    With this I am going to file with my home state (IL) Attorney General
    http://www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/about/email_consumers.jsp

    The CA Attorney General
    http://ag.ca.gov/contact/complaint_form.php?cmplt=CL

    The Texas Attorney General
    https://www.oag.state.tx.us/forms/cpd/form.php

    I would encourage all to do the same

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Katherine Jun 09, 2009

    After having my 37" LCD for 9 months, mine also just went poof out of the blue. No picture. I said no problem, I'm still under warranty. After having to search the web for the correct CS #, I discovered that it seems they are no longer answering their phones. After endless recordings about the next rep will assist you in the order in which the call was recieved, blah blah blah, I was connected to their "general mailbox" and instructed to leave a message.

    THEN I started researching this issue on the web, and after reading all of your horror stories, as well as similar stories on other sites, I said F it. I do not need that kind of drama in my life. I have called my TV guy, and he is going to fix it. He offers a REAL 1 year warranty on the set.

    Buyer beware. There is no customer service. Period. We have all been screwed.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Sharon P. Jul 02, 2009

    I have a Westinghouse LTV-30W2 32" LCD Falt Panel - Was purchased 3.5 years ago $900.00. Turn it on and fine and after a few minutes no picture or sound. Out of warranty. Called westing house and was referred to their outsourced repair agency ITI in-house repair at my own cost . Called ITI and they said inverter board panel or box replacement is necessary and they do not do this type of repair. Guess I'll take it to a local repair shop to see if it's totalled or not. I know the backlight has a life expectancy but this is not the backlight.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Barbara Blackman Jul 28, 2009

    Well I had EXACTLY the same problem!!! I wish I had read this before I spent $800 on a TV I got to use for 3-4 months!
    It was actually a gift, so I wasn't given a receipt. I called customer service after my screen kept going blank, I had sound but no picture, it would come on for a minute, the first CSR said it was a back light issue, so I changed it. The 2nd CSR said it needed to be reset, so I reset it. The 3rd CSR said that unless I asked the purchaser to send me the receipt they would do nothing for me. They wouldn't let me send it in to be fixed, b/c the only way to have a warranty item repaired was with a receipt. I could not get a copy of the receipt, it was paid for with Gift Cards for the store, so it wasn't on a credit card and the store had no copy of the record. I asked to go higher up as well and was told I'd get a call. I never did, I called there every day and they kept saying call back tomorrow. Then I asked if I could send it in to them to be repaired and PAY FOR IT MYSELF, without it being a warranty issue. They said no. They would not, could not, will not help me without a receipt.
    Needless to say after having someone buy me a TV for $800 and being able to use it for 3-4 months, it has no sat in my closet longer than I ever got to use it. I am now calling around to TV repair shops to see if anyone else can fix it for me.

    WESTINGHOUSE STINKS, don't buy it!!!

    1 Votes
  • Si
    Sibille Jul 31, 2009

    I bought a westinghouse 40" lcd/dvd combo about 2 years ago. Now there's a line going all the way across the screen. I wanted to get it fixed, but from everything I just read I guess there's nothing I can do about it.
    Never will buy a westinghouse again. $1300 down the drain.

    0 Votes
  • Ia
    iam1gypsy Aug 06, 2009

    My son purchased a Westinghouse 32" LCD 2 years ago for the tidy sum of almost 1000. Used it a 2 months and then moved. The thing sat in a box in the spare bedroom until this last March 09, when we decided we would use it. In June 09 it did the exact same thing all of you have mentioned in your complaints.

    Our problem was rather intermittent so we thought it might be TiVo or cable connections or perhaps internal overheating. Finally it just died. Great sound but no picture.
    We took it to a local TV repairman and, low and behold, he can't get the parts. He looked everywhere. So much for Westinghouse service.

    Wish I had read all this prior to taking it to him. Wish my son had done a little better research too. Going to send info to BBB and to Consumer Reports. Avoid Westinghouse at all costs!

    0 Votes
  • Me
    mert4787 Aug 09, 2009

    The solution to this problem is easy. Find a retailer who sells your same tv and purchase it. Take it home, remove it from the box put yours in the box and return it within 30 days. The store will be out nothing because the manufacturer does not argue with them, they simply credit their account and tell them to discard it. You get your warranty honored without the fuss.

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    admarketingpr Aug 21, 2009

    We bought our Westinghouse 1.5 years ago at Costco and are having the same problem with no screen, but have sound. I am so glad that I have not wasted any time trying to get it fixed. It's sad that Westinghouse refuses to "own" the quality of their product.

    0 Votes
  • Nj
    njjediz Oct 08, 2009

    I feel a bit better - we purchased our Westinghouse 32" HD LCD nearly 3 years before it failed - turn it on, blue screen flashes and then a blank screen, sound works fine. Took it to a local repair shop that specializes in LCD TV repairs and they're scratching their heads. They know which part needs to be replaced, but they can't seem to get the replacement part. SHOCKING!!! I was starting to get mad at them, but now I know better. I have already purchased a replacement TV made by Panasonic (40" Plasma for $599 at BestBuy). The only thing left for me to do is get my the wall mount bracket back and chuck the Westinghouse.
    Some law firm should really consider a class action suit, especially in view of the history of dishonered warranties. Sounds like mass consumer fraud to me!

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    gerry and millie Oct 08, 2009

    We got a email from westinhouse telling us to send our tv to texas all paid by them I was so suprised we packed and shipped it right away. Well months later I called them they said they could send us a reconditioned one I said hey this was a new tv less then a year old and I would like a new one back never did the person on the other end of the phone say you can only geta reconditioned one. Well she offered me a reconditioned other model and said she was out of the model like mine and they would have some in monday I said fine I will wait for a new one same model. Well I called back a few days later and sure enough they sent out a tv. We stayed home from work waiting for the tv it came box said refurbished all over it tv said refurbished all over it I was so mad I called back seems there is no way to talk to the person I had talked to about getting a NEW tv like the one I sent in I even got called back from the manager who seemed to be hideing something he explained to me this tv was old stock sent back from the store but the had to have refurbished on them they had NO NEW tvs. So here I am with a tv that looks like it was slide around on its face while they worked on it NO paper work a remote and a 90 day warranty that I am sure is not real so hey class action suite sounds good to me

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    drfrank Dec 29, 2009

    Westinghouse SUCKS!!! They are playing a shell game hoping that customers will go away. I live close their corporate headquarters which used to be in Santa Fe Springs, CA and now is in Orange, CA across from Angels Stadium. 500 N State College Blvd. I went into their headquarters and told them I wasn't leaving until I got a box & a shipping label. The game me both - but I'm guessing it's just a matter of time before the refub they send me will break too - lesson - STAY AWAY FROM WESTINGHOUSE LCDs, Plasmas and any and all electronic products. Westinghouse used to be owned by CBS but they sold the rights to the name to a Taiwan Company.

    0 Votes
  • Ub
    Ubak Jan 14, 2010

    We purchased a Westinghouse Vituoso Refridgerator in 2004. It packed up in the first two weeks and needed replacing(alarm bells should have started then). 14 months later and another service call out totaling $330. Four years later and the thermostat has gone - $500 to replace and the rubber seal has gone on the freezer door. They can't replace the seal so the whole door needs replacing - another $200. Westinghouse will never be in our house again, or our friends and family.

    0 Votes
  • Cy
    Cybercat Jan 31, 2010

    There is one option, pull the bad board and reflow the solder joints by baking it in the oven for a short period of time. The same fix is used to repair dead video cards for computers: http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1421792

    0 Votes
  • Me
    meeseu Feb 03, 2010

    My husband and I bought two Westinghouse LCD t.v.'s. One is working fine the other just quit. It has sound but no picture. The warranty just ran out two months ago. We are receiving no satisfaction from the company. I'll never waste my money on another Westinghouse product.

    0 Votes
  • 3d
    3Doxies Feb 08, 2010

    My 22" LCD Monitor Model 2210LW went bad after only 10 months. I follwed the very complicated process to send it back at my expense to the Westinghouse Service Center for repair or replacement. After several weeks I finally get back a monitor that is not only not the one I sent in (verified by checking serial number), but it is not working and has so many scratches on the screen that even if it did I would not want to use it.

    I sent them a monitor that I took excellent care of for the very short time we had it, and this is what I get back. I am out the shipping and insurance, the cost (239+tax) of the monitor and now I will need to pay to have it recycled. I feel that Westinghouse owes me a working LCD monitor in the same shape in which it was sent.

    0 Votes
  • Er
    erica (birmingham) Mar 04, 2010

    I bought the same TV 32 inch Westinghouse model #sk32h240s..which went dead in 7 months..no picture but sound...Westinghouse should be a shame...taking them to small claims court..so upset!!!

    0 Votes
  • Jt
    jtesch Mar 21, 2010

    So I'm also in the same boat...tv is fine for a bit then get all these crazy vertical and horizontal lines. I turn it off, let it cool, and its back on. Had it fixed once before. But I don't know what the guy did.
    Considering taking off the back of the TV to see if it keeps it cool longer, but its pissing me off.

    So what's my options?? Can we do a lawsuit, this is ###, I spent $700 on this TV

    0 Votes
  • Th
    TheRobzter Apr 14, 2010

    Same problem here. Model# SK-32H240S purchased 2/8/08 at Best Buy, and now sound but no picture.

    This is sad... $800 and worked for 2 years. Is there no recall on this unit?!

    R Strain, Buena Park, California

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Reginald Wilbourn Apr 28, 2010

    I had the same problem with my Westinghouse TV, the screens pops on about a second and then goes completely black, all you can see is that little blue light in the front!! Yep, A $600 TV lasted about a year!! Its so sad to see so many complaints every time you put in something about Westinghouse. I thought this would be a good company by them being around so long. I grew up on Westinghouse products, where's the pride??
    I cant even find a number to call, I purchased an entended warranty and everything. Going Forward, I plan to use every resource I have to raise awareness about this company!! I dont want anyone else to experience the level of dissatisfaction and uncomfort that i endured!! Thanks for nothing Westinghouse!!!

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    CL Martin01 May 08, 2010

    I purchase a Westinghouse 32" LCD Tv. It worked for less than two years. After calling Westinghouse I was told that if I could not find my receipt that there was nothing they could do except sell me another television for $250 plus tax. It is ashame that you pay $800 for a television set a get less than two years use from it. Westinghouse will never get anymore business from me or any of my freinds. I will make sure of that.

    ClMartin

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chippy2 Jun 12, 2010

    Tried to do the right thing and start buying American products again. (after every other American product has failed me in the past). 2 years ago, we bought a 47" Westinghouse flatscreen... died within 1yr, , completely dead. We also bought a 32" Westinghouse soon after the first purchase because we were happy with our first tv. Now, the second tv we own just kicked the bucket only 1.5 years after our purchase. The screen is completely black. It's amazing how you can own a tv for 15 - 30 years without a single problem, then buy 2 piece of crap Westinghouses that die within 2 years. Customer service at the company is NON-EXISTENT, , they simply do not care. (even though I've spend over $2, 000 on thier products that failed).

    I will NEVER, EVER, BUY A WESTINGHOUSE PRODUCT AGAIN FOR AS LONG AS I LIVE!

    0 Votes
  • So
    sonnyo Jun 21, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I brought a 47" TX-47F430S HDTV for $1700 at Bestbuy about 2.5 years ago. Now, the screen is black. I just could not turn the TV on.

    I unpluged the power and plug back in. The is no "W" show up on the screen. It looks like the power did not get in or the TV can not 'reboot' itself.

    I scheduled a repairman from Sears TV repair center and would post more info later.

    Westinghouse do sucks...

    The Westinghouse said, I can send the TV back to them (I need to pay the shipping cost) for an upgrade program for $350. If I qualified, they will send me a new TV back.

    But it will be a 42" HDTV TX-42F810G

    Does that make any sense to anyone?

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions