The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Walker Marketing & ConsultantsComplete Scam

I have heard nothing but bad things regarding this company. My friend had an interview last week and said he was surprised people actually would want to work there or still work there. Everything is commission and they have to drive as far as Dayton everyday (without being reimbursed for gas) to cold call in territories that other sales agents were just in. He said every business they went into (By the way, yes this is a door to door sales job - the ones where you have the cable companies come knock on your door every other month trying to get you to switch) said they were already signed up from the rep they sent out last week. My friend said he was extremley embarrassed because the rep who was conducting his interview (8 hour interview) would talk back and almost harass the people at the businesses that did not want to switch their "energy supplier." How is this company still in business????? I currently have an interview scheduled on Thursday of this week but there is no way I am going.

Responses

  • At
    ATF24 Sep 21, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just got on this comment site to see what others were saying about WM&C. It's pretty obvious this is a scam. I received an email late last night after I had put my resume on Ziprecruiter and had applied for another job. My first clue that this is a scam was the email heading: Final attempt. Well, like I said I had just put a resume on Ziprecruiter LAST night. I had never heard of them before, nor had I received a prior email. Block them as a phishing scam or spam from your email. Apparently, shady characters use that job site as well.

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    Private52 Sep 02, 2015

    very unprofessional gentleman did the 2nd interview he was hiring based on looks because I definitely was more than qualified I am a supervisor in sales currently and this was a sales job. He took us in a filthy dirty car to the local Wendy's for my second interview, slid a tablet over to me for me to read of the tiers and how the program worked, drove back to the office and gave me a quiz on what I just read. Oh and I failed to mention that he talked about how great it is to get to work for this company because they send you out of state and he has went a few times, met with others, they drank and had a great time (and this was not presented as just a social drink with a few new people) it was a party time. He was in a suit and looking the part but the maturity level was far from there. He made a decision not to hire me but what he doesn't know is that I told a friend after the interview no way would I come to work there. The fact of how he handled a first impression interview told me everything that I needed to know. The receptionist was very nice and she did my first interview. She was influenced by the other gentleman clearly because she was calling me regularly until after he and I met. I knew at the interview that he did not want to hire me and I did not want to work for him. He had brought along a new employee she was very nice and very attractive; more his age and style. I am older and he did not even want me there, due to the age and difference in lifestyle. It is his loss because I had 10 businesses that I could have immediately set up accounts for.

    -1 Votes
  • Ka
    kaddie2 May 11, 2015

    I think everyone is confused at what this company really does and who they work with. First of all it is not a scam. The company offers benefits which include salary plus bonuses, healthcare, mileage reimbursement and more. This is also a W-2 - I-9 position. If it were a pyramid you would be 1099. Not to mention the fact that you don't make money of people that you start or recruit. Another point is they work with DIRECT ENERGY BUSINESS. DO NOT GET THEM CONFUSED WITH DIRECT ENERGY WHEN THEY GO DOOR TO DOOR AND CANVAS HOMES. They work with DIRECT ENERGY BUSINESS which is going B2B to different BUSINESSES(NOT DOOR TO DOOR). It sounds like a lot of people on here just hear and automatically assume things about this company. I have a degree and love working here. If you're a person that can't candle face to face interaction then do not apply. If you're looking for a FUN, CHALLENGING, GROWING, TEAM ORIENTED, AMBITIOUS POSITION THAN APPLY NOW! For all you people reading this...COME SEE FOR YOURSELF. Don't just read something. EVERY SINGLE COMPANY YOU SEARCH HAS SOMETHING BAD ABOUT IT.

    -1 Votes
  • Ka
    Katieeeeeee Apr 06, 2015

    This company is terrible. They bring you in for an interview & they tell u nothing but lies. This is all commission work & door to door sales. I asked Brandon in the interview if it was door to door & he said no, I went for the second interview & they want you to get in a car with a complete stranger to go door to door. This place is a joke. The HR Kaylyn is a lyer too. I bet if she had to go door to door she would quit too. Good thing I walked out because I would have wasted all my time. PLEASE DO NOT APPLY WITH WM&C . THEY ARE NOT PROFESSIONAL AT ALL.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    disapointed18 Aug 07, 2014

    I am so thankful that I found this site. The other day i went and put my application in at WM&C thinking this company sounded interesting. But after doing some research I couldnt find anything on what they do there.

    So I went in for my first interview to find that the room was small and there was nothing really to the company at all. I went into my interview and basically walked out 5 mins later because that is how long it took so I basically wasted my gas driving there. When I asked what does a client coordinator do the CEO basically kept avoiding the question and I still have no clue what they do there so that seemed a little fishy to me.

    Then the next day I got a call to do the second interview which is schedule for tomorrow and I gladly canceled it after reading all these terrible reviews about the company. I dont want to put myself through that and it seems pretty bogus to me so I am glad to be out of that sitiuation..

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Paul F. Feb 12, 2014

    Where to begin? First off, I found this job on Craigslist. (Warning sign #1). I submitted an application and the very next day, I got a call. I did research on the company via the website itself, but my desperation I ignored that "Congratulations" was spelled wrong in the form email I received outlining my interview itinerary, not to mention all the different fonts, font sizes, and colors. Even the brochure I was handed before my interview was folded wrong with zero sense of graphic concept on the cover. It's just dull gray with an address.

    This office is tucked into a tiny, slightly seedy suite on the second floor of an office building off the beaten path in Dublin. (Where is this staff of his? There is only a conference room and one office.) I was nervous beforehand, having prepared remarks and thoughtful comments about how I'd be a good fit for the team, based on the job description. I can only imagine what my face looked like as I sat stunned in the interview when everything the job description stated (which is perfectly aligned with what I'm looking for in a job) was completely thrown out the window in seconds.

    The interview ITSELF lasted seconds. I've never been hurried through something that quickly in all of my life. It lasted all of ten minutes before the next guy was ushered in. The "CEO" Brandon listened as I outlined all of my qualifications, matching their description exactly, and he leaned back and calmly said, "Well, that's all good and everything, but that's not what we do here." Turns out, this is less a marketing group but a sales group that goes, essentially, door to door to tell other businesses how they can benefit from direct energy. I was told that a "second interview" would be an entire day's work to see if I was "of sound moral character, integrity, etc., etc." and that I'd be entering a year-long sales training program. Let's also not forget that this position is being advertised as a "marketing coordinator" job, when it should really just be called "salesperson." Even if I *was* interested in this job, none of my expenses are comped (travel, wear-and-tear on your vehicle, etc.) That's all on me as a tax write-off.

    Let's get back to this group's savvy social media strategy, by the way. Something they purport to have a need for and/or experts in. It's clear to anyone with a brain that Brandon and his team are offsetting the negative Google reviews (like this one) by writing positive reviews about themselves. Aside from having his secretary write one, the most amusing one is this: "I have worked here for about 10 months now. I started in the Client Coordinator position where I enjoyed the atmosphere and the people, but the job itself just didn't suit me. When I came to Brandon to quit my job he was quick to help me find other employment. He was actually looking to hire another HR person at the time and he offered the position to me. I knew it was a "people helping people" business but Brandon really went above and beyond to help me with my career." Guess who wrote this review?

    BRANDON HIMSELF. Seriously, people: The five-star review about an employee appealing to Brandon's heavenly nature is clearly and explicitly authored by one Brandon Walker, the CEO, talking from the third person. (UPDATE: Brandon's self-review has since been removed after being flagged.)

    I'm writing this not only out of shock and disappointment but in the hopes that someone Googles the company before falling for what they don't have to offer. (I certainly should have.) As I drove home, I couldn't help but feel that this is a company that preys on the unemployed and I, for one, have never been so angry in all of my life after preparing so hard for something that doesn't exist.

    Shame on them.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    marcharris Nov 21, 2013

    Im so glad I googled this company after getting an interview.. I just called to cancel my interview and the girl "Kaelynn" was SOOO rude. She literally said to me. "Can I ask why you are cancelling your interview, not many people get an opportunity like this?" I told her after looking on the internet and seeing almost nothing other then these complaint sites I was using my better judgement and cancelling. She said fine and hung up!. Unbelievable. I"m writing to indeed.com where they had the posting to tell them this place is a total scam!

    0 Votes
  • Aw
    awesomeface Aug 26, 2013

    I forgot, for everyone that wrote complaints on here, also go to this website and fill out a more detailed complaint: https://www.bbb.org/file-a-complaint/

    Their BBB score is an A right now but that's because, when they're in the field, they present themselves as Direct Energy (or whatever they might be selling later). Hope this helps.

    0 Votes
  • Aw
    awesomeface Aug 26, 2013

    The company is very, very misleading. Having spent some time there, I can honestly see why. They're entire model revolves around misleading customers (business owners and operators) into switching to Direct Energy. "I'm here because I think you should switch to Direct Energy and here's why" is something that you won't here from WM & C. Instead the pitch it "We've been sent out to verify that the price protection is showing up on your account" which is incredibly misleading considering they don't HAVE to verify anything, by "sent out" they mean that's the territory they have to cover for the day or week, and "price protection" is just a fancy word for "the rates don't change."

    You'd think the employees would be encouraged to carefully explain what's going on so the business operators have a clear idea of what they're getting into, but no, they are encouraged to be as vague as possible (bullet theory) and, if they get any resistance, they have to sit there and basically harass them for at least "3 No's). Oh, and despite the objection, you have to overcome it and then keep going as if there was no objection at all. The model is so vague and desperate that it doesn't even need to be the business owner to authorize this change, it can be a manager, assistant manager, accountant, or even just the office manager. Basically, anyone with a title can authorize a contract or enrollment into a program. It's the most shameless practice of unethical behavior since subprime mortgaging and even then their clients got houses out of it.

    Did I mention that the WM & C workers are especially encouraged to find back road churches? I mean, I'm not religious or anything, but come on, don't harass poor church ladies like that.

    0 Votes
  • Ds
    dsafdsaf Jul 08, 2013

    Walker Marketing is not named after a guy named "Walker" but is instead named because you do a lot of walking... I guess some people wouldn't mind it, but it's just a commissioned sales job, where you do "control" your income in a way... If you really want to make money in this company, you will have to work 16 hour days, and the CEO or whoever is in charge of you keeps about 90% of the cut, so you're screwed either way. In my opinion, you are better off selling ### on ebay.

    I interviewed there once and went out on the field with a couple of guys; one was a psychology major who probably couldn't find anything else (he was also a crappy salesman too, but he tried) and the other was a better salesmen, but had just joined up, he was a smooth talker (a [censored] bag type of guy who looks like he would be a good liar). If door to door business to business sales is your thing, then by all means apply for this position. If you are a high school grad, then this job may be good for you, but for anyone with actual work experience, you are better off doing something else.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Katie4397 Jul 02, 2013

    Just got a call a few hours ago to interview tomorrow. The woman who called asked me about my weekend and wanted to schedule me for an interview tomorrow. She was incredibly vague about the job itself. Ive been doing some reviews and they're all horrible. Already sent a cancellation email about my interview tomorrow. I told them that they're advertisements were very misleading.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    JessicaLFord May 02, 2013

    This is completely incorrect. They offer weekly salary with annual pay of $34, 000 to $45, 000.

    -1 Votes
  • Je
    JessicaLFord May 02, 2013

    They the company your talking about isn't even located in Columbus, OH it's Cincinnati so it's obviously not the same company.

    -2 Votes
  • Ka
    Kaddie7 Nov 26, 2012

    If you want to make zero money and waste all your gas money then this is the job for you! You sign on thinking you are gonna get great training, but a couple days after you sign on your sales manager is already focusing their attention on another poor hapless soul who just was hired. They don't care if you stay or quit the job either, because it is literally costing the company nothing. The account executives even sit around in a circle before the day begins and talk about which sales reps are performing and which need to be fired (exact words) . Brandon W and Steve A are the two worse managers i've ever come across. They make money by recruiting people desparate for a job and that is it. I hated every moment of this job! I even met a complete stranger who worked for this company and we spent over an hour complaining about how bad this company is. Don't buy into their pitch. If they contact you for an interview please tell them that it is not worth your time. Because it is not.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    WalkerMCisawful Oct 30, 2011

    The Reason they have an A - rating is because no one knows about them. No one would know to call and complain about them, any complaint would be made to AT & T or Direct Energy...you never say "I'm with Walker Marketing..." So, pretty easy to have no complaints when no one hears about you. Again, don't put yourself through this.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    disgruntledworker527345 Oct 21, 2011

    Yes, I was called today and asked for more information. Then I Google'd the firm and found this. I also found that they are not accredited by the Better Business Bureau. And althought the BBB gives them an A-, it is obviously because the company is newer and has only had 2 total complaints to the BBB directly. When I sent an email politely declining to interview, the HR correspondent tried to argue with me to get me to interview. I would have to buy a car to work here, so I am glad I found this site.

    BBB info: http://www.bbb.org/centralohio/business-reviews/marketing-programs-and-services/walker-marketing-and-consultants-in-dublin-oh-70053764

    0 Votes
  • Fu
    fuller.300 Sep 15, 2011

    These people got three weeks of my life and after all that I still didn't have anything to show for it and I too was screwed out of the training pay due to I missed one day because I was about to be evicted from my apartment because I had not made any money from the time I had started there and needed to find other resources to pay my rent. I believe this is a total scam with promises they cannot keep.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    tattooed_stud Aug 17, 2011

    Just got off the phone with them and set up an interview... THEN I directly searched them on Google and came here. I knew they sounded suspicious! When I asked the semi-rude lady on the phone what the daily activities were of a "marketing consultant", she was very VAGUE and wouldn't directly tell me. Obviously if she can proudly tell me what I'll be doing (just to give me SOME idea), then the job must REALLY suck! She also kept pushing on me the fact that I can become some big time manager within 8 months... PLEASE... Whatever! I am cancelling my interview right now and telling these people to screw off!

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    Kristen_Russell Aug 10, 2011

    Worked there not even four days. It was the worst job ever. They wouldnt pay me for my two days of training since I didnt stay two weeks, the third day the person I tagged along with didnt make and money and neither did I so I didnt get paid and half way in the fourth day I couldnt do it anymore. It was an hour drive they dont pay for gas while driving during the job and I didnt get paid fot those four days. When you start in the morning its loud and the managers are obnoxios ringing bells, Dont do it!

    0 Votes
  • Wo
    WorstJobEver23123 Jun 29, 2011

    Reminder: DON'T DO IT!

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    Pick13 Jun 17, 2011

    I was at a bar last night with my boyfriend and we started playing cornhole against 2 guys. I started telling the guy I was playing next to that I am about to graduate as a finance major and am currently also managing a salon. He instantly gave me a business card and said I should work for him. He talked up this comany so much and when I told him I was 22, he guaranteed me that I would be making 6 figures by the time I am 30. He kept telling me how much money he makes and just went on and on about it. I was skeptical and told him it sounds like a scam but he started laughing and assured me that it is not. I thought I would get on here today and do some research, and it turns out I'm finding only bad things about it. I guess I won't waste my time. Things that sound too good to be true, usually are.

    -1 Votes
  • Kj
    Kjizzle Jun 11, 2011

    This company is so confusing, I get a phone call saying that they are so busy and have limited availability with interview when they are making the same calls they did to me when I am sitting in the office before my interview. Funny thing is that when the lady is calling her list of people, they say the exact same thing "Your resume looks good and would like to set up a preliminary interview with you", lets be real... who is dumb enough to do that when you have a potential client sitting next to you and calling randoms to work for you. Sounds dumb. Interviewer was very unprofessional. I think everyone gets selected for the second interview (9 am to 5) which is so dumb, why would anyone waste 8 hours to work for free to get a "chance" to work with them... THIS COMPANY IS A JOKE AND SHOULD BE BURNED DOWN.

    Best part is, they will email you telling you a reminder and then call you the next day when you told them EXACTLY the date you CANNOT interview and be like, why are you not here... then when you cancel on them because of their unprofessionalism, they called me AFTER I said i couldnt come in for an interview and said these exact words "have a good time trying to find another job"- WOW THAT IS NOT OKAY, ESPICALLY WHEN THEY HANG UP ON YOU HARD AND YOU HEAR THEM BEING MAD...

    -1 Votes
  • Wo
    Worst Job Ever2 Feb 15, 2011

    Simply put, don't put yourself through it. I did it for 3 months, did very well and still made NOTHING. Well, I obviously made some money but nothing what they promise. If you break it all down, you lose money doing this job. The gas, oil changes, tires compared to your $125 check is awful. It's simply the worst job I've ever had and I still had nightmares about it.
    If you have a college degree, do not put yourself through this. I bought into it at first, until you have to wait four weeks for your first paycheck. You have no product knowledge, though it feels like you do and it's just terrible. I literally feel for the people that work there and are still trying to cut it. I wish I could stand outside the door every day and tell people GO. AWAY. DO NOT PUT YOURSELF THROUGH THIS.
    Hopefully people looking for a job that land an interview here google search and see these posts and say forget it. PLEASE DON'T DO IT!!!
    Travelling in your own car from Portsmouth to Detroit to Dayton to Columbus with NO gas reimbursement is highway robbery.
    YOU WILL NOT MAKE $50, 000 your first year. YOU MAKE STRAIGHT COMMISSION.
    Don't put yourself through this if you are graduating from college or desperate for a job. This was the worse 3 months of my life.

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.