The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
VIP TravelScam and cheating!

P

We signed up for a "vacation plan" for $7,500.00. We were not asked how much we wanted to put down. The just took out $7,596.00. We signed it and went home. We thought it was a great idea, but came home and checked it out on the web. They have so many complaints and everyone is calling it a scam. They can never get these people on the phone to plan their vacation. They offer weeks for $500.00 per week. We read the brochures when we got home and it said "from" 499...

There on the contract it stated no cancellations and this document is legal and binding. How can we get our money back? We were scammed. We are idiots. Aren't contracts suppose to have a cancellation period? We need help to fight this.

Thank you.

Responses

  • Ja
    Jackie Townsend Jan 21, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree 100% with everything Ms. Starcich said. The deals and bargains you are promised during the sales pitch do not materialize in the real world! I have filed a complaint against VIP Travel with the Better Business Bureau and am exploring other options.

    The most frustrating thing is I have sent 4 e-mail's since Oct. 2007 and have not received one single communication in response.

    0 Votes
  • Po
    poroz Jan 25, 2008

    I just wanted to say that we finally got our money back. It was a trying few days, but they gave in.

    0 Votes
  • Po
    poroz Jan 26, 2008

    I just wanted to say that I got all of my money back from VIP Travel.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Bill Carraway Feb 25, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This company fails to deliver the services promised and uses very deceptive sales tactics. We signed up for $3998 because we did not need or want their condo weeks. They assured us that thye could save us money on short notice trips like weekends, and for sho0rt notice trips for a week, etc. We tried on 4 occassions to use the service and they could not deliver for any of the requests. The President of the company's attitude is that their contract is non-cancellable whether they deliver or not and too bad for you if they fail. He claims they have vitually no complaints against them though we see roughly 65 claims through the BBB recently. There sales people promises whatever they have to to get your money and the company says they are not responsible for the sales peoples promises. They have ignored our attorney's letters. This company is a scam and everyone should be aware to steer clear of this company.

    0 Votes
  • Kc
    KC Apr 11, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We have already booked two different vacations with VIP Travel, and their salespeople have been nothing but helpful to us. They have not stopped until they found us exactly what we wanted. I am very confused by all of this negativity towards the company. I have recommended the purchase of the membership to others.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joni Spires Apr 22, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We got shammed $6500.00 and was promised immediate trip plans at a low rate, that was great beause my husband has terminal colon/liver cancer, and goes on and off chemo often, we were trying to book something between chemo and dying, one last trip. When I called, they would not only answer my calls but would never call me back. I would have to call and call and then weeks later I finally got in touch with Jeri Ballard, our travel advisor. When she did call me back days later, her prices were higher that Vacations to Go. When I told her this she basically said, "take it or leave it." This was out of the VIP Travel in Lexington SC. We never did take that trip, haven't yet, my husband goes back in for more Chemo next month, we think the cancer has spread to his ribs/bones. How can they do this to people??? It would be one thing to pay the money and get what you pay for but another when they won't even honor what the promise. There name should be RIP (off)Travel. How can we stop them so other aren't hurt. When I asked for some of the money back, we just had gotten hit with a $20, 000.00 medical bill, they said, "No." Please who ever you are...DO NOT ATTEND THEIR SEMINARS.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Me @ vip May 15, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I worked for vip travel and i do not agree with it i worked there and talked to the people but we are made to belive that this is real and its not a gimic i am so sorry to all the people who have been ripd off and i know its not in my will power to repay all the pain and drama you all have went throw so... everyone have a blessed day

    0 Votes
  • Su
    sue May 19, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My husband and I have been trying since 10/08 to get our refund (close to $4, 000)4without any success. The SC Consumer Affairs have been notified, The BBB and the Federal Trade Commission. The have a contract you sign which states no cancellation... the Cooling off rule set by the FTC states that this type of business contract is to give consumers 3 days to decide and they do have the right to cancel within that time period, even though they don't have it on their contract. Go read the Cooling off Rule and see for yourself. It states that even if they don't put it on the contract we have the right to cancel. Well its been along battle and so frustrating and time consuming to us. Contact the SC Consumer Affairs Department, they have been contacted by quite a few others for the same thing and I hope they can bring us some justice.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rick Butler Jun 04, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We purchase a membership Sept. 17, 2007. Have tried to use our membership without success. Finally after months of trying, filed a complaint with Department of Consumer Advocate South Carolina, a TV station in SC, and several internet complaint boards. Here is part of their response to all three areas:They said:

    'they had explained, and stated at the seminar where we bought the membership, and in their membership pack, any request for accommodation outside their 'major areas of concentration', was not promised their service.

    Well, I am printing, directly from their membership packet:

    'The VIP Travel Plan is unique in the fact that 'each' time you travel you will enjoy substantial savings. Whether you enjoy luxurious condos, cruising, all-inclusive reports, 3, 4, and 5 Star hotels, discounts on theme park tickets, restaurants, golf or RV rental, we can accommodate 'all' of your travel needs while saving you and your family money.'

    (1) That's what we were told at the seminar, when we bought the membership;
    (2) that is what is published in their membership pack.

    It appears they do not abide by their own membership publications. I have not attaacked them anywhere. I have, however, stated fact, after fact, after fact.

    Please review here and other internet complaint boards, do a search on
    'VIP Travel' and you can decide for yourself if you wish to do business with them.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    rick butler Jun 04, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Here's my experience:

    We purchase a membership Sept. 17, 2007. Have tried to use our membership without success. Finally after months of trying, filed a complaint with Department of Consumer Advocate South Carolina, a TV station in SC, and several internet complaint boards. Here is part of their response to all three areas:They said:

    'they had explained, and stated at the seminar where we bought the membership, and in their membership pack, any request for accommodation outside their 'major areas of concentration', was not promised their service.

    Well, I am printing, directly from their membership packet:

    'The VIP Travel Plan is unique in the fact that 'each' time you travel you will enjoy substantial savings. Whether you enjoy luxurious condos, cruising, all-inclusive reports, 3, 4, and 5 Star hotels, discounts on theme park tickets, restaurants, golf or RV rental, we can accommodate 'all' of your travel needs while saving you and your family money.'

    (1) That's what we were told at the seminar, when we bought the membership;
    (2) that is what is published in their membership pack.

    It appears they do not abide by their own membership publications. I have not attaacked them anywhere. I have, however, stated fact, after fact, after fact.

    Please review here and other internet complaint boards, do a search on
    'VIP Travel' and you can decide for yourself if you wish to do business with them.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    rick butler Jun 04, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We purchase a membership Sept. 17, 2007. Have tried to use our membership without success. Finally after months of trying, filed a complaint with Department of Consumer Advocate South Carolina, a TV station in SC, and several internet complaint boards. Here is part of their response to all three areas:They said:

    'they had explained, and stated at the seminar where we bought the membership, and in their membership pack, any request for accommodation outside their 'major areas of concentration', was not promised their service.

    Well, I am printing, directly from their membership packet:

    'The VIP Travel Plan is unique in the fact that 'each' time you travel you will enjoy substantial savings. Whether you enjoy luxurious condos, cruising, all-inclusive reports, 3, 4, and 5 Star hotels, discounts on theme park tickets, restaurants, golf or RV rental, we can accommodate 'all' of your travel needs while saving you and your family money.'

    (1) That's what we were told at the seminar, when we bought the membership;
    (2) that is what is published in their membership pack.

    It appears they do not abide by their own membership publications. I have not attaacked them anywhere. I have, however, stated fact, after fact, after fact.

    Please review here and other internet complaint boards, do a search on
    'VIP Travel' and you can decide for yourself if you wish to do business with them.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    rick butler Jun 04, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    VIP Travel was sued by South Carolina Department of Consumer Advocate in April 2008. Most say something about VIP Travel.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    rick butler Jun 04, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    VIP Travel was sued by South Carolina Department of Consumer Advocate in April 2008. Must say something about VIP Travel.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    rick butler Jun 04, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    VIP Travel was sued by South Carolina Department of Consumer Advocate in April 2008. Must say somthing about VIP Travel.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    rick butler Jun 04, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We purchase a membership Sept. 17, 2007. Have tried to use our membership without success. Finally after months of trying, filed a complaint with Department of Consumer Advocate South Carolina, a TV station in SC, and several internet complaint boards. Here is part of their response to all three areas:They said:

    'they had explained, and stated at the seminar where we bought the membership, and in their membership pack, any request for accommodation outside their 'major areas of concentration', was not promised their service.

    Well, I am printing, directly from their membership packet:

    'The VIP Travel Plan is unique in the fact that 'each' time you travel you will enjoy substantial savings. Whether you enjoy luxurious condos, cruising, all-inclusive reports, 3, 4, and 5 Star hotels, discounts on theme park tickets, restaurants, golf or RV rental, we can accommodate 'all' of your travel needs while saving you and your family money.'

    (1) That's what we were told at the seminar, when we bought the membership;
    (2) that is what is published in their membership pack.

    It appears they do not abide by their own membership publications. I have not attaacked them anywhere. I have, however, stated fact, after fact, after fact.

    Please review here and other internet complaint boards, do a search on
    'VIP Travel' and you can decide for yourself if you wish to do business with them.

    Also, VIP Travel was sued in April 2008 by South Carolina Department of Consumer Advocate. Must say something about VIP Travel.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    rick butler Jun 26, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is a follow-up to the original post. You might want to look at "The Squeaky Wheel". Over 7600 inquiries. Seems there are lots of people with questiosn regarding VIP Travel lexington SC.

    0 Votes
  • Valerie Jul 01, 2008

    VIP Travel, Lexington, SC, took our membership money Sept. 2007, and has yet to deliver on any of their promises. But, obviously we were not alone. April 2008, South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs filed suit against Vip Travel, Lexington, SC. And we have just learned North Carolina Attorney General Roy Cooper has expelled VIP Travel from North Carolina. Is your state next? Here's your link:

    http://www/wral.com/5onyourside/story/2889334/

    See for yourself.

    I just wished for my family's sake, and my own sake, that I had listened to my internal intuition. Which is, "if it is too good to be true, it is probably too good to be true."

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nancy Vieira Jul 30, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Very true. I've had the same experience with them.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JOHN C CLARK Oct 20, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    WE BOUGHT INTO THIS SCAM ON AUGUST 23 2007---IT TOOK US UNTIL FEB 2008 TO GET THE PROMO GAS CARD, WE HAVE YET TO GET OUR FREE AIRLINE TICKETS.THE OWNERS WILL NOT RETURN CALLS OR REPOND TO OUR DILEMMA. WE HAVE NOT USED ANY OF THEIR SERVICES BECAUSE THEY DID NOT HONOR THE PROMO AGREEMENT THEREFORE WE DONT TRUST THEM TO GET US A VACATION AS WE NEED IT.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Dean Mayfield Jan 09, 2009

    I "joined in late 2007. I tried for about two months to schedule my week of vacation in June of 2008 by making numerous calls and sending numerous emails. Sometimes it would take a week or more to actually get a call back when I left messages. I could not get even a receipt for my prepaid week of vacation without threatening to call a lawyer. The week ended up not being discounted in any way. I tried to redeem some of the teaser offers they offered me for joining. It took them over a month of me requesting/faxing just to get around to sending me some info on how to even start trying to use the teaser offers. Everything ended up being almost impossible to use, much less save any money. I tried to schedule my second week that I had paid for the right to have. They had nothing available and I did not see any savings in what they did offer (mostly out of the country). I called several times on their HOT List openings. Every single time the listing was higher priced or not available. I had been assured that the company was able to secure substantial savings and a high percentage booking rate (over 92%) for the people who paid for the VIP membership. All of that information was an outright lie. I live in Raleigh, North Carolina and I found out that they had been restricted by a judge in September 2008 to not charge a North Carolina resident anymore. Yet, I was charged my yearly fee in November 2008.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    killian Jan 23, 2009

    Have owned my membership for one and a half years. I do book alot and was able to save enough money on my trips in the first year to get my investment back.

    But you must be on the phone with them constantly and have alot of knowledge about the travel business as their agents do not. Even booking hotels with written confirmation from VIP, it was still incorrect and I would not have been able to stay there had I kept the reservation.

    I have been told I will get a free year...guess what my credit card was charged. I have since sent them a certified letter that they are not authorized to charge anything to my account.

    Don't try to book just air or just hotels. Without trying to get a rental unit or a vacation package, don't bother. Be persistant and get supervisors on the phone.

    But since I own it I will use it.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kerry Feb 03, 2009

    Does anyone have a phone number for VIP Travel Reservations, Inc. based out of Port Orange, FL? I cannot ever seem to get a hold of a live person!

    0 Votes
  • Gw
    Gwen Smith Apr 12, 2009

    Does anyone have a phone number or website for V
    IP travel as the ones that I have do not work anymore. I have been trying for a while now to get them. I was able to up to reach them up to a point. Then when I tried to access their site, it would bring up the fact that it was a scam. When I tried to call it was an out of order number now. Does anyone know if they are still in business or gone completely belly up. Hopefully these ppl will get the same as the guy who stole the billions did.. Jail time for scamming us.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kimbrough Jun 18, 2009

    How did you get your money back. I called many many times and sent letters, screamed at them on the phone. Any helpful hints about how to get my money back? Group lawsuit? Kim

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    frustratedinia Jul 13, 2009

    I would also like to know how you got all your money back?

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    Kim at VIP Jul 21, 2009

    I am employed at VIP Travel Reservations, Inc in Port Orange, FL. We are in no way affiliated with any other companies including even those that go by VIP.

    We are a full service travel agency in Port Orange, FL and this is our only location. We can be reached at [protected] opt 6.

    Thank you

    0 Votes
  • Er
    Erefeev Oct 13, 2009

    We attended a sales seminar and purchased a membership Sept. 14, 2007. We tried to use their services, but they were slow in responding, then offered accommodations which were 250 miles in the opposite direction of where we were headed. Finally, they promised financial consideration for their ineptness, but reneged on that also. We filed a complaint with the South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs in January 2008. In April 2008 we read where the South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs had sued VIP Travel for VIP Travel's unfair and deceptive practices in its solicitations. Danny Collins, an attorney with the Department of Consumer Affairs said, "They promise quite a few things that they don't deliver on."

    Then we went on the internet to complaint boards and found many complaints regarding VIP Travel. Since VIP Travel operates business in North Carolina we felt the citizens of North Carolina should be made aware of the suit filed against VIP Travel, and the numerous complaints filed on internet complaint boards.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    rick butler Aug 05, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We purchase a membership Sept. 2007. We have yet to be able to use their service. They promised many things. Discounts anytime we traveled. When they goofed on some travel arrangements, a check from corporate checking account. Thgen, in April 2008, we discovered South Carolina Department of consumer Affairs had sued VIP Travel, Lexington SC. for deceptive business practices. And now we just learned VIP Travel, lexington, SC, was expelled from North Carolina by Attorney General Roy Cooper. VIP Travel is no longer allowed to conduct business in North Carolina. Here's the link:
    http:///www.wral.com/5onyourside/story/2889334/

    See what you think. As wheel as do a search on www;thesqueakywheel.com for VIP Travel and see what comes up.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    rick butler Aug 05, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    VIP Travel, Lexington, SC has filed Chapter 11 bankruptcy!

    0 Votes
  • Je
    JerryWithers Aug 05, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My Wife and I purchased a vacation plan from VIP Travel in 2007, for 4500.00, andwas promised several great vacation at super prices .Each time I click on to their internet site, you don't see anything that was promised and it is very difficult to make a reservation without being given a ridiculous time frame.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions