Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
CB Car Dealers CarMax 1975 Beaver Ruin Road, Norcross, GA, 30071, US
CarMax company logo
CarMax
reviews & complaints
CarMax company logo

CarMax

1975 Beaver Ruin Road, Norcross, GA, 30071, US
Learn how the rating is calculated
1 complaint
File a complaint Write a review
Phone number
Category
Working hours
Mon
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tue
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wed
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thu
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Fri
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Sat
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Sun
12:00 pm - 7:00 pm
ComplaintsBoard
D
2:22 am EST
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

CarMax - lost car title

We were recently at the store in Norcross, GA. It was very unpleasant. I had went in to look/buy a 2010 Dodge Caliber. It took about 5 mins to find the vehicle we wanted since we had done some research on their website prior. We sat down with the salesman Keith Palmer. The first day we spent 5 hours there. We went through everything paperwork, down payment, insurance. You name it we did it. He kept running back and forth, and coming back with "The financial department needs this, and this". He was extremely UN-organized. When it was all over with we had given him everything. Just as we went into the signing room he pulled us out of the signing room and said "Carmax" would not let us have the car until my DL had been changed over to GA. Now..I can agree that was my fault, but he had seen my DL at the very beginning he couldn't tell me this before I wasted all that time, and we had went through all of that? Well I left the dealership and the next day I went and got my correct DL. So at that point there was nothing else that needed to be done. I had kept in contact with him every single day since he had said he would hold the vehicle for me. He assured me when we came in again that it would be a very quick process and nothing else would happen. Well we showed up a 2nd day, and he had to redo the paperwork. After telling us he wouldn't have to, that everything was finished with the Caliber. That took almost 3 hours. The sales person was extremely UN-knowledgeable and did not answer many questions. When we asked him why he kept re-submitting the information for the loan approvals he said he had to do that every time he had to correct something on the paperwork. All the mistakes on the paperwork was his fault. I was sitting behind him in the office looking at his computer screen and I corrected him several times on things that were wrong. Finally when the paperwork was done and we went into the signing room we sat there for almost a hour. No one came over people kept looking at us and finally I asked, "What is going on"? No one said anything. Finally someone came over, sat down and said.."We are sorry we cannot find the Calibers Title. We are looking for it.." Now..we had spoken to our sales person several times we were under the impression the deal was done, then when we get to the final stages the car title is not available. My sales person was not even going to tell me this until I asked him. Let me add to this my Grandmother was with me she is elderly, has some health problems..but she was there helping me find a good vehicle since she has had some dealings with dealerships, and she knows how they work. My grandmother had to ask the sales person 3 times, "What was going on with the car, and why was it taking so long"? He kept dodging the question and would not answer her. Finally he told her, and she asked him the same thing we did, "How can you have a vehicle for sale on your car lot and have no idea where the title is"? Now out of all of those days that I spoke with him, and the first day of going through the paperwork I was told all of this was done. It wasn't anything of the sorts. I would think if he knew we were coming back and had shown that much interest in that vehicle he would have made sure everything was together. To top it all off shortly after that happened, he told us he had to go home. His wife was there to pick him up. So he handed us off to another salesman. Yes the other salesman was great, but we had to go through everything all over again. To top it all off..They had no other calibers, and told us they could have one shipped from another Carmax but it would not be there until tomorrow. So we ended up having to choose something else off of the lot. We did not leave the dealership until 10:30 p.m. that night. All over Carmax there were signs up saying, "You can have a stress-free, enjoyable, good price, buying experience." We got none of those things. Also the commercials that say, "The way car buying should be". After that I will probably never go through any of that ever again. I walked away with a car I do like, but some what feel like we settled because we could not get our first choice. The car is a great car, but it was not exactly what we wanted. I am very unhappy about this whole situation. I've never had a experience like this in my life. I feel lied to, and ran-around.

Read full review of CarMax and 2 comments
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Hide full review
2 comments
Add a comment
T
T
Trey918
, US
Sep 22, 2020 6:17 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I purchased a vehicle at Carmax Austin North in 07/20 and it went fairly well until it came time to receive my tags and inspection sticker. I waited almost 2 months on the tags as a neighbor who purchased a vehicle from them 2 days after me had already received his tags and sticker. So I contacted the Business office of the location and got a lot of run-around. I then called the Tag office of my county and they had no records of my paperwork being sent. After copious back and forth conversations and in-store meetings, it was explained to me that Carmax sent the title to the county jail instead of the tag office. Of course the jail has no record of it and neither does Carmax. Needless to say, this place is incompetent and likes to give made up stories of where the paperwork is or when I may receive it. I finally signed documents to get a replacement title almost 3 weeks ago and still nothing. I called the business ops manager who explained that they have to get signed documents from the previous owner and then re-apply for the title. This process can take up to 2 years if not longer and it may never get done. The ops manager explained that Carmax would offer me a "fair value" of the vehicle which means low ball offer if I wanted to get it sold and into another vehicle. In conclusion, I may lose money, my vehicle and never get this vehicle titled all because of a bone-head error. I am thinking of some legal advice to help navigate and protect me. This is all so unfortunate and I hope people are well aware of what can go wrong when dealing with Carmax. They don't even seem to care or have a sense of urgency in trying to remedy this situation. I have purchased 3 cars now from them and this is the very last one as I will take my business elsewehere.

C
C
corpgreed
, US
Apr 20, 2013 3:58 am EDT

I totally understand your feelings, and CarMax should not be advertising how easy it should be. False advertisement if you ask me.

Giving a Voice to Consumers

We support genuine feedback

At ComplaintsBoard, we know how real consumer issues matter. Our platform is a special place for honest opinions, where people share their reviews openly and honestly, whether good or bad.

We are committed to authenticity

Our team checks each complaint or review thoroughly to confirm that each one comes from a real customer experience, keeping our platform trustworthy.

We prefer proof

We're totally cool with complaints, as long as you've got some evidence to back it up. Whether it's a photo, a detailed story, or documents, providing evidence makes your complaint more believable and helps others make smart choices.

We’re all about conversations

ComplaintsBoard is more than just a place to share complaints; it's a community where we talk things out fairly. We welcome reviews that not only point out problems but also mention any positive experiences, giving a balanced view.

We are open to everyone

We're dedicated to providing a fair and unbiased platform for all complaints. Every complaint is important to us, no matter what it's about, ensuring your concerns are heard and respected.