ADVERTISIMENT
19001 South Western Avenue, Torrance, CA, 90501, US

Reviews and Complaints

The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Lexus / Toyotafailure to respond to government / consumer fraud

Neither Lexus nor Toyota have any interest in responding to complaints and following New York State Law or laws of the FTC. The government does not follow up and enforce the law. The New York State Attorney General does not even compel Toyota or Lexus to respond in writing. We as consumers are stuck. Do not buy a car from Lexus or Toyota because they do not follow the law. The New York State Attorney General does not enforce the law and compel Lexus or Toyota to follow up or comply with the law such as sending bills and the FTC now know as the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau Washington DC does nothing.
We have plenty of laws, pay plenty in taxes but unless you have good legal counsel do not expect results. Lexus and Toyota are in control. In Queens County Civil Court in New York State, the average wait time to for a trial if you wish to adjourn a Civil Court case is 2016, and 2018 for No Fault cases. The reason given is that the Courts are protesting the Governor's budget cuts. Why not try cutting the Bureau of Consumer Frauds that does nothing to implement the law, rather than the Court system.

Comment Guidelines

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit
    1 Response
    • Lo
      Louise Lexus Jul 25, 2014

      If Lexus & Toyota sends anyone to your home to protest "not sending a bill" visibly place a "do not trespass" sign on your property and call the police. Insist on a bill.

      0 Votes
      Cancel
       
      Submit

    The complaint has been investigated and
    resolved to the customer's satisfaction
    Resolved
    Toyota Tacoma 4x4 4cylinderclutch is too weak

    I purchased a new 2010 toyota tacoma 4x4 4cylinder in 2011. I had to fly to PA to get it (from Houston) becuase there were no 4x4 standard trans. 4 cyl trucks in Houston at the time. Ever since I purchased it i've had problems with the clutch, slipping, the vehicle has no power, it gets terrible gas mileage for a 4 cyl engine. I first reported clutch problems at 5K miles, then again about 10K miles. The dealerships here all tell me the can't find anything wrong. My wife & I went to NM for Thanksgiving and took the truck with a small 500lb trailer and a 4 wheeler and the truck wouldn't pull this up a slight incline!! Took it again in Jan. and this time the clutch slipped so bad it started burning up!! Toyota warranty replaced it in approx. Feb. so March we took it back to NM to try the New clutch with an 800 lb payload (500 lb trailer + 300 lb instrument) and this clutch burned up on 4" of snow!! Now Toyota says I don't know how to drive a standard shift and they're not going to replace it again. I consider this breach of contract! what about my warranty? This clutch was weaker than the 1st! It burned up after 1 attempt to climb an incline. Truck is rated at towing 3600 lbs! toyota must've been pulling DOWNHILL! DO NOT BUY A 4X4 TOYOTA TACOMA - they don't tow offroad!

    Comment Guidelines

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      Submit
      Respond

      The complaint has been investigated and
      resolved to the customer's satisfaction
      Resolved
      Toyota Motor SalesI will never buy another toyota

      I sent this letter to the president of toyota, usa. but, they dont feel any responsibility.

      Michael e gillum

      155 circle tree drive

      Beckley, wv 25801

      (304) xxx-xxxx

      January 7, 2009

      Office of the president

      Toyota motor sales, usa., inc.

      19001 south western ave.

      Torrance, ca 90501

      Re: vin 2t1kr32e83c074706 � case #�s [protected], [protected], etc..

      On november 29, 2008 I bought a 2003 toyota matrix with 44, 598 miles on it. after about 500 miles (about a week after buying the car) the check engine light came on, it was over a quart low on oil and had a engine code p0420. a couple of days later I checked the oil again and it had used over another quart. I was told the pcv valve could be bad so I had it replaced and the oil topped off. after this, I drove the car 50 miles and it used around 2/3 a quart of oil. I called the toyota experience center and told them the problems I was having and they told me to take it to the local dealer to have it checked. the person I talked to, looked up the vin # and told me that the engine on this car had been rebuilt at 41, 459 miles, in november 2007 at headquarters toyota, in miami, florida. he also told me that toyota would probably pick up the repair since it had less than 4, 000 miles on a rebuilt engine (currently the car has 45, 398 mile on it).



      I took the car to my local dealer l&s toyota, in beckley, wv on december 23, 2008 and told them that the toyota experience center asked me to bring the car to them. l&s toyota did a compression test on the engine and it failed. the service manager at l&s toyota told me the engine block should have been replaced when headquarters toyota rebuilt the engine, but hadn�t been.

      After about 10 calls to toyota corporate and numerous case numbers the verdict was in. terri allen, the service manager at l&s toyota of beckley said they will not fix the engine unless I pay for the repair myself. furthermore, terri told me I would be responsible for the cost of the compression test and putting the valve cover back on, which cost $180.00. john lino from headquarters toyota, miami told me they would take care of the repair but I would have to bring the car there, which is 950 miles away and I would have to have the car shipped since its not drivable using that much oil. also, I would have to fly down to drive the car back. john lino from headquarters toyota said he didn�t understand why that l&s toyota of beckley would not take care of the repair but, every car dealership is independently owned.

      Both of these dealerships are governed by toyota motor sales, usa, so how can the one get authorization to do the repair but the other one can�t? the 2003 matrix that I am referring to is the 8th toyota that I have owned, because of their reliability. I assure you if this car is not fixed, I will never buy another one.in addition, I plan on having this letter translated to japanese and sending it to your corporate headquarters in japan.

      I am sitting here wondering what happened to the honor and values that toyota was built on, which is the reason I have bought your automobiles since I was in high school. the first toyota I had was a 1976 corolla, which I sold with 278, 000 miles on it, and it was still running well. out of the 7 other toyotas I have owned I have never had a major problem with any of them. so how can a toyota engine blow up twice within 45, 398 miles and you don�t take responsibility for it?

      Comment Guidelines

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        Submit
        5 Responses
        • Be
          Bethkenney Aug 11, 2016

          Toyota CA Corp totally ineffective. Trying to get resolution to front bumper detaching and trunk not closing on 2014 Camry SE. Will never purchase another Toyota

          0 Votes
          Cancel
           
          Submit
        • Am
          AMITABHPATHAK Sep 20, 2011
          This comment was posted by
          a verified customer
          Verified customer

          Same attitude here, Forget about used cars even while buying brand new car.
          It seems the Toyota & its dealers both show this attitude to customers.
          GOODLUCK TO THEM

          0 Votes
          Cancel
           
          Submit
        • Ji
          Jim Nall May 11, 2010

          FIrst of all, a little research would tell you that Toyota Motor Sales DOES NOT "govern" these dealerships. the one in Florida gets it's cars from an independent distributor in the South East, who buys cars from Toyota. the other dealer is part of what I believe another independent distributor. All toyota corporate does to my understanding in each case is wholesale NEW cars to the dealers. YOU BOUGHT A USED CAR from IT SOUNDS LIKE SOME OTHER PERSON, not even a dealership. (And it sounds like the guy swindled you - you should be complaining about the re-built engine TO HIM).

          Also, EVERY DEALER is his own independent businessman. Toyota cannot be held for their practices in their service department. If they get enough complaints like this engine-re-build, I would assume Toyota could pull their dealer license, but that would involve a big lawsuit from the dealership. So the dealer in Florida did NOT rebuild your engine correctly. They need to fix it. THEY shouldn't require you to drive it there. THEY should pay your local dealer to do the service if necessary.

          Basically, I am saying your anger with Toyota corporate is very unfounded. You bought a USED car. Toyota couldn't control the yahoo that drove it for 40K miles before you. No engine is completely indestructable. The driver before you could have done many things to damage the engine. NOT TOYOTA'S FAULT.

          If you have purchased a NEW Toyota from a dealer, still in warranty, or even a certified pre-owned Toyota from a dealership - THAT WOULD BE DIFFERENT. They have programs to support that. How can they possibly guarantee free engine replacements to people that bought a USED car that unknowingly had a dealer-re-built engine.

          This issue is between you and the dealer in Florida. That's it. If I were you I'd focus your anger where it belongs.

          I myself and VERY upset with a Toyota dealer...but since it was explained taht Toyota is not allowed BY LAW to "own" or even "directly influence" the dealers, I focused on having a lawyer contact the dealership - and I (eventually) got my situation taken care of (new axle due to bad wheel mount/balance - they left the lug nuts loose!).

          Good Luck!

          1 Votes
          Cancel
           
          Submit
        • Cj
          cjh Sep 28, 2009

          My 09 Corolla has lots of problems, such as the car cant start, water pump leaks, rattles all around the car. 4 of the dealerships in my area just pretended they didnt hear the rattles. I called Toyota Corp. and they just wont care about customer. They told me Corolla is a cheap car and the rattles are totally normal. Sent a letter to Japan. And the case pass back the Toyota Executive office, the guy there told me again that rattles are just normal. See, that is how they treat customer. Toyota is just equal poor quality nowadays.
          The best thing to do is avoid any Toyota, and your life would be much better!

          1 Votes
          Cancel
           
          Submit
        • Ch
          Chantal T Aug 13, 2009

          Well I tried to buy a Toyota and am glad I didn't. Had a horrible exeperience at the ERIN PARK Toyota Dealership in Mississauga, Ontario Canada on August 11th, 2009. My husband and I were racial discriminated against because it appears that as caucasions we are visible minorities in our area and apparantly whites are not allowed to test drive a Toyota let alone own one. NEVER GO TO ERIN PARK TOYOTA.

          1 Votes
          Cancel
           
          Submit
        ADVERTISIMENT

        Toyotabad quality of toyota's product

        Many people think that Toyota is a good car model. But, I had a bad experience. As a owner of new 2006 Toyota Highlander (hyb_LTD), I had 5 times of incidences of the front windshield dents or crakes caused by flying stones within 3 months. I had contacted Toyota customer service and did not get an appropriate response. Subsequently, I experienced 3 more similar incidences within the past 8 months, which all caused more severe damages on the front windshield. Some cracks extended automatically to more than 8 to 12 inches after single attack by a small flying stone. I, then, again contacted Toyota Customer Experience Center, requesting investigation and resolution. After repeatedly inquiring, the staff member created a case number and agreed to have an inspection. However, the field inspector never came, instead, without an inspection; he simply told me by phone that all damages on windshield were not product-quality related, so he would not come. I kept trying to contact Toyota Customer Experience Center, but there was no chance that I could directly speak with the assigned case manager over the phone for the past more than 4 months.
        For my safety, I changed the front windshield without any Toyota’s help. Although I continue driving the same way as usual, and had several flying stone incidences, I have never had any dent or crake, suggesting the quality of these two pieces of windshield seems different. I am very dissatisfactory about the way that Toyota treats customers and the quality of its original windshield.

        Comment Guidelines

        Add your opinion

          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

          Submit
          1 Response
          • To
            ToyotaSucks88 Aug 09, 2013
            This comment was posted by
            a verified customer
            Verified customer

            Toyota customer service is trash i totally feel you. They dont care about you as the consumer at all, nor will they help you or take responsibility for there cars. Im sorry you had to go through this im going through a lemon law case with Toyota as well. They allowed there dealership to be little me call me a liar in the middle of the show room and even ask me to leave because they wouldnt process my request. and they didnt even apoligze on the dealerships behalf. good luck to you.

            0 Votes
            Cancel
             
            Submit
          ADVERTISIMENT

          IN THE NEWS

          Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
          If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
          One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
          A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
          ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
          You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
          Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.