United Steel BuildingIntentional Misinformation

M
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I was pricing buildings in November 08. United Steel Buiding contacted me stating that they had a building that had been done for Circuit City that was close to the size I was looking for. I was told that, since the building was already fabricated, it would be shipped by January.

From that point, we have been given delivery dates for January, February, March, April and now July. We have paid out over $20, 000 to date and have been told that the deposits are non-refundable and that the sales people lie.

Responses

  • Ma
    Marcus Whitfield Feb 03, 2010

    There is a reporter in Florida who is chasing these guys! Eme with THE SCOOP has apparently made some progress with getting money back for some people. She is also pursuing the individuals WILLIAM KNOTE, HOWARD ZIMMMERMAN, and others for Fraud under the FDUPTA laws. These guys need to go to jail. I was told they are currently operating another metal building company called SUPERSTEEL! Stay away from these terrible people! Here is a link to THE SCOOP http://www.v1-p.com/unitedsteel.html These guys, along with their attorney Jeffrey Berlowitz, have been deceiving folks for more than two years. I originally contracted to purchase a $37, 000 building in February of 2017 and immediately made a deposit of $15, 000 (more than required). A year later, I was still trying to take delivery of the building, and they sued me giving no legitimate reason for the lawsuit! It was their attempt to use the Broward County courts to "WIN BY DEFAULT". I am in Texas, so I was forced to hire a Florida Attorney for another $5, 000 who managed to get the case DISMISSED, but getting a building or even some portion of my deposit back never happened. I have heard that almost 50 people were victims of this scam and the Florida Attorney General Office has still not opened an "Official Investigation" as of Feb. 2nd

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marcus Whitfield Feb 03, 2010

    There is a reporter in Florida who is chasing these guys! Eme with THE SCOOP has apparently made some progress with getting money back for some people. She is also pursuing the individuals WILLIAM KNOTE, HOWARD ZIMMMERMAN, and others for Fraud under the FDUPTA laws. These guys need to go to jail. I was told they are currently operating another metal building company called SUPERSTEEL! Stay away from these terrible people! Here is a link to THE SCOOP http://www.v1-p.com/unitedsteel.html These guys, along with their attorney Jeffrey Berlowitz, have been deceiving folks for more than two years. I originally contracted to purchase a $37, 000 building in February of 2017 and immediately made a deposit of $15, 000 (more than required). A year later, I was still trying to take delivery of the building, and they sued me giving no legitimate reason for the lawsuit! It was their attempt to use the Broward County courts to "WIN BY DEFAULT". I am in Texas, so I was forced to hire a Florida Attorney for another $5, 000 who managed to get the case DISMISSED, but getting a building or even some portion of my deposit back never happened. I have heard that almost 50 people were victims of this scam and the Florida Attorney General Office has still not opened an "Official Investigation" as of Feb. 2nd

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marcus Whitfield Feb 03, 2010

    There is a reporter in Florida who is chasing these guys! Eme with THE SCOOP has apparently made some progress with getting money back for some people. She is also pursuing the individuals WILLIAM KNOTE, HOWARD ZIMMMERMAN, and others for Fraud under the FDUPTA laws. These guys need to go to jail. I was told they are currently operating another metal building company called SUPERSTEEL! Stay away from these terrible people! Here is a link to THE SCOOP http://www.v1-p.com/unitedsteel.html These guys, along with their attorney Jeffrey Berlowitz, have been deceiving folks for more than two years. I originally contracted to purchase a $37, 000 building in February of 2017 and immediately made a deposit of $15, 000 (more than required). A year later, I was still trying to take delivery of the building, and they sued me giving no legitimate reason for the lawsuit! It was their attempt to use the Broward County courts to "WIN BY DEFAULT". I am in Texas, so I was forced to hire a Florida Attorney for another $5, 000 who managed to get the case DISMISSED, but getting a building or even some portion of my deposit back never happened. I have heard that almost 50 people were victims of this scam and the Florida Attorney General Office has still not opened an "Official Investigation" as of Feb. 2nd

    0 Votes
  • Js
    jstarr Jan 06, 2010

    Have you tried to file a complaint with the board of contractors? If so what was the outcome?

    0 Votes
  • Ya
    yankeelover Oct 23, 2009

    Nice Guy call the Broward County Consumer Affairs these guys love USB Call Broward County Sherriffs Dept file a complaint these guys will try to convence you to get a lawyer they do not want to help either Call the FCC file a complaint copntact Federal Trade Commision would like to hear from FBI ICU3 unit may help

    1 Votes
  • Ni
    niceguy1 Oct 16, 2009

    I have also been told the same story.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Pappysbrother Oct 03, 2009

    Put up a web site FIGHT THEM. David

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    Burned in SC Sep 27, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Pappy is slap happy.

    USB is no loyal or well meaning company.
    Any honest company WILL lock in your price for 30-90 days. The contract commits both you and them. USB sneaks around this by issuing "revisions" or simply disregarding initial quote. It is not like the fabricator has to go shopping for materials once your order hits the floor. Price is based on the going rate at the time of execution.

    USB not only scams you once by claiming to be a primary supplier/fabricator and takes a deposit. They hit you again and again with change orders and price increases. Because: one, your building has yet to be engineered(they sub it to outside engineers); two, they have no production facilities or materials and are at the mercy of fabricators who have not yet comitted to your building...when and if your building ever goes into production; and lastly, USB makes far more money taking your deposit, sending you bogus plans, hitting you up with additional costs, and then renegging on the deal. What are you gonna do? Sue them in Florida? They know this, and target out of state buyers. All the complaintants posting are from other states.

    I now buy nothing from Florida. The state seems to foster scam artists, theives, and every other sort of lowlife, especially Broward County. I hope hurricane season targets Ft. Lauderdale and zeroes in on Jack Rachlin's house.

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    Burned in SC Apr 04, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please contact The State of Florida Attorney General and file a fraud complaint. Next contact SE Florida BBB and file a complaint. Also, file a fraud/larceny complaint with the Ft. Lauderdale PD. You are not alone, this has happened to dozens of others. This is how USB operates. But please file the above complaints as a matter of record, but understand nothing may come of them right away. Get an attorney and send USB a demand letter ASAP.

    DO NOT PAY ADDITIONAL FUNDS TO GET YOUR BUILDING!!!

    This is another way USB will scam you. Any questions or help, just post them on this site.

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    Burned in SC Mar 23, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They simply cancelled my order without refund.

    Did you ever get your building? If not file a fraud or theft-by-deception complaint with the Ft. Lauderdale PD, Economic Crimes Division.

    Also, file a complaint with the Florida State Attorney General, nothing will come of it as they have dozens of complaints now, but you will be on record if action is ever taken.

    Good luck.

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    BUNCHS COLLISION Jan 09, 2009

    fraud

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    BUNCHS COLLISION Jan 09, 2009

    U MUST BE A UNITED STEEL BUILDING EMPLOYEE YOUR INFO IS FAR FROM TRUTH THE PEOPLE YOUR RIPPING OFF HAS FAMILIES TO FEED ALSO SO SEND MY 7000.00 TO ME AND THEN SEE HOW YOU FEEL.MISS LEADING CUSTOMERS ISNT A GOOD BUSINESS PRACTICE SO SURE IT IS COMING HOME SOONER OR LATER

    0 Votes
  • Pj
    PJR Jan 05, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ordered a building in March, '08. Sent fabrication payment July 7 after a price increase. Received email in Aug. '08 asking for fax of final payment check. Delivery would be about 4 weeks after receiving the fax. It was mid Sept. before I could get the check and faxed it about Sept. 23 '08.

    I waited until end of Nov. and sent a status request email to the originator of the original email ( Melissa Moonilal ). Reply stated since I had taken so long to get the chack faxed to the my building had been pushed back a bit. I had been 2 months since they received the fax. She would contact me when they were ready to ship.

    I sent another email today ( 1-5-09 ) which has gone unanswered.

    I guess it is time to complaining. I feel I heve been very patient.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    david e. gentry Dec 11, 2008

    What about now prices are bottomed out should united steel give back the moey they made at the higher steel price? Economics is not your level of intellagents. Just shut up I get calls on a regular basis. You do not know what you are talking about.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    david e. gentry Dec 11, 2008

    How much bs can this company produce pappy is full of @#$% if your not pappy put your name and phone # I want to know how you got paid or maybe you work for these scamers. David E. Gentry

    0 Votes
  • An
    angry Nov 20, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    United Steel should have never locked into a contract if they cannot keep the price quoted. I think it is quite funny how United Steel also would inform thier customers that the price has increased after all other payments were sent to them, not a second sooner. This is just one hint as to what they did was on purpose. VERY VERY DECEPTFUL. I wouldn't be suprised if it isn't USB themseleves who wrote this comment.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Pappy Oct 23, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    After further review I have checked with many reliable sources and tradesman in the steel industry and it seems that the price of steel skyrocketed out of control somtime early spring and lasted through the summer caused only by the same type of greed that we see in the oil and gas industry. The unfortunate part is it not only hurt the end user but also many other stand up companies, employess, and families. These same sources informed me the facts that the actual fabrication plants got slammed by the high demand of overseas countries like China who were willing to pay top dollar for the steel coils because the US dollar was at an all time low. This caused them to get greedy and inflate the price to the loyal companies like United Steel Building. With projects in the pipeline ready to send over, the factories told them what was quoted 2-6 months ago would cost 30-60% more to fabricate now. With the only options of going out of business causing many projects to go undelivered and layoff employees hoping to put food on the table for their families they decided to fight through it absorbing much of the cost and asking the customer to help by covering the remainder. At that point it goes to the contract, which in every steel companies terms states it is the customers responsiblity to pay the increase if steel rises. If you don't believe me ask any company for their terms and conditions and you will find it somewhere. The thing is it is a clause they say they pray that they never have to use. It happend for a brief period in 2017, but nothing like this one that just passed. United Steel Building and the others are given a bad name for doing the right thing, sticking it out so that people can have jobs, and now are fighting back to regain their reputation as a solid company. It makes sense because any complaints I see on the BBB are from 2 months during the summer. Before that, nothing. The irony is with the foreign companies slowing their ordering because of the world's economy, the fabricating companies are now dropping their prices back to the levels of the beginning of the year in hope that with the help of getting companies like United Steel Building to honor the original contract prices of the customers that they have, the fabricating companies will not go belly up themselves. Good for you United Steel Building for being American!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.