Menu
Ultimate DVD Shop

Ultimate DVD Shop review: Scam artists! 88

B
Author of the review
12:00 am EST
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

What else can I say but... I got scammed from this company! This company, somehow, is "slipping through the cracks" on frauding Americans! I ordered a DVD set September 13, 2007, and when I finally received the package on November 8, 2007, instead of the DVD's, there were magazines used as a "filler"! I singed for the package and opened it in front of my mailman, and he laughed and said "You just got scammed!" I used the "live-chat" they offer and I'm still not really sure if they even work for the Ultimate DVD shop. I even tried the phone number, and no one ever called me back! What I was told, was that I will be refunded my money in 6-12 days, but NOT including the shipping. So, I guess this is how they make their money... off of shipping costs! If you're reading this... please use this as a warning... DO NOT ORDER FROM THEM! This has been nothing but a headache, and I'm still not sure if I'll ever see my money again!

88 comments
F
F
feilberto flores
,
Feb 09, 2008 12:09 pm EST

I ordered Jan. 12 2008 myself and have not received my product i received and email stating my order was in backorder two days after my order i called and conveniently the number 877-tv-series and 877-7tv-show is unavailable we should all get together and see if a class action suit can be filed.

mr. flores

Chicago Illinois

D
D
debbie lampkin
,
Feb 08, 2008 8:25 pm EST

I ordered dvds on 12-13-10 confirmatoin email said we would recieve order 12 to 14 days still have not recieved dvds or return to my debit card have contacted by email several times no luck wish there was some way to warn poeple before they end up n the complaint board becuause UlitmateDVDshop is nothing but a rip of.

N
N
Nikii Watts
,
Feb 08, 2008 1:28 pm EST

I wish that I had checked this company out before ordering a DVD box set for my daughter's birthday. I ordered on Jan. 14th and I have yet to receive the product. I have the same experience when trying to make contact with this company. There must be something that we can do.

N
N
Nicole Birch
,
Feb 08, 2008 4:57 am EST

I am in the same situation. Is there anything that we can do? Who do we file a complaint with?

J
J
Jane Greenawalt
,
Feb 06, 2008 2:40 pm EST

I too have been scammed... I am stunned that they can get away with this.

What can we do? I have contacted my bank but seriously doubt they will refund my money.

J
J
Julie Melvin
,
Feb 05, 2008 8:30 am EST

I ordered a dvd set on december 17, 2007. my credit card was charged on december 20, 2007 and as of today february 5, 2008 i have yet to recieve the dvd's. I cannot make any contact with the company by phone, nor have they answered my emails. This company is a complete RIP OFF!

T
T
Teresa Pettway
,
Feb 04, 2008 7:31 am EST

Ordered a dvd set the first week of january. Have not received the set after days of calling and emailing and talking to a supposedly real person. No calls back, no emails back and no delivery of product.

D
D
Daren
,
Feb 03, 2008 6:54 pm EST

I too have been ripped off by this company. And I am a lawyer and am contemplating bringing a lawsuit against these clowns for their blatent fraud. It is unbeleivable that a compny can be allowed to operate like this.

J
J
jason hudgens
,
Feb 01, 2008 5:59 pm EST

I ordered the Little House on the Prairie DVD box set on 12-14-07.
I was told it would be delivered by Christmas! It is now February!
I was told their supplier has shut there doors to them(the ultimate dvd store) and anyone who placed their order before 12-31-07 would receive there product or a full refund. Is there any thing I can do to get my money back.

C
C
christine wolford
,
Jan 31, 2008 12:48 pm EST

This company is all about scamming people and stealing their money. We all need to get a lawyer and sue their ### big time. I will take them to ourt if they dont refund my money.

N
N
Nancy Wise
,
Jan 28, 2008 5:43 pm EST

Rip-Off

N
N
Nancy Wise
,
Jan 28, 2008 5:40 pm EST

We did not receive the items ordered until 2 weeks after we were told they would be delivered. Items were received but damaged AND not at all what was advertised. A 48 disc set of 112 episodes (brand new and sealed) was advertised but what we received were 4 discs that would not even play, 32 episodes that were recorded twice, and the recordings were from the tv channels TVLand, Hallmark, and WGN...complete with commercials. Of course, have been trying to contact (by e-mail, phone, etc.) and getting absolutely nowehere!

A
A
Alex Boselli
,
Jan 23, 2008 9:29 am EST

This company stole my money too!
I placed an order on 12/31/07 for Mission Impossible full series season 1 to 7 171 episodes on 41 dvds for $130.00. Should have know better! They took my money on 12/31/07 (electronic).
I've sent e-mails, called their toll free number 1877-7TV-SHOW, no response! Hope someone gets these guys.

S
S
sue lowrey
,
Jan 22, 2008 5:59 pm EST

i ordered dvds from this site i think the united states should do something about it. they never return your calls. i talked to the on line chat and theyassured me i would receive my dvds on the 24th but i have not received them . i paid for them with my debit card do you know if there is anything i can do

M
M
michael hatch
,
Jan 20, 2008 4:45 pm EST

I also made a order with them on dec. 2nd it was not shipped until the 29th of december and it was shipped from Canada. When i received it the full series of Ed It was missing multiple episodes and had one episode that was on 6 or 7 times. The picture quality was terrible and you could tell it was taped from tv. I called and was disconected and i have e mailed several times and have not been answered so i have learned a valuable lesson.

C
C
Carry Sims
,
Jan 19, 2008 4:59 pm EST

I wish this site showed when I made my order. I did not see this site until I was doing some research to find out where my DVD's are, I am very angry. It's unbelievable that this company is allowed to continue business. I don't know what to do now either, I went through the exact same routine as everyone else, I did get a reply from the live chat, stating they would look into it, but have not heard anything since. I ordered my DVD's on 12/4 and it's 1/19/08 and have received nothing. I'm going to try and go through my bank to get my money back.

F
F
frederick mcginnis
,
Jan 18, 2008 1:43 pm EST

Yea...i am another one...they got me for several hundred...and i did not even get a reach around. Will...like they say...if it sounds too good to be true...it is!

D
D
Dwayne
,
Jan 16, 2008 10:50 am EST

More information - the contact privacy site is owned by TUCOWS so if you contact them also maybe they will remove it from their protection list since they are a scam...

[Querying whois.tucows.com]
[whois.tucows.com]
Registrant:
Tucows.com Co.
96 Mowat Ave.
Toronto, ON M6K 3M1
CA

Domain name: CONTACTPRIVACY.COM

Administrative Contact:
Admin, Domain domain_management@tucows.com
96 Mowat Ave.
Toronto, ON M6K 3M1
CA
+1.[protected]
Technical Contact:
Admin, Domain domain_management@tucows.com
96 Mowat Ave.
Toronto, ON M6K 3M1
CA
+1.[protected]

D
D
Dwayne
,
Jan 16, 2008 10:46 am EST

I am glad I read this so I did not place an order.

Their domain is hidden from finding who owns it so it is a real scam.

Check this out...
Registrant:
Contactprivacy.com
96 Mowat Ave
Toronto, ON M6K 3M1
CA

Domain name: DVDDONKEY.COM

Administrative Contact:
contactprivacy.com, dvddonkey.com@contactprivacy.com
96 Mowat Ave
Toronto, ON M6K 3M1
CA
+1.[protected]
Technical Contact:
contactprivacy.com, dvddonkey.com@contactprivacy.com
96 Mowat Ave
Toronto, ON M6K 3M1
CA
+1.[protected]

This domain's privacy is protected by contactprivacy.com. To reach the domain contacts, please go to http://www.contactprivacy.com and follow the instructions.

If everyone that got scammed goes to the contact page and registers an email to them MAYBE something will get done?

J
J
Judy Dillon
,
Jan 10, 2008 9:58 am EST

I agree with all the complaints I have read above. And I am very sorry to hear that the DVDs are bootleg copies. Mine, too, is a Christmas present for my husband. It is now January 10th, 2008 and we have not received the DVDs. Ditto on the live chat and the Canada Post. Anyone else should heed these warnings... do NOT order from these people...!

T
T
Tim Mussman
,
Jan 10, 2008 9:46 am EST

I wished I would have read this board weeks ago. I placed on order on Nov 30, 2007 and have not received it as of Jan 10, 2008.
My credit card was billed on Dec 1, 2007 of course.
Everyone... Stay Away from the UltimateDVDShop !
I plan on contacting my credit card company, the BBB and anyone else I can.

N
N
nancy hinkebein
,
Jan 05, 2008 11:29 am EST

Anyone that has ordered dvd's with this company should dispute it with their credit card company or bank. They try to stall you until it is too late to dispute the charges. If the do ever send yu any product they are pirated dvd's recorded off of the tv. They say that this is legal, but I don't see how this is possible due to copyright laws.

N
N
nancy hinkebein
,
Jan 02, 2008 8:45 pm EST

I have contacted the motion picture association because they are violating the copyright laws. I talked to a live chat person that said that they are taped off of the tv, but they claim this is legal. If anyone receives any copies of the merchandise that they ordered and it is a bootleg copy they should contact them as well

B
B
Beverly Short
,
Dec 31, 2007 3:19 pm EST

I have to say that I must be one of the lucky ones. I ordered a DVD on November 25th, but never received a confirmation of any type. After 3 weeks I was really worried and tried to use the "Live Chat" to no appeal. I called the company that actually took the money from my account and they gave me a phone # to call which I did. I was told at the time they have about 5 other company names. I was told by the credit card company that took the money they would refund my money if I did not receive the merchandise in a few weeks. I called the number which was actually the "Donkey DVD" company and left a message.After leaving a message and no rely from them a week later one night I decided to try the "Live Chat" again. That night some actually replied. After a lot of checking on their part they gave me a order # and a Canadian Postal tracking #. This by the way did not tell me squat! Then one day a full month later the DVD's were delivered by my mail lady. Boy, was I happy! This was after all a Christmas gift for my husband and I was only out $50, not as much as some of you have obviously been, but still $50 is a lot of money to me. Just this week I received 3 emails from them, 2 are confirmations and one saying the DVD's have been shipped! They were all 3 dated December 26th! I don't quit know what to make of these people but I will not give them anymore of my money. I know now I'm extremely lucky to have received my merchandise and won't take that chance again.

F
F
Fran Cummings
,
Dec 29, 2007 7:15 am EST

I, too, was taken in by this scamming group. I ordered the 9 seasons of "COACH" on DVD for $58.99 plus a whopping $19.99 shipping charge. I checked with my credit card company and they already (over) billed me for $85.00.

I cannot reach them by either phone or e-mail. They never return my messages. My bank advised me to change my credit card number YESTERDAY! I did just that. My bank said they could use phony names and use my card.

I learned a hard lesson, as I am on a fixed income. My bank told me to contact the F.T.C.

I'd really like to know: Just what does the F.T.C. do all day? Sit on its corporate hands?

Very Discouraged.

S
S
Susan Hill
,
Dec 28, 2007 12:41 pm EST

I was also scammed. My credit card company is going after these people. thanks to whoever posted about getting another card number. great idea. susan

S
S
Sharon Haire
,
Dec 25, 2007 7:23 pm EST

I ordered from the Ultimate DVD Shop also in November for a Christmas present for my husband. I was given the run around also, phone calls going to an answering machine with no return calls, e-mails not returned. I sent the Ultimate DVD Shop a threatening e-mail telling them that I was going to investigate their company and start a class action suit against them. Then, on December 24, my DVDs came in the mail! They are TERRIBLE quality, the voices don't match the faces (like in a Chinese movie), they are "snowy" pictures, just TERRIBLE quality DVDs. I'm afraid to try and return them because I feel like I won't get my money back. DO NOT ORDER FROM THE ULTIMATE DVD SHOP! They are rip-offs. They send you inferior quality DVDs that are COPIED from television. They are booklegged copies. DO NOT ORDER FROM THEM! You can bet I won't EVER again!

J
J
James V. Koch
,
Dec 20, 2007 2:10 pm EST

I was scammed by ultimatedvdshop.com for $98.28 for a DVD box set. Cleverly, their web page contains a false e-mail and a false telephone number. No address.

K
K
Kim Menaker
,
Dec 19, 2007 3:12 pm EST

Add me to the scammed list. I ordered the complete Red Green set, and never received a confirmation email. I finally got a hold of someone on Thursday night who said I would receive it any day. When I spoke with someone on the chat, they gave me a tracking number for canada post, which said it shipped Friday. I'm down $160! I'm calling my cc company tonight!

V
V
Vladimir
,
Dec 19, 2007 8:39 am EST

I have purchased some DVDs from these guys in the amount of 152.98, they have deducted 160.12 from my VISA card. No confirmation on my order, no response, no DVD. Its neccessary to take proper measures against this company, If you have any ideas on how to procceed, please contact me ASAP.

R
R
Randolph Badger
,
Dec 18, 2007 11:03 am EST

I wish I had seen this site like most of you do. I did not order from Ultimate dvd, but I did order from dvd Donkey and got ripped off for $174.92. These companies are all the same company (Ultimatedvdshop, dvddonkey.com, dvdplanet.org) They have ripped off thousands of dollars from a lot of people. I used a bank card and cannot get my money back once it has been deposited into another bank. So please people do what I have and file a complaint with the Better business bureau, I also filed a complaint with IC3 (Internet Crime Complaint Center) with the FBI, and the Post Master General because this falls under mail fraud. None of us will ever get our money back but we must do everything we can to stop these guys from ripping off any more people. Don't let this get your Christmas down.

O
O
owen barger
,
Dec 18, 2007 2:52 am EST

Yes. just contact your credit card company as I did. They refunded my money and are investigating this company. They told me if there is any intent to mis lead or down right rip off the consumer they would take legal action. These ###s are going down!

G
G
grant oakley
,
Dec 17, 2007 5:04 pm EST

Hey look at me, i am an idiot also. Ordered the complete get smart series for a x-mas gift, and can't get a response from the company. 100.00 down the drain. I hope other people are smart enough to research this company, because i sure wasn't.

T
T
Tre Ellis
,
Dec 17, 2007 12:19 pm EST

Ok. So, there is not ALOT we can do. But we can do something. I contacted an IT expert to see who issued their secure certificate and also who hosts their site.

Next, we should all get in contact. Since together the fraud is in excess of $1500 we can have the police investigate, possibly.

THEN, we should each call our credit card companies to put them on notice that they are conducting fraudulent business.

As I get more ideas, I will continue to act on them. This is all I could come up with in the last 20 minutes.

Anyone who wants to get in on helping be bring down these ###, please email me. Happy Holidays. Tre

T
T
Tre Ellis
,
Dec 17, 2007 11:15 am EST

Oh no. I ordered two items and paid $156.77 and cannot get a hold of them. I am so sad. They DID just get on their live chat feature and give me a tracking number for the Canada post... and there appears to be such a site and they show they rec'd my order. But this site is wierd too and has no info re: arrival date. Damn! How unnerving. Will let you know if I get anything!

C
C
Carol Lake
,
Dec 17, 2007 8:33 am EST

I'm afraid I've been scammed too. I did not receive any confirmation on my order and then found the scam complaints. I cancelled my credit card, however, 2 days after cancelling it, their charge for $75.00 managed to get through because it was posted prior to me cancelling it. My credit card company is going to dispute the charge once I fill out some form, but who knows if it will work. I should have known better considering they do not have any real address or contact information. God knows how many of us are out there. I guess I learned my lesson and it could have been worse.

T
T
Terry DelBalso
,
Dec 16, 2007 11:27 am EST

I ordered the complete set of Who's The Boss and went to follow up today to see why I have not received a confirmation or package and that is when I found this site. I just called my credit card company as I charged the order. Does anyone know what the credit card company now does? I too am so disappointed because (1) I do not want to lose the money and (2) it was a Christmas gift that the person really wanted.

C
C
C Dockery
,
Dec 16, 2007 8:42 am EST

I found this company on the internet .I got scammed ! I ordered a DVD set December 10, 2007 and was told I would receive an email confirming my order within 48 hours which I have not received. I have tried the customer service phone number on more then on occasion and get sent to another line then it rings a few times and informs me all service reps are busy and tells me to leave a message which I have did sereval times and no one has retuen my calls. I also tried to go back to the web site and email customer service no one returns my emails either.DO NOT ORDER FROM THEM! I hope the Better Business Bureau can help to stop these crimnals!

A
A
another scammed customer
,
Dec 13, 2007 10:37 pm EST

This company is definately scamming people! Do NOT use them. I ordered a dvd about 2 months ago and I have left numerous voicemails (on some strange recording) and sent emails, etc. Hey, the person who got some kind of refund, how did you go about doing that? THey already charged my VIsa $170 AND I pretty much know now I will get nothing. Any info will help. And I am going to try to bring them down! They are probably drug dealers!

T
T
trwrn21
,
Dec 13, 2007 5:48 pm EST

I just want to say that if you paid with a credit card you need to get a new card. I canceled my order, we will see what happens. I talked to the online staff(ha) and they said they where based out of Miami, Fl, and i dont think so. Due to the mispelled words from the online person. The web site is not sucure as well.