Ultimate DVD ShopScam artists!

1

What else can I say but... I got scammed from this company! This company, somehow, is "slipping through the cracks" on frauding Americans! I ordered a DVD set September 13, 2007, and when I finally received the package on November 8, 2007, instead of the DVD's, there were magazines used as a "filler"!! I singed for the package and opened it in front of my mailman, and he laughed and said "You just got scammed!!!" I used the "live-chat" they offer and I'm still not really sure if they even work for the Ultimate DVD shop. I even tried the phone number, and no one ever called me back! What I was told, was that I will be refunded my money in 6-12 days, but NOT including the shipping. So, I guess this is how they make their money... off of shipping costs!! If you're reading this... please use this as a warning... DO NOT ORDER FROM THEM!!! This has been nothing but a headache, and I'm still not sure if I'll ever see my money again!!!

Responses

  • De
    Deloris Janie Smith Sep 13, 2007

    I order a television series the complete seasons and spent $179.00. I have not received my product either. I have tried to call and no answer, I have also e-mailed them and have gotten no answer in return... They are a rip off...

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Christine Soto Nov 12, 2007

    I ordered the complete series of Laredo on DVD 10/21/07. Was promised merchandise in 7-14 days. Unable to get a response by phone and emails are returned undeliverable. They had no problem debiting my account the next day after the order was placed. I expect my merchandise or my money back.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jaime Henke Nov 19, 2007

    Ultimate DVD shop ripped me off for $168!!! I don't know what to do!

    0 Votes
  • Le
    lee gum Nov 25, 2007

    I got ripped off the same way as the fellow above. DO NOT DEAL WITH THESE PEOPLE. Also, be careful of anyone selling the "complete 116 shows" by anyone. There are 3 other scammers that I know of. I see Amazon took them off their site. Must have been lots of complaints.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Donna S. Reagan Dec 04, 2007

    Don't confirm orders; don't return calls. Provides nothing. Site needs to be shut down.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Nia Imani Dec 04, 2007

    The Better Business Bureau has this information listed for Ultimate DVD Shop

    1671 Aventura Street
    Miami,
    FL 33095
    (187) 778-7469

    They're BBB registration number is 92005208 and they registered on 11/13/2007. The phone # does not work. Complain to the BBB.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    GEORGE F. GREEN Dec 06, 2007

    I READ YOUR REPORT. I WAS ALSO A VICTIM OF THIS WEBSITE, I ASKED THEM DIRECTLY FOR ANSWERS TO A PURCHASE I MADE, AND NEVER RECEIVED. THEY SAID THEY WERE NOT AWARE OF ANY POSTED COMPLAINTS FROM PAST CUSTOMERS. THEY ALSO SAID IF YOU DON'T WANT TO ORDER FROM THEM, THEN YOU DON'T NEED TO. I HAD TO SEND A DETAIL REPORT TO MY CREDIT CARD COMPANY, TO GET A CREDIT/REFUND. I RECOMMEND TO OTHERS TO DO THE SAME THING, AND KEEP POSTING COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS WEBSITE- ULTIMATEDVDSHOP. I HOPE MY ADVICE CAN HELP YOU AND OTHERS. I RECOMMEND MAKING PURCHASES FROM OTHER EBAY SELLERS WITH GOOD FEEDBACK SCORES, WALMART, BEST BUY, CIRCUIT CITY.

    GEORGE F. GREEN- [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Da
    darla martin Dec 06, 2007

    I was stupid enough to fall for this,and spent 100.00 for b j and the bear dvds.Ive been calling the company since saturday-12/01/07,first you cant get thru,then when you do you get a big run around.Take like today, i got hung up on 3 times when i did talk to someone they gave me a long number to take to a website that website is www.canadapost.com,put in supposed tracking number,and track your shipment.What a bunch of crap.I will be getting ahold of my bbb,and report them,and try to get my money back.

    0 Votes
  • Ph
    Phyllis Bowles Dec 08, 2007

    All the above complaints, I have experienced. I ordered the complete series of WKRP and have not received any kind of information from them. I am terribly disappointed as this was to have been a Christmas gift. Ultimatedvd also charged my credit card the next day. I cannot believe that I cannot reach anyone. This has made me afraid to shop anymore on line.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anthony DePhillip Dec 09, 2007

    Ultimate DVD Shop is a complete scam. they ripped me off for $143. i doubt I will ever see that $ again.

    I received no confirmation e-mails, No returned calls or e-mails from their so called customer service, the phone message is a fake which leads you along and just disconnects and the end. If anybody has run into the same problem with these ### and figured out how to get your $ back, Please give me a shout. So much for internet security. I'm going back to stores. Peace and happy Holidays!

    0 Votes
  • Er
    Ernest Barrette Dec 10, 2007

    Have gotten nowhere in trying to get info on my order.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    SheilaCantrell Dec 12, 2007

    I Got ripped to, but for $198.00 bucks, does anyone even know the location of this place? If so I would really appreciate knowing. Im gonna report these people to the proper authorities, if I can get a little more info on them. I cant even get them to respond to me, and Ive search everywhere for more info. Any info would be appreciated. Happy Holidays.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    trwrn21 Dec 13, 2007

    I just want to say that if you paid with a credit card you need to get a new card. I canceled my order, we will see what happens. I talked to the online staff(ha) and they said they where based out of Miami, Fl, and i dont think so. Due to the mispelled words from the online person. The web site is not sucure as well.

    0 Votes
  • An
    another scammed customer Dec 13, 2007

    This company is definately scamming people! Do NOT use them. I ordered a dvd about 2 months ago and I have left numerous voicemails (on some strange recording) and sent emails, etc. Hey, the person who got some kind of refund, how did you go about doing that? THey already charged my VIsa $170 AND I pretty much know now I will get nothing. Any info will help. And I am going to try to bring them down! They are probably drug dealers!!!

    0 Votes
  • Cd
    C Dockery Dec 16, 2007

    I found this company on the internet .I got scammed ! I ordered a DVD set December 10, 2007 and was told I would receive an email confirming my order within 48 hours which I have not received. I have tried the customer service phone number on more then on occasion and get sent to another line then it rings a few times and informs me all service reps are busy and tells me to leave a message which I have did sereval times and no one has retuen my calls. I also tried to go back to the web site and email customer service no one returns my emails either.DO NOT ORDER FROM THEM! I hope the Better Business Bureau can help to stop these crimnals!!!!!!!!

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Terry DelBalso Dec 16, 2007

    I ordered the complete set of Who's The Boss and went to follow up today to see why I have not received a confirmation or package and that is when I found this site. I just called my credit card company as I charged the order. Does anyone know what the credit card company now does? I too am so disappointed because (1) I do not want to lose the money and (2) it was a Christmas gift that the person really wanted.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carol Lake Dec 17, 2007

    I'm afraid I've been scammed too. I did not receive any confirmation on my order and then found the scam complaints. I cancelled my credit card, however, 2 days after cancelling it, their charge for $75.00 managed to get through because it was posted prior to me cancelling it. My credit card company is going to dispute the charge once I fill out some form, but who knows if it will work. I should have known better considering they do not have any real address or contact information. God knows how many of us are out there. I guess I learned my lesson and it could have been worse.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Tre Ellis Dec 17, 2007

    Oh no. I ordered two items and paid $156.77 and cannot get a hold of them. I am so sad. They DID just get on their live chat feature and give me a tracking number for the Canada post... and there appears to be such a site and they show they rec'd my order. But this site is wierd too and has no info re: arrival date. Damn! How unnerving. Will let you know if I get anything!!!

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Tre Ellis Dec 17, 2007

    Ok. So, there is not ALOT we can do. But we can do something. I contacted an IT expert to see who issued their secure certificate and also who hosts their site.

    Next, we should all get in contact. Since together the fraud is in excess of $1500 we can have the police investigate, possibly.

    THEN, we should each call our credit card companies to put them on notice that they are conducting fraudulent business.

    As I get more ideas, I will continue to act on them. This is all I could come up with in the last 20 minutes.

    Anyone who wants to get in on helping be bring down these ###, please email me. Happy Holidays. Tre

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    grant oakley Dec 17, 2007

    Hey look at me, i am an idiot also. Ordered the complete get smart series for a x-mas gift, and can't get a response from the company. 100.00 down the drain. I hope other people are smart enough to research this company, because i sure wasn't.

    0 Votes
  • Ow
    owen barger Dec 18, 2007

    Yes. just contact your credit card company as I did. They refunded my money and are investigating this company. They told me if there is any intent to mis lead or down right rip off the consumer they would take legal action. These ###s are going down!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Randolph Badger Dec 18, 2007

    I wish I had seen this site like most of you do. I did not order from Ultimate dvd, but I did order from dvd Donkey and got ripped off for $174.92. These companies are all the same company (Ultimatedvdshop, dvddonkey.com, dvdplanet.org) They have ripped off thousands of dollars from a lot of people. I used a bank card and cannot get my money back once it has been deposited into another bank. So please people do what I have and file a complaint with the Better business bureau, I also filed a complaint with IC3 (Internet Crime Complaint Center) with the FBI, and the Post Master General because this falls under mail fraud. None of us will ever get our money back but we must do everything we can to stop these guys from ripping off any more people. Don't let this get your Christmas down.

    0 Votes
  • Vl
    Vladimir Dec 19, 2007

    I have purchased some DVDs from these guys in the amount of 152.98, they have deducted 160.12 from my VISA card. No confirmation on my order, no response, no DVD. Its neccessary to take proper measures against this company, If you have any ideas on how to procceed, please contact me ASAP.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    Kim Menaker Dec 19, 2007

    Add me to the scammed list. I ordered the complete Red Green set, and never received a confirmation email. I finally got a hold of someone on Thursday night who said I would receive it any day. When I spoke with someone on the chat, they gave me a tracking number for canada post, which said it shipped Friday. I'm down $160!! I'm calling my cc company tonight!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    James V. Koch Dec 20, 2007

    I was scammed by ultimatedvdshop.com for $98.28 for a DVD box set. Cleverly, their web page contains a false e-mail and a false telephone number. No address.

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Peggy Bradley Dec 24, 2007

    I placed an order for the Family Matters DVD set about 2 weeks prior to Thanksgiving. Since then I have called at least 4 times a week, sometimes 3-4 times a day. No one ever takes my call. They called me once at 655 am to let me know what my order number was and to look it up on the canadapost.ca website... guess what? no such order. About a week later I called them at 645 am (supposedly their hours are 9am - whenever so why anyone answers or calls me from this place before 7 am is beyond me). Also it seems the same woman (who was extremely hard to understand) talked to me twice. She gave me the same order number which I looked up while on the phone with her... voila!! there it sat at the Canada Post since December 12. On Dec 19 I looked it up again... It finally left to Canada Post on December 18 (hope they enjoyed my dvds). Here it is December 24 and no DVDs. I have notified my credit card company not to let this charge go through but they tell me that it hasn't yet gone through. My guess is it's going to be under an alias name or even a split charge. What a joke!

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Sharon Haire Dec 25, 2007

    I ordered from the Ultimate DVD Shop also in November for a Christmas present for my husband. I was given the run around also, phone calls going to an answering machine with no return calls, e-mails not returned. I sent the Ultimate DVD Shop a threatening e-mail telling them that I was going to investigate their company and start a class action suit against them. Then, on December 24, my DVDs came in the mail! They are TERRIBLE quality, the voices don't match the faces (like in a Chinese movie), they are "snowy" pictures, just TERRIBLE quality DVDs. I'm afraid to try and return them because I feel like I won't get my money back. DO NOT ORDER FROM THE ULTIMATE DVD SHOP! They are rip-offs. They send you inferior quality DVDs that are COPIED from television. They are booklegged copies. DO NOT ORDER FROM THEM! You can bet I won't EVER again!

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Sherri Meyers Dec 27, 2007

    Basically the same as everyone who has complained plus they sold my credit card info to someone who tried to purchase $2600 worth of Ipods at Apple. Lucky enough my credit card company did not okay it. They checked with me. I cannot believe that someone in the government cannot stop this. I contacted the Governor and others but no one is interested. I just hope that everyone gets this info so no one else is cheated.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Susan Hill Dec 28, 2007

    I was also scammed. My credit card company is going after these people. thanks to whoever posted about getting another card number. great idea. susan

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Fran Cummings Dec 29, 2007

    I, too, was taken in by this scamming group. I ordered the 9 seasons of "COACH" on DVD for $58.99 plus a whopping $19.99 shipping charge. I checked with my credit card company and they already (over) billed me for $85.00.

    I cannot reach them by either phone or e-mail. They never return my messages. My bank advised me to change my credit card number YESTERDAY! I did just that. My bank said they could use phony names and use my card.

    I learned a hard lesson, as I am on a fixed income. My bank told me to contact the F.T.C.

    I'd really like to know: Just what does the F.T.C. do all day? Sit on its corporate hands?

    Very Discouraged.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Beverly Short Dec 31, 2007

    I have to say that I must be one of the lucky ones. I ordered a DVD on November 25th, but never received a confirmation of any type. After 3 weeks I was really worried and tried to use the "Live Chat" to no appeal. I called the company that actually took the money from my account and they gave me a phone # to call which I did. I was told at the time they have about 5 other company names. I was told by the credit card company that took the money they would refund my money if I did not receive the merchandise in a few weeks. I called the number which was actually the "Donkey DVD" company and left a message.After leaving a message and no rely from them a week later one night I decided to try the "Live Chat" again. That night some actually replied. After a lot of checking on their part they gave me a order # and a Canadian Postal tracking #. This by the way did not tell me squat! Then one day a full month later the DVD's were delivered by my mail lady. Boy, was I happy! This was after all a Christmas gift for my husband and I was only out $50, not as much as some of you have obviously been, but still $50 is a lot of money to me. Just this week I received 3 emails from them, 2 are confirmations and one saying the DVD's have been shipped! They were all 3 dated December 26th! I don't quit know what to make of these people but I will not give them anymore of my money. I know now I'm extremely lucky to have received my merchandise and won't take that chance again.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    nancy hinkebein Jan 02, 2008

    I have contacted the motion picture association because they are violating the copyright laws. I talked to a live chat person that said that they are taped off of the tv, but they claim this is legal. If anyone receives any copies of the merchandise that they ordered and it is a bootleg copy they should contact them as well

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rita Gill Jan 05, 2008

    Ordered a box dvd set of the television show Thirtysomething on 12/3/07. Was supposed to receive a confirmation email within 48 hours that I never received. A total of $110.58 was charged to my MasterCard. I have left several voicemail messages to the phone number they provide and have never received a call back (1-877-7887409). Also tried contacting them via email and website is not found. This rather destroys my faith in internet shopping.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    nancy hinkebein Jan 05, 2008

    Anyone that has ordered dvd's with this company should dispute it with their credit card company or bank. They try to stall you until it is too late to dispute the charges. If the do ever send yu any product they are pirated dvd's recorded off of the tv. They say that this is legal, but I don't see how this is possible due to copyright laws.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Tim Mussman Jan 10, 2008

    I wished I would have read this board weeks ago. I placed on order on Nov 30, 2007 and have not received it as of Jan 10, 2008.
    My credit card was billed on Dec 1, 2007 of course.
    Everyone.... Stay Away from the UltimateDVDShop !!!!
    I plan on contacting my credit card company, the BBB and anyone else I can.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Judy Dillon Jan 10, 2008

    I agree with all the complaints I have read above. And I am very sorry to hear that the DVDs are bootleg copies. Mine, too, is a Christmas present for my husband. It is now January 10th, 2008 and we have not received the DVDs. Ditto on the live chat and the Canada Post. Anyone else should heed these warnings... do NOT order from these people.....!!!!!!!

    0 Votes
  • Dw
    Dwayne Jan 16, 2008

    I am glad I read this so I did not place an order.

    Their domain is hidden from finding who owns it so it is a real scam.

    Check this out...
    Registrant:
    Contactprivacy.com
    96 Mowat Ave
    Toronto, ON M6K 3M1
    CA

    Domain name: DVDDONKEY.COM

    Administrative Contact:
    contactprivacy.com, [email protected]
    96 Mowat Ave
    Toronto, ON M6K 3M1
    CA
    +1.4165385457
    Technical Contact:
    contactprivacy.com, [email protected]
    96 Mowat Ave
    Toronto, ON M6K 3M1
    CA
    +1.4165385457

    This domain's privacy is protected by contactprivacy.com. To reach the domain contacts, please go to http://www.contactprivacy.com and follow the instructions.

    If everyone that got scammed goes to the contact page and registers an email to them MAYBE something will get done???

    0 Votes
  • Dw
    Dwayne Jan 16, 2008

    More information - the contact privacy site is owned by TUCOWS so if you contact them also maybe they will remove it from their protection list since they are a scam...

    [Querying whois.tucows.com]
    [whois.tucows.com]
    Registrant:
    Tucows.com Co.
    96 Mowat Ave.
    Toronto, ON M6K 3M1
    CA

    Domain name: CONTACTPRIVACY.COM

    Administrative Contact:
    Admin, Domain [email protected]
    96 Mowat Ave.
    Toronto, ON M6K 3M1
    CA
    +1.4165350123
    Technical Contact:
    Admin, Domain [email protected]
    96 Mowat Ave.
    Toronto, ON M6K 3M1
    CA
    +1.4165350123

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    frederick mcginnis Jan 18, 2008

    Yea...i am another one....they got me for several hundred....and i did not even get a reach around. Will...like they say...if it sounds too good to be true...it is!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carry Sims Jan 19, 2008

    I wish this site showed when I made my order. I did not see this site until I was doing some research to find out where my DVD's are, I am very angry. It's unbelievable that this company is allowed to continue business. I don't know what to do now either, I went through the exact same routine as everyone else, I did get a reply from the live chat, stating they would look into it, but have not heard anything since. I ordered my DVD's on 12/4 and it's 1/19/08 and have received nothing. I'm going to try and go through my bank to get my money back.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem