TouchStone Research GroupMilitary records scam

T Review updated:

I recently spent $130.00 with Touchstone Research Group because they claimed I could receive a copy of my DD214 (Military Discharge) within 2-3 business days. Need ing a copy to apply for a job I was quite happy that I wouldn't have to wait the average of six weeks when using the government channels.

Upon Touchstone receiving my payment I was informed that the request was submitted but a problem had occurred. Apparently it can take up to two weeks for the government employees to pull my file and send them a copy but once that is complete then I will receive it within 2-3 business days!

Before any other veterans take this avenue of retrieval please contact your state VA office and ask them for advice on less expensive and more timely methods of acquiring your military records!

Responses

  • Ed
    Edmund Kelley Sep 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I recently requested my DD-214 from National Personnel Records, 9700 Page Avenue, St.Louis, Mo 63132-5100 on 15 July 2010 and received my DD-214 and attachments within one week. You do not have to pay for military Personnel Records. Sorry to say but you have been scammed.

    0 Votes
  • No
    nothappywithttrg Dec 14, 2010

    This is a company that ensures they can get you your military records faster than the government. The guarantee a three day turn around for your DD-214 for $130. It has been eight days since I handed over the money, and I'm sitting here with no DD-214. When I called to complain, I got a rude, condescending man who instead of getting to the root of the problem to find out what happened will speak slowly and methodically like YOU'RE the idiot here. I missed the deadline for the job I was applying for, so I'm just going to call my credit card company and get my money back.

    I don't see many complaints about this company, so I'm not sure that they are a complete scam, but they sure did try to scam me. If you need a DD-214, just go through the government records site and wait. I put in my request, and should have them here in 5-6 days, and that was free. Stay away from this company that won't deliver and has even worse customer service.

    0 Votes
  • Yo
    yoyo4 Oct 17, 2018

    @nothappywithttrg my son applied for a copy of his dd214 30 days ago and have not received anything, what should he do and who did you call to follow up? thank you

    0 Votes
  • Im
    imagixx Jan 12, 2011

    See Wiki. Not all military records are at NPRC.

    "Most veterans who separated from their service generally pre-1992 can obtain their DD 214 from the National Personnel Records Center, ("NPRC"). The NPRC has two distinct tracks available to obtain records for veterans. The first is for the veteran to submit a Department of Defense Standard Form 180 ("SF180") to the facility via mail or fax. The second is to appear in-person at the facility. A personal appearance to request your records will almost always be faster. There are companies who can stand in the veterans place in order to acquire the same in-person advantage, to "expedite" record acquisition for a fee. In addition, records after 1992 will generally be held by the military branches themselves. Private companies who have researchers at these other facilities will, again, almost always be able to acquire your record faster than standard submission through the Government. The National Archives does maintain a list of independent researchers who will undertake a personal search and physical visit the St. Louis facility to request records in person." And every request is unique.

    Touchstone is the largest expediter of US military records, with over 15, 000 completed cases and hundreds of on-site reviews. 2-3 complaints on the Net (from unknowns?), with that volume, is pretty damn good by any standard.

    0 Votes
  • Im
    imagixx Jan 12, 2011

    See Wiki. Not all military records are at NPRC.

    "Most veterans who separated from their service generally pre-1992 can obtain their DD 214 from the National Personnel Records Center, ("NPRC"). The NPRC has two distinct tracks available to obtain records for veterans. The first is for the veteran to submit a Department of Defense Standard Form 180 ("SF180") to the facility via mail or fax. The second is to appear in-person at the facility. A personal appearance to request your records will almost always be faster. There are companies who can stand in the veterans place in order to acquire the same in-person advantage, to "expedite" record acquisition for a fee. In addition, records after 1992 will generally be held by the military branches themselves. Private companies who have researchers at these other facilities will, again, almost always be able to acquire your record faster than standard submission through the Government. The National Archives does maintain a list of independent researchers who will undertake a personal search and physical visit the St. Louis facility to request records in person." And every request is unique.

    Touchstone is the largest expediter of US military records, with over 15, 000 completed cases and hundreds of on-site reviews. 2-3 complaints on the Net (from unknowns?), with that volume, is pretty damn good by any standard.

    -1 Votes
  • Bu
    Buckfreakinwild Jan 18, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I contacted Touchstone on December 28th, 2010. I paid $104 to get my DD214 within 3 days. When it did not come I started calling and e-mailing them. Of course I was told the "holidays excuse". OK; I can buy that. They were to contact their researcher and check on the status. That was January 3rd. Every subsequent phone call and conversation (every other day since) I have been told the same thing- waiting to hear back from the researcher. Today is January 18th, I have had to re-schedule my home closing twice now. I would say my experience with this company has been dismal. They took my money and have provided nothing but excuses. A miserable experience. I will be calling them again today, immediately followed by a phone call to the New York States Attorney General Office and my credit card company to dispute the charges. Karma is a b**** Touchstone; your's is coming.

    0 Votes
  • Ve
    VETERANS PAY ATTENTION Feb 24, 2011

    PLEASE NOTE THAT YOU DO NOT HAVE TO PAY FOR YOUR MILITARY DOCUMENTATION...YOUR LOCAL VA REP CAN PROVIDE THE SAME SERVICE AS TOUCHSTONE...TOUCHSTONE CANNOT PROVIDE YOUR DOCUMENTS ANY FASTER, , THEY GO THROUGH THE SAME CHANNELS AS ANY ONE ELSE...I AM A CURRENT MEMBER OF THE ARMY AND A VETERAN AS WELL, AND JUST SO HAPPENS I HAVE WORKED IN THE RECORDS DEPARTMENT IN THE PAST. UNTIL THE MILITARY CATCHES UP WITH COMPANIES LIKE THIS WE MUST PROTECT OURSELVES...PLEASE DO RESEARCH BEFORE INVESTING YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY FOR A SERVICE THAT IS FREE AND PRODUCE FASTER RESULTS BY CONTACTING VA YOURSELF...TOUCHSTONE CONTACTS YOUR BRANCH OF SERVICE RECORDS BRANCH JUST AS YOU WOULD THEY GET NO SPECIAL TREATMENT IN FACT IT PAINS ANY SERICE BRANCH TO SEND FREE DOCUMENTS TO THEM KNOWING A SOLIDER SOMEWHERE IS BEING TAKEN ADVANTAGE OF...PLEASE BE AWARE OF YOUR OPTIONS...THIS IS INDEED A SCAM...

    0 Votes
  • Ak
    akspeth Mar 06, 2011

    I totally agree. I am usually diligent about checking out people on line before purchasing products or serviced, but when my stepfather passed away, and we need a copy of his DD214 for burial honors, I let my guard down. I already knew that DD214s are available at no charge, but because of our time constraints associated with the situation, I trusted them to deliver the product as promised. What a fraud. It's morally reprehensible to prey on people that way in their hour of need. I don’t know how Jasen sleeps at night.

    0 Votes
  • In
    interesting_mm Apr 14, 2011

    imagixx appears in every "Scam" forum supporting this company. Makes you wonder about any company that has a full time PR machine searching the web to support their business anonymously.

    0 Votes
  • Sf
    SFC RJD Jun 14, 2011

    I wish I had read this before placing my order!! I needed my DD214 in a hurry for a mortgage closing. I placed my order (and paid my $93) on May 11th. Still trying everything I could to retrieve it myself, I contacted the Winston Salem VA office the next day - they faxed me a copy within 20 minutes. I called Touchstone to cancel the order, but they said it was too late. Then, on June 3rd (23 days later - not 7 days), I got an email stating that my order had shipped. I immediately called to request a refund and was told to send an email. No response. Today, June 14th, after actually receiving my document and finding that it was not even a DD214, but just discharge orders, I called again. Same response about having to email the request. I demanded to speak to a manager and was flatly denied several times. If I don't get a refund to my credit card this week, I will dispute the charges. I agree, what a corrupt conscience it takes to scam those who've served our country and need these documents for loans, jobs, funerals or benefits! I'm going to call the Better Business Bureau, too!

    0 Votes
  • Sf
    SFC RJD Jul 06, 2011

    Update - after SEVERAL emails (most of which were less than polite, and at times accusatory), I finally got a full refund. I was informed that Touchstone does not search VA offices because their record retention policies vary. It just so happens that is the only place that had my DD214 on file. Touchstone said that they will revise their search to include VA offices in the future...

    0 Votes
  • Tc
    TchStn_1 Dec 21, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Any business without any complaints is impossible, particularly for
    service! Unless, of course, you are new or have had very few orders.
    Just check reviews for ANY item on Amazon, and for even the best
    products you'll find some poor reviews. Services are even more
    difficult. The old expression, you can't please everyone, is
    applicable. And bogus reports have their own motives ...some complaints on the net are placed by a
    business' competitors. We could indulge in that practice, too. But
    such actions only taint our industry as a whole. In addition we see no need. Our services will, when reviewed in full view, speak for themselves.
    You can review our many positive reviews at:
    http://touchstoneresearchgroup.com/catalog/government-dd214-express-service-pr-28.html?reviews_id=567
    Yes, we have
    had complaints, but ALL are resolved - per the BBB. We have 30 BBB
    complaints in three (3) years, out of well over 20, 000 orders . That's nearly one in a thousand!
    There are some difficult cases. Sometimes documents are not where they are supposed to be due to no fault of our own. If you, the client were going through other channels to obtain your DD214 and/or separation document you would have to navigate those issues yourself. We at Touchstone have experience that enables us to navigate those issues more effectively and easily thus our expedited research service.
    In addition; most cases submitted direct by the VA and/or those at the NPRC submitted direct have a processing time of 4-6 weeks. We hand deliver client's requests direct to facility staff which elevates the requests position in processing to prelude any that are mailed/faxed in. Therefore with our time and effort, expenditures, a client's record will be received much earlier than a individuals submission
    We will adamantly stand behind our guarantee that no one can get your records faster.
    When the facts are known, Touchstone is the best choice to acquire your
    DD214.

    -1 Votes
  • St
    Store views Feb 14, 2012

    They just got me to, they ran my card and I told the guy I will not need his services, he hung up on me. He never even received my info to do the work.

    0 Votes
  • Tc
    TchStn_1 Feb 14, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We have no ability to respond without a case number and First and last name. You can reach us at 800-283-3214 and we would be happy to assist you.

    0 Votes
  • Cc
    ccapo Mar 23, 2012

    They are a total scam...I requested my grandfathers discharge papers and told i would have them by close of business on a Friday. I never received them. So I have call many time. I start talking to someone and then they hang up on me. I have e-mailed and left many messages. I also have called from many different phone number and they answer but if you call back from the same one they send you right to voice mail. So the better bureau office and the Attorney Generals office is going to hear from me on this company. They are scamming poor people who are looking for things that are needed right away and they are never getting them.

    0 Votes
  • Tc
    TchStn_1 Mar 23, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We have no ability to respond without a case number and First and last name. You can reach us at 800-283-3214 and we would be happy to assist you in resolving your complaints.

    -1 Votes
  • Sa
    SargassoSink Apr 02, 2012

    I would not call it a scam exactly, while it's true that the records can be obtained for free, it would be worth paying money to get them more quickly if such a service existed.

    Unfortunately, Touchstone is not such a service. Once they have your money they are impossible to get a-hold of, as others have said here, and I'll be forced to initiate a chargeback on my credit card, and wait for the documents directly from the government.

    1 Votes
  • Tc
    TchStn_1 Apr 03, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It is well known that competitors will post negative reviews on the
    Internet, particularly "anonymous" reviews. Without a full name, case
    number, or other identifying material, it's easy to post a bogus review.
    It's common, too. We could do it too, to our competitor - but that
    conduct's beneath us. We suspect that this is an example of such a review.

    Unlike this "Scam" site, the BBB has a method of tracking complaints and
    our responses. They do not charge us $1000 or more to correct/verify
    complaints! (Hence, the motive to post/allow bogus reviews here.)

    According to the BBB, we have had 30 some odd complains, on over 25, 000
    orders, in the past three years. That's almost 1 in a thousand!
    That's a great reputation by any standard! In addition, to the few
    complaints we've received, we have responded to ALL. The BBB does NOT
    have a single unresolved case for us! If your complaint is indeed
    true, file it with the BBB and we will respond - as we do with all
    legitimate complaints, as confirmed by the BBB.

    Find any other business that has a complaint ratio of 1:1000!!!

    This complaint is most likely bogus, a dirty trick by our envious
    competitor who does a mere fraction of our business.

    Finally, don't believe everything, possibly to anything you read on
    undocumented sites.

    -1 Votes
  • Ex
    Excalibur63 Apr 06, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ordered my late father's DD214 from this company.
    I received a couple of e-mails during the first 24 hours.
    Then, nothing. I sent e-mails and got no responses.
    I called twice and as soon as I identified myself, the line went dead.
    Left a voicemail and got no response to that either.

    I paid $89 for the 7 day service. That time has come and gone. And I'm
    being ignored / hung up on.

    Now, looking for reviews, I find nothing but bad ones.
    If I Google "Touchstone Research Reviews" I find this site and at
    least half a dozen others - all filled with reviews of people who
    didn't get their product.

    If you haven't ordered from this company, DON'T!
    If you have and haven't gotten your product (I'm not sure if anyone
    does) please contact your credit card company and dispute the charge!
    Don't let this crook get away with cheating you!

    There is one person in the company - Chris.
    He answers whether you call the NYC number, the WV number or the 800
    number. Where is this company located? They claim an NYC address.
    But they are not listed in NYS Dept of Corporations, Directory Assistance.

    I see he has responded to complaints on this site by saying things
    like "every business has some complaints.."
    This one has nothing but complaints.
    This site, [redacted], pissedconsumer.com and 43 complaints listed
    on the Better Business Bureau web site.
    Is that enough?

    I now see that he is claiming BBB has 30 complaints (it's 43) out of 25, 000 orders.
    Where is evidence of 25, 000 orders???
    Why is there not one single good review for this company anywhere other than their own web site?

    I don't believe anyone gets their order fulfilled by this company."

    0 Votes
  • Im
    imagixx Apr 29, 2012

    Yes, 46 BBB complaints on 25000 orders in Three Years, ALL resolved. Lets see, that's a complaint ratio of almost 1 in a THOUSAND, AND all (according to the BBB RESOLVED!) Hundreds of REAL reviews on our website (would we really write hundreds of reviews? Our competitor has four (4). This is nothing more than a typical "dirty tricks" campaign by competitors, We could do the same, but such actions only damage our industry as a whole. Who do you believe, the BBB or an anonymous poster?

    -1 Votes
  • Ex
    Excalibur63 Apr 29, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am not anonymous. My name is Ron Baron. I live in NYC.
    And I would be happy to reply to anyone who wishes to contact me.
    I placed my order with this bum on 3/22. I have received no records and know that I will not from him. I disputed the charge with my credit card company and got a refund.
    I explained how when I called, he would hang up as soon as he realized it was someone whose money he had already taken. When I called to place the order initially, he was quite happy to talk to me.
    But 2 calls, 2 voicemails and half a doesn't e-mails have gone ignored.

    I am NOT a competitor. That's all he keeps saying about the dozens and dozens of complaints out there on many different web sites.
    Claims it's all just a jealous competitor.
    He also runs this BS about the BBB. Says that all 46 cases are resolved.
    That means when people complained to BBB, he gave them a refund and "resolved" the issue. As for there being only 46 out of 25, 000: prove the 25, 000!

    Since I was never going to receive a DD214 from him, I had to find another source.
    www.archives.gov
    A GOVERNMENT web site where you can order your DD214 for free!
    Obviously I'm not a competitor. Neither is the U.S. Government.

    Don't believe the stories this guy tells about how he's the victim.
    If you've ordered from him and haven't gotten what you paid for, dispute the charge.
    If you haven't ordered from him, DON'T!

    3 Votes
  • Wi
    William Kipp May 01, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I applied for my DD214 on Wednesday and paid for the 3 day service because I need it for a VA home loan. Yesterday I called to check the status and was told I should receive a pdf copy by 5 or 6p.m. but did not receive it. I tried to call that evening and was instantly forwarded to voice mail. I tried again this morning with the same result. I used a different phone and when they answered, I told them I wanted to check the status of my order and they hung up on me. I switched to a different cell phone and when they answered, I was polite and told them I needed to see about placing an order for my DD214 and they were more than happy to help, but when I said I actually needed to check on an existing order, they said "Oh, OK", and hung up on me again. They have blocked my calls from all phone lines and it transfers immediately to voice mail and have not responded to any voice mails. The Better Business Bureau rating that they claim on this site is another total lie because they are not accredited and have no file. http://www.bbb.org/new-york-city/business-reviews/personal-services/touchstone-research-group-llc-in-new-york-ny-99725 Maybe they are a little ashamed of themselves after all. These people are the lowest of lowlife ###.

    1 Votes
  • Im
    imagixx May 15, 2012

    Let's review the data.

    BBB (the only reliable source cited here) reports 45 complaints in 3
    years. That's about 1.5 complaints a month. We have done well over
    25, 000 requests in that 3 year period. We process more requests per day,
    week, month, year than all of our competitors combined! That's a
    complaint ratio of .18%, that's point one eight percent, a fraction of a
    percent, not quite two-in-a-thousand - by any standard excellent
    service. We're a service business. Find the best piece of merchandise
    that you can evaluate from personal experience on Amazon, and you'll
    find complaints. It's how the business responds to its complaints that
    counts. And, if you review the BBB data closely, ALL complaints there
    were addressed, resolved, and closed.

    Now, as to the other sites such as this one, we have attempted to respond to
    those - but the overwhelming majority (what are there, less than 20 if you count them?)
    are anonymous. We encourage anyone with a legitimate complaint to go to
    a third party mediator, such as BBB or BuySafe (we are also bonded and
    insured) - who will document the validity of any complaint.

    Anonymous complaints on such boards as [redacted], Scambook,
    Complaint Board, etc. are not infrequently deliberate reputation attacks
    by unscrupulous, envious competitors - unfortunately a not uncommon strategy
    to post bogus complaints for commercial advantage. As the largest
    business in this niche industry, we become a target.

    We are very Net savvy and could easily implement the same type of
    strategy - it's so easy to do - anonymous postings against our
    competitors, but have not done so because such actions only sully the
    reputation of our industry as a whole. It's an unenlightened approach
    to competition and industry growth.

    We compete on service. Our reputation is stellar. We have hundreds of
    legitimate, verifiable positive complaints on our service posted on our
    website, from many, many E-1s, to even one or two O-8s and every pay
    grade in between.

    I hope this clarifies the situation.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    William Kipp May 15, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My name is clearly on my complaint above and we ARE currently mediating my complaint with the better business bureau. This is how they treat their customers and it's not a fluke occurrence. When I called to check on the status of my order, they did not even ask my name, they just immediately hung up on me and blocked my number. Two days after I retrieved my documents myself through the Michigan Army National Guard for FREE within 3 days, Jasen called my cell phone which they had blocked my calls from and within a day AFTER I had informed them that I had retrieved my own documents and had gotten my money back through my credit card company they finally got my documents. The response they sent to the Better Business Bureau was saying that they could not control delays from the government or incomplete information from the customer. The delay was NOT on the part of the government because I retrieved it myself in less than 3 days, and it was NOT due to lack of information from me because if they needed additional info, they could have simply answered the phone instead of blocking my phone calls and hanging up on me. Look at all of these sites such as complaint board and you can see they average at least 1 every month and these are the ones that take the time to post a complaint and people like me have only posted on the one site, if you compile them together, you'll see that this is standard business practice for them, not a fluke occurrence. TO ALL WHO HAVE BEEN SCAMMED BY THIS COMPANY PLEASE CONTACT THE CONGRESSIONAL COMMITTEE FOR VETERANS AFFAIRS TO INVESTIGATE THIS COMPANY!

    0 Votes
  • Ir
    IRVJAM Feb 13, 2013

    It took Touchstone Research 3 months, but I did receive all info requested.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    William Culmer May 23, 2014

    Veteran beware! I have filed a dispute with my credit card company and have alerted my credit card protection company that these people are a scam. I spent over $300 to get all my records and of course my DD214. I will wait for my refund which will take far less time than the wait to received nothing from this company.

    0 Votes
  • Rx
    RXLXYXZZZ Jun 16, 2014

    Touchstone research is indeed a scam. They charged me 89.00 + 7.85 for 7 day service when I received my credit card statement I found they charged me twice. Needless to say I am disputing the charges and will be contacting The New York Attorney General and Better Business Bureau to voice my complaints in the strongest possible manner .
    R. L. Young

    0 Votes
  • Ws
    wsmurray Jan 03, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Because I needed a copy of my DD214 in 17 days, I paid $98.55 for Touchstone's advertised "Express Service" (delivery within 7 business days), Almost immediately, I began receiving emails from them, first asking to be paid (I had already paid by PayPal) then saying they hadn't received my original signature. Not only had I paid upon order but I had sent them my original signature two times.

    When I hadn't received the DD214 within 17 days, I canceled the order. (At that point, it had become useless.) Touchstone continued though, to send notices stating they hadn't received my original signature. Again, I told them to cancel the order on two subsequent occasions because, by that time, it was too late. (That's THREE times I canceled the order with no response or acknowledgement from them). I also disputed the charge and received a "conditional" credit from the credit card company..

    36 DAYS after I placed the order, I finally received a copy of my DD214. Since it arrived 19 days after I actually needed it, and after I had canceled the order three times, it was totally useless to me. A week later, I received a notice from the credit card company that the conditional credit had been reversed mainly because Touchstone lied and said they'd only received the request the day before I actually needed it. Again, I had submitted the request electronically, 16 days earlier.

    There is absolutely no reason to deal with these crooks. These types of documents are available, at no charge, from the government. If you need an expedited copy, there are other competitors out there who, I'm sure, are more competent and ethical than Touchstone.

    Case No.: 69818

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem