Square Enix PlayOnLine.comfraudulent charge

Z
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

The company charged my credit card even though I have never been to their website or bought anything from them. The charge stated on my statement as SQUARE ENIX/PLAY ONLIN . I called the company, but they just told me to call my bank. So, I called my bank, canceled the payment and got a new credit card in case somebody stole mine.

Responses

  • Sa
    Sarah1119 Sep 07, 2011

    2 $57 charges out of my back acct! I don't play games and never even heard of them! Very very frustrating!

    0 Votes
  • Go
    goaphil Aug 29, 2011

    I just got charged 4 times 44, 99 Euros on my Paypal Account from Square Enix SARL - I never visited their Site nor did I sign up on any online gaming stuff nor was I online when these 4 transactions were made from my paypal account (with 2 minutes between them)! Seems pretty much like fraud to me!

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Scipalkoe May 31, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My credit card company called me to verify two charges by Square Enix, Play Online. The first charge for $1, then one for $27. I have never heard of this site, nor have I ever visited this site. The customer service person I spoke to explained that the first charge for $1 was to test to see if it would go through before they charged the $27. I'm so glad I have Chase, they caught it, called me, are going to investigate it, and, of course, I'm not responsible for it. As for Square Enix, I have no idea how they got my info or why they charged me, other than they were trying to steal money from me. I'll be doing more research to find out what I can do about this, if anything.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rokochan Mar 22, 2011

    Generally if you get a charge from square enix, it would probably mean someone or you made a playonline account with them and signed up for their ffxi services with your card in question. Anything from game world transfers 25$, addon expansions: 9.99$ each ( 6 total ), monthly charge 12.95$ +1 $ for each content id registered up to 15 extra ids, ( 27.95$ USD per month), reactivation of an account 12.95 + monthly fee. They will normally charge you at the beginning of each month unlike world of warcraft that will charge you based on what plan you made with them. Also Square-Enix is not a fraud website, it's a Japanese Company who create games mainly know for Role playing Games and what distinguish their games is the Graphics. As for many of the posts here complaining about a 27.95$ charge it would probably mean someone, your friends, your children, or you who plays ffxi reactivated a account after it was deactivated therefore playonline which Square-Enix owns has charge you for the reactivation as well as the montly charge of 27.95$. Before registering your CC onto a playonline account someone has to know your special visa / mastercard authentication password and username before proceeding, it will should show up in a little box in the middle of the screen with your bank name, your card number / exp date, your username and a area to enter your password.

    1 Votes
  • Ia
    IAmAGamerOk Mar 01, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I saw a $55.87 debit from CHKCARD858-7907529SQUALOS ANGS CAUS today. I was worried my credit card information might have been stolen, but I did some research and found out that is was from the online game that I was playing. I started playing FINAL FANTASY XI, which is an online game made by SQUARE ENIX, again for about 2 months now. They charge $12.95 a month for playing the game. I also bought 3 expansion pack for $29.97. Did the math and came out to be $55.87. So I'm thinking they just charged me for one big bill altogether. But just in case, I will be looking for future transaction.

    0 Votes
  • Vo
    Volkai Jul 20, 2010

    The issue most of you are probably dealing with is that your credit card number is being used by RMT (Real-Money Traders) to create and use FFXI accounts to generate in-game money that they then sell for real money.

    Many RMT operations are run out of countries with lax-at-best legal codes about this sort of thing, or no extradition policy (such as China) and will act to generate profit with little or no ethical concern about stealing your financial information.

    In these cases, Square-Enix is generally innocent. The party you should set the blame on is the one that is fraudulently using your credit card to create and pay for accounts for an online game.

    2 Votes
  • Fs
    FS_Ryder Nov 01, 2009

    Yeah, I had the exact thing happen to me. I had 2 charges of 28.90 on my account which caused me to overdraft. The charge was named CHKCARD858-7907529SQUALOS ANGS CAUS. I looked it up, and the number was Square Enix. This is very irritating, considering that I only work part time, and the money I do have, is very little. I filed a dispute with my card company, and they are getting it sorted out. I wish that people weren't scandalous like this. Its sad that these people cant just get a job and make money like a normal, hard-working person.

    -1 Votes
  • By
    byebyeFFXI Oct 01, 2009

    I agree with this complaint. If anyone wants to read my Square Enix/Playonline horror story, go to http://ffxi.allakhazam.com/forum.html?forum=10&mid=1254435716228878896&num=2&page=1

    or google POL Horror: Reactivation without Notification

    SE/POL have many shady practices. They even tell you you get a free trial for 30 days, but you find you will have a double charge on your card the next month - so they even lie about their free trial.

    Square Enix is one Japanese Company with no Honor.

    -1 Votes
  • Cr
    CryptoQuick Aug 30, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Square Enix isn't responsible enough to keep thieves from using their service, either. They are not innocent in this matter-- they are aware of the situation-- and have done nothing to rectify this issue, as they are still making money, just out of our wallets, instead of legitimate customers.

    As for you, someone not directly affected by this theft, for you to claim that we are irresponsible and are merely looking for someone to blame, speaks more to your ignorance than your faculties of reason.

    -1 Votes
  • Je
    jelyk Aug 30, 2009

    You all are missing the entire issue here. Unfortunately it sounds like you all are victims of credit card or identity fruad, which totally sucks! But you all are attacking Square-Enix when it is clearly not their fault that someone used your credit card to pay for services, and they happened to be a vendor. They are not crooks, they are an honest reputable company I've dealt with for 7 years now and to attack them, is just looking for someone to blame because you are not careful enough to protect your identity.

    0 Votes
  • Cg
    cgrogals Jul 31, 2009

    I just got a charge of $55.90 on my VISA card for Square Enix/Playonline 11. Have never been to their web site. Called the CA phone number on the Visa statement and got put a "wait for next customer service" loop - no one ever answered. Called VISA and they cancelled card and will issue new one. That will take 7 - 10 days. I also have to send in a dispute letter to them so they (VISA) can go after Square Enix for the charge. Whay a hassle.

    CGR

    0 Votes
  • Le
    leechie87 Jul 17, 2009

    red patrick it isnt neccearily square enix, but a third person who is doing this. I dont see how they can get my information without buying anything there. Someone have stolen our informations online.

    Only international things i have used is diesel.com, 80tees.com, and i have played dungeon keeper.

    1 Votes
  • Re
    red patrick Jul 17, 2009

    i got my self the game and my friend because its his birthday tomorrow but now it was a waste of money after i heard what the company does i cant take it any more its still making me mad that they would go so low to scam people i hope the company gets shut down i dont care if they stop making final fantasy games and the most messed up thing is you cant take the game back! i see how they get you they scam your credit card and make it so you cant get your money back they charge you for every thing and they make it hard for you to level up so that you spend more time on the game and from what i have heard after level 10 you need like 20 other people to help you kill one monster! and you have to pay to make your guys. witch is so messed up and this did not happen to me but they also steal your xboxl360 live gamer tag. i wish i could do some thing to shut them down but a 16 year old cant do much...about it gaming is an art it shouldn't be a scam. online gaming brings people together and all this company is doing is takeing your cash if your a member on their website all you are is their next Doller

    -1 Votes
  • Ha
    hadenuf Jul 16, 2009

    Ok people, what do we have all have in common that might be compromising our credit with Square? Chase, Norton Symantic, shopping at amazon.com. What are the common denominators?

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kaay Jul 13, 2009

    I was charged $12.48 on my credit card and when I called in to inquire got no response. I called my bank and got credit for it. Next month I was again charged $55.90 and now have to file petition with my bank regarding the dispute for that particular charge. Now, I canceled my card and got a new one.

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    Draapeilam Jul 07, 2009

    The exact same thing happened to me, I couldn't figure out why when I called to double check my account, it was $28.95 shorter than my calculations. I signed into my online banking and saw two charges from SQUARE ENIX/PLAY ONLINE1. One was for $27.95 and I have a second in (pending) right now for $1.00. I googled the company and found this complaint. I have never heard of nor been to any website that has anything to do with gaming, nor do I shop online. The only way I can figure that someone could have stolen my card number is when I bought fireworks for the 4th of July with my card. They used a computer to process my card (which I thought was very odd, but harmless). I do have a PayPal and Ebay account but I haven't purchased anything in over a year, you'd think if someone had stolen my card number, there would be more charges...

    I called my bank to complain because it was after SQUARE ENIX/PLAY ONLINE1's business hours and they told me I needed to call the company tomorrow. So I guess we'll see what happens.

    0 Votes
  • St
    stressingout Jul 03, 2009

    Well this is just insane. I just looked on my online account and had the very same charge of 27.95 on my account. My bank insured me that it was in preautherization mode and it shouldn't show up as a debit now that i called. It's to late to go in today, but she told me to be sure to come in on Monday and sign up for a new card and the would cancel this one out. I have never had this happen before and 2 weeks ago was my first time shopping online. Well i say never again. I am not sure I even want another debit card now. I really hope someone hirer is seeing what is occuring and is trying to stop this madness!

    1 Votes
  • Fi
    FightCCthieves Jun 30, 2009

    I think SQUARE ENIX PLAY ONLINE and
    ELECTRONIC ARTS are tests to determine if a credit card can be accessed. Neither require a shipping address. Just this week our credit card then had massive unauthorized charges to other accounts following illicit payments to these 2. This happened on a Sunday. We were fortunate that their attempt was stopped at our max daily limit

    0 Votes
  • Le
    leechie Jun 17, 2009

    Btw, the only internation sites i have used is 80tees.com and diesel.com nad i have played dungeon keeper. Anyone here match this?

    1 Votes
  • Le
    leechie Jun 17, 2009

    Wtf... Got this too, and i live in Denmark and have never used paypal. (USD 27, 95) Calling my bank tomorrow as square enix probably cant to anything about it.

    1 Votes
  • Cr
    CryptoQuick Jun 15, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    First of all, I was just poking light at an otherwise dim situation, but regardless, Omsagro, buddy, I thought we addressed this earlier. Someone is abusing Square Enix's system, and screwing us over in the process. Sure, if it wasn't Square Enix, it could be others, however, would you blame the kid being bullied on the schoolyard for being weak and not sticking up for himself? Or would you blame the teacher, and tell them to address their bullying problem?

    2 Votes
  • Om
    Omsagro Jun 15, 2009

    Im talking about comments like this "Haha, I seem to remember from my high school civics class, according to the 7th amendment, we could even have a trial by jury. We should all sue Square Enix for $27.95! I'll be first to the stand!" which IS pretty ignorant. Thats like saying "Someone picked up the credit card I dropped and bought $50 dollars in gas. Time to sue Texaco!" If you want to help people try to stay away from that and help point people towards true causes. And you may keep your clients updated but try to think of how many ppl actually PAY for Antivirus 2009. Square Enix makes you put legal tags on just about anything of theirs you use. "Fanboy" or not there is a point here. Tell people to be careful where they go, what they do, what they download, keep their software updated and check your statements regularly. I just think its pretty silly to try to blame a company who is also being frauded by these people. If you EVER signed up for a Playonline account you would be annoyed at all the information you have to put it. And what needs to match the information your financial service has on record. ^^ im not being rude and im sorry if my last post hurt your feelings. Just trying to help you stop wasting time and looking for true sources, cuz the less frauds/RMT's and hackers can get POL accounts the safer the player community is. Also I have been both a Credit Card CSR for a major bank, and a Tech support agent for a major computer manufacturer and so i have seen both how charges appear and what is needed to make them AND the kinds of things that end up on a lot more computers than one can imagine that can LEAD to those charges. And THAT is where the problem really lies.

    -1 Votes
  • Ti
    TickleZombie89 Jun 14, 2009

    Yes, Me too! ~$27 dollars! Crazy ###!

    -1 Votes
  • Cr
    CryptoQuick Jun 11, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Haha, I seem to remember from my high school civics class, according to the 7th amendment, we could even have a trial by jury. We should all sue Square Enix for $27.95! I'll be first to the stand!

    ...heh, I have no idea how the judicial system works...

    -1 Votes
  • Ma
    MaryK Jun 10, 2009

    Guys, thanks a lot for posting your comments and descrption of your incidents here.The exactly same thing happened to me.A charge for $27.95 appeared out of nowhere on my cc statement.I called the company, they pretended to be very helful and understanding and advised to contact my bank and report fraudelent activity.
    The rep from this SQUARE ENIX/PLAY ONLINE1 mentioned that my info coul've been stolen while shopping online, which I dont do or by someone from my household and I live alone.Anyways, guys FYI it's a reccuring charge, which if u dont contact your bank, will appear on your statement every month.

    [protected], CA 90045

    Maybe someone here knows a way to report this faudelent website to police or FBI.Or maybe we should file a class claim and sue these ###.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    HackersAreLosers Jun 08, 2009

    CryptoQuick--

    I've used google checkout before. I also have a paypal account, as well. My experience has been like the many before me. Luckily, my credit card company caught this and notified me. That and the simple fact that they chose a credit card that only a 500 dollar slpending limit. I am in the process of getting a new account number, but will soon decide to cancel within the next month. I think one card should hold me over. I have since taken all of my information off paypal. There was a charge for $1, then 17.95, then they attempted a charge of 626 at riversomethingorother. I've learned my lesson. I will stick to sending in my bill payments the old fashion way. Good luck everyone! Btw, my card was paid off and inactive for the last 3 months, much like most of the above posters. I will check back in a few days with any new updates.

    1 Votes
  • Po
    Popeye Jun 06, 2009

    Saturday (6/6/09) I have had the same thing happen to me. Called number on the charge and "closed until weekday" Will have to call my bank on Monday AM. Wondering with all the victims, what is really going on here, and where to get real results... I did use PayPal about 10 days ago and that is my only recent online charge sooo seems there may be a connection possibly.

    1 Votes
  • Cr
    CryptoQuick Jun 05, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm just trying to go back in my mind, where did I go wrong? Did anyone use Google Checkout before with this? I once 'bought' a flash drive from a site that claimed to use Google Checkout, but had an alternate form that said they were using this system. Here's the site:
    http://www.mydigitaldiscount.com/WSWrapper.jsp?mypage=InvoiceRequestForm.htm
    It says it's secure, but who knows.

    Good luck with the banks, swemoney, and hopefully the credit card won't be too much of a hassle for you.

    0 Votes
  • Sw
    swemoney Jun 05, 2009

    I agree with Crypto on this. I just looked at my credit card statement and saw the charge. It's too late to call either company so I have to call my bank and square tomorrow. I know who Square Enix is as I keep up with my video games quite a bit. I'm fairly certain this isn't really their fault but, like Crypto said, the fault of another site our credit cards were stored on. If some one was able to hack into these sites and retrieve card numbers they could use them to sign up for an account for this game and do whatever it is they're doing (probably selling stuff they earn in game). I'll be getting a new credit card tomorrow. It sucks.

    1 Votes
  • Do
    dodo Jun 05, 2009

    This company should be sued for these thefts.
    I just realized that I was charged in 3rd June, I tried to call the company but they kept me waiting just waiting! I strongly agree that we combined together to sue this company!
    What a hell!

    1 Votes
  • Hc
    HCH Jun 03, 2009

    It happened to me today (6/3/2009). The bank apparently has been alerted and immediately placed my card on hold.

    1 Votes
  • Mu
    mushu Jun 03, 2009

    All I have to say is that if you notice an unauthorized charge on your card from Square Enix/Play Online RUN TO YOUR BANK AND CLOSE YOUR ACCOUNT ASAP. Those scammeroons tried to milk my account dry; thank goodness it was credit not debit account I was dealing with.

    0 Votes
  • Qu
    Queenwings05 May 21, 2009

    I have never use this game site or open any type of account with this company. Somebody stole 2 of my credit cards numbers and this company allowed the charges go through and when call to complaint, they offered to close the account but refuse to credit the money to the stolen credit card. IF THEY REFUSE TO GIVE A REFUND THEY ARE STEALING YOUR MONEY..!!

    1 Votes
  • Cr
    CryptoQuick May 18, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    As a developer, I use the latest Firefox beta with AdBlock and NoScript, so spyware and XSS is out of the question. This is not a client-side matter. How do I know this?

    What is taking place is a systematic MMORPG account fraud, obviously gaining something on their end, especially in the lucrative game account aftermarket, such as this one:
    http://accountgear.com/buy/Final-Fantasy-XI
    (I've included a screenshot of the website)

    It's very likely a site, perhaps PayPal, perhaps one completely unrelated to games but something we all may have used at one time, either through a specific website, or a service provider for several sites, has been compromised and they haven't admitted it or notified their customers.

    I'm also aware of Square Enix as a company, and their products, and have neither the capability nor desire to play their cookie-cutter JRPGs.

    We are not ignorant people.

    So, before any more fanboys-- like Omsagro and 'Final Fantasy XI Fan'-- who haven't been affected by this situation decide to 'go off at the mouth' assuming our own ignorance, consider there are more malicious factors at play, we'll get to the bottom of this without your 'help', and you can go back to reading your Sephiroth x Cloud doujinshis.

    Regardless, there needs to be an investigation into this online 'industry', as well as the game companies that remain dubious to the responsibility they play without regulating such systematic fraud and abuse of their systems and game accounts (perhaps even to their own ToS), and-- ultimately-- the prosecution of those who perpetrated this theft.

    Comments

    1 Votes
  • Om
    Omsagro May 17, 2009

    FinalFantasy XI fan is correct, Square and Enix are legitimate companies that have been around since the 80's and merged into Square Enix, Playonline and FFXI are valid subscriptions that many ppl use and pay fore. Normal POL charges are only around 12.95, plus any addon services or software purchases. First Check with your kids. Do they play Final Fantasy XI? No kids? Do you make online purchases? Do you have a GOOD virus/trojan/spyware scanner? Do you routinely click on random sites that "look interesting" do you use myspace (Yeah alot of those banners are phishing for your info) Before you go off at the mouth blaming Square for your troubles take a closer look at how well you protect your financial info online. 5 years with SE and never a fraudulant charge on my cards.

    0 Votes
  • Sm
    smgarth May 13, 2009

    my debit card also got hit yesterday for 28.00 for some online play. we had to cancel my card and reissue. we were just hit last week for 212.00 from digitalriver also. funny how they're both computer related. fortunately, that charge fell off after we called digitalriver and inquired about it. i have no idea how these people get other's debit info. i wish they could use their smarts for the good!

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    Final Fantasy XI Fan May 12, 2009

    Bottom line, you are responsible for giving out your personal info, and if you use your credit/debit card for online purchases, chances are some group overseas has your credit card info. Square Enix is not fraudulently charging your cards. Computer hackers overseas have gained access to your account info, and use your card to purchase online subscriptions to a game Square Enix makes called Final Fantasy XI. These groups, RMTs, Real Money Traders, use the game to gain in-game currency, then sell the in-game currency, called gil, for real money. Do a Google search for "FFXI Gil" and you will see the thousands of sites selling gil for real money online. Once again, Square Enix is not a fault. Your account info has been hacked from some online purchase and is being used illegally by groups overseas for profit. Personally, I have had an online subscription with Square Enix for over 6 years now. I've been playing Final Fantasy XI online for over 6 years, and I've never had ANY problems with extra credit card charges. I have been paying them a monthly online subscription this whole time, no problems. On top of that, no fraudulent charges from any other companies, if you think Square Enix is selling your credit card info. In closing, my advice is to cancel your credit cards, update your online virus/spyware protection, and be careful what websites you give out your personal info. If you want to find someone to blame, focus your energy on who used your credit card, not what was purchased with your credit card. Take care.

    -3 Votes
  • Jm
    JM}:( May 12, 2009

    I to have been hit with the charges from sqaure enix and also vista print and the bank told me that they declined payment to HP for a computer order orgin from Spain. I have paypal and have been making a few purchases through it my bank card is with chase. In talking with them they say it may be third party that has the hole in the sercurity online. We are canceling all cards new ones being issued and dispute is being files. I think the card companies have a big mess on their hands.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    geo May 11, 2009

    oh man!! i logged into my credit card account today only to find this ridiculous amount ($27.95) charged to my account. I just notified my credit card company about it and I really hope that they'll track these ### down and get my money back! now i'm scared of using my cards online!!!

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    CryptoQuick May 11, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    A.T. from Denver-- I've been affected by this as well. I've never played Final Fantasy, my friends tell me I'm missing out, but I don't have a hundred hours to waste on some game. Because it was such a small charge, my bank wouldn't look into it. I have a Visa Check Card. Is there anything I can do?

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.