Shopping EssentialsDebit card fraud!

B
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Shopping Essentials charged my debit account $14.95 each month from february 2007 to october 2007. These charges were totally unauthorized. It's fraud!!!

Responses

  • Ch
    ChattyLinda56 Jul 20, 2016

    I was looking up my new statement online with my bank and notice that there was a charge for $32.45 from a place called Shopping Essentials. My bank told me until they pay them can I report a Fraud charge against them, of course in the meantime, because of taking this money out I am not overdrawn at my bank and they are charging me $34.00 every day till they get something back from these people, of course the more I read about these people and the fake 888 number with people that dont speak English well, I just figured that someone even in the banking system might of stolen my debit card, or any place... So now I am facing all these overdrawn fee's and the Fraud People at my bank are taking there own sweet time to get my money placed back into my account.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    katmar Nov 07, 2013

    I just realized that I have been charged $32.95 a month since 2010. I also never realized I signed up for anything. I do a lot of online buying and thought this was my pay pal account. I also ordered online cards. Maybe this is how it started. I doubt my credit card company will do anything back to 2010, but I am definitely protesting. I am also calling the BBB. Has anyone received their money back? Do you have to change your debit or credit card number to guarantee they won't start using it again?

    0 Votes
  • Bk
    BKorb Sep 09, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please pay attention: Once caught, they certainly do stop. The issues are two: Why they are allowed to do business in this way in the first place (a question for State's Attorneys General, legislatures and your credit card companies). Secondly, they *can* be coerced into refunding all of your money, but you must be aggressive.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mary ann got Sep 09, 2012

    This is some company that claims you have a membership with them. You can call [protected] they give you the option of canceling your membership. I have done that so hopefully the 14.95 charges will stop every month.

    -1 Votes
  • La
    Laura Ly Sep 06, 2011

    Dear Others,
    Same story - Vitacost and then Shopping Essentials. I am going to the BBB and my State Attorney General as well as working with a lawyer from the U.S. Dept. of Commerce on this matter. Do register your complaints with both the Better Business Bureau and your State Attorney General as this can start a class action suit if enough of these are filed in different states.

    0 Votes
  • Pn
    PNg Jun 07, 2011

    They should shut that company down, I was not aware of it, but they have been charging my acc since 2008, just cancelled they today and guess what, they are not going to refund. Waiting to see next month if the cancellation really followed through.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    winSlivers May 25, 2011

    I just found out today that the same thing has been happening to me. My bank had called me up regarding some transactions and this was on the list. After letting them know that I didn't authorized this, they stopped my Debit Card, sent me a dispute request and gave me the phone # of Shopping Essentials.
    I called them up and cancelled, but then I asked them how and when did I "join?" Apparently when I purchased an item from a TV infomercial on 12/6/2009, the sales person mentioned a $50 Walmart card... I have no idea what my response was at the time (I obviously said "NO" because I didn't get the card), but I guess that was enough to get me the membership!!! Supposedly they sent me info about my "trial membership" in the mail. I'm sure that I looked at it, said to myself that I don't want that, and chucked it in the garbage. Because I didn't legitimately sign up for this on my own, I assumed it was just another piece of crap mail! Well, I was wrong -- since 1/15/2010 I've been charged $23.95 for a monthly membership that I didn't knowingly join.
    I told the Shopping Essentials supervisor, Cathy, that I wanted a refund for the past year and a half that they've charged me. She, of course, said no, that they can only refund one month -- BUT, she'll put in a request for me with the higher ups to see if I can get a full refund. I said, Fine, and I'll put in a complaint with the BBB and Atty General's Office. By the way, Shopping Essentials is a "Program, " their company is:

    Adaptive Marketing
    9500 W Dodge Rd, Ste #100
    Omaha, NE 68114

    0 Votes
  • Gd
    gd10 May 19, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i agree something needs to be done they got over 500.00 dollars . now we have to contact the back to dispute it we even changed our credit card number and they managed to get the new one.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kimi_silva Mar 15, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Thank you for the encouragement and avenues to take. I will definitely do that TODAY.

    0 Votes
  • Bk
    BKorb Mar 14, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    ``How long will this go on before something is done''. Okay, what have *YOU* done? Have you contacted your legislative representatives to encourage them to make the law more explicit? No? DO SO NOW, please. Have you contacted your state attorney general to encourage their office to go after them on fraudulent misrepresentation laws? No? *DO* *SO* *NOW*, please. Thank you.

    1 Votes
  • Ki
    kimi_silva Mar 14, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    How long will this go on before something is done to put a stop to them once and for all?!!? I feel very fortunate that they had only gotten me for $1.95 when I had seen the unauthorized charge. I knew it wasn't mine because I was pretty broke ( had $2.89 in my account) and had not made any purchases. This happened to me once before and I called the FBI to see what could be done. I was told by the agent that she had even been scammed before. I found that when I had purchased theater tickets online there was a microscopic little box somewhere with a statement saying that if I didn't check the box I was authorizing them to sign me up as a 'member' and they were taking $24 a month from my account for quite a few months.
    I just spoke to a banker on the phone and he said that he and his wife have a separate account for online purchases that they keep with a zero balance and only transfer the funds they use at the time of an online purchase . That way, if someone tries to take anything out without your authorization it will be denied for insufficient funds. I will be doing that as soon as possible.
    This is totally outrageous! Sadly I don't see it getting any better, as businesses that we think we are doing business with in good faith are SELLING our information to shady business pirates!!!

    Diane, I do hope you were able to pay your rent dear. I am sending you good wishes.

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    [email protected]# Feb 10, 2011

    I'm another victim of this horrible company. I purchased some gift cards off restaurant.com and was automatically enrolled for the "membership" with shopping essentials in July 2009. It took me until literally January 2011 to realize that there had been recurring charges from this company on my credit card. The whole ordeal was a nightmare. My bank didn't do much for me, the company did even less and was incredibly rude and cold to me. It was honestly an awful experience and I almost gave up after my first day of efforts. However, I kept reading the blogs and decided to give it my all. My initial call with shopping essentials only yielded me the membership cancellation and 1 month’s credit. The second call I placed was a few days later where I threatened to report them to the BBB and attorney general, etc. That only yielded 1 more month’s credit. They'd been ripping me off for over a year and a half, so needless to say I still wasn't satisfied. I filed for a complaint with the BBB using the information provided on this blog. The BBB set a deadline of 2/14/2011 for the company to resolve my compliant and today I got an email from Shopping Essentials stating I'll be receiving a full refund. I haven't received the refund yet, but I'm confident it'll show in my bank account soon. This is my first time utilizing the BBB and I'm very happy with their service. As far as shopping essentials goes, I pray that some justice is served and this company gets brought down in a big way. The refund email I received today contained this line: “We thank you for your interest in Shopping Essentials, and we hope your membership experience was a positive one." Seriously? What a joke. Good luck to anyone who has to deal with this company.

    0 Votes
  • Ds
    dsmooth Jan 19, 2011

    Shopping Essentials is A FRAUD DO NOT AFFILIATE yo ur self with them. They Got me For forty dollars (2 Months). I called About a week ago and left a message NO one got to me! I just got off the phone with them them a few mins ago. They Said I cant get no refund because of some bull [censor] with a third party company. I Spoke to A so Called Supervisor and I sware Im going to report them! They try to put females on the phone to sweet talk. [censor] all that give me my money that yall took for free basically! I dont know about yall But I work hard for my money. People with these nut [censor] Scams to become rich just get a job or career and stop trying to prey on the most vulnerable!

    -1 Votes
  • Bk
    BKorb Dec 18, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    As several have mentioned, you _can_ get your money back. BBB works. But so does your state attorneys general. I think it works better toward getting these [censor] shut down. Half the nation's state attorneys general got a consent decree from them wherein they promised not to work in cahoots with credit card companies any more. So now they are in cahoots with web site operators still suckering in anybody not conscientiously careful. The consent decree was not strong enough. Please, *please* contact your state attorney general. You will get your money back. Thank you.

    1 Votes
  • Or
    orchids_7 Dec 18, 2010

    I am one of you. The victim of Shopping Essential. I did not realized after more than a year that I have been charged $19.95 for a membership that I did not authorized. I called the company and only got computer voice mail and told me that I started the membership since September 2009 because I clicked the button to get $10 rebate or discount on something. I could not recall if I ever done a stupid thing like that but I did remember I ordered the free business card from Vista Print and paid something like $5 for the shipping and handling. Please be careful. Now I am on the phone with my credit card company to dispute the charge. I don't know how much money I can get back.. Ugh..

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Pamela81 Nov 13, 2010

    Once I discovered the questionable charge for $22.95 from shoppingessential.com, I called the company to cancel my membership and to inquire how I received this charge. The rep explained to me that I enrolled on metroystyle.com over a year ago. I do not recall enrolling in there program and I know I did not give this company my credit card information. Unsure on why the would start charging me now, I checked my online account and discovered that I have been getting charged since Jul 09. However, it was $19.95 and a different name, shopesplus. I called the next day to ensure my acct was canceled. The reps aren't the friendliest as I imagine they get a lot of irate "customers".

    On 26 Oct, I filed a complaint against their company to the BBB. It was actually quick and painless. I requested that I receive a refund of all my payments made to them. A couple days ago, I received a response from the BBB. The company has issued me a full refund.

    I would encourage everyone who believes that they were fraudulently charged from this company to complain to the BBB in Nebraska. Vertrue is the name of the company that shopping essential falls under and below is their address.
    Vertrue, Inc.
    9500 W Dodge Rd
    Omaha, NE 68114

    0 Votes
  • Bk
    BKorb Nov 11, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    That is their address. Got it from their facilitator: my cc company.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Sharon N. Nov 11, 2010

    There supposed address is 9500 W. Dodge Road, #100, Omaha, NE 68114 Attention: COmpliance Division. I sent them an overnight letter complaining about this company and have added a copy of all these compliants with it.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Sharon N. Nov 11, 2010

    I am right there with you. I just checked my savings account to find that this company has been charging me since February 2010. They could not locate my account that I supposedly authorized under my name or phone number. They had to search by the debit card used. When they pulled it up it had the wrong phone number and wrong address and they are trying to tell me they won't refund my money. Anyone know if a lawsuit has been filed against this company because I will surely join in on this FRAUDULENT company.

    DO NOT START THE PROCESS OR CHECK ANY BUTTONS BECAUSE THEY WILL GET YA AND NOT EVEN TELL YOU.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    winniexxx Nov 08, 2010

    The Palm Beach office of consumer affairs is also investigating them and the palm beach office is responsive to complaints. I suggest you also notify them [protected].

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Peev Oct 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is my first time to post a complaint about a "business" (term used loosely), EVER... And I agree with all other postings that this is most definitely a SCAM.

    Last Nov when Holiday shopping online, I was offered $20 back on my order if I agreed to a survey. Now, months later they have suddenly started charging my account, stating that I agreed to a free trial membership, and after the initial period, a monthly charge of $13.95. NOT TRUE!

    I placed my order with a credible company; one from whom I have ordered in the past with no problem, and the $20 discount seemed to be an offer directly from them. All I needed to do was fill out their consumer survey. I do not understand how Shopping Essentials linked up with them.

    BEWARE OF DISCOUNTS offered when ordering online... NEVER AGAIN...

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sally mufeed Oct 14, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    don't charge me anything

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sally mufeed Oct 14, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    On Oct. 13, 2010 at 13:74 P.M, i received an SMS from my bank informing me that there is a transaction for USD 19.95 from MVQ*SHOPPING ESSENTIAL+ [protected] US, and i didn't order anything from this site and i don't have a registered account with them, so please i need my money back and don't transact any cent from my account again.

    thanks
    sally mufeed

    0 Votes
  • To
    Toni in DFW Aug 13, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    While skimming Facebook yesterday, I clicked on an ad for Silicone baking pans. The offer was for a free baking pan for $1 shipping. Something did not look right and I closed the browser before putting my credit card number in the form.

    Several hours later, I get a call from "Chris" at Shopping Essentials. Then he mentioned the baking pan web site and asked why I did not complete the transaction and why did I not want a free baking pan. Chris said he wanted to offer me a free $25 Walmart gift card and that I would get 30% off all future Walmart purchases if I would go back to the site and get the baking pan. He also wanted to know what credit card I would be using. Actually not really wanting but more insisting since he mentioned it several times. This really set off a red flag with me. I told him I was not going to give him my credit card number. He keeps rambling on about the "free" gift card and asked if I have a Walmart near me, did I shop there often, etc, etc. He proceeds to give me his "agent number" and the toll free number for the company.

    So I stall him long enough to google the company name and came up with ten pages of scam alerts including this page. So with this little bit of information, I tell him I just looked up the company on google and I did not like what I am finding. After that he immediately disconnects the call. So apparently they thrive on the uninformed.

    Additionally, the caller ID showed up as a unlisted phone number from Miami, FL but Chris if that is his real name spoke as if english was not his first language.

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Seymour27 Aug 08, 2010

    I have had this problem when ordering from Chadwicks and Metrostyle. The amounts that have been appearing on my card was $19.95. This is the 2nd time that I am changing my credit card.

    0 Votes
  • An
    anitx Jul 26, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    SAME THING IS HAPPENING TO ME!!! I DIDNT EVEN NOTICE THAT THEY CHARGED ME 6xs in less than a year!!!

    Can someone please post a number?

    0 Votes
  • An
    annonymous111222 Jul 18, 2010

    I noticed a charge on my account to MVPshoppingesse and thought it was something my husband bought. I did a search online and found it to be a scam so I called my bank. Without either of us paying close attention, they charged my account 8 months at 19.95 each time. I called the number my bank had for them and demanded a refund. The person said "no problem, I will refund your July payment." I said NO and she said "Okay, I will refund June and July". I said, NO...I want ALL 8 months refunded or I will file a fraud form at my bank and she quickly said, "I understand, I will refund all 8 months right away." I didn't have to fight. Apparently, I bought something on restaurants.com and it automatically charged me. This company must be stopped.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joy Durbin Jun 30, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also noticed shopping essentials on my bank statement, which I assumed it was something my husband had bought. I went back to ck my other statements and I have been charged 19.95 every month from Feburary-June. Thats $105.oo!! I did not sign up for it, I tried getting on the web site, but it takes a password that I DON'T HAVE! And never had. I know my son has ordered vitamins, and we ourselves have ordered different items all the time, but how does another company get into my bank account and start taking money out??? Im calling and hope I get through. And calling my bank. The Better Business Bureau will hear from me. What about The Attourney General?!!! This company stole my information and I am P-----! Please, everyone that has been scammed by them, turn them in!

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stolenfrom Jun 09, 2010

    I was charged $70.00 for nothing due to thtis shopping essentials site which i had never heard of. Sucks to be me but I am fighting the charges also stay away from cigarrest it's a scam also. They will send you three months of product for "free" and then charge you for it at a rate of $100.00 a month for three months. And there was nothing in their fine print about that. Be careful what you buy.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    ChrisseyG Jun 02, 2010

    IT IS A SCAM!!!

    Shopping Essentials just called me asking me if they can send me a free gift card and coupon to address so so and my card number xxxx xxxx xxxx will be charged for $1.00 and that bank account with the last five numbers xxxxx will reflect the charges.

    How in the world did this people get the last FIVE digits of my account and my my card number?! They is really worrying and crazy at the same time. I called my bank and they closed all of my accounts and blocked my credit cards and debit cards three seconds after I hung up on them.

    I called them back and the lady on the phone acted dumb when I asked her how did they get my information... she played really dumb! I asked 6 times the same question because she would answer with some BS!

    The bank told be to file a police report for potential fraud and some how getting my account information without authorization. This is bad!!!

    0 Votes
  • Is
    ISSAC CHOI May 24, 2010

    I got charged $22.95 every month since July-2009. Shopping Essential is a scam. It is suck.

    0 Votes
  • Nu
    NuNu06 May 24, 2010

    This company is a SCAM!! I am very pissed I thought that it would be a good idea to save money and use coupons to buy groceries with this company. But when I first received the info in the mail it wasnt even coupons like the rep said over the phone it was a book askng me to check off products that I might would purchase and send it back to them then they will send the coupouns for those products in the mail. I am also pissed because I never used the coupons and the company is still taking money out of my account!

    0 Votes
  • De
    Dennis Strauser Dec 12, 2009

    My Visa Debit card was also charged 3 times for $19.95, piid to SHOPESSPLUS. I had no idea what SHOPPESPLUS was until I ran a Google search. I sent them an email demanding that they cease charging my card & send a refund. Within days I received a $19.95 refund. I sent another email & just received an email from them stating that the remaining $39.90 will shortly be refunded. How this might happen, I'm not sure, because I had a long talk with my bank's representative yesterday, and they have canceled my Visa card & will be sending me a new one in the next few days.
    Until I received the email this morning from Shopping Essentials+, I had no idea the real name of this business. When I ran a Google search of Shopping Essentials+, I found many complaints online about this company.
    Now I also have to deal with identical charges from FUNPLUS. I ran a search on them, as well, & found a facebook page with a phone number. I called the phone number & left a message on their answering machine. My bank is now investigating.
    - Dennis Strauser

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    hollymom23 Nov 27, 2009

    I don't know if complaining to the BBB will do any good. We just got off the phone with Shop Essentials and they told us that when ordering on Restaurant.com, we didn't read the fine print allowing them to share my credit card info. I read through their "Terms" and didn't see anything to that effect, but I will be having my family attorney read through to give me his opinion.

    0 Votes
  • Tk
    tktktktk Nov 16, 2009

    They are scammers /theft company!!!
    I called Amex that Shopping Essentials charged $14.95 for five months, and I got credits for three months. Other two months are older transactions, so I called Shopping Essentials. They accepted my request and told me they will credit to my Amex. I also got a confirmation e-mail below. BBB, or appropriate authority should investigate their business transactions/ models.

    Dear YYYYY ZZZZZZ,

    This email confirms that your cancel request for your membership in Shopping Essentials+ has been processed on 11/16/2009. Your cancellation confirmation number is 29XXXXXXX-[protected]. You do not need to do anything else to cancel your membership.

    We thank you for your interest in Shopping Essentials+, and we hope your membership experience was a positive one.

    If you have any comments or suggestions that might help us better serve our members, please feel free to email us at [email protected]

    Sincerely,
    Shopping Essentials+
    Member Savings

    0 Votes
  • Jj
    JJQ1234 Nov 16, 2009

    My husband noticed on Friday that we had a charge of $39.99 on our debit card from Shopping essentials, a company neither one of us had ever heard of. After some research we found their 800 number and were told that we singed up for their "service" when we ordered a certificate from restaurants.com. They agreed to refund us the money. When we checked our account this morning, half of the money was refunded. The other half, they told us, is "under investigation". Whatever that is supposed to mean.

    I was also surprised that the BBB doesn't have anything on file for them, considering the number of complaints I've found against them on sites like these. We did start a complaint against them this morning, and I urge anyone who has been taken by these frauds to do the same. It only takes a few minutes to fill out the on-line complaint form. Here is what contact information I was able to find after doing some online searching:

    Shopping Essentials
    SM P.O. Box 5152 Des Plaines, IL [protected]
    Attention: Customer Relations
    Phone: [protected]
    www.shopping-essentials.com

    I can;t vouch for all this info being 100% correct, since they themselves are not forthcoming with giving contact info, but it's a start.

    0 Votes
  • Zh
    zhion Nov 10, 2009

    The number I called was [protected]. I am told that I would receive credit for the 4 months that I was charged the $14.95. My wife ordered discount coupons through restaurant.com. She doesn't recall clicking on anything for a discount or anything but the charge is there. I will of course follow my bank statements to make sure they do what they say, but I am not encourage due to the problems I see everyone else is having.

    1 Votes
  • Ta
    TasR44 Sep 29, 2009

    I also had unauthorized charges on my account from Shopping Essentials. I don't even remember when I may have purchased any items through them in the past. I called Customer Service and was told I would be reimbursed about ten days ago. I still have not been reimbursed. I just called again and was told I would receive a credit within two or three days. I guess I will have to wait and see what happens now. I am also wondering why this outfit has not been reported to the Better Business Bureau. The Department of Commerce would be yet another option.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Davismac Aug 26, 2009

    What is the 800/888 number to call Shopping Essentials?

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rob from Boston Aug 11, 2009

    I got my money back. First called the number listed on my credit card statement and canceled the account. Then called my credit card's dispute line. They got someone to reverse the charge right there for me.

    But yeah, someone shut those no-count $14.95 thieves down!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.