The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Secret Shopperscam/fraud

I was recently a victim of Fraud via Mail. On Oct 10th, 2011 I received a job opportunity offer to work as a mistery shopper.
In the contract agreement it clearly stated my job description..salary.. shopping bonus.. available funds for training assignments..
The available funds covered by a cashier's check in the amount of 4, 225 dollars was to cover all expenses explained in the contract agreement. As stated in the agreement: "The training assigments takes about two hours to complete and remains fully paid...
As an Investigative Shopper your basic rate throughout your contract agreement at 180.00 for 2 to 3 hours througout
Retaileyes until reviewed. The aim of the training assignment is for you to familiarize yourself with the practical level of
what an investigative shopping entails. This training assignment will be put together by a controller to be
completed at any of your esteemed clients business premises with whom we have a running contract.
You will pose as a potential customer shopping in all department stores while critically observing
the service standards for a later evaluation. Note that the total cost of your shopping bags must
be within the allowable limit as below. Employee liability will be iniated for any excesses."
Then the breakdown of the funds attached by a Cashier's Check. "A major part of this assessment is "Confidentiality".
On Oct 10th, 2011 I went to Suntrust Bank to deposited the Cashier's Check as I was intructed to do by
my assigned controller by the name of Howard O'Riley. I was intructed to wait until nidnight until the Checks clears.
The following day I went to the bank, to see if the check had cleared, if so, I was to withdraw part of the money, $ 3, 800 dollars to be allocated toward my first assignment. (I felt like something was a miss so i withdrew all exactly what the check was for $4, 225. and keep in mind i used an account that i was going to close due to be assessed bank fees since all the bank fee changes are being put in place. i havea different account that i use regulalry) . Once in front of the teller, specifically asked the teller,
"HAD THE CASHIER'S CHECK CLEARED" She said YES it has. So I withdrew the money as I was instructed to do, since the teller said the check had CLEARED. I did not go to wal-mart ato make the purchase so i did not proceed with my assigned duties .
I was to call him back at 4 PM to be assigned to next job assignment.., Mr. Howard O' Riley never answered the phone [protected] and asked me to call him back. Later, After several attempts with no response, I thought that was peculiar, so I went online and googled retaileyes.com and spoke to a representative who immediately told me, they were also a victim by these individuals who used their company name and send out scams.
i went to Suntust because they called highly concerned FRAUD Dept wanted me ASAP. i go in paper work in hand and plead my case and they only wanted the un cashed cashiers check that i pulled out and put in my name. it cost me $8 dollars to get the cashiers check and the fake check cost $36 dollars., no exceptions...i was merely screwed out of $44 dollars...and made no bones about telling him so...i was so ANDRY i was about to SPIT...just for the record i am not done with mr O'Rip off...

Responses

  • Li
    Likear Aug 08, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I received an email for a secret shop on western union. This appeared to come from American Consumer Opinion panel..an online survey group that i have been a member of since 2007..and have received legitimate cash payments from. The email address was [email protected] ([email protected]) on behalf of American Consumer Opinion Panel

    This email requested a secret shop on western union. I was mailed a check for 1220.00 drawn on Frost national Bank in Arlington Texas (which appeared legitimate). The instructions were to cash the check and wire 980.00 to Felicia Hanks at 5962 Ne 7th Avenue Miami FL 33136. After completing this task I was to keep 150.00 (90.00 was used to cover the wire fee) and email them my opinion of the ease of the transfer, appearance of the outlet etc and the MTCN. The person receiving the wire was then supposed to complete a secret shopper to evaluate the ease of receiving the money.

    I cashed the check at my personal financial institution and completed the transfer as instructed on 3/22/2012. On 3/28/2012 the check was returned and my financial institution took 1220.00 out of my account causing an overdraft. I had to take money out of savings to rectify the problem.

    0 Votes
  • Rc
    r chew Nov 16, 2011

    i was a victim of this fraud also and i lost alot of money for these assignments that i had to take out a loan at my bank to pay back i dont know who these people think they are but they are sick people who feed off of hard working individuals i filed apolice report and also called the bank the check was drawn off of to notify the fraud dept. i am not done yet until i get my money back signed pissed off

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Rafar Oct 01, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    from SECRET SHOPPER <[email protected]>
    reply-to [email protected]
    date Mon, Jan 12, 2009
    subject <<<Secret Shopper>>>

    Hello,

    We are a company that conducts surveys and evaluates other companies. We get hired to go to other peoples companies and act like customers(secret consumers) in order to know how the staffs are handling their services in relation to their customers.

    Once we have a contract to do, you would be directed to the company or outlet, and you would be given the funds needed to do the job (either purchase a product or some service), after which you would write a comment on the staff(s) activities and give a detailed record of your experience.

    examples of details you would forward to us are

    1) How long it took you to get services.
    2) Smartness of the attendant
    3) Customer service professionalism
    4) Sometimes you might be required to upset the attendant, to see how they react to clients when And we turn the information over to the company executives and they would carry out their own duties in improving there services.

    Most companies employ our assistance when people give complaints about their services, or when they feel there are needs for them to improve their customer service.

    Your Identity would be kept confidential as the job states (secret shopper) you would be paid $100 for every survey you carry out, and bonus on your transportation allowance, all funds would be provided to you, for whatever the evaluation entails.

    If you are currently employed, you will be allowed to work with flexible hours as it suits your schedule.

    If you are interested do send ithe following details

    - Your Full Name:
    - Your Residential address:
    City:
    State:
    Zip Code:
    - Present work address:
    - Home and mobile Phone numbers:
    - Your Age and Current Occupation:
    - Your Gender:

    So we can look at your distance from the locations which you have to put your service into, and your address would also be needed for payment purpose.We also

    implore you to send a scanned copy of any form of Identification for the processing of your application form and also for record purpose but if you cannot provide it presently then you can provide it later..

    Thanks.
    John Daniels.

    Green & Associates Secret Shoppers.
    www.greenandassociates.com

    0 Votes
  • 7y
    7yr Sep 08, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    from Secret Shopper® <[email protected]>
    reply-to [email protected]
    date Mon, Jan 31, 2011
    subject MYSTERY SHOPPER POSITION AVAILABLE
    mailed-by orthohead.com.br

    Good day,

    A job opportunity is open for you. You can find more details about this job here; xx . If interested you are to direct your reply as advised.

    Thank you,
    Recruiting Department
    MSPA®

    0 Votes
  • Ir
    IrisBartke Dec 11, 2010

    I received an email to be a secret shopper and I would have to evaluate a wall mart store. I received a very legal looking check of 920.00 from US post office money order and that I should take out 250 for my pay and shopping experience and then send the rest of the money Western Union to another secret shopper. I got a a text message rather quickly after I receive this check from Fed Ex and I ask to speak to him directly . I told him I would not send money until this check cleared and I also said there is to many scams out there. He hung up SO BEWARE of this scam If I had sent money right away the check would of come back bad and my bank would want me to cover that check .Thats how they scam you from your money .

    0 Votes
  • De
    DEEmony78 Sep 22, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I recieved a letter dated 8/24/09 and it said to cash the provided cashier's check. I went to my bank on the first of this month and they called the place on the check. And the tellet talked to someone who told her check was good. she told me to wait a few day and the money would be ready. I did and did as letter said and called the place back and began the job as instructed by a man named William. On the ninth of this month the bank called me on my cell phone and left a message about my account they told me that check came back as possible a fake. And now I might have to pay back over $4, 000 to the bank.

    Comments

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.