ScooterTronicsHorrible service

J
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

My girlfriend and I each placed an order for a scooter helmet with ScooterTronics (http://store.scootertronics.com/info.html) on June 17th. It was supposedly shipped on June 17th or 18th, and as of July 2nd, we have still received nothing. I live in DC and the company is based in Maryland. It makes no sense why it would ever take this long to get to me.

Each time we have called, the person answering the phone has either been extremely rude (I called at 10am once and the guy picked up the phone and said he just got there and didn't know anything about my order, and basically hung up) or has not been able to provide any information. They are constantly saying they are waiting to hear back from people regarding the orders, their system is down, etc. and that they will get back to me, but never do.

When I asked if I could cancel my order, I was told they would have to find out if it was shipped... and even then, the woman (Mary) was new with the helmets and didn't know the cancellation policy.

A general word to the wise to NEVER shop with Scootertronics and pass the word on to anyone you know interested in Scooter accessories.

Responses

  • Xb
    xBWOMPx Aug 22, 2011

    Service is horrible, I like how he acts like he does so much more then any other place and his excuse for poor costumer services and shipment is "Oh I have to put everything together, build kits, and order parts (even though they say "IN STOCK") I have made orders with other business's that have shipped out the parts I need way faster. Yes it is ridiculous I made an order on what a belt, re-jet, and air filter and they can not be shipped out in a week when it clearly says in stock AWESOME and then you hang up on me which clearly sent me a message of "NEVER DOING BUSINESS WITH YOU EVER AGAIN" Obviously you have pissed off a lot of people. This is a sign that you need to treat costumers with a little respect, do you know how much more business you could have by just being NICE, yeah, true story [censored]!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    MikieSux Aug 22, 2011

    On August 3rd I placed an order for a $20.00 air filter. When I placed the order I get an email stating a few things,

    1) Confirming the order
    2) Time it may take for the part to ship and that i would get the part with-in 14 working days
    3) Shipping information with-in 24 to 48 hours so I could track the shipment
    So, 3days go by and I never get the updated shipping info. No big deal right? Send them an email and a day later (Now 4 days into the run around) I get an update with no shipping info, and that may part would ship in 2 to 3 working days.

    Again no big deal its only a $20.00 air filter right?

    So, over the next two weeks I try calling 3-times leaving a message each time Hey No Call Back! I try emailing him 4 times in fact Hey No Answer! Is anyone shocked?

    So then I do what I should have done at first I do a Google search for Scootertronics. And, find all these bad reviews! I find they have a rating with the BBB of an 'F'!

    When doing the Goggle search I get a name the owners name! So, I find him on Face Book! How dumb is Michael? He approves me as a friend! So, thru Face Book I send him more emails with no response why? By this point I'm over 14 working days and 3-weeks from the time I placed the order. And, had yet to get the dumb $20.00 air filter!

    So, I text Michael thru Face Book and he runs from me! But, then because I force hom to he starts responding to the emails I sent asking for info. These emails coming from a guy that states he went to law school looked like emails that had been sent fro a 3-year old!

    The company sux! They have a REALLY bad rap! Michael seems as for some reason changed his name! Last name used to be Stevenson a bass player from the west coast!

    Anyway, he did cancel the order, at this point I show no charges on my C/Card! But, if a charge comes up Michael I will be in touch!

    STAY AWAY DO NOT BUY FROM THE CLOWN!

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scootertronicsFAIL2 Aug 14, 2011

    this guy... biggest loser ever. I use his site to figure out what i needed to buy then crossed referenced it with ebay and got the same product for 50% cheaper! suck rocks Mike! u ###in poser!

    1 Votes
  • To
    Towsurfer Aug 04, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    DO NOT ORDER ANYTHING FROM THIS RIPOFF ARTIST!! Everything that was posted above it absolutely true! I ordered $600.00 worth of parts and got nothing but excuses and broken promises from Michael Milstead for over a month. They never answer their "business" phones, never sent out ANY of my parts and now I am 6 weeks into trying to get my money back through my credit card company. Don't let his fancy website fool you! He does not have any employees, always talks about his great shipping team and tells you that your parts will be shipped out tomorrow (which NEVER HAPPENS). Worst business I have had the displeasure of dealing with in my entire life. I only wish I had read his reviews prior to placing my order. LIES, LIES and more LIES is all I ever got from Michael Milstead. He is a SCAM ARTIST!

    Here are a few of the lies I received from him:
    6/23/11 - I am expanding like crazy which has gotten me extremely busy so until I get some more help it will be hard on phones

    I moved this week and just got set up with computers and phone lines. I will be with you Friday with shipping info.

    7/2/11 - Yeap, I do have the parts in MD which I am on my way back to after the foruth, I will box up and contact you with extra shipping and send off

    I am in FL opening my new warehouse, but back in MD cleaning up next week - Michael

    7/13/11 - Yes I had excepted to get it Monday, the pallet with your parts is arriving Thursday to new warehouse, then I can ship. Please remind me what scooter you have - Michael


    7/14/11 - Perfect thanks, yes I will let you know but will not hold shipping up, as of today I will be unloading the pallet with ZXR pipes Thur/Fri and shipping at that time - Thanks Michael

    7/19/11 - (I asked for a refund) Wow thats too bad because I have sent emails and updated you the whole and your parts are waiting for shipping label, you order and I responded right away, if you had not ordered by pay pal I would nopt have any of your money nor would have charged before I shipped, pay pal send me cash

    Yes when you do business as long as I have for the thousands of customers I have had yes you get people who complain

    Reach me by phone, yes I can not answer when I am on the phone because I get hundreds of calls a day. Told you I was moving just updated your shipping. Please reconsider, it will be 3-10 business days before I can refund any money.

    7/19/11 - If you dont want the products I will put them back in inventory. Michael

    7/20/11 - Ok everything is in shipping to ship to you, I personally dont do shipping anymore but have a great team... etc etc etc

    NOTE: I kept telling him that I had 2 Matrix 50's but he kept saying he was shipping parts out for my "Bennelli" (what a loser).

    You get the point, don't order anything from scootertronics.com or scootertronics unless you want nothing but lies and hassles.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Karl Bradley Jun 07, 2011

    Ordered new Sito exhaust system from Scootertronics. Part arrived broken. Sent numerous emails, photos to owner Mike Milstead. No response. Called at least ten times won't return telephone calls. Finally told me that the problem was mine and blamed me for the problem. DON'T EVER DEAL WITH THESE PEOPLE!

    They are a bunch of rude, nasty crooks.

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Jj
    J J ENGINEER Jun 03, 2011

    AND IT STILL GOES ON IN 2011 I TO ORDERED A HELMENT FROM SCOOTERTRONICS I DONT KNOW WHERE THE MIX CAME FROM I ORDERED AN XL MED LIGHT BLUE HELMENT AND GOT A LARGE DARK BLUE ONE THERE WAS A PHONE NUMBER ON THE SHIPPING LABEL I CALLED THE NUMBER AND IT WAS HELMET INC THE CO THAT SUPPLIES THE HELMENTS THEY TOLD ME THEY WERE SORRY AND FOR ANY MIX UP AND ADVISED ME THAT THE HELMENT NUMBER ORDERED IS THE ONE I RECIEVED. THEY (HELMENT INC.) STATED JUST SEND IT BACK AND PUT A NOTE INSIDE OF IT AND WE WILL SHIP YOU WHAT YOU WOULD LIKE SO I DID. UNLIKE WHEN OREDERED FROM SCOOTERTRONICS IT TOOK THREE WEEKS FROM WAREHOUSE I SENT IT ON A FRIDAY AND THAT FOLLOWING WED IT WAS AT THE UPS STORE READY FOR ME TO PICK UP. AND IT WAS THE RIGHT SIZE. AND I WAS DEGRADED ON DURING EMAILS BEING I LIKE TO TYPE IN CAPS BEING NOT A VERY GOOD TYPER ANYONE ELSE WOULD UNDERSTAND IT HOWEVER AFTER EXPLAINING THIS TO DEB VIA EMAIL SHE STILL DEGRADED ME SO LIKE ANYONE ELSE THESE ARTI CLES ARE TRUE AND EMAILED HER AND ADVISED HER THAT HAD LOOKED INTO THE TRACK RECORD THEY HAVE I WOULD HAVE NEVER ORDERED FROM THEM I HOPE MORE PEOPLE READ THESE COMENTS
    AND BY THE WAY AFTER EXPLAINING TO HER EVERYTHING WAS OK THAT I GOT THE HELMENT PROBLEM TAKEN CARE OF SHE STILL DOWN GRADED ME.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    RIP OFF STRADA May 13, 2011

    I tried to warn people years ago about this so called company. They used to sell Yamati Strada scooters but the supplier got so sick of there ignorance as well complaints reverting to _SF about ST's idiotic business practices, they told them basically to go take a jump off a short pier that they were giving the industry and P_F a black eye and would no longer be a supplier to them. They got way over there heads and overwhelmed to quickly and could or can't handle the demands that come from the territory. I say go back to the beginning basics that you were based originally on, try to remember where you came from and make amends with your disgruntled customers, deflate your big heads and ego's save your ship captain before it sinks. The scooter business is now, nobody is perfect but you got to big to quick and you need to slow down and be responsible for your 2005- now problems with the customers.BEST OF LUCK TO ST AND IT'S CUSTOMERS, THERE IS GOOD SOMEWHERE BUT THE MAN HAS TO REACH WITHIN AND FIND HIMSELF AND DELIVER THE GOODS. GO KYMCO! THATS WHERE I WENT WITH...

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    nelly wilson Feb 02, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Scootertronics was highly recommended by some folks on ScootDawg a couple of years ago... There are over 171 post on one thread about their service and the foul experiences people have had when trying to communicate with Mad Mike... I don't think that a person that has done business with them feels like they got anywhere near what they were out financially and emotionally. I know that I for one have never seen anything compared to them and I have run into some serious [censor] sucking bottom feeders in my lifetime.

    0 Votes
  • Go
    GOT SCREWED THANKS MICHAEL Feb 02, 2011

    there are so many complaints and they are very true (Rude ) is a understatement and crooked is true STAY AWAY !

    0 Votes
  • Da
    David33064 Oct 05, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This company is so bad i wish i would of found this page before doing my order i ordered a cable simple thing and a spark plug after 5 days i called to talk to someone and ask for a Mailing code and they said<Michael would get back to me so he never called me back and then when i would call he would leave me in hold heaven please everyone be aware it is a scam nothing more i disputed my money with the bank this page should be proff enough that they are so shady

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    nelly wilson Aug 31, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have never in my 60 years on this planet encountered as big a jerk as "Mad Mike Milstead" at Scootertronics. I am pro life but I can say that there does exist a strong argument for retroactive abortion that answers the phone and screams insultingly at people after lying to them and not honoring their promises to customers that received scooter that were screwed up when delivered... I am out close to $3000 and have been waiting over 2 years for parts I was promised before the thing can be ridden... I am one that did buy a scooter and just expected to get what I paid for... I want a pound of Mad Mikes flesh and nothing more at this point in time.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scrappydogscooters.com Jan 02, 2010

    Don't be agravated by your previous Chinese motorsport experience, change it! We at scrappydogscooters.com are committed to customer service and realistic pricing. We stock many parts for chinese vehicles, and ship them right the same day. We guarantee satisfaction fully and completely. We are a Las Vegas all American company, seeking to help good ol' Americans just wanting a good product at a good price. Is that too much to ask? Call [protected] or email at [email protected] to see if we can help you with your scooter, atv, or motorcycle parts needs.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chipotle38 Dec 30, 2009

    Michael Milsted does not know how to communicate in a professional manner.
    He sends confused, vaguely sarcastic, rude and contradictory e-mails that are one long run-on with no punctuation. The folks in Taiwan he buys from probably have better English skills.

    Compared to what I've seen on this page, I was lucky enough to only be cheated out of the the price of a spark plug, but I wasted weeks waiting on e-mails that when they eventually came communicated only his disregard for his customer.

    1 Votes
  • To
    TODDD Oct 16, 2009

    I dealt with this michael personally and he is exactly as described by customer and a ###. He does not give a damn about the customer and should not be in business..

    DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM THIS GUY...

    0 Votes
  • J5
    j5bridg May 20, 2009

    Never again will I interact with this company. After ordering 300.00 worth of parts, waiting over a month, promised returnphone calls that NEVER happened, shipping the wrong parts after waiting a month, charging my credit card immediatly(when they knowingly had to wait 3 weeks for arrival of the parts). Making me pay shipping back to them on the wrong parts they had sent me... the list goes on and on... do yourself a favor and never give this company a dime of your money .. they do not appreciate an honest transaction

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stephanie Aubas May 04, 2009

    I was never paid for working with michael at scooter tronics in june of 2008, never seen one check from the company. I want my money this has gone on long enough. I was told that he got sent to court and never showed up when the agency i worked for tryed to contact Michael he never returned the call, the store in waldorf is not even there anymore. maybe he took my money to move the store i have no idea but i wont sit here and let you lie about paying me when I never recieved one penny. I worked for Scootertronics for almost 4 weeks and RECIEVED NOT ONE DIME !!!

    1 Votes
  • Pi
    Pissed Off Scooter Enthusiast Nov 18, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Worthless customer service, they DO NOT return calls or email inquiries, but they are quick to take your money... I had to harangue them about my order status for 3 weeks, no one seemed to know what was going on. The office help is in "la la land" & Mr Milstead is as RUDE as they come, with no straight answers to questions, just rhetoric. After reading all the flames here, it seems that I was lucky to get my order. Recommendation: DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THEM!

    1 Votes
  • Sk
    skip Nov 15, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Look my friend if you have some sort of problem try asking us and letting us know instead of hidding behind this forum. Thats right I am following up and finding out what your problem is or are you just a problem. You have to remember what ever you put out is what you get back and since you have been so negative the whole time thats what you get back.

    Michael
    scootertronics my problem is with scootertronics the people yes i got the parts and i thank you not piss off about that but what i am piss off about your ###ing so called company you talk to me and my wife and son like ### like you are god and i am no ###n good by the way you have the nevr to say(((( (You have to remember what ever you put out is what you get back and since you have been so negative the whole time thats what you get back)))))) i was very nice on the phone so dont ever ###n say i was negative at frist i dont have to hide like you and your company all i wont is a sorry thats all

    0 Votes
  • Sk
    skip Nov 14, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    you say you follow up but let me say this you and your scootertronics suck parts or good but you all suck

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    michael milstead Nov 12, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Customer canceled day after he ordered and it takes x amount of days to refund a card customer thinks it takes a second it takes a full three days, he got his money we paid all fees we lost not customer.

    Find one company with no complaints its impossible becuase you can not please everyone all the time.

    michael
    scootertronics

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    michael milstead Nov 12, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just as with all companies try looking at Best Buy or Walmart alot more complaints then scootertronics gets. You just can not please everyone. The main thing that happens is people buy a scooter from someone else and can not get any service or the company shut down and get mad at us when we can not help their problem with the scooter they bought somewhere else. If they outcome was what all these claim we wouild have been shut down by Visa/MC in a second but sense they all never were charged nothing happens.

    The prue fact that I answer complaints shows I do follow up. The chinese scooter market is not easy as with any business in this economey.

    Michael
    scootertronics

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jeff wolf Aug 18, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Michael,
    IF YOU CANT STAND THE HEAT GET OUT OF THE KITCHEN. I have run retail for 30 years and the complaints are part of the deal. I called there to ask about parts and y'all were rude as hell. Because someone does not know as much about these things as you does not give you the right to be a sanctimonious ###. Thank God I found these posts before I gave you a card number. Keep it up! You will have a bunch of scooters to ride and NO CUSTOMERS. We don't have to put up with ### to buy something. Ebay has you beat on the prices anyway.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    michael milstead Aug 06, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The helmets the gentleman were completely sold out and yes it took us several tries to find out what we could get instead of the ones they ordered because they asked us to so I worked hard to find some for them but were unable to. 2008 gas crisis has got so many people buying everything scooter related and things are selling out fast and not being restocked fast enough. To say we ripped anybody off is untrue and a completely false statement. In todays day everyone wants everything overnight, in a market where its even hard to get product this does not happen and its all because of the cheap price we were selling the helmets for, plus we offer free shipping so we get customers who want everything for free today. If you advertise low prices and free shipping you get this type of customers who only buy on price alone and always want it for free. Service cost money and good products cost money. We sell a high value line of Givi products and never get one complaint because customers who buy these products understand you get what you pay for and if you are not paying for it you do not get it.

    Michael Milstead
    scootertronics.com

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    michael milstead Aug 06, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Alek, was never charged any amount on his credit card. He ordered parts and when we said we were out of stock of some parts and would he like some different ones he canceled. We never submitted a batch and he got his money back on his card in 3 days with no involment from his credit card company. Scootertronics sells hard to get parts for chinese scooters that people buy on the internet from someone who works at thier home and offers no parts and then they call us and blame us for not helping them fast enough. 2008 has brought a gas crisis and people buying junk scooters from others and get mad when we can not help them.

    Michael Milstead
    scootertronics

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    michael milstead Aug 06, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The young lady who says we did not pay our bills is wrong. We paid her over 1100 hundred dollars and this person is excepting us to pay for time we did not use, her own lawyer told us not to worry it is not your fault they have books wrong and were paid in full from all invoices.

    Michael Milstead
    scootertronics

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    Ms. P. Brown Jul 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Michael Milsted has stolen services from my company. I had an employee go and work for Michael at Scootertronics. He has refused to pay for 3 weeks that she has worked for him. I have sent him her signed time sheets, by him, invoices and his contract.

    He yelled at me on the phone because I told him I was going to collect on this debt. He has ignored my call to the shop, his cell, letters, invoices, voicemails, text messages.

    So far he has stolen services from my company for over $900 and counting.

    NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH HIM!

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Tho Jul 16, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Yes, Michael can be rude from time to time. Maybe because he is feed up with all of the customer complaints. I had a bad experience with them also. The scooter that came was damaged and dropped and when I sent it back, they said I could have fixed it myself? No way, I ordered a new scooter and deserve a new one. When the second shipment came around, it was not from their shop, but some other store based in California. I ended getting a purple scooter instead of the blue one I ordered. On top of that after a week of riding it, the brake disc came off and completely ###ed everything else up.

    However, in the end, Michael was pretty helpful on getting the parts I needed, but I just wish the whole experience did not involve alot of yelling and hassle on both parties.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alek Jul 09, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It's a shame because I had a lot more shopping to do but NEVER agian with the company ! They could give me the parts for free and I wouldnt take them ! It's sad, VERY SAD !

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alek Jul 09, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They are the worse company I have ever dealt with ! They did the samething to me ! I ordered performace parts for my scooter and it was almost $400 and they charged my debt card without even sending the parts ! Long story short I called my bank and they took care of it but that guy who works there is a dork, just yell at him back ! Govt should shut them down !

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    michael milstead Jul 03, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Yes we did miss a BO for this customers order. The whole gas crisis and the way things are in the US and China right now its very hard to keep up with demand and this reminds us we are human and make mistakes also. The whole scooter industry is feeling the pinch. We did refund her money no problem.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris Jun 25, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Extremely rude. I asked him a question regarding an order listed as processing and he started screaming at me. I asked him to cancel my order. Then he said the parts had shipped but he couldn't be expected to notify customers when he shipped parts. He also could not provide a tracking number. Then hung up on me. I had to call him back. He charged my card any way. This was yesterday and still the order is listed as processing.

    Wish I would have googled the company and checked the BBB record prior to placing my order. Apparently this is the way this company operates.

    Also look at their Merchant reviews on yahoo.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.