The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Rush KennelsDogs were not healthy

We bought two weimaraners from Sheila Rush. She told us first they were AKC registrants, and they are not, they are UKC. We bought a boy and a girl. when we got there both dogs acted scared and unsure of what to do, I figured new people they were jumpy. When we got them home they continued to act this way, and we ended up thinking they had parvo. They didn't because they started eating and drinking and weren't throwing up. They ended up pooping in the house and I came to realize they had worms. They were supposed to be wormed and have their first shots, well they didn't. We ended up taking them to the vet, obviously, to treat them. They had roundworm and some other intestinal parasite that I can't even say or spell. Bailey my girl had yeast in her ears. I tried calling Rush Kennels and asking what happend since they claim to be a 5 star kennel. No answer, when I did get someone to pick up the phone, Holly, she was very rude. She hung up on my husband and was very rude with me told me to read my contract. I told her my contract wasn't legal because I got two sick puppies. I then proceeded to write a review about them on their website only to wake up and see they had deleted it. I wish I'd have seen all these complaints on Rush Kennels because I'd have never of went out there. I do wish to do something for the poor animals there. Another thing when I got my girl she looked starved. And why can't we go see the parents, or the babies. For their safety our for theirs. Whatever you Do Everyone needs to stay away from this place!

More Rush Kennels Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Gr
    greenmonstah Aug 16, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Wow I didn't even think to check complaints online. I had put a deposit on a dog 2 years ago in december and never was able to get my dog or get anyone to ever contact me back. Is there a way I can get my $400 deposit back? I still have my receipt. The only reason I saw this was I was searching for another puppy for my mother who's house just burnt down last night and she lost all 3 of her dogs. I would love to be able to use that deposit to help get a dog for my mother for xmas. If someone could let me know anything I would greatly appreciate it. My email is [email protected]

    Thanks in advance for any help!

    0 Votes
  • Em
    emvan4 May 19, 2011

    I have an 11 year old weimaraner from Rush Kennels whom I love very much. Unfortunately we have had problems with him since the day we received him from them. He had undescended testicles which had to be removed. He also has had multiple tumors (most of which are benign) but now has lung tumors that are considered very rare for his breed. I truly believe this was a result of their improper breeding. While I would not trade hime for anything, I don't want someone to have to endure what I have. He has less than 6 months to live. Despite already having one lung tumor removed, it has now returned and is inoperable. Sheila Rush was a bad business person from day one and I greatly attribute my boy's problems to her and her puppy mill.

    0 Votes
  • In
    InAnotherCastle Sep 22, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought an Italian Greyhound puppy from Rush in February of this year. First and foremost, I was NOT pleased with their business arrangements. I should have been smart and not dealt with them when they didn't even ask to meet with me or evaluate me at all. They just took my deposit. They promised me a puppy, never told me when the litter was born, and I had to keep e-mailing them until I got my replies. The first one I was promised supposedly died, as did the second one, apparently. I live hours away so I needed to set a date to come get my dog and they were not helpful at all.

    Finally, I had to call them (after trying several times) and tell them I needed to come down that afternoon and get my dog like I was told I could. The person I spoke with was very unfriendly with me, and gave me a dull response.

    We made it there and it was not as pretty as the pictures indicated. They wouldn't let me meet the parent dogs or see the other pups. They gave me a choice between two IGs, but brought them up to me rather than letting me see where they were housed.

    Lucky for them, I fell in love with one of the little girls they showed me (even though I was being promised a male). I took her home and after I got her to the vet, they discovered she had worms and coccidia.

    Also, they NEVER sent her supposed papers. I doubt they had any on her at all.

    Never, ever again will I do business with them. She didn't have the shots they promised me, either.

    0 Votes
  • La
    Laurie Troxell Aug 17, 2010

    OH DEAR...I HOPE AND PRAY FOR ALL OF YOU, THAT THIS PUPPY MILL PROBLEM DOES INDEED GET TAKEN CARE OF!!! MY SISTER IN VIRGINIA WENT THROUGH THE EXACT SAME SITUATION WITH THE SADDENING LOST OF PURCHASING A PUPPY, AND HAVING IT DIE OF PARVO, AND NO AVAILABLE PERSON SHE PURCHASED THE PUPPY FROM WAS AROUND...GONE. ATTENTION:::::::::PLEASE CHECK STORY OF 5/04/2004 IN THE VIRGINIA PILOT NEWSPAPER, PAGE B3, CONVICTED MONICA BINKLEY OF SUFFOLK COUNTY. THIS TOOK PLACE WITH MY SISTER. IM NOW READING THESE OUTRAGEOUS STORIES AND MY DAUGHTER HAD PURCHASED A PUPPY IN NORTH CAROLINA, I FELT VERY UNCOMFORTABLE WITH THE SITUATION, AND I TOOK A PICTURE OF THE SELLER WITH MY CELL PHONE, I HAD LOST SIGNAL BEINGING IN THE BUILDING, AND THE SALE TOOK PLACE, WITH MY GRANDCHILDREN EXCITED TO HAVE A NEW FAMILY MEMBER. I LATER CALLED MY SISTER AND TEXED HER THE PHOTO OF THE LADY TO WHOM SOLD MY DAUGHTER THE PUPPY. "SAME WOMAN AND FAMILY MEMBERS WHO WERE ARRESTED FIVE YEARS PRIOR...BACK IN BUSINESS, WITH A BOGUS NAME. WE CALLED THE FOLLOWING DAY AND REPORTED TO POLICE OFFICERS IN WINSTON-SALEM AND THEY HAD LEFT TO MOVE ON. MY DAUGHTERS PUPPY HAD DIED 3 DAYS AFTER OF PARVO. PUPPY MILLS ARE A TERRIBLE THING!!! THOSE PEOPLE SHOULD BE IN PRISON!!! PLEASE SEEK THIS NEWS ARTICLE AND REPORT TO POLICE IF SHES THE LADY LINKED TO THE PUPPY MILL, PHOTO AVAILABLE

    0 Votes
  • We
    wendyw Jul 31, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I personally have not bought a dog here but i stumbled upon an article i read on pet-abuse.com. I think that everyone should read it to clarify any questions they had about Rush Kennel. If you care about animals please don't ever purchase a dog from a PUPPY MILL! This article clearly states that Rush Kennels is just that. The article and updates can be found on *http://www.pet-abuse.com/cases/16320/NC/US/

    There are two pictures on this website. One is with a sad looking puppy in a cage and the second one has two woman with an emaciated weimeriner.

    I hope this clears things up. SHAME ON YOU PEOPLE AT RUSH KENNELS. YOU WILL GET YOURS AT THE END :)!!!


    *********Authorities have seized 97 dogs from a Pleasant Garden kennel as part of a four-month investigation into what Sheriff BJ Barnes called “a puppy mill out of control.”

    So far, no charges have been filed against the owner of Rush Kennel or her employees. The investigation by the Guilford County Sheriff’s Office is ongoing.

    Sheila Rush Savage, owner of the business at 6324 Maplewood St., could not be reached for comment.

    Her son said the 12-year-old kennel has a quality record.

    “This has nothing to do with cruelty to animals, ” said Tyler Rush as he stood outside the family business Thursday. “These dogs weren’t malnourished or anything.”

    The dogs were taken to the Guilford County Animal Shelter. Officials there who viewed and examined the animals said:

    * Two Chihuahuas will require surgery. One has a busted left eye socket, which has left the dog blind. The other has a puncture to her side that allows air to leak from her lungs.

    * A 10- to 12-year-old greyhound is missing much of her lower jaw and nearly all of her teeth from poor dental care. The dog is pregnant. A shelter veterinarian said the dog shouldn’t have been bred after age 2 or 3.

    * An adult Weimaraner is malnourished to the point where the outline of his ribs and hip bones could be seen through his skin. Officials said the dog weighs about 40 pounds, but should weigh about 75 pounds.

    * Other dogs have dozens of ticks -- more than 30 on one greyhound; mammary tumors; bloody diarrhea; heartworms; missing teeth; bruising; and open wounds.

    Sheriff’s officials said the investigation began in December and progressed as authorities received complaints from 14 customers regarding sick dogs purchased from the kennel, including at least one dog that died.

    Undercover deputies purchased a toy poodle from the kennel and it died within two weeks.

    On Wednesday, officials spent 12 hours at the kennel, seizing the dogs and records.

    Officials declined to describe the dogs’ living conditions.

    The dogs are being examined to determine the full scope of their health problems. Findings will be turned over to the district attorney’s office.

    “The conditions they had going on out there came down to nothing more than nastiness, ” the sheriff said.

    Barnes said detectives found several cases of upset customers. In one instance, a customer asked to see the parents of a puppy. The father was dragged out on a choke chain and threw up. “The mother of the dog couldn’t even stand up, ” he said.

    Robin Breedlove of Asheboro said she purchased a Weimaraner from the kennel in 1999, but the dog was diagnosed with a neurological hip disorder, which caused her to have him euthanized before he turned 4 years old.

    “He had problems walking up and down steps, running and he fell all the time, ” Breedlove said of her dog Bentley.

    She called Savage to find out if there were problems with other puppies in the litter.

    “She said there was no way they would have a disorder, ” Breedlove said. “She said she was in charge of the breeding and that none of her dogs have any genetic neurological conditions. I got a not-so-friendly vibe when I made that call.”

    On the kennel’s Web site, a guest book boasts dozens of happy customers. Attempts to contact them for comment were unsuccessful Thursday.

    Tyler Rush said the kennel always has acted quickly with customer complaints.

    “We’ve always had complaints, but we always gave them back their money, ” Rush said. “Each customer signs a contract saying after the first year, Rush Kennels is not liable for any defects.”

    Sheila Savage, who then was Sheila Rush, appeared on the ABC reality show “Wife Swap” in 2007.

    In an interview with the News & Record about the TV show, Savage said many of her dogs lived indoors with the family and ate filet mignon on china, while the family ate off paper plates. The dogs were pampered with wardrobes and jewelry, and they slept in her king-sized bed.

    “I think a lot of people will relate to me because a lot of people do treat their dogs like children, ” Savage said of her appearance on television.

    0 Votes
  • We
    wendyw Jul 31, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Everyone should read this article i found to clarify any questions people had about Rush Kennels in Pleasant Garden, NC. The title of the article is PUPPY MILL-97 DOGS SEIZED PLEASANT GARDEN, NC(US).


    (http://www.pet-abuse.com/cases/16320/NC/US/)
    THESE PEOPLE ARE OBVIOUSLY SICK PEOPLE WHO DON'T CARE ABOUT ANIMALS!!!DON'T BUY THEIR SICK PUPPIES!!!

    **********Authorities have seized 97 dogs from a Pleasant Garden kennel as part of a four-month investigation into what Sheriff BJ Barnes called “a puppy mill out of control.”

    So far, no charges have been filed against the owner of Rush Kennel or her employees. The investigation by the Guilford County Sheriff’s Office is ongoing.

    Sheila Rush Savage, owner of the business at 6324 Maplewood St., could not be reached for comment.

    Her son said the 12-year-old kennel has a quality record.

    “This has nothing to do with cruelty to animals, ” said Tyler Rush as he stood outside the family business Thursday. “These dogs weren’t malnourished or anything.”

    The dogs were taken to the Guilford County Animal Shelter. Officials there who viewed and examined the animals said:

    * Two Chihuahuas will require surgery. One has a busted left eye socket, which has left the dog blind. The other has a puncture to her side that allows air to leak from her lungs.

    * A 10- to 12-year-old greyhound is missing much of her lower jaw and nearly all of her teeth from poor dental care. The dog is pregnant. A shelter veterinarian said the dog shouldn’t have been bred after age 2 or 3.

    * An adult Weimaraner is malnourished to the point where the outline of his ribs and hip bones could be seen through his skin. Officials said the dog weighs about 40 pounds, but should weigh about 75 pounds.

    * Other dogs have dozens of ticks -- more than 30 on one greyhound; mammary tumors; bloody diarrhea; heartworms; missing teeth; bruising; and open wounds.

    Sheriff’s officials said the investigation began in December and progressed as authorities received complaints from 14 customers regarding sick dogs purchased from the kennel, including at least one dog that died.

    Undercover deputies purchased a toy poodle from the kennel and it died within two weeks.

    On Wednesday, officials spent 12 hours at the kennel, seizing the dogs and records.

    Officials declined to describe the dogs’ living conditions.

    The dogs are being examined to determine the full scope of their health problems. Findings will be turned over to the district attorney’s office.

    “The conditions they had going on out there came down to nothing more than nastiness, ” the sheriff said.

    Barnes said detectives found several cases of upset customers. In one instance, a customer asked to see the parents of a puppy. The father was dragged out on a choke chain and threw up. “The mother of the dog couldn’t even stand up, ” he said.

    Robin Breedlove of Asheboro said she purchased a Weimaraner from the kennel in 1999, but the dog was diagnosed with a neurological hip disorder, which caused her to have him euthanized before he turned 4 years old.

    “He had problems walking up and down steps, running and he fell all the time, ” Breedlove said of her dog Bentley.

    She called Savage to find out if there were problems with other puppies in the litter.

    “She said there was no way they would have a disorder, ” Breedlove said. “She said she was in charge of the breeding and that none of her dogs have any genetic neurological conditions. I got a not-so-friendly vibe when I made that call.”

    On the kennel’s Web site, a guest book boasts dozens of happy customers. Attempts to contact them for comment were unsuccessful Thursday.

    Tyler Rush said the kennel always has acted quickly with customer complaints.

    “We’ve always had complaints, but we always gave them back their money, ” Rush said. “Each customer signs a contract saying after the first year, Rush Kennels is not liable for any defects.”

    Sheila Savage, who then was Sheila Rush, appeared on the ABC reality show “Wife Swap” in 2007.

    In an interview with the News & Record about the TV show, Savage said many of her dogs lived indoors with the family and ate filet mignon on china, while the family ate off paper plates. The dogs were pampered with wardrobes and jewelry, and they slept in her king-sized bed.

    “I think a lot of people will relate to me because a lot of people do treat their dogs like children, ” Savage said of her appearance on television.

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    dragonfly1233 May 07, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    For all of you that have purchased dogs from this facility and been unhappy I have good news.

    The owners of Rush Kennel have been arrested and all of their dogs have been taken away. The complaints are numerous and so are the charges.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    concealman May 06, 2010

    GREENSBORO --
    [Savage talks to reporters following Monday's hearing.]
    Savage talks to reporters following Monday's hearing. More
    The owner of a Pleasant Garden kennel where more than 90 malnourished dogs were seized must now pay for the cost of their care at the Guilford County Animal Shelter, a Guilford County judge ruled Monday morning.

    Owner Sheila Rush Savage and Robert Landreth, a caretaker at the Rush Kennel, both face charges of animal cruelty.

    Savage must pay $50, 400.90 to help pay for the care of the 97 dogs which were seized last month following a four-month investigation that was sparked by customer complaints. She will also be billed for the care of the animals until the conclusion of the trial.

    The judge also ruled that Savage can't get three of the dogs back that she claimed were her personal pets.

    Savage, who lives in Raleigh, faces 12 charges, including seven felonies and five misdemeanors.

    Fourteen dog owners complained that their pets were sick, and one dog died.

    Of the 97 dogs taken from the kennel, one suffered from malnourishment, another had tumors, one was missing an eye, one was missing its lower jaw and a greyhound was found with more than 30 ticks, authorities said.

    Savage's lawyer said there's an explanation behind every one of the dogs that was allegedly mistreated.

    Outside the courtroom on Monday, savage claimed her innocence and blamed the pet owners for the problems with the dogs.

    "I feel like I shouldn't have to pay for them because they shouldn't have come in and taken them anyway. They could have come in and asked to see the facility. They could have asked to come in with Animal Control if they had a problem, " Savage said, adding that in the past 12 years, Animal Control officers hadn't cited her for any violations.

    She also blamed Guilford County Sheriff BJ Barnes, calling the investigation political because he us up for re-election.

    "It's a ploy to get more votes. Let's just face it. I have a large facility. I am well known. So why not come after me?" she said.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    concealman May 06, 2010

    Look up www.wxii.com and look that this kennel just got there dogs all 97 of them took for not taking care of them!! most starved to Death VERY VERY Bad kennel

    0 Votes
  • 44
    4494 May 02, 2010

    I too purchased a Weim from Rush Kennels that was whelped in May of 2008 and I picked up in July 2008. I thought I had done my research but apparently there was not as much out there at the time negative. As everyone states, she sounded great on the phone and wanted a deposit before the pups were even born. When I was finally able to see the pups at two weeks old, I was not allowed to see the mother or father. This really upset me. But of course as a newly wed who had a lingering $350 deposit on the puppy, I still went along with it. I picked up my Weim a little over 8 weeks old. I was given a UKC registration paper. Now, my story isn't as bad as others. My dog is a great dog and thank God I did not have health issues with mine. She has a great disposition and her body seems to be in great shape. She's never been sick. But I consider her and myself very lucky and fortunate. However, shortly after I picked her up I realized they never supplied me with a microchip ID number. I thought that odd. So I called, stating this fact, and almost instantly she starts reading off this "number" to me. I thought that odd as well. A year later two veterinarians could not locate this supposed microchip. It was realized that she was never micro-chipped and I was fed a fake number. And as far as the AKC thing, they preached that to me on the phone. That she would be both AKC and UKC certified. I think I also remember it being posted at that time. Perhaps that's when things fell through for her. When I called trying to question this fact, I to no surprise was never called back and they would never answer my phone calls after that. I love my dog. But do I regret that she came out of that place? I do. I consider it an accidental rescue of a puppy mill pup and I never intended on getting another one through her. I did get a second Weim a year later from a reputable AKC breeder, and let me tell you, the experiences are night and day. I definitely learned my lesson. I hope they're officially shut down.

    0 Votes
  • We
    Weimlover Apr 27, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We too bought a puppy from Sheila. Reading this post is like a blast from the past. She would not let me see any of the other puppies nor the parents. She took a sizeable deposit and when we went to pick the puppy up, she had "fogotten" to mention that the puppy had had a hernia repair but assured us we wouldn't even notice the scar-a weim has very short hair, of course you can see it! Then had the nerve to say she didn't remove the dew claws because of scarring. She also had forgotten to tell us that the puppy was not AKC registered. She told us that both the father and mother were AKC registered and our puppy was eligible. This was a lie. We were given the chance to back out, but our deposit was non-refundable-$500! We got the puppy home and noticed that he was constantly coughing. Big suprise-he had kennel cough. I too tried to call-multiple times-without success. We were mislead all the way around. We had our dog fixed since there was no one to breed him with because he wasn't AKC registered. We love our dog but we definitely didn't get what we paid for.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    lies vs truth Apr 19, 2010

    Do not be misled into believing AKC, CKC, UKC are all the same . It is not that there are not good breeders that breed and register with registries other than AKC, but even as good as some may be the issue with the other registries other than AKC is that even a good breeder that uses another of those can not be certain due to the other registries leinient registration policies that they are dealing with a pure breed dog to begin with as lineage does not have to be proven the dog only has to appear to be of the breed you are stating by visual observation, which is not always accurate just by looking at a dog. Which may or may not be the fault of the person who gets the dog with intentions of breeding purebreed dogs as they may have gotten thier dog beleiving it to be pure bred because the person they got it from said it was but knew differently. It is a cycle for the unknowing and innocent who believe they have a pure breed but were decieved and those that are doing the decieving are the ones who love these other registries (like Shelia Rush) because even when they know a dog is mixed with another breed as long as they can get a vet to verify that yes it looks to be a Lab, then they are allowed to register it.
    The other issue with Registries other than AKC is that many times a breeder will place a dog/puppy as a pet with limited registration and the reasons for doing so can vary some being that the dog should just not be bred due to qualities that should not be passed on and many other reasons to many to get into in this forum. To get around this many puppy mills. backyard breeders and others who just dont want to abide by the contract they have signed with the original breeder ( such as the Shelia Rush) will get the puppy/dog from the breeder and intentionally set out to decieve an honest breeder by registering that dog/puppy that was placed with them under contract and intent that it was NEVER to be bred . They can do this because there is no check and balance system for the other registries they do not care that a dog was not to be bred or for the reasons. The dishonest people that get these puppies/dogs know this and this is how they get around the breeding contract and breed a dog that was not suppose to be in the first place for reasons that may not be obvious, such as health, conformation, or many other reasons that one who does not show or studies the breed and knows thier lines would not be aware of.
    This is why the AKC will not allow dogs from registries it is not affiliated with or recognize to be shown in conformations shows with the breeds. It really comes down to honesty, character, morals, and intentions. While not every great dog is a show dog, not every dog should be bred. While not every good breeder is a huge show person in oreder to breed healthy, quality dogs you must be familiar with every aspect of you breed including the shows othewise you would not really know you are breeeding a dog that is of standard or that should be producing. Finally I will say there as some great kennels out there that do not have small numbers of dogs but rather many. albiet some of those do have great healthy, genetcially sound dogs and the small show/hobby/professional breeder would not be here without some of those great kennels as the lines would not exist without them. It comes down to a matter of individual prefference among those looking for a pet and what it is they deem important. You can get a great healthy dog from some of the bigger kennels but those dogs are still different in personality than what one can get from a small/hobby/professional breeder that has fewer dogs, whelps fewer litters at a time and has the capability to give their dogs much more individual attention that someone with a Kennel with a greater number of dogs and puppies being whelped has the capacity to give. Either can give you healthy puppy but it comes down to the type of personality you are looking for.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    waterway3 Apr 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    AKC, CKC, UKC it all the same he dog is only as good as the breeder. I do not belive you have to show your dogs or only have a few dogs to produce healthy puppies it all depends on the breeding stock you chose. No dog that has helth problems should ever be breed to many helthy dogs for that. I can not undertand why Sheia's dogs where in such bad shape she had help I gusse she just did not care what a shame. The pitcures of those dogs tell the whole story(A pitcure is worth a thousand words) the post of customers saying they are happy I do not belive. Shelia should be made to pay the cost of keeping the dogs up at the shelter never allowed o own pets again. I estimate she made 30, 000 or more off those dogs a year there is no excuse for neglect.

    0 Votes
  • Un
    UNHAPPY YORKIE Apr 16, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    MY QUESTION IS IF SOMEONE IS HAPPY WITH THE BREEDER WHY WOULD THEY BE READING ABOUT COMPLAINTS...PRETTY OBVIOUS THAT WHEN THERE IS POSITIVE FEED BACK IT IS FROM THE INDIVIDUAL TRYING TO SAVE FACE...

    NICE TRY!

    0 Votes
  • Li
    lies vs truth Apr 15, 2010

    We do not need more laws or stronger laws, there are laws on the books to prevent these kinds of situations from happening. What we need are more enforcement of the laws already in place. By instituting more laws it just makes things more difficult for the responsible people who show, breed, truly love their dogs/pets as true family members and only breed a limited number of litters. It is the small breeder show person that provide happy healthy, loving pets to people who are interested in a pure breed puppy that instituting more laws and restrictions will harm and posibly force them to no longer be able to breed the healthy dogs they do. In turn it people like Shelia will be the ones who can afford to continue to breed and push puppies out. This will inturn have a very bad result for those who want a pure breed puppy that is healthy and happy, because if more laws make it no longer feasable or allowable for the small breeder show person to continue the only option left for those who want a pure breed puppy will be those breeders like Shelia or those who do not home raise thier puppies and instead raise them in kennels and have many litters at a time and many throughout the year. So before you push for yet more laws and restrictions, think of the consequences of that and also remember that while this is a horrible story and NO animal should be treated like this, people like Shelia are truly in the minority when it comes to breeders. Most breeders, especially many of the small ones I have met truly love thier dogs and care where they go.

    0 Votes
  • Po
    PoodleMom Apr 14, 2010

    I hope this crazy woman and her employees get what they richly deserve
    and that's the max in punishment we have to get stronger laws in N.C.
    so these puppy mills and owners get shut down and put behind bars where
    they belong!! God bless all the puppies and hope they all get good homes...
    they deserve that after what they have been through!!

    1 Votes
  • We
    WeimMom Apr 14, 2010

    Oh Amazing Grace. Any new comments after all the flattering news press that Sheila Savage has been getting. I would seriously consider when hearing all the bad to look into things before defending someone.

    "I Disagree it's apparent the last couple of post were posted under different names perhaps by the same person. Bogus complaints to say the least. First of all Sheila Rush has not owned the Kennel for quite awhile, she moved to Raleigh NC over a year ago. Rush Kennels has been under New Management for quite awhile now, its also posted under the contact us page of there home website www.rushkennel.com. I have purchased two puppies from Rush Kennels, I also have family and friends that have purchased from them, they are all happy with their puppies. My Veterinarian speaks highly of this kennel, he told me back when I was looking for a Weimaraner that he had several clients over the years that purchased from this kennel and all the puppies he had examined were healthy. It's unfortunate that someone feels a need to try and slander an apparent reputable business, most people understand that you can not always believe everything you read on the internet. Perhaps the person or persons posting these bogus post might infact be a competetor, just a thought."

    In response...no I am not a competetor, and not posting under different names like Sheila and her workers do in an attempt to make her business seem legit. I guess the slander wasn't so slanderous after all. I have been waiting for this years!!! And karma is just what she got. And for your sake if you are an actual customer and not Sheila or one of her employees, I hope that your puppies are healthy. Vets bills on one of her dogs could bankrupt someone, but to own two or three, they could really get up there.

    For everyone else who is a victim...I contacted the sheriffs office handling the case and gave them my information and offered to send any paperwork that may be needed to ensure that Sheila gets what she deserves. At the current time they are still shifting through paperwork they already have, but I am sure that the more offers they get to provide more information, they may still seek more charges.

    1 Votes
  • Pr
    Protectouranimals Apr 14, 2010

    I think she got what she deserves. She has been nothing but a nusience to everyone, not just to her animals, but to her customers, her neighbors, her family and her friends. I think they should tie bones around her neck and let the dogs go after her and treat her like she treated them. SHE IS A DISGRACE to the human populations. PUT HER UNDER THE JAIL...When they find her guilty part of her sentence should be that she never be allowed any kind of animal or pets ever again as long as she is alive...

    1 Votes
  • Lo
    lovesjesus Apr 12, 2010

    PUPPY MILL, PUPPY MILL, PUPPY MILL!!! ALL HER DOGS WERE SEIZED ON APRIL 4, 2010. SEE ALL THIS NEGATIVE FEEDBACK WAS REAL, AND PEOPLE NEED TO LISTEN. DO NOT BUY A PUPPY FROM THIS PERSON. ALL OF HER ANIMALS HAD DEFECTS AND OR DEADLY DISEASE'S (THEIR ORGAN'S HANGING OUT) HOOK WORMS, MANGE, ETC. THE NEWSPAPER SAYS THAT SHE HAD ELECTRIC FENCE WIRE HOOKED UP IN THEIR CAGES TO ZAP THEM ALL THE TIME INTO SUBMISSION. WHAT KIND OF PERSON IS THIS!!! I AM APPALLED, AND ALL OF US ANIMAL LOVERS NEED TO SEARCH AND FIND EVERY LISTING OF PUPPIES SHE HAS FOR SALE AND LEAVE COMMENTS TO THE SEIZURE, MOST OF HER PUPPIES DIE OR HAVE DEFECTS. PLEASE, NO MORE PUPPY MILLS. DO NOT BUY FROM THIS LADY!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ro
    Roaddg1 Apr 11, 2010

    I have not dealt with the kennel, but I do know that NC, along with every other state, needs tougher laws governing these puppy mills. If the accusations are true, there is a special place in hell for people like that. I only hope God can open up the gate long enough for me to see them get their rewards.
    The paper says she'll get 56 months probation for 6 felonies! Who else gets probation for that many felonies? The laws need to change, people. Tell your elected officails "you mean business!".

    1 Votes
  • Ak
    AKC Lab breeder Apr 09, 2010

    I am an AKC breeder of Labrador Retrievers, and I am sooooo happy that Rush Kennels is being investigated. I can only speak for myself and my husbans, but I know as a breeder that it is ALOT of hard work to raise ONE litter in itself, much less more than one litter at a time. It takes all of my time, and energy to make sure the puppies are raised in a healthy, clean, and safe environment. I believe if someone claims they are a breeder, and they raise many breeds at one time, and have several litters at one time, they cannot be provideing the healthiest, cleanist, and safeist enviroment for those puppies, that they could be if they focused on one litter. We, as reputable breeders love dogs, and want to better the breed, not use dogs as merchandise! My dogs are my family, and I screen the people interested in taking any of my puppies home with them. I also make sure my dogs are healthy, happy, and well taken care of. And, make sure my dogs are NOT overbreed, and lead a long life as my babies. If you are a breeder, and you only breed and sell dogs for the money, then you need to be put away for a long, long time. These dogs feel pain, and have feelings just as humans do. SHAME, SHAME, SHAME on Rush Kennels, and any other human being who has neglected, or treated animals badly. This brings me to tears, and I don't know how anyone capable of this behavior can sleep at night. A word of advice for anyone wanting to purchase a puppy, or any animal for that matter. ALWAYS research the breeder, go to the premises, and ask to see where the puppies are whelped, kept, and ask to see the Sire and Dam of the puppies. Look for cleanliness, and signs of neglect or abuse. Look at the water for the dogs...is it clean, and fresh??? Ask to see the records kept for their litters, shot records of litters, and their own dogs. Ask local vets about them as breeders. Do everything you can to make sure they are reputable breeders!!

    These poor dogs did not ask to be brought into this world to suffer!!!

    Heartbroken AKC breeder

    1 Votes
  • Pa
    panda bear Apr 09, 2010

    As a dog lover myself I have bought dogs in the pass and if they are a responsible breeder then they would give you 3 to 5 days to have the dog vet. checked and if anything was wrong with the dog then they would at least refund your money, or if you could not keep the dog no longer they would take it back and maybe not refund your money, but it would be one less dog at the shelter.
    I just do not understand why people get into that business and treat animals that why, because she had to be making good money, so you know she could afford to get vet. care for them. I really thank that the laws on these breeding kennels needs to get tougher, and maybe start giving them a grade that has to be posted up at their kennels, just like a restaurant or daycare. I also thank they should do more inspections, follow ups and maybe only allow them to have so many dogs at one time. I don't think she should get one dog back at all, and maybe if she gets sick in jail they shouldn't give her get any medical care, and let her see how it feels to suffer.
    I am a big animal lover and I have six dogs myself and they are all part of my family and live inside the home with me, I just could not ever do this to any of my animals. I am not a breeder but I did let one of my dachshunds have babies. I had my vet check her and also had an xray to make sure the babies were ok. I will be having her fixed once the puppies are weened, I wouldn't have breed her if it wasn't for my family wanting them.
    I just hope they do the right thing and hit her with a big fine, serve time and make it so she can never ever have any animal ever again, but that will never happen they will just give her a slap on the wrist, a small fine and give her some of the dogs back so she can do this all over again and in another couple of years you will here about her again. I just wished just once a judge would have more mercy for the animals than they do, this is so sad.
    In closing I would like to say that an animal is for companionship and to love. They don't ask for much in return just to be taken care of. The sad thing is even though these animals have been miss treated they will still trust people and have love to give. That's what breaks my heart.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    maggiencharlie2005 Apr 09, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We purchased 2 boxer's from Shelia 4 yrs ago. Shelia told us the boxers were sisters. One boxer was 2 -3 times bigger than the other puppy. the larger boxer had a deep scar with no hair around the scar on the top of her head. When we questioned her about the scar she said the mama dog had bit her puppy. The other boxer was so small but we were told she was the runt of the litter. We only went to pick up one puppy but fell in love with both of them so we brought both home and I am so glad now we did and they were not left with Shelia. When we got home and took the puppies to the vet that week, the smaller boxer only weighed 8 lbs and we had been told both pups were 8 weeks old. The other boxer weighed 14 lbs. The Vet questioned about the scar on the larger boxers head when I told him what Shelia had said he didn't believe her story. At 4 years old our larger boxer already has hip problems, and has always had some digestive problems. The smaller one has severe allergies. I contacted Shelia about a month after we purchased them and they had seen a Vet with several questions. She would not return my calls for weeks. I sent emails after emails with a response from a helper of hers as to how busy she was and would call me later. At some point she did call and dismissed all my questions. From that time on we never had a good feeling about her. We have continued to keep up with her website and read comments. Nice website but so glad she has been found out for who she really is and SHUT DOWN. thank you officer's and everyone who helped stop her from this animal abuse. Hope she stays in jail a long long time

    1 Votes
  • Ve
    VetTech65 Apr 09, 2010

    I am wondering what Rush Kennel has to say now about how great they are?? These people should be inhumanely euthanzied...suffer like all those poor dogs suffered. A 12 year old Italian Grey Hound with no teeth and half its jaw gone is still being bred??? What a bunch of $#*(&$#*(*&# ###S!!!

    A Vet Tech, lover and care taker of all of Gods Creatures!

    2 Votes
  • Te
    Terry, Welcome, NC Apr 09, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased a lab pup from Rush Kennels about a month ago. I was shown what I was told was the entire litter of female pups and also the parents. They all seemed to be healthy and well fed and none appeared to be sick. I took my pup to my vet as soon as I could and he said she was healthy and her fecal test was negative. She is doing well. Her appitite is good and she is active and gets along with my other dogs. She behaves exactly the way I would expect from a healthy three month old pup. The area they were in appeared to be clean. However, I was not invited to see the rest of the kennel so I don't know what was going on behind the scenes. I have not yet received her papers. From what I am reading now, it seems that I might never see them. Since the Rush Kennel web site states that they sell pet quality pups, I don't understand all the flak about registration papers. Someone who is looking for a show quality pup doesn't purchase from a stated pet quality kennel. If you're not going to breed or show your dog, then what is the point of registration? As far as the AKC is concerned, last I heard (and this might have changed) you can register a dog that your vet attests to be purebred for obedience ONLY and pictures are required. The dog can be neutered/spayed which is not true to show in breed. The whole point of breed registration is to further the breed. Nobody would or should breed a pet quality pup for any reason. I've been in dogs all my life, have shown both in breed and obedience. My pup looks purebred as far as I can tell and I guess I was VERY luck to get a healthy pup. If I had any hint that there were abused or neglected dogs on the property, I would have left without purchasing. As it is, I am shocked and saddened that this kennel wasn't what I thought it to be.

    1 Votes
  • Pg
    PG Dog Lover Apr 09, 2010

    I love that all of the sudden the positive comments have stopped. Could it be that way because Sheila's psycho self is currently sitting in the Greensboro magistrate's office? She is a nut job and I hope she gets everything she has coming to her! I teach in the Pleasant Garden area, and several of my students have had dogs die that they have gotten from Rush Kennel.

    And to Amazing Grace 57...whoever told you that Sheila moved to Raleigh over a year ago was lying to you. I just saw that nut job last week in Pleasant Garden.

    1 Votes
  • Pe
    pezzy1 Apr 09, 2010

    This is not a reputable breeder. Please do your research before purchasing a pet from any kennel.

    (Warning: Graphic pics posted at the link provided.)
    http://www.news-record.com/content/2010/04/09/article/kennel_owner_employee_face_charges

    From the article:

    "Charges have been filed against the owner of a Pleasant Garden kennel where 97 dogs were seized on Wednesday."

    "Sheila Rush Savage, owner of Rush Kennel, and Robert Landreth, the caretaker at the facility, have both been charged with seven felony counts of animal abuse and five misdemeanor counts of animal abuse, according to Capt. L.C. Straughn of the Guilford County Sheriff’s Office."

    The caretaker of the facility has been taken into custody at the Guilford Co. jail, and authorities are still searching for Sheila.

    1 Votes
  • Sm
    smilyjoe Apr 09, 2010

    Puppy buyers need to do their homework. Every akc registered breed has a parent club for that breed- check out the web-site for that breed. The club will have a breeder referral
    This is a list of breeders that have puppies to sell.
    Reputable breeders breed for themselves first- even if you breed two champions you will have puppies in that litter that are well bred pets. Remember You get what you pay for.
    A reputable breeder will stand behind their dogs. If one is sick, has a genetic defect or if you just can't keep it anymore. Most breeders will take back a dog they have bred.
    Be suspect of someone who: does not use the AKC as a registry, won't let you see the parents, won't let you see others from the litter, won't let you see where the dogs live and how they are maintained.
    When you purchase a dog you should get a 3 generation pedigree, a shot record, an application for a registration certificate. Most breeders will be there to follow up on any issues you have with the dog.

    1 Votes
  • Li
    lies vs truth Apr 08, 2010

    This comment is from Know your breeder in response to Dogs 4 life. It is detremental that you know what you are talking about BEFORE you accuse someone else of making up things or not knowing what they are talking about as what I wrote is from experience and knowledge not just some unfounded accusation. If you and your sister indeed worked for them you either obviously did not know what is going on (which I doubt if you truly worked for her) or you participated in the fraud and other activities that this kennel participated in.


    Facts: Myself being a very reputable showperson and breeding on a very small scale, I have educated myself on the other registries out there other than AKC and would not have spoke if I was not familiar with the UKC, CKC and some of the others that are out there and thier policies. If you go to the UKC or CKC websites you can yourself find the requirments for registering a dog with that particular registry.

    I have researched it myself in order to try to protect my dogs/puppies from people like Shelia Rush and Rush Kennels. It is fact that to register with many other than AKC, that one does not have to PROVE with registration papers the lineage of the dog they are trying to register, it only has to be stated by a vet and by including photos that the dog you are registering APPEARS to be the breed of dog you are stating. Just by appearance you can NOT always determine that a dog is of pure breed, that is why the AKC is so strict with registration and those that aren't such as UKC are not as reliable. Just because a registry has been around since 1938 does not make them totally reliable in presentation of a dog being purebreed when it is registered with them.

    Secondly. The iformation I gave about KNOWING all dogs she has or tries to sell are neccissarily from her kennel. It was first hand knowledge myself and in dealing with Rush Kennels that I know this to be true. If she indeed keeps accurate records on each dog as you say then you would be able to verify what I said is true as the original breeder is ALWAYS on any AKC paperwork and even though she does not register with AKC she was provided with the AKC paperwork (which if she keeps such accurate records would be in each of the dogs files) for the 3 puppies she obtained from my friend under the pretense that she was getting them as PETS ONLY and they were going to be spayed.
    The puppies she obtained were raised in a loving home NOT in a kennel and were never intended by my friend to be kennel dogs. Because of this when Shelia obtained them and stuck them in her KENNEL one of the puppies that was extra spoiled by my friend was really fussy in protest (Shelia herself spoke to my freind about the puppy being so fussy, neve r telling her it was now in a Kennel). To help my friend and to verify this I contacted Shelia under the guise of wanting a pet ig of specific color and in turn she sent me photos of the very puppy she obtained from my friend (the one that was fussy as she could not deal with the puppy being so fussy). I was offered this puppy under the belief it was one BORN at her kennel from her own sire and dam. I knew these puppies personally so I KNOW this was not one of Shelia's puppies but was actually the one she obtained from my friend.
    So you seem to be the one who does not know what you are talking about and by posting the accusations and information on this site such as you have about me you are yourself misleading people. I would suggest that you find out your facts before YOU speak. I have spoken purely from fact and first hand knowledge not some crap that I got from someone else. I can back up what I have said with documentation which I doubt that you can do to back up what you are saying. If you are working with this woman I would say you are just as guilty and as deep in crap as she is.
    By the way when she got the puppies from my friend she sent one of her employeess to pick the puppies up, she sent him with a check and business card from her husbands electric company that they also own. The man did not stay to talk with my friend to get any information on the puppies as most people do, he was in a rush, scooped the puppies up put them in a crate and off he went. This was of concern to my friend as most people who are honest do stay for a while and want to learn background on thier puppies and intereact with them and the parents.. He did not.. for all anyone knows YOU very well could be this man??? Story sound familiar to you?

    2 Votes
  • Se
    Servicey Apr 08, 2010

    For anyone who should happen upon this page... Rush Kennels is now under investigation by the Guilford County Shelter and 98 animals have been seized:

    http://www.news-record.com/content/2010/04/08/article/98_dogs_seized_from_pleasant_garden_shelter

    Take from that what you will, but it seems a pretty sound indictment of her activities to me.

    2 Votes
  • Am
    Amazing Grace 57 Mar 12, 2010

    I Disagree it's apparent the last couple of post were posted under different names perhaps by the same person. Bogus complaints to say the least. First of all Sheila Rush has not owned the Kennel for quite awhile, she moved to Raleigh NC over a year ago. Rush Kennels has been under New Management for quite awhile now, its also posted under the contact us page of there home website www.rushkennel.com. I have purchased two puppies from Rush Kennels, I also have family and friends that have purchased from them, they are all happy with their puppies. My Veterinarian speaks highly of this kennel, he told me back when I was looking for a Weimaraner that he had several clients over the years that purchased from this kennel and all the puppies he had examined were healthy. It's unfortunate that someone feels a need to try and slander an apparent reputable business, most people understand that you can not always believe everything you read on the internet. Perhaps the person or persons posting these bogus post might infact be a competetor, just a thought.

    -2 Votes
  • We
    WeimMom Mar 09, 2010

    I also agree with the original complaint. I purchased a Weim from Sheila in Sept '07. My weim was also sick upon getting home. I contacted Rush Kennels and was told to "read my contract" My puppy had an intestial parasite and giardia. sheila also told me that my vet didn't know what they were talking about because a staff member got a female from this litter and is completely fine. She did say she wanted me to drive back to NC to have her vet check him out, but nothing would be done, d/t the contract. If you google search puppy mill rush kennels, you will come up with a lot of complaints. This is what they mean when they say that puppy mills aren't always what you see on TV. This appears to be a clean facility, but still cranks out puppies like all those puppy mills you do see on TV. I recently started looking for another puppy to add to my family, and I never once thought of going back to that horrid place. When the breeder I asked where I got my current dog I just told her NC, her next question was if I was happy with that breeder, when I said no, her response was..and I quote "I am sorry that you had to deal with Sheila" I am in Ohio, and this breeder is in Michigan! And they know who Sheila Rush is and what she truely represents. A couple of things about their contract! It is truely bogus. They certify that their parents hips are good. The parents are never x-ray'd. And the reason...and I quote again from Sheila/Lauren/Manager or whatever personality Sheila portrayed that day was..."it is cruel to the dogs, because they have to be sedated to have those x-rays taken, so we don't do them." Also hips cannot even be x-ray'd until 2 years of age...the contract only protects against genetic defects up to one year. Aren't bad hips genetic? If you email rush kennels asking why their membership has been revoked with AKC, and Continental kennel club (and you have to be doing pretty bad to get removed from Cont. KC) they already have a paragraph typed up to send to you. UKC is a puppy mill Kennel club and everyone who does any research at all knows that.

    Initally I was very happy with Rush Kennels. I thought my puppy had diarrhea because he was nervous and was taken away from his mother, and d/t the shots he recieved just prior to leaving (as "Lauren" told me when I called about it on my way home) It wasn't until two days later upon taking my Vito to the vet (I picked him up on Friday so I had to wait till Monday to see the vet) that I realized that I had been sold a sick puppy. This also was after I sent an email stating how my little Vito was adjusting well and being spoiled rotten. Which in fact is the truth. Any complaints that I post Rush kennels promptly replies with that email, as expected. This place truely needs to be shut down, and it saddens me that they are still selling puppy's that are sick, not pure breed, etc to unsuspecting buyers.

    Most positive posts regarding this facility are from "lauren, sheila, or paws of love" sorry Rush kennels but people are starting to see through your game.

    2 Votes
  • Ja
    Jackie 2 Feb 26, 2010

    I agree. I also bought a puppy about a couple of weeks ago and had to take her to the vet, because she got sick. well 3 days later she died. My vet said she died from improper vaccinations. I call Rush Kennel a week ago to ask what shots my puppy needed. i was told that she had only had her first shot. but At 18 weeks old she should have had all her shots and a rabie shot. so after a talking with my vet and burying my new puppy i called rush kennel. and of course she told my that she had been up to date. and blamed my vet. then told me to call her manager. so i did he didn't know what to say. and said her would call her and call me back. i waited an hour. and called back, no answer what a surprise. so i will call again today and if nothing happens. i will contact BBB and the local NEWs on your side. i can't imagine anyone else having to go there this. losing a new puppy, money, and still having to pay for the vet bills. mypuppy was a weimaraner. :-(

    3 Votes
  • Ol
    Ole Highball Feb 25, 2010

    I agree! Please take the time to read this!!! or you will be sorry!!!

    Sheila Rush and Rush Kennels is a PUPPY MILL!!! stay away! I can give you countless stories of her selling brother and sisters to a TX farmer who wanted to breed them. She has mailed dead puppies to AK. All her dogs have some type of liver issues, and each and everyone of them have worms, parasites, coccidia, and yeast in their ears. I purchased a female in Jan 2010, and I'm still having health concerns her the pup to this day. This is animal cruelty at its highest! She lies about the DNA, her contract is phony, UKC is a joke and is the only registery left for her to use (b/c they don't check up on the kennels), lied about microchiping, will not let you see the parents or the puppy prior to buying, ITS A SCAM, she doesn't have a VET on hand, she isn't registered VET-tech like she claims, she can not provide any information on any of the parents, doesn't remove the dew claws, lied about the age, does not de-worm, our dog was drugged and lethargic and the list goes on. If you want to rescue a puppy, and want to pay for it, then go right ahead.

    If you don't belive me and you want to believe all the positive comments on this blog, then you crazy b/c its Shelia leaving the positive notes.

    Check:
    BBB of Greensboro, she has a FFFFFFFFFF for a reason, and its not a former employee of hers like she claims. I've researched it.

    She is the DEVIL!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fOaGnEy0i80

    These people rescue more puppies from Shelia then they do anywhere else!
    http://www.ncweimaraner.org/

    HELP TO SHUT THIS WOMAN DOWN, THIS IS LIKE A MOONSHINE BUSINESS, SHE JUST OPENS IT UP UNDER ANOTHER NAME WHEN THE SPCA KNOCKS ON THE DOOR.

    I've attached pics of our puppy the day we got her, notice her belly, and the last pic is 5 mins after we picked her up, all bones.

    4 Votes
  • Do
    Dogs R Awsome Dec 03, 2009

    LINKS CONCERNING THE AKC


    http://terriermandotcom.blogspot.com/2008/02/akc-loves-puppy-mills-and-naive.html


    http://network.bestfriends.org/truth/news/24329.html


    http://www.pet-law.com/paws/pawsintro.html

    3 Votes
  • Do
    Dogs 4 Life Dec 03, 2009

    The post made by Know Your breeder is a breeder herself that has posted bogus and untrue statements concerning Rush Kennels. Fact Universal Kennel Club International is a reputable rigistry that has been in business since 1938. There are many registries, GOOGLE AKC you will find them to have many complaints AKC is only one of many registires.

    Its apparent this person does not have a clue about what they are talking about. My sister has worked for Rush Kennels for several years, I also work for them part time. Rush Kennels does not purchase puppies or breeding dogs from back yard or hobby breeders, they only breed dogs that have been bred born and raised at the kennel. A registration certificate and documentation is kept on each sire and dame at the kennel, all sires and dames are micro chipped, all breeders are 100 percent pure bred with a registration certificate and pedigree.

    Rush kennels has several top Veterinarians and k9 trainers that have worked with them over the years, not to mention hunreds of satisfied customers, most people are smart enough to know you can not always believe everything you read on the net. For testimonials from Veterinarians K9 Trainers and customers visit www.rushkennel.com they say it all about what most people think about Rush Kennels.

    -4 Votes
  • Kn
    Know your breeder Nov 30, 2009

    Something I had learned first hand about seeing the parents, you can not see the parents because not all of the puppies Shelia sells are from her breeding or her dogs litters. I had a friend who raises Italian greyhounds whom Shelia Rush contacted to buy a puppy from, she falsely presented herself to this breeder as someone who was looking to buy 3 IG's as "FAMILY COMPANIONS', 2 for herself and one for her mother for company. Unfortuanately my friend did not know of this woman and what she does so she sold her the puppies. My friend contacted me about this after the fact, and I told her about Shelia and her "Kennel", she then panicked, I also raise IGs so as a favor I told my friend I would try to find out something about the puppies she had sold. I contacted Shelia who had told my friend in the meantime that she was having problems with one of the puppies fussing constantly ( go figure these puppies were raised in a home and she tried to stick them in her kennels with little contact). So I contacted Shelia under the pretense of purchasing a puppy to see if she would then offer me the puppy she had bought from my friend to me under the assumption it was one of her own breedings. Well, she did offer me this puppy as one of her own breeding as I expected she would.
    So even if you did get to see parents you honestly could not be certain that what you were being shown was in reality the parents of the puppy you are buying, since her dogs are not AKC registered you can not rely on a pedigree as registries other than AKC are very lienient and don't requier DNA or parenting as conditions of registry. You can actually register a dog as a bulldog with the other registries that may be a bulldog/boxer mix. All you have to do to register this dog as a bulldog is take it to a vet that will sign the paper from the registry saying it is a bulldog. In telling you this remember Shelia's dogs are not AKC, she employs her own vet on the premises so they will sign the paper for her as she is paying them.
    Lastly let me warn everyone if a dog is NOT AKC registered and is registered with some other registry (no matter who the breeder is) think hard before you buy this puppy because you honestly can not be sure if the dog is pure breed or not. Not all of the breeders selling with the other registries are selling puppies knowing they are not purebreed, they may have been misled also, but there are those breeders out there who are knowingly selling these mixed breed puppies as purebreed...so be warned and be careful, I would only trust AKC.

    3 Votes
  • RUSH FARMS Oct 25, 2009

    Please let it be known that this is NOT the Sheila Rush in Ulman, MO
    that shows AKC Champion St Bernards, Newfoundlands and Scottish Terriers.

    2 Votes
  • Ph
    Phyllis A Aug 25, 2009

    To frogdogmom, news flash I am not a family memeber, or a friend, I am a repeat customer of Rush Kennels. It's apparent that you do not have a clue about what you are talking about. Bet you have not even visited the kennel, they have no need whats so ever to make up a testimonial, they have actual customers to do that. Perhaps you need to do your home work. Rush Kennels is far from a puppy mill, it's a dogs paradise. As far as UKC they have been a registry since 1938 and have been used by many reputable breeders over the years. I have purchased three puppies over the years from this kennel and I could not be happier, my babies are healthy and beautiful, they are the loves of my life. I highly recommend Rush Kennels, for those who are looking for a puppy call Rush Kennels make an appointment, you to will also find this kennel to be amazing.

    -5 Votes
  • Fr
    Frogdogmom Aug 24, 2009

    Anyone with half a brain can see that Rush Kennels is nothing more than a commercial breeding facility. Almost all of the "praise" about this puppy mill is posted by employees and family members of Rush Kennels. Logging in and posing as different people. Do your homework people. A licensed kennel= MONEY. Not reputable. REPUTABLE breeders show their dogs, belong to breed clubs, health test their dogs and only have 1-2 breeds that are their passion. As for the UKC Registry. Its the least respected registry out there. Puppy mill registry.

    DO NOT SUPPORT PUPPY MILLS LIKE RUSH KENNELS.

    FIND A PUPPY FROM A REPUTABLE BREEDER THROUGH YOUR LOCAL BREED CLUB.

    MAY SHEILA RUSH AND HER KIND ROT IN HELL.

    6 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.