Ronald M. Canter - Workers Compensation LawyerTaking advantage of people

D
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I am posting this complaint against RONALD M.CANTER a Worker's Comp attorney practicing in Los Angeles. My case is current since July 2003 when I met and attained Mr. Canter after I was forced off the job by my maniacal employer under fraudulent reasons. I was referred to Mr. Canter through Prepaid Legal. Little did I know this attorney would go on to do his best to sabotage my case by his actions and his non-actions.

The first thing that was a red flag was the fact that upon meeting Mr. Canter he refused to view extremely important information I had to show him in our initial meeting. Next he referred me to MANAGEDMED for psychological testing/ physical therapy which turned out to be a total nightmare and what happened to me there turned out to be worse than what happened to me on my job.Thank You Mr. Canter.

I had numerous depositions over the 3 year period in which Mr. Canter was never prepared for by purposely not bringing my file or medical file (then blaming others)and which he allowed the defense attorney to badger me with the exact same questions each depo while flat out REFUSING to subpena the most important document in the case that would have exonerated my name against my employer's allegations. The whole time Mr. Canter acted as if he was employed by the Defense or that the goal was to get me to settle for next to nothing for a benefit to him.

My biggest complaint against Mr. Canter is his wholehearted lack of communication. Ive tried numerous times and a multitude of ways to attempt a meeting with him by phone, regular mail, certified mail,email, you name it- they all went unanswered. He would allow me 10 minutes or less to speak my concerns to him before the depos but still would never take anything I had to share with him into any consideration whatsoever! At my last depo (2/07) I provided Mr. Canter a 2 page detailed list of my concerns and grievances against him to which he responded to by ordering a petition to withdraw from my case. He falsely states that it is due to "the conduct of my client" When I contacted him via email for an explanation of what he meant exactly by my "conduct"- again no response whatsoever followed by a letter sent to me stating that a "Mandatory Settlement Conference" had been scheduled for May 2007. Upon the date of the conference, to which Mr. Canter was late, I actually got to observe Mr. Canter and the Defense Attorney again "pal around" together before he finally approached me stating that "The Board" had misplaced my file. Right. Based on what I saw I have reason to believe that the Defense Attorney obtained my file before Mr. Canter arrived and placed it out of sight since the case files are out in the open for pickup and review for the attorneys at the Court.

I was instructed to request to speak with the Judge as I formally was prepared to have Mr. Canter removed from the case. He blocked me from speaking to the judge and went in himself, had himself removed from the case-so now he is under the impression that he is no longer responsible for his mis actions against me. Wrong. There was no intention of Mr Canter Settling my case. His actions clearly indicate that he was working with the defense to frustrate me out of y case and/or settlement.

I was extremely relieved to know that I am not the only client with similar complaints. I went online and found two other individuals who have filed almost IDENTICAL COMPLAINTS against Mr. Canter.

(The are easy to locate by doing a Yahoo & Google search on Ronald M. Canter)

The fact that this man is still practicing Law is a travesty of Justice! He has hurt alot of clients by assuming that he can take advantage of people that are unfamiliar with the laws he as an attorney can manipulate to his advantage- Until he is finally correctly reprimanded and/or no longer scamming clients Im glad there are websites like these that can shift the power back to the disadvantaged. It does however indicate how corrupt the system in which he works is by allowing him to continue to do this to people.

Responses

  • Na
    nailjam Mar 31, 2015

    I would not refer Ron Canter services to anyone . My worker's comp case has been pending for 12 years .Mr. Canter has been involved for the has 8 years during which I have made contact with him personally, "3 TIMES" . I feel that this is unsatisfactory legal consultation if you could call it that .

    1 Votes
  • Vi
    Victims "R" us Oct 30, 2014

    The question I have is does he work for me or the defense? Well, I see now this is not a one time incident. I had an almost identical experience as the other clients, or victims rather. This is the only attorney I have seen that negotiates and settlement goes lower and lower by the minute. It quickly became obvious to me that he was in some agreement with the other side. Lie after lie was told about how much I was owed and for what. According to him and the workers comp insurance companies atty unless I was wheelchair bound for life no case would ever settle for more than one thousand dollars. Apparently the settlement has already been satisfied when you were paid the weekly benefit. There is no monies to be paid only weekly benefit and I should be grateful I had gotten some of that money. That is the new law he said in agreement with opposing atty. There is the ultimate judge however that we all face one day. Why don't all of us that feel wronged here get together and see about doing our complaints to the right authority. This would spare other people from going down the same road. Thanks and bless all of you. I wish you the very best of luck fixing your case.

    0 Votes
  • At
    attycom Jun 19, 2014

    Stay away from this inept lawyer. Never sign up with any attorney nor callous, unprofessional as this one IS. I suggest do a search under any attorney you are checking. Stay away from the free web sites for attorneys. Workers Comp attorneys are on a % basis only. If visit an attorney, have a discussion only. Then go home, think about it, do internet searches then decide. A lot of complaints about this one gets removed by a contracted firm to do so. Or gets lost in New complaints. Some of the remarks here say later that the issue got resolved. But search more and find there is a new complaint that got filed somewhere else in this board re-affirming the complaint. Seems this so called attorney is well versed in conning people. When an attorney talks more about himself than what WC is all about, LEAVE.

    0 Votes
  • Rb
    RBrowning Jun 04, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    His employees and paralegals methods of operation is predictable, unethical, and very unprofessional. After being hung up on over 10 times today and being called a bitter ### by the angry unprofessional woman that answers the phone was the last straw. I have been calling his office since last Friday asking to speak with him and still 5 days later I have received no response, sent an email today an no response. I have been yelled at, disrespected and treated like I am incompetent and uneducated. I sincerely wish I had never retained Ronald M. Canter as my attorney, mainly due to how horrible his staff is to deal with and the fact that nothing ever gets done and no one ever knows what going on. I am just a 15% pay check and I do believe that he does side with the defense and will try to milk every cent he can out of each and every case. My next step will be filing a formal complaint against his office for harassment, discrimination and unethical conduct of a law practice with the State Bar of California. If anyone is looking to retain a workers comp attorney do not retain Ronald M. Canter, he and his office are full of promises they can't and won't deliver. Also, after reading his reply to one of the above complaints I feel it my duty to say that I am White and my complaint against his office has nothing to do with race or how I manage my life or personal affairs. I hired him to protect me against the workers comp insurance company but now feel that he is working against me and helping the defense. I feel very betrayed by his and his actions or lack thereof and his by his disgruntled and ignorant employees. Being an injured employee is horrible and dealing with workers comp is difficult and very frustrating but to add an attorney and his staff that ignore and dismiss your concerns and then just hang up on you, yell at you and treat you like a burden just makes the whole process even more horrible. I have much compassion for anyone going through a workers comp case and WARN everyone to really take a good look at all reviews of Ronald M. Canter Attorney at Law before retaining his services.

    1 Votes
  • Su
    suare53 Dec 18, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My case was just settled by Mr. Canter, after being represented by him for approx. 1 1/2 years and fortunately, i had absolutely no complaints towards him or his staff. Whenever he was not able to return my calls, he would have his staff call me back and they were always able to help me and whenever they couldn't, Mr. Canter himself would call and to my surprise, he even called me a few times over the weekend. I am commenting on this complaint because Mr. Canter has helped me out greatly and also some friends i have referred him and none of us had any complaints. I honestly think some people want things done a certain way, regardless of what the facts of there complaints are.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mario Rosales Dec 16, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been in the field of Workers' Compensation for a very long time and find a lot of this complaints about Mr. Canter to be legitimate, but at the same time they all can not be put on the Attorney. I have never worked for Mr. Canter, nor do i know him, but being in this field i have been exposed to many many injured workers' that complain about how horrible things in Workers' Comp are and pin it on the Attorney. If you all want to complain, why dont you pay attention next time during voting season? While you complain about Applicant Attorneys, Work Comp Insurance Carriers are getting richer and its not because of Attorneys like Mr. Canter, but because Workers' Comp keeps changing against injured workers and that is thanks to our California Representatives. Why do you complain that no benefits are being paid ? why do you complain that a settlement was not what you expected? why do you complain ? In case you have not noticed the law makes your attorney send you to Medical Provider Network full of incompetent Doctors. The law makes your Attorney only enforce what this incompetent Doctor recommends and not what you wish you could get. Vocational Rehabilitation is way gone now and no on wonders why and who's fault it was? TTD (biweekly benefits) have decreased and now are paid a maximum of only 104 weeks, any care to ask why and who's fault it is? even if your Doctor recommends treatment it is still being authorized or denied by Utilization Review (Insurance Carriers medical authorization department) any care to ask why it has to be sent there? who's fault it is? many times this requests for treatment, medications and even surgery is denied by a nurse or a physician of the wrong specialty, but nevertheless, the law enforces there denial, do you care who's fault it is and why? It is much easier to blame your Attorney for what does not happen, then it is to look into the true problem and look for a resolution!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Migue A L Sep 21, 2013

    this Guy Is A [censored]!!! I Recently Had Filled An Online Free Case evaluation And Ron Is The One WhoContacted Me. Funny Thing Is That When He Started asking Questions I Smelled Something Fishy Abou Him, One thing That I Noticed Is That He ContacteD Me Directly When Most Have Their Assistant Or Secretary Call. I Asked My Self This, Guy Must Be Cheap But I Knew ThereWas Something Not Good About Him. Told My Friend AboutIt And Said It Was Me Always Thinking To MucH, So The Next Day I Decide To Google HisAddress Since I Forgot And TThe First ThingS That popped Out Were CLAIMS.meMe Laugh toTo Know That iI waWas Right. Didn't Go ToThe Appointment So He Gives Me A Call "Private" And He Jyst Goes Off ON Me And The [censored] Still Wants Me To ReSchedule. Thanks To Google It Gas Helped Alot Of Us Watchout For Scanners Like This. I Would Suggest Looking A Mark Edelsteins Law FIrm.

    0 Votes
  • Un
    Un happy Ex Client Feb 22, 2013

    Mr Canter is a first class jerk. I hope he gets what's coming to him.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jattysearch Dec 07, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    loo0k at scam report site.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jattysearch Dec 07, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Look at the scam report and search under ron canter...

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jattysearch Dec 07, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Where is the latest post by Rory Kramer.? It's missing.
    Check this site:

    /link removed/

    1 Votes
  • Ro
    Rory Kremer Oct 17, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Mr. Canter has now begun communication with me about my case, I am hopeful that he will follow through on my behalf and feeling much better about his representation at this point. I would like to thanks this forum for giving me some tools/information about the work comp. system, and I would like to thank Mr. Canter for opening lines of communication with me.

    -1 Votes
  • Ro
    Rory Kremer Oct 17, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Well, a complaint is all it took for Mr. Canter to get back to me...hopefully he can fix this mess.

    -1 Votes
  • Ro
    Rory Kremer Oct 17, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am dealing with the same issues as noted above. Mr. Cantor initiated contact with me about an on the job injury/workers comp. case. I believed him when he said he could represent me in this case...but have not been able to contact him since that time.
    I have tried to talk with him nearly 60 times, but to no avail.
    I need a real atty.
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • An
    Another Canter Victim Jun 21, 2012

    Ronald M. Canter represented me in a workers comp case and it was one of the biggest mistakes of my life. When I hired him I was almost done with my case and only retained him to negotiate my final settlement. By myself I had negotiated lifetime medical for my injury and a $4, 000.00 training voucher. The man never spoke to me after the initial meeting, kept referring me to his assistant, who never returned my calls. I was told he was associated with The Jobe Clinic and asked to see the doctors there, since that was a factor in my decision to hire him. By the time he was done I had no training voucher, and he negotiated a settlement for about $3.000. Then he told me his fee was going to be $3, 000. He was including everything I had recieved from the insurance company before I ever heard of this man, and I use that term loosely. So he was charging me three grand to loose my training voucher and medical coverage. Of course I refused to settle and he all of a sudden came up with three grand more. His web site states that he cares about his clients and is concerned with keeping them informed, that is a total lie. He is NEVER there for his clients, will not return calls, is only concerned about his bottom line and cares less about his clients. DO NOT HIRE THIS MAN HE WILL DO NOTHING BUT TAKE YOUR MONEY. AS YOU CAN SEE FROM THE OTHER COMPLAINTS THIS IS FAR FROM AN ISOLATED INCIDENT. And by the way Ron, my injury was an arm, not psychological. And you're damn right I'm a disgruntled client, that's what you create you thief.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    Need help! Jan 27, 2012

    Is there anywhere I can find a better Lawyer than Ron I dont want to have this type of issue but I need to get a lawyer as my work wont let me see a doctor... Please help I live in lancaster California

    0 Votes
  • In
    injured woman Jan 17, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Thank you all for your comments, especially Damion. I just got off the phone with Ron Canter, my first contact with him. Then I opened up this web page, Thank You God!!! I will be cancelling the appointment I made with him. I have already had enough trouble with worker's comp to not add to it with a poor lawyer.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    frustratedand pist Sep 15, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Mr. Canter threw me under the bus with my workman comp case. settled with pennies on the dollar. I felt ambushed by WC attorney AND Mr. Canter at the same time. He did not work for me. How do i report this man? I do not want anyone else going through what i did and still am. He will not return my calls or emails still. Shame on this man to study the law to represent us, then allow the sharks to attack. This is how i felt, he did not fight or speak up for me. Agreed with everything the opposing attorney said and walked away! Frustrated.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Damion T Aug 24, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Mr. Canter insists that he represented me in a competent manner. Take a look at the documents below. Would you feel this is competency?

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Damion T Aug 24, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Mr. Canter was repeatedly asked to produce a specific piece of documentation from the defense which he failed to do so in a four year period while he was my attorney. After that deposition on Feb 2007 he mailed documentation to me regarding a "MANDATORY SETTLEMENT CONFERENCE." This was a fraudulent meeting devised by Mr. Canter to have himself removed from the case when he realized that I knew he would never produce this document-which ultimately shows who he was really working for and or protecting.

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Damion T Aug 16, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Here is what you can expect from Mr. Canter

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Damion T Aug 16, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is Damion Thompson. Firstly I'd like to thank everyone who was brave enough to respond on my post about Mr. Canter. Standing against injustice is frowned upon more often than encouraged but the number of individuals that have had a similar occurances with Mr. Canter cant all be wrong... I was not at all surprised by Mr Canter's attempt to villify me in the wake of exposing his actions. He did the exact same thing the defendant has done and has been doing since the before the onset of this case. Mr. Canter's response clearly warrants that I SHOW where he failed while representing me and you can judge for yourself...The only piece of documentation missing from this (now 9 years) paper trail is the one Mr. Canter (along with the defendant and every attorney that has been attached to this case) refused to produce. Mr. Canter knowingly supported the prolonging of my case knowing the Defense could not produce proper evidence against me in their allegations, and when I continued to demand this information he plotted with the Defense Atty to lose my complete file and remove himself from the case. I found my file immediately after...it was in Mr. Canter's office. Feel Free to continue to respond on this post regarding the unethical actions of this Attorney. Showing is better than telling.

    0 Votes
  • Go
    God on Ron Aug 02, 2011

    Mr. Canter is a fraud!! He sits on cases and then gets a pay-out from the defense for sitting on those cases.. He is a truly evil crooked man.. As soon as he gets a conscience, he will probably kill himself.. His office is next to the California democratic party too, what a dirt bag!!

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    fehutt Apr 27, 2011

    I should have read those other comments before writing the letter above. I was way too forgiving!!

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    fehutt Apr 19, 2011

    Dear Mr. Canter Monday, August 16, 2010

    First, I would like to thank you for your services in my Workman’s Comp. claim. It didn’t turn out as well as I had expected but it is finally settled and I did receive a little compensation.
    I understand now, that by not filing a Workman’s Comp. claim at the time of the accident, instead, collecting CA S.D.I. was a major error on my behalf. I did that due to the fact that I had collected S.D.I. a year earlier when I was unable to work because of my first bypass operation. After my accident at work, I felt that I would have another bypass and return to work within a short period of time. Another reason is that the rail job I was on was a high profile job which did everything possible to prevent “lost time injuries” from being reported. I had worked for my contractor for about eighteen years and felt a loyalty to them, helping them out whenever possible.
    The thing I really don’t understand is why you seemed so positive and eager to represent me when we first discussed my case. If strong, definite, evidence was required proving that my accident at work caused the failure of my prior bypass operation was required to reach a reasonable settlement, then why didn’t you just tell me that in the beginning?
    In this case, I had no problems with my bypass for a year prior to my accident, with no doctor’s visits or complaints. Then immediately following this accident my bypass fails. The accident was witnessed by at least two co-workers and confirmed by at least six others directly after it occurred. An accident report was filed at the time of the accident by the company Forman. After thirty years in the construction industry without a lost time injury and no prior Workman’s Comp. claims ever being filed it seems very clear that the accident caused my bypass failure. However, un-provable.
    I know that there is a lot more to your job than I realize but at the same time I question certain things. I am totally uninformed and may be partially wrong even questioning a few issues.
    I am under the impression that my Doctor was never spoken to, except by me. I don’t believe any witness’ were ever contacted and I don’t know if any medical papers or documents were ever considered.
    I felt a bit like a fool at the deposition proceeding with their attorney throwing questions at me about everything, except the accident or injury, with you just sitting there without a case or a cause. I had to tell you what my Doctor had told me about not being able to positively relate my accident to my bypass failure. I was astonished how apathetic you were, almost making me feel as though I was lying about the whole matter.
    I believe that our position would have been stronger if we would have had some sort of a case planned and supported by documents, easily downloaded off the internet, stating that trauma can and has caused failures of bypass surgeries. In addition, statements documenting the Cal OSHA violation of leaving an open hole along with descriptions of my accident could have been provided by my co-workers. A copy of the accident report should have been included. A statement from Dr. Kubaska saying that it is possible to have a bypass failure due to trauma may have helped. P.A.D. is the blockage of vessels that is a progressive disease that worsens over time and there are studies available that give percentages of bypass failures over periods of 5, 10, and 15 year periods. Failures very rarely occur instantaneously without reason or explanation.
    I am not saying that this would have changed the outcome but it would have been nice to have some sort of ammo. It was like being in a shoot out with an empty gun.
    I understand that at that point you had already conceded defeat but it would have been nice to inform me of the situation. Or better yet, to had informed me two years ago that I had no case.
    Thinking back now, when claiming benefits from S.D.I., I was asked if my injury had been work related and I answered “no”. I realize that I made some real mistakes at the time of the accident and I’m going to suffer the consequences of them for the rest of my life.
    I would hope that you will keep your clients better informed in the future or just not take their case at all.
    Thank you again for your help in this matter and I wish you well.
    Sincerely, Frank Hutton
    P.S. Since writing this letter I was requested by you to sign and return some paperwork to you so that the settlement could be distributed. I signed and returned the paperwork promptly. A month or so pasted before hearing from you questioning whether or not I ever returned the paperwork to you. I informed you that I had returned it. A few days later I received copies of the same forms with a request to sign and return them to your office and I did. It’s now been about ten weeks since my second return and not a word from you. This is after I phoned your office requesting some information on the case or a return call from you.
    I had to re-send you copies of my medical records at an early stage of this case. It seems that your office needs organizational skills along with better customer service relations.
    I wonder if this case will ever end at times.
    1/10/2011 and still wondering.

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    Drivesunuts Mar 31, 2011

    I had an initial consultation with him today and was COMPLETELY turned off. First of all, we talked nothing of my case, he was too busy trying to over talk me with idle chit-chat to "bedazzle me wit b.s." for 20 minutes about nonsense like bragging about the Tom Jones concert his son took him to! Dude its 2011 and I'm injured so who the fudge cares out Tom Jones right now? Since I work for a big TV studio, I asked him if he ever did WC for entertainment studios, he said yes followed by silence..."well which ones?" I asked he responded, I did something with Dreamworks before they moved to their new location and he mentioned other studios I never even heard of and I've been in this business for years. I kept having to stop his blabbering abt nonsense to ask him pertinent questions like "what is your background?" His response, "I've been in the WC business for 30 years and I know all the defense attorneys and insurance agency reps." I said that's not what I was referring to, where did you go to college, where did you get your law degree? He gave me the names of some schools I never heard of. I said when did you pass the Bar exam? He got indignant and said "I passed it many years ago, you would think I did if I've been doing law for 30 years" I had enough so I said "I'm interviewing a few lawyers at this time so I will get back to you in a few days with a decision" he cuts me off by replying "You will never find a lawyer that listens to you and gives you the level of attention you need. Most attorneys will have you talking to their secretary, but I give you personalized attention because I listen" HA ! Since he didn't listen to a thing I said the entire conversation and I felt like I was being conned by a professional con-artist using a bunch of words of nonsense continuously without letting you speak. I KNEW HE WAS A SHADY MC SHADE STER!! So I moved on to interview other WC attorneys for my case and threw away his contact info. btw Damion Thompson who started this complaint, NO respectable attorney would EVER publicly speak badly about a client in such an immature, unprofessional manner unless they are a con-artist who is pissed at you for exposing people to their lies and deceits so thank you Damion for exposing that fraud Ron M. Canter so he doesn't get more victims!!

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Dimenssion282 Jan 28, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ron canter did nothing for me. I had several problems with insurance company changing doctor’s requests. When he told me he know the insurance company and had worked with them before. I didn’t think it would be in their favor. I called 18 times in 2 months and got no return calls, or any type of response. I threatened to find another attorney they finely put me through to someone. That person said that they never got the doctors reports. Even though I faxed them in and called to verify that they got them. This guy will screw your case up and put you further behind. Because of his lack of attention I am 3 months behind in my medical treatments.
    Thanks ron

    0 Votes
  • Wo
    Wonderpet Jan 19, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Wow! I just called his office and gave them all the information as to what is happening to me at work because of an injury I sustained at work, and yet my Employer isn't doing much for me.

    I'm suppose to get paper work mailed out to me, but I don't think I want to sign anything or proceed after readying all of this.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Don1945 Oct 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My cases, are current also sence 10-2002, and I agree this is a piece of s h i t lawyer, so I called the california bar assoc., and Ronald M Canter if your reading this, the CBA is that place where you bad some
    one to take your Bar exam...you crook

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Don1945 Oct 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    How do we stop this chimp...

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Don1945 Oct 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This clown keeps talking about how long he has been practicing, 31 years he says..PS he fired ceaser 2 month ago for going out of his way for me...


    Don

    1 Votes
  • Ir
    Irratated! Aug 28, 2010

    The only way to put an end to Mr. Canter's actions is to file with the State Bar Association. Mr Canter has filed a non-work related claim on behalf of a previous employee on my company with the State Fund. I will be submitting my complaint when the case is closed and will use this site in my complaint.

    Click on this link for instructions to file a complaint with the California State Bar Association.
    http://www.calbar.ca.gov/Attorneys/LawyerRegulation.aspx

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    margaret summers Aug 26, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i agree about this attorney a complete crook my case was supposed to have been settled in 2004 at that time i was in the hospital for a week while injured i had developed a leg sore type two diabetes from my injuries at work i had fractures in both knee's and feet and it was to painful to walk.the hospital sent me home with a home care nurse and sent me to glendale wound care hospital thinking my ca se was being handled by this attorney wrong it's now 20010 u never received my settlement, my files i too have called, sent certified letters he doesn't return calls etc he probably stole my settlement too this is a bad attorney i too filed a complaint with the state board he will get away with it

    1 Votes
  • Vi
    Vinze Jun 21, 2010

    The man is a fraud. I experienced much of what others have experienced. I wrote numerous letters to no avail. This man takes cases, does little if any work and makes excuse after excuse for delays and lack of formal communication.

    I wrote many letters asking for a written plan, but never got a response. He should be investigated by the BAR as well as the CBWC.

    He and his staff will call you when they want information that they do not need and put a verbal emergency blitz on you by telephone. Some of the excuses he gave me for non communication is that his former office manager was lax and was fired. Another excuse was that he had jury duty. Another excuse was that he was visiting his daughter in the northeast. The man is a fraud and I'll bet he makes oodles of money misrepresenting his clients.

    Him and his office staff wanted me to give a street address and drivers license information and I questioned why when I had filled out all application information.

    The asked the reason for need of my street address as I use a post office box and their reply was to have a limo pick me up to take me to the airport when the time came for me to visit LA. I told them I would drive myself to the airport. Now that I've read these complaints, I think he wanted the information to give to the opposing attorneys.

    Within his original paper work, there is a document that voids his practice from legal suit through the court system and agrees to arbitration [I never signed it].

    Anyone that engages this lawyer after reading these complaints is a fool. His method of operation is predictable, unethical, and very unprofessional.

    1 Votes
  • Wi
    witheld Dec 02, 2009

    I think that Cesar and Mr. Canter is working with the defense attorneys because they never have anythng good to say in your defense. Cesar my make a phone call or two but his overall attitude stinks. When I first want in to see Mr. Canter he did not ask what was the issues just what hurts that was it and told me that I need to go to managemed. That was the most horrible experience ever, they do not like working with patients and always want to be right or else they will prolong things for you and whats even more crazier is that they are allowed to still practice.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    karen Jun 01, 2009

    although i had a horrible experience dealing with mr. canter i must commend his assistant Ceasar Rodriquez. Canter was going out of town and could not follow-up on my settlement and expense checks although several requests had been made way before his going out of town. he did refer me to his assistant Ceasar to handle the follow-up. Ceasar was absolutely professional as well as personable. He gathered the information he needed without making me repeat tasks i had done initially to see that my requests were answered to my satisfaction. He went out of his way to offer suggestions to me when i mentioned i was having a problem cashing my check. He followed up on what i believe would have been lost expense reimbursement had he not gotten involved. I do so appreciate his assistance. Speaking with him was actually a pleasure and we need more like him in whats turned out to be a dog eat dog profession we are calling legal representation.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Karen May 11, 2009

    totally agree he does not represent his client. I finally asked him prior to the last scheduled depo, "why are u here"? He was puzzled by the question so I told him why I thought he was there. I hired him to represent me, but in order to do that he had to know me and what I needed and wanted. It was impossible to do that since we had never met to discuss anything, nor had he ever reviewed anything I had to give to him. I did send him emails with my concerns and questions i had pertaining to preparation for the depositons however neither were incorporated into my case. I was embarrassed by him in the depo. he only interjected if i nodded instead of replying outloud, but never objected to nasty comments made by opposing counsel. He was primarily concerned with the hours he would be paid for and told me if asked that we spent an hour preparing. He was very friendly with them and asked what the current judge was ruling on. He sent one letter, right away, without my knowledge to the insurance company telling them I had a back problem and when they denied a complaint like that I tried to supply him with evidence he totally ignored. He mentioned something about just getting started and I told him I was in a settlement stage when i hired him and that I wanted to get on with my life I wanted this over. We settled that day but I told him what the offers were before and the highest one and the right one. He said he had never seen that one (big surprise), verified that what i wanted was to settle and proceeded to negotiate an offer. He came back and showed me that he had gotten them to accept the highest one and showed me the numbers. It was exactly the same one I had presented to them and the one I told him about. However it was minus the 7900 fee for him. It cost me 7900 to hire him for approximately 5 months but I said ok. I would be rid of him too. I questioned him however about his fee. I told him I recall him saying to me at the time I signed him up that his fee would not come out of my settlement but he said he would never have said that. I knew now the kind of person he was and wouldnt even bother trying to negotiate his fee. If he was straight up he would have offered. He also has a place in his contract for you to initial he could be paid for things he never did. Dont intitial that line. Now I am trying to get my money, asked for an advance but opposing counsel told me they would walk it though and shouldnt take more than 2 weeks. My expense checks. I asked Canter to followup daily with me and after 2 weeks requested him to follow-up and request an advance. He said he had no control, didnt promise me anything they had 30 days and blah, blah, blah. I told him no he did not promise me a thing, the other guy did. I have no phone, no money and live out of town. I told him not to mail it but i would like to pick up if possible. He referred me to his asst. ceasar to followup cause he was going out of town. Im gonna call him now but Im not holding my breath. Canter is totally unprofessional and doesnt give a damn about this client. What goes around comes around and I did try to get info about him. I did not see this website until today. I want to sit outside his office and let his new clients know what he has not done for me.
    and proceeded but he presentedwanted to

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jack G Apr 29, 2009

    Wow... I must have hooked up with him at th eright time... he represented me for a work comp knee and back injury and i got along great with him and his staff. He sent me to a doctor i go t my sirgury, i agree it was a little hard to get ahold of him, but once i did, he explained stuff to me and when my case settled it went smooth . my knee has lifetime care as part of the settlement

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Connie Feb 23, 2009

    According to what I've read except for the last statement I agree wholeheartedly. My case which is listed above from Connie, did go to the mandentory settlement last July. Unbeknown to me he had me sign all the papers which were blank, then he filled them out with the defense & the judge signed them. What bothers me is the fact that when I hired him he had agreed that I would be reimbursed for my out of pocket medical expenses. which I still am trying to get. The most I could have gotten for my voc. rehab was $10, 000.00 I only received $5, 000.00 minus his %. Since I did not receive a copy of the stipulations of the settlement until Sept. so when I called Workmans Comp. asking them what I could do to appeal this stipulation that I never agreed to any of those stipulations, they told me I only had 30 days to do this. So the statute had passed to file an appeal, for a lawyer in the state of Calif. this is a total act of betrayal according to the State Bar & the lack of communication between him & his clients puts him in line for a violation according to the State Bar. My case is going to be audited whenever the Calif. Workmans Comp. State of Insurance (which are so bogged down with complaints) can find the time.
    I called my Insurance adjuster Jan 29th & I was told that I would be reimbersed whenever they received my medical receipts. Which Mr Canter has in his possession & has not sent them to the adjuster or to me. Unfortunately I found out through the adjuster that Mr Canter is still representing me as my attorney, yet he has not returned one phone call since I saw him at the settlement last July 2008. Which is a total of 35 times I have called his office & tried to speak with him, but I was only able to leave a message. My husband says "Lady Justice is not only blind but she most certainly is deaf!" I wish you all the best of luck, I guess when it comes down to cases like ours & if you are not one of the super RICH, it's up to Lady Luck not Lady Justice. That the outcome will NOT be what was agreed upon or had what was expected. The very sad truth is we can't count on anything when we hire an attorney.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Doctor Laura Dec 24, 2008

    RONALD M. CANTER made me suck him off in his office when I worked for him or said he would fire me.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.